Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 11,689,706. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader in every aspect than the patent claim and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,316,824. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader in every aspect than the patent claim and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,848,748. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim is broader in every aspect than the patent claim and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Annau et al. (2016/0191815).
Regarding claim 1, Annau discloses an image processing apparatus (103), comprising: one or more memories storing instructions; and one or more processors executing the instruction to:
determine a foreground object region (note par. 34; par. 52; and par. 65, the ISP 115a compresses the raw video data based on the motion of the foreground moving object; and note the MPEG format mentioned in par. 40, which compresses the image frames based on motion data in the frames; the motion data indicates the object information in the foreground of the frames) in an image captured by an image capturing apparatus (111a);
generate first data based on a the determined foreground object region (the compressed data as described in par. 65);
obtain, from another image processing apparatus (103) which is connected to the image processing apparatus (note connection 114, 116, 118), second data (compressed data as described in par. 65) generates based on a foreground object region (note par. 52; and par. 65, the ISP 115b compresses the raw video data based on the motion of the foreground moving object) that said another image processing apparatus determines in an image captured by another image capturing apparatus (111b…111n); and
transmit the generated first data and the obtained second data (note the connections in between camera module 103 and connection hub 123) to an image generating apparatus which generates an image based on the generated first data and the obtained second data (note aggregation system 131 and par. 87 and 109).
Regarding claim 2, Annau discloses the one or more processors further execute the instruction to separate the foreground object region and a background object region in the image. That is, the MPEG format in Annau inherently separates the motion object from the still background.
Regarding claim 3, Annau discloses the generation of the first data by the image processing apparatus and the generation of the second data by the second image processing apparatus are performed in parallel (note ISP 115a-115n in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Annau discloses the image processing apparatus does not transmit image data which does not represent the foreground object region in the image. That is, in MPEG format compression, motion image data of an object traverses across multiple frames is transmitted while one frame of the still background is transmitted.
Regarding claim 5, Annau discloses the foreground object region includes a region of a moving object. That is, the MPEG format in Annau includes motion data of a foreground object.
Regarding claim 6, Annau discloses that at least one of a region of a person and a region of a ball is included in the foreground object region. That is, the camera modules 103 in Annau is intended to capture object images from the physical world and the objects being captured can be anything, such as a person or a ball as claimed.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, see rejection to claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments on the double patenting rejections that HANDA, or applicant’s patents, does not disclose the following:
determine a foreground object region in an image captured by an image capturing apparatus;
generate first data based on the determined foreground object region;
obtain, from another image processing apparatus which is connected to the image processing apparatus, second data which said another image processing apparatus generates based on a foreground object region that said another image processing apparatus determines in an image captured by another image capturing apparatus; and
transmit the generated first data and the obtained second data to an image generating apparatus which generates an image based on the generated first data and the obtained second data.
The examiner disagrees. It is believed that all applicant’s patented claims are narrower than the claimed invention. For instance, claim 1 of patent no. 12,316,824 clearly anticipates applicant’s current claim 1. That is, the first image processing apparatus meets the first data generating operation as claimed; the second image processing apparatus meets the second data obtaining operation as claimed, the image generating apparatus meets the image generating apparatus as claimed; and the transmitting operation by the first image processing apparatus meets the transmitting operation as claimed. Since the instant application claims are still anticipated by the patented claims, the double patenting rejection is maintained.
Regarding the 102 prior art rejection, applicant has presented the following arguments:
However, ANNAU does not disclose the configuration described in the presently
amended claim. In particular, ANNAU does not disclose at least "generate first data based on the determined foreground object region; obtain, from another image processing apparatus which is connected to the image processing apparatus, second data which said another image processing apparatus generates based on a foreground object region that said another image processing apparatus determines in an image captured by another image capturing apparatus; and transmit the generated first data and the obtained second data to an image generating apparatus which generates an image based on the generated first data and the obtained second data" as presently claimed.
The examiner disagrees. As set forth in the rejection, the “foreground object region” feature is met by the same object as described in par. 52 of Annau. According to par. 52, the same object is being viewed by a plurality of cameras at different angles. The same object capturing operation is also being summarized in par. 34. The same object as described in Annau is an object being viewed at the field of view of the multiple cameras at different angles. In other words, the object being viewed by the cameras is at the foreground of the cameras. Thus, the field of view of the object in Annau clearly meets the “foreground object region” as claimed.
In view of above arguments, it is clear that fails to overcome the double patenting rejection and the prior art rejection. As a result, all the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL LEE/ Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2422