DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 21 April 2025 & 17 July 2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters “66” and “166” have been used to designate both a “location” (¶[0040]) and “inside diameter contactors” (¶[0053]) and “67” has been used to designate both an “attached tab” (¶[0043]) and “outside diameter contactor” (¶[0053]; Fig.8). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Change “axel” (¶[0010], ¶[0017]) to –axle--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, recitations “(c)…wherein each said pair of electrically conductive disks comprises: i. a first non-rotating disk having an inner aperture edge and an outer perimeter edge, wherein said first non-rotating disk inner aperture edge slides over said hollow spindle and
ii. a second rotating disk having an inner aperture edge and an outer perimeter edge, wherein said second rotating disk inner aperture edge slides over said hollow spindle” and
“f. an electrically insulating disk with a central aperture that slides over said hollow spindle…”
are indefinite because if the first disk is non-rotating and the second is rotating, it is unclear how or in what sense both of their respective apertures “slid[e] over said hollow spindle”. Put another way, since the first disk is non-rotating, it is unclear how or in what sense its “inner aperture edge slides over said hollow spindle”. For purposes of examination, “slides over” language will be understood to mean the aperture edges are arranged on or about the hollow spindle.
In claim 1, “f) an electrically insulating disk with a central aperture that slides over said hollow spindle positioned between each pair of said disks” is indefinite and lacks clear basis. It is unclear if the “electrically insulating disk” refers to the previously recited “electrically isolating disks between each paired electrically conductive disks….”
Further, “wherein wires attach transfer electricity” (claim 1) is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wishart et al. (WO 2018/106611).
Regarding claim 1, Wishart teaches a rotational slip ring assembly for transmitting electricity between a non-rotating environment and a rotating environment, comprising:
a) a hollow spindle (shaft/central axle) 110/210/310 about which sets of paired electrically conductive (rotating interior/fixed exterior conduction-connection) disks 120-122/125-127 (or 220-222/225-227 & 320-322/325-327 in embodiments Figs.2&3A) and electrically isolating (insulator/spacer) disks 169/170 between each paired electrically conductive disks rotate, wherein when in operation one disk in each said pair of electrically conductive disks is non-rotating and the other disk in each said electrically conductive pair is rotating (abstract; ¶[0015], ¶[0032]), and wherein said hollow spindle mounts above or into an associated rotating mechanical device (e.g., CRM; Figs.1A-3A);
b) a spindle housing 108 (or 208 & 308) positioned over sets of paired electrically conductive disks and electrically isolating disks, wherein said spindle housing permits each said set of paired electrically conductive disks to contact and rotate on one another (Figs.1A,2&3A);
c) said set of paired electrically conductive disks with each disk within each said set having a central aperture (not numbered; abstract; ¶[0015]) and each disk lubricated and electrically conductive (i.e., each electrically conductive spacer disk comprises porous/sintered material containing lubricant, e.g., Oilite™; ¶[0027]), wherein each said pair of electrically conductive disks comprises:
i. a first non-rotating (fixed exterior) disk 125-127 having an inner aperture edge and an outer perimeter edge, wherein said first non-rotating disk inner aperture edge “slides over said hollow spindle” [sic] and
ii. a second rotating (interior) disk 120-122 having an inner aperture edge and an outer perimeter edge, wherein said second rotating disk inner aperture edge “slides over said hollow spindle” [sic] (i.e., fixed exterior electrical connection disk and rotating interior electrical connection disk are mounted around non-electrically conducting spindle; abstract; ¶[0015]).
d) a first location electrical connection (exterior electrical connection mechanism/projecting tab) attached to each said first non-rotating disk's 125-127 outer aperture edge, wherein incoming wires attach and transfer electricity to or from the non-rotating environment (¶[0031]);
e) at least one second location electrical connection (projecting tab) attached to each said second rotating disk's 120-122 inner perimeter edge and for more than one, all are equally spaced about said central aperture with wires running to field coils (not shown) and delivering electricity during rotational operation (¶[0009]; ¶[0031]; ¶[0040]), wherein wires “attach transfer” [sic] electricity to or from the rotating environment (¶[0031]; ¶[0040]; Figs.1B-1C&4),
f) an electrically insulating disk 169, 170 with a central aperture that “slides over” said hollow spindle positioned between each pair of said disks 120/125 & 121/126 (¶[0027]; ¶[0032]; Fig.1C) and
g) a spring means 109 is held within said spindle housing 108 that urges said set of paired electrically conductive disks and insulating disks together to maintain electrical contact within each said paired electrically conductive disks during operational rotation of said sets of paired electrically conductive disks (¶[0015]; ¶[0033]; Fig.1C).
