Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11,689,706. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader in every aspect than the patent claim and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,316,824. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader in every aspect than the patent claim and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,848,748. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader in every aspect than the patent claim and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Annau et al. (2016/0191815).
Regarding claim 1, Annau discloses an image processing apparatus (103), comprising: one or more memories storing instructions; and one or more processors executing the instruction to: determine a foreground object region (note par. 52; and par. 65, the ISP 115a compresses the raw video data based on the motion of the foreground moving object; and note the MPEG format mentioned in par. 40, which compresses the image frames based on motion data in the frames; the motion data indicates the object information in the foreground of the frames) in an image captured by an image capturing apparatus (111a); generate data based on a the determined foreground object region (the compressed data as described in par. 65); obtain, from another image processing apparatus (103) which is connected (note connection 114, 116, 118) to the image processing apparatus, another data (compressed data as described in par. 65) which said another image processing apparatus determines a foreground object region (note par. 52; and par. 65, the ISP 115b compresses the raw video data based on the motion of the foreground moving object) in an image captured by a said another image capturing apparatus (111b) and generates based on the foreground object region determined by said another image processing apparatus; and transmit the generated data and the obtained another data (note the connections in between camera module 103 and connection hub 123) to an image generating apparatus which generates an image based on the generated data and the obtained another data (note aggregation system 131 and par. 87 and 109).
Regarding claim 2, Annau discloses the one or more processors further execute the instruction to separate the foreground object region and a background object region in the image. That is, the MPEG format in Annau inherently separates the motion object from the still background.
Regarding claim 3, Annau discloses the generation of the data by the first image processing apparatus and the generation of said another data by the second image processing apparatus are performed in parallel (note ISP 115a-115n in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Annau discloses the image processing apparatus does not transmit image data which does not represent the foreground object region in the image. That is, in MPEG format compression, motion image data of an object traverses across multiple frames is transmitted while one frame of the still background is transmitted.
Regarding claim 5, Annau discloses the foreground object region includes a region of a moving object. That is, the MPEG format in Annau includes motion data of a foreground object.
Regarding claim 6, Annau discloses that at least one of a region of a person and a region of a ball is included in the foreground object region. That is, the camera modules 103 in Annau is intended to capture object images from the physical world and the objects being captured can be anything, such as a person or a ball as claimed.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, see rejection to claim 1.
/MICHAEL LEE/ Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2422