DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This final office action is in response to the Remarks and Amendments filed on 29 July 2026, regarding application number 19/047,447.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-21 remain pending in the application. Claim 20 was amended in the Amendments to the Claims. Claims 1-19 are original. Claim 21 is new.
Applicant’s amendments to claim 20 has overcome the objection previously set forth in the non-final office action mailed 30 April 2026. Therefore, the objection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 8-10, filed 29 July 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-5 and 15-20 under 35 U.S.C.§ 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. . Applicant has made the following arguments:
“Frick ultimately claims priority to Provisional Application No. 62/934,696, and has an earliest filing date of November 13, 2019.
However, the application at-hand is a continuation-in-part (CIP) off of Application PCT/CN2019/108416, that that PCT application was filed on September 27, 2019.
Thus, PCT application from which this application claims priority has an earlier priority date (September 27, 2019) as compared to the earliest filing data of the Frick reference (November 13, 2019). Additionally, Applicant submits that the PCT application fully supports the claim elements of the claims-at-hand.
…
Accordingly, Applicant submits that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that Applicant had possession of the claimed subject matter in the PCT filing.
As noted above, Frick does not constitute prior art, and Applicant respectfully requests that the Office withdraw the @ 102 rejection of claims 1-6, 8, 9, and 15-20.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees because independent claims 1, 17 and 20 have a priority date of February 06, 2025, and NOT of September 27, 2019. A person having ordinary skill in the art would not understand that Applicant had possession of the claimed subject matter in the PCT Application PCT/CN2019/108416. That is, at least the following limitations from each independent claim are not supported by the PCT application, but include new matter which is only supported by the disclosure of this CIP application filed on February 06, 2025:
Claim 1: "maintaining a working state of the main cutting unit based on at least that the specific object is detected;"
Claim 17: "maintaining a working mode of the main cutting unit based on at least the specific object being detected."
Claim 20: "in response to determining that the specific object is detected … while the main cutting unit does not perform any action."
Claim 21: "maintaining a working state of the main cutting unit based on at least that the specific object is detected;"
That is, there is no support in the disclosure of the PCT application, nor in the parent application 17/280,627, for maintaining a working state/mode of the main cutting unit based on at least that the specific object is detected. Applicant has provided a chart to indicate support for claimed features from the PCT application. Specifically the “maintaining a working state of the main cutting unit based on at least that the specific object is detected” limitation is mapped to paragraphs [0099]-[0100], [0092] and [0003]. However, Applicant has NOT provided a translated copy of the PCT application with paragraphs, nor quotations from the paragraphs, therefore the Office does not know what verbiage is being referenced as support for the claims. For the purpose of further discussion, Examiner has attached a translated copy of the PCT application from the WIPO website. The above paragraphs state the following:
[0099 “In an example, in the operation control device 600 of the automatic mower, the detection unit 610 is further configured to detect an ambient temperature of the automatic mower; and the holding unit 640 is further configured to allow operation of the auxiliary cutting unit in response to the ambient temperature being within a preset temperature range.”]-[0100 “In an example, in the operation control device 600 of the automatic mower, the detection unit 610 is further configured to detect an ambient illuminance of the automatic mower; and the switching unit 630 is further configured to control the auxiliary cutting unit to enter a normal working mode in response to the ambient illuminance being less than an illuminance threshold.”],
[0092 “In addition, as shown in FIG. 8, the operation control device 600 includes: a detection unit 610 configured to detect a specific object in a normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit; a determining unit 620 configured to determine whether a specific object is detected; a switching unit 630 configured to switch to an obstacle working mode based at least on detecting the specific object; and a holding unit 640 configured to maintain a normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit based at least on the specific object not detected.] and
[0003 “The automatic lawn mower can automatically complete tasks such as lawn maintenance, and is increasingly popular with consumers. When working, the automatic lawn mower is limited to move in the working area enclosed by the boundary. An existing automatic lawn mower is provided with one or more cutter disks at the bottom of the machine body, a metal blade is mounted on the cutter head, and the cutter disk rotates to form a cutting area. Because the rotation speed of the blade on the mowing cutter head is high, damage may be caused to the person, and therefore, a high-grade protection is required, resulting in a large protection distance of the blade, which cannot be cut to grass near the boundary, that is, it cannot be completely trimmed.]
Regarding [0099]-[0100], the auxiliary cutting is controlled in accordance with ambient temperature and illuminance. There is no recitation of the main cutting unit nor object detection. Regarding [0092], the paragraph states that “…determine whether a specific object is detected; a switching unit 630 configured to switch to an obstacle working mode based at least on detecting the specific object; and a holding unit 640 configured to maintain a normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit based at least on the specific object not detected.”. This paragraph describes switching to an obstacle working mode when an object is detected and maintaining a working mode when the object is not detected, which is an opposite concept of the claimed “maintaining a working state of the main cutting unit based on at least that the specific object is detected”. Additionally, only the auxiliary cutting unit is described and not the main cutting unit. Regarding [0003], the automatic mower is only generally described. There is no recitation of the main cutting unit nor object detection.