Wishart differs only in that the first location electrical connection (electrical connection mechanism/projecting tab) is attached to the outer/exterior aperture edge of each first non-rotating disk 125-127/425-427 (Figs.1B-1C&4)---not on the inner aperture edge---and the second location electrical connections (projecting tabs) are attached to the inner perimeter edge of each second rotating (interior) disks 120-122/420-422---not the outer perimeter edge. Or, put another way, the non-rotating “exterior” conductor connection disk 125-127/425-427 comprises a first electrical connection at an outer aperture edge whereas the rotating “interior” conductor-connection disk 120-122/420-422 comprises a second electrical connection at an inner perimeter edge.
But, simply reversing the frame of reference of the non-rotating “exterior” conductor connection disk and the rotating “interior” conductor-connection disk so that the former rotated and the latter did not would have been an obvious matter of engineering design before the effective filing date, since it has been held that reversal of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Regarding claims 2-3, the set of paired disks contains at least one lubricated sintered disk and the set of paired disks are both lubricated sintered disks (i.e., each electrically conductive spacer disk comprises porous/sintered material containing lubricant, e.g., Oilite™; ¶[0027])
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai (US 7,601,005) in view of Wishart et al. (WO 2018/106611).
Regarding claim 1, Lai teaches a rotational slip ring assembly (power distributor) 4 for transmitting electricity between a non-rotating environment (central shaft/tube) 3 and a rotating environment (turntable) 6, comprising:
a) a hollow spindle (central shaft/tube) 3 about which sets of paired electrically conductive disks (rings) 411, 412 and electrically isolating (insulator) disks 422 between each paired electrically conductive disks rotate, wherein when in operation one disk 412 in each said pair of electrically conductive disks is non-rotating (i.e., attached to tube 3) and the other disk 411 in each said electrically conductive pair is rotating (i.e., attached to turntable 6), and wherein said hollow spindle mounts above or into an associated rotating mechanical device (i.e., ceiling fan);
b) a spindle housing 2 positioned over sets of paired electrically conductive disks and electrically isolating disks, wherein said spindle housing permits each said set of paired electrically conductive disks to contact and rotate on one another (Fig.3);
c) said set of paired electrically conductive disks 311, 412 with each disk within each said set having a central aperture (not numbered; Fig.4) and each disk…electrically conductive, wherein each said pair of electrically conductive disks comprises:
i. a first non-rotating disk 412 having an inner aperture edge and an outer perimeter edge, wherein said first non-rotating disk inner aperture edge “slides over said hollow spindle” 3 [sic] (Figs.2-3) and
ii. a second rotating disk 411 having an inner aperture edge and an outer perimeter edge, wherein said second rotating disk inner aperture edge “slides over said hollow spindle” [sic] (Figs.2-3);
d) a first location electrical connection (tooth) 4121 attached to each said first non-rotating disk's 412 inner aperture edge, wherein incoming wires 4122 attach and transfer electricity to or from the non-rotating environment (Fig.4);
e) at least one second location electrical connection (not numbered, for wire 4111) attached to each said second rotating disk's 411 outer perimeter edge…wherein wires 4111 “attach transfer” [sic] electricity to or from the rotating environment (Fig.4),
f) an electrically insulating disk 422 with a central aperture that “slides over” [sic] said hollow spindle positioned between each pair of said disks 411 & 412 (Figs.2-3) and
g) a spring means (compression spring) 5 is held within said spindle housing 2 that urges said set of paired electrically conductive disks 411/412 and insulating disks 422 together to maintain electrical contact within each said paired electrically conductive disks during operational rotation of said sets of paired electrically conductive disks (Fig.2).
Lai does not teach each disk 411, 412 is lubricated.
But, Wishart teaches a rotational slip ring assembly for transmitting electricity between a non-rotating environment and a rotating environment, comprising a set of paired electrically conductive disks with each disk within each said set having a central aperture (not numbered; abstract; ¶[0015]) and each disk lubricated and electrically conductive (i.e., each electrically conductive spacer disk comprises porous/sintered material containing lubricant, e.g., Oilite™; ¶[0027]), to allow easy rotation between the disks, reduce wear and improve the bearing ability of the materials (abstract; ¶[0036]-¶[0037]).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to lubricate Lai’s disks since Wishart teaches this would have allowed easy rotation between the disks, reduced wear and improved the bearing ability of the materials.
Regarding claims 2-3, in Wishart the set of paired disks contains at least one lubricated sintered disk and the set of paired disks are both lubricated sintered disks (i.e., each electrically conductive spacer disk comprises porous/sintered material containing lubricant, e.g., Oilite™; ¶[0027]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BURTON S MULLINS whose telephone number is (571)272-2029. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/BURTON S MULLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834