DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 08/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner’s note - Regarding the recitation that an element is ‘configured to’ perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “wherein the multi-band antenna element comprises four multi-band antenna elements, wherein the first antenna element comprises four first antenna elements”. However, in claim 1, the first antenna element is the multi-band antenna element yet claim 14 recites that the first antenna element and the multi-band antenna element comprise four parts. It is unclear how the elements would be split and then further how that could then be arranged in “alternating positions” as described in claim 14. In order to expedite prosecution, claim has taken to describe the antennas (first-third) are arranged on the base about the circumference of the base.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 10, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith, Jr et al. (US 11245205; hereinafter Smith) in view of Gu et al. (US 20160079652; hereinafter Gu).
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses “An antenna assembly, comprising: a radome (fig. 27); a spacer coupled to the radome (bottom connection area for 870 and radome); a first antenna element (105) formed on a first printed circuit board (PCB) (110) and configured to be housed by the radome; a second antenna element (405) formed on a second PCB (410) and configured to be housed by the radome, the second antenna element comprising one or more WiFi antenna elements (405 is a wifi antenna); and a third antenna element (505) formed on a third PCB (510) and configured to be housed by the radome, the third antenna element comprising one or more global positioning system (GPS) antenna elements (505 is a GPS antenna)”.
Smith does not disclose “wherein the first antenna element is a multi-band antenna element comprising: one or more low-band radiating elements; one or more mid-band radiating elements; and one or more high-band radiating element”.
However, Gu teaches “wherein the first antenna element (111) is a multi-band antenna element comprising: one or more low-band radiating elements; one or more mid-band radiating elements; and one or more high-band radiating element (¶[0049]; Furthermore, each of antennas 111, 112 can be configured to resonate in at least three frequency bands)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Gu and make Smith’s antenna assembly wherein the first antenna element is a multi-band antenna element comprising: one or more low-band radiating elements; one or more mid-band radiating elements; and one or more high-band radiating element, in order to have the LTE antenna perform in a broadband capacity.
Regarding claim 4, Smith discloses “The antenna assembly of Claim 1, further comprising a plurality of coaxial cables, wherein each of the coaxial cables is configured to provide an electromagnetic signal to one of the first antenna element, the second antenna element, or the third antenna element (see coaxial in fig. 14)”.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Smith discloses the antenna assembly of claim 4 as shown previously.
Smith does not disclose “wherein the first antenna element comprises: a first radiating section, comprising: a first low-band radiating element; a first mid-band radiating element coupled to the first low-band radiating element; a first high-band radiating element coupled to the first low-band radiating element; and a microstrip transmission line coupled to one of the coaxial cables and at least one of the first low-band radiating element, the first mid-band radiating element, and the first high-band radiating element; and a second radiating section coupled to the first radiating section, wherein the second radiating section comprises: a second low-band radiating element; a second mid-band radiating element coupled to the second low-band radiating element; a second high-band radiating element coupled to the second low-band radiating element; and a transmission line ground plane coupled to one of the coaxial cables and at least one of the second low-band radiating element, the second mid-band radiating element, and the second high-band radiating element”.
However, Gu teaches “wherein the first antenna element (111) comprises: a first radiating section, comprising: a first low-band radiating element; a first mid-band radiating element coupled to the first low-band radiating element; a first high-band radiating element coupled to the first low-band radiating element (¶[0049]; Furthermore, each of antennas 111, 112 can be configured to resonate in at least three frequency bands); and a microstrip transmission line (¶[0057]; first antenna 111 and second antenna 112 each comprising one or more respective microstrips) coupled to one of the coaxial cables and at least one of the first low-band radiating element, the first mid-band radiating element, and the first high-band radiating element; and a second radiating section (112) coupled to the first radiating section (electromagnetically coupled), wherein the second radiating section comprises: a second low-band radiating element; a second mid-band radiating element coupled to the second low-band radiating element; a second high-band radiating element coupled to the second low-band radiating element (¶[0049]); and a transmission line (¶[0057]) ground plane coupled to one of the coaxial cables and at least one of the second low-band radiating element, the second mid-band radiating element, and the second high-band radiating element”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Gu and make Smith’s antenna assembly wherein the first antenna element comprises: a first radiating section, comprising: a first low-band radiating element; a first mid-band radiating element coupled to the first low-band radiating element; a first high-band radiating element coupled to the first low-band radiating element; and a microstrip transmission line coupled to one of the coaxial cables and at least one of the first low-band radiating element, the first mid-band radiating element, and the first high-band radiating element; and a second radiating section coupled to the first radiating section, wherein the second radiating section comprises: a second low-band radiating element; a second mid-band radiating element coupled to the second low-band radiating element; a second high-band radiating element coupled to the second low-band radiating element; and a transmission line ground plane coupled to one of the coaxial cables and at least one of the second low-band radiating element, the second mid-band radiating element, and the second high-band radiating element, in order to improve radiation efficiency by having multiple antennas.
Regarding claim 10, Smith discloses “The antenna assembly of Claim 1, wherein the second antenna element comprises a dual-band WiFi antenna (fig. 5 shows a dual band antenna)”.
Regarding claim 13, Smith discloses “The antenna assembly of Claim 1, wherein the one or more mid-band radiating elements is rectangularly shaped (105 is rectangular shaped)”.