Additionally, the instant application is a continuation in part of application 17/280,627, which is a 371 of PCT/CN2019/108416. MPEP 2139.01 states “If the application is a continuation-in-part of an earlier U.S. application or international application, any claims in the new application not supported by the specification and claims of the parent application have an effective filing date equal to the actual filing date of the new application. Any claims which are fully supported under 35 U.S.C. 112 by the earlier parent application have the effective filing date of that earlier parent application.”. Applicant has not provided details for which claims are supported by the parent application and which claims contain new matter. The limitations discussed above are not supported by the specification and claims of the parent application and therefore have an effective filing date equal to the actual filing date of the new application, which is February 06, 2025.
Accordingly, for at least the reasons discussed above, the rejections of claims 1-5 and 15-20 under 35 U.S.C.§ 102 have been maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 10-12, with respect to the rejections of claims 6-14 under 35 U.S.C.§ 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant relied on the same argument discussed above that “Frick does not constitute prior art” and did not provide any additional arguments against the prior art used to reject the claims. Accordingly, because Frick does constitute prior art for at least the reasons discussed above, the rejections of claims 6-14 under 35 U.S.C.§ 103 have been maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 12-14, with respect to new claim 21 regarding the previous cited art, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has made the following arguments:
“A. Kuriyagawa has no condition independent of the speed-recovery test
Kuriyagawa's disclosure that "the CPU 24 can determine whether or not the factor of locking of the blade 6 has been solved or reduced, based on the engine speed" (para. [0051]) shows that engine-speed recovery is Kuriyagawa's only evidentiary basis for concluding the obstruction is gone. There is no separate, independently-operating condition disclosed in paragraphs [0028]- [0034] that stands apart from this speed measurement. Claim 21, by contrast, requires "detecting whether a specific object is detected" as one step, and then - "in response to determining that the specific object is not detected" requires an additional, separate check of "a working speed ... being not 0" or "a maintaining time ... not exceeding" a threshold. Kuriyagawa's single test cannot simultaneously constitute both the antecedent condition and the independent supplemental condition that claim 21 requires as two distinct steps.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 21 recites the limitation “in response to determining that the specific object is not detected,” for performing the speed and maintaining time test(s), without explicitly stating that the specific object is not detected in the obstacle working mode. That is the “in response to determining that the specific object is not detected,” limitation can be construed as being a distinct limitation from the “detecting whether a specific object is detected in the obstacle working mode” limitation because the claims do not specify that the “determining” step must be executed as a result of the “detecting” step(s). For example, the “determining” step could be a result of the “detecting whether a specific object is detected in a normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit;” step, the “detecting whether a specific object is detected in the obstacle working mode;” step and/or a completely independent step. Examiner recommends to amend the claim to state “in response to determining that the specific object is not detected in the obstacle working mode” and to further clarify the two different recitations of the “a specific object”. Accordingly, Kuriyagawa teaches the working speed and maintaining time test(s) “in response to determining that the specific object is not detected,” because no object is detected while the automatic mower is turned off or when the safe mode is first started. That is, while the automatic mower is turned off/stopped, it is incapable of sensing the specific object and therefore the specific object is not detected. The specific object is also not detected during steps S501-S505 of the safe mode because the engine speed has not yet been obtained, which is used to determine if the specific object is still present or not. Therefore, both the working speed and maintaining time tests taught in [0051] can occur after the specific object not being detected.
“B. Kuriyagawa's "predetermined time" functions in the opposite manner from the claimed "preset safety time”
Claim 21 requires resuming normal mode "based on at least the maintaining time not exceeding the preset safety time." Kuriyagawa, however, discloses the inverse relationship: resumption ("work control," step S511) occurs only "if the engine speed has reached the predetermined value in the predetermined time" (para. [0051]) -that is, only if the recovery is confirmed to have occurred within the window. Where Kuriyagawa's text states that when the obstruction "is still acting on the blade 6 ... the engine speed does not reach the predetermined value in the predetermined time" (para. [0051]), failure to meet the time window in Kuriyagawa is evidence to withhold resumption. Claim 21's "maintaining time ... not exceeding the preset safety time" operates as a permissive ceiling satisfied by the mere passage of time remaining under a limit, independent of whether recovery has been affirmatively confirmed. These are not the same limitation”
Examiner respectfully disagrees because Kuriyagawa explicitly teaches the claim limitation, especially “resuming the normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit based on at least the maintaining time not exceeding the preset safety time.”. See Fig. 5, step S507 “has engine speed reached predetermined value within predetermined time” – YES, and [0051 "On the other hand, an obstacle, a large amount of lawn grass, or the like is no longer acting on the blade 6, the increase rate of the engine speed is large. That is to say, the engine speed reaches the predetermined value in the predetermined time. Thus, the CPU 24 can determine whether or not the factor of locking of the blade 6 has been solved or reduced, based on the engine speed. Note that the predetermined time is a threshold related to the time that has elapsed since the engine began to start. If the engine speed has reached the predetermined value in the predetermined time, the CPU 24 advances the processing to step S511. Step S511 is a step related to work control, and the details thereof will be described later."]. Kuriyagawa explicitly teaches resuming a work control (corresponding to the claimed “normal working mode”) when the engine speed reaches the predetermined value in the predetermined time (corresponding to the claimed “not exceeding the preset safety time”). Kuriyagawa also provides an advantage to for the above process in [0051 “On the other hand, an obstacle, a large amount of lawn grass, or the like is no longer acting on the blade 6, the increase rate of the engine speed is large. That is to say, the engine speed reaches the predetermined value in the predetermined time.”].