Regarding claim 14, Smith discloses “The antenna assembly of Claim 1, wherein the multi-band antenna element comprises four multi-band antenna elements, wherein the first antenna element comprises four first antenna elements, wherein the multi-band antenna element and the first antenna element are coupled to a base and arranged along a circumference of the base including an alternating pattern, wherein the alternating pattern comprises alternating positions of the four multi-band antenna elements and the four first antenna elements (per 112(b) rejection, fig. 1 shows the antennas as disposed around the circumference of the base in an alternating pattern)”.
Claims 2-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Gu, further in view of Tran et al. (US 20220255223; hereinafter Tran).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Smith discloses the antenna assembly of claim 1 as shown previously.
Smith does not disclose “further comprising a lighting element configured to provide illumination to a surrounding area”.
However, Tran teaches “further comprising a lighting element configured to provide illumination to a surrounding area (¶[0471]; On each lighting device 11 is a massive MIMO antenna detailed in FIG. 2C hidden into street furniture such as manhole covers, light poles, and real/fake trees or plants, or even utility poles)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Tran and make Smith’s antenna assembly further comprising a lighting element configured to provide illumination to a surrounding area, in order to illuminate a surrounding area.
Regarding claim 3, the modified Smith discloses the antenna assembly of claim 1 as shown previously.
Smith does not disclose “further comprising a solar panel coupled to the radome and configured to provide power to components of the antenna assembly”.
However, Tran teaches “further comprising a solar panel coupled to the radome and configured to provide power to components of the antenna assembly (¶[0471]; For example, a fake tree can be used with solar cells on the top of the leaves and the antenna 11 on the top/bottom of the leaves)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Tran and make Smith’s antenna assembly further comprising a solar panel coupled to the radome and configured to provide power to components of the antenna assembly, in order to power the antennas without being connected to a grid.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Smith discloses the antenna assembly of claim 1 as shown previously.
Smith does not disclose “further comprising a support coupled to the spacer and configured to mount to an external structure”.
However, Tran teaches “further comprising a support coupled to the spacer and configured to mount to an external structure (shown as mounted to poles or wall mounts)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Tran and make Smith’s antenna assembly further comprising a support coupled to the spacer and configured to mount to an external structure, in order to secure the antenna assembly to a mount.
Regarding claim 7, the modified Smith discloses “The antenna assembly of Claim 6, further comprising a plurality of coaxial cables, wherein each of the coaxial cables is configured to provide an electromagnetic signal to one of the first antenna element, the second antenna element, or the third antenna element, wherein the support comprises an opening configured to guide the coaxial cables within the radome (see fig. 14)”.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Smith discloses the antenna assembly of claim 6 as shown previously.
Smith does not disclose “wherein the support comprises a type from at least one of a mounting arm for wall mounting, a mast mount for a ship, or a pole-mount support”.
However, Tran teaches “wherein the support comprises a type from at least one of a mounting arm for wall mounting, a mast mount for a ship, or a pole-mount support (shown as mounted to poles or wall mounts)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Tran and make Smith’s antenna assembly wherein the support comprises a type from at least one of a mounting arm for wall mounting, a mast mount for a ship, or a pole-mount support, in order to secure the antenna assembly in higher positions.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Smith discloses the antenna assembly of claim 1 as shown previously.
Smith does not disclose “wherein the radome comprises a material from at least one of plastic, thermoplastic, polycarbonate, acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), glass epoxy, high-performance polyaryletherketones, fluoropolymers, polyimide, polycarbonate (PC) and acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), and acrylonitrile styrene acrylate (ASA)”.
However, Tran teaches “wherein the radome comprises a material from at least one of plastic, thermoplastic, polycarbonate, acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), glass epoxy, high-performance polyaryletherketones, fluoropolymers, polyimide, polycarbonate (PC) and acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), and acrylonitrile styrene acrylate (ASA) (¶[0471]; The light-permeable plastic may be selected from the group consisting of Polymethylmethacrylate (PMMA), Poly Carbonate (PC), silicone, epoxy, polyacrylate. Certainly, the material of the light pervious cover can also be glass doped with ZnO, B2O3, SiO2, Nb2O5 or Na2O)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Tran and make Smith’s antenna assembly wherein the radome comprises a material from at least one of plastic, thermoplastic, polycarbonate, acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), glass epoxy, high-performance polyaryletherketones, fluoropolymers, polyimide, polycarbonate (PC) and acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS), and acrylonitrile styrene acrylate (ASA), in order to allow EM energy to pass through the radome while protecting the antenna.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of Gu, further in view of Wang et al. (US 20160079654; hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Smith discloses the antenna assembly of claim 1 as shown previously.
Smith does not disclose “wherein the second antenna element comprises a dipole antenna”.
However, Wang teaches “wherein the second antenna element comprises a dipole antenna (fig. 4 shows a dipole antenna as part of 111)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wang and make Smith’s antenna assembly wherein the second antenna element comprises a dipole antenna, in order to generate the desired radiation pattern.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Smith discloses the antenna assembly of claim 1 as shown previously.
Smith does not disclose “wherein the one or more low-band radiating elements is L-shaped”.
However, Wang teaches “wherein the one or more low-band radiating elements is L-shaped (fig. 4 shows an L-shaped section in 111)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wang and make Smith’s antenna assembly wherein the one or more low-band radiating elements is L-shaped, in order to generate the desired radiation pattern.
Conclusion
/AUSTIN M BACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845