“C. Kuriyagawa's engine-speed monitoring does not disclose a “working speed … being not 0” check
Kuriyagawa paragraph [0028] describes only that "the engine speed of the engine 2 lowers relatively gently" or "lowers relatively rapidly" depending on the obstruction type, and paragraph [005 1] describes monitoring whether "the increase rate of the engine speed is large" or "small" relative to "the predetermined value in the predetermined time." Nowhere does Kuriyagawa disclose or suggest a determination of whether a working speed "is 0" as recited in claim 21. An engine whose speed is recovering but has not yet reached "the predetermined value" is, on Kuriyagawa's own disclosure, still non-zero in speed, yet does not satisfy Kuriyagawa's recovery test. Kuriyagawa's rate-of-increase-toward-a-threshold analysis is not the same limitation as the binary "working speed ... being not 0" condition of new claim 21.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees because Kuriyagawa explicitly teaches detecting a stopped engine (and therefore a stopped auxiliary cutting unit) in at least [0053 “In step S509, the CPU 24 (engine control portion 28) stops the engine 2. For example, the fuel supply control portion 57 controls the fuel supply device 41 and stops supplying fuel to the engine 2. Also, the ignition control portion 58 causes the ignition device 42 to stop ignition.”]-[0054 “In step S510, the CPU 24 (work control portion 27) outputs a warning to the output portion 32. This warning is for prompting the user to check the state of the blade 6. The use will remove an obstacle or the like from the blade 6 in accordance with the warning.”] and [0073 "In step S812, the CPU 24 (engine control portion 28) stops the engine 2. In step S813, the CPU 24 (reason-for-stopping determination portion 50) creates stop information indicating that the factor of the stop is other than blade locking. For example, the stop information includes information indicating that the engine 2 has stopped based on a stop request made by the user. In step S809, the CPU 24 (RW portion 54) writes the stop information in the memory 25."]-[0075 "If it is determined in step S803 that the engine 2 has stopped, the CPU 24 advances the processing to step S804.”] Kuriyagawa additionally teaches resuming a normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit based on at least a working speed of the auxiliary cutting unit being not 0 in at least [0051 "On the other hand, an obstacle, a large amount of lawn grass, or the like is no longer acting on the blade 6, the increase rate of the engine speed is large. That is to say, the engine speed reaches the predetermined value in the predetermined time. Thus, the CPU 24 can determine whether or not the factor of locking of the blade 6 has been solved or reduced, based on the engine speed. Note that the predetermined time is a threshold related to the time that has elapsed since the engine began to start. If the engine speed has reached the predetermined value in the predetermined time, the CPU 24 advances the processing to step S511. Step S511 is a step related to work control, and the details thereof will be described later."]
For at least the reasons discussed above and in the office action below, new claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.§ 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frick et al. (US 20230270044 A1 and Frick hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1
Frick teaches an automatic mower (see all Figs.; especially Fig. 9; [0009]) comprising:
a main cutting unit (see Fig. 9, first cutting blade assembly 320; [0009 "...first and second cutting blade assemblies carried by the housing, wherein the first and second cutting blade assemblies are transversely spaced-apart from one another with the second cutting blade assembly being located proximate the sidewall.] and [0092 "...the mower 300 may include a powered first cutting blade assembly 320..."]-[0093]);
an auxiliary cutting unit (see Fig. 9, second cutting blade assemblies 360 and 362 and/or cutting blade assembly 364; [0009 "..first and second cutting blade assemblies carried by the housing, wherein the first and second cutting blade assemblies are transversely spaced-apart from one another with the second cutting blade assembly being located proximate the sidewall."], [0092 "...one or more powered second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362. The second cutting blade assemblies (located proximate respective sidewalls in the illustrated examples) are powered by motors (e.g., motors 366 and 367, respectively)."]-[0095 "In still other embodiments, the mower could, in addition or alternatively to one or of both the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 provide yet another cutting blade assembly 364 defining a blade tip circle 365. In some embodiments, the cutting blade assembly 364 may be powered by its own motor (not shown) or clutched/declutched off of another blade motor. As is evident in FIG. 9 , the cutting blade assembly 364 may extend beyond the cutting chamber/housing to permit more versatile trimming. For instance, the cutting blade assembly 364 may be configured as a string trimmer head that may be selectively activated and deactivated by the controller 112 as needed (e.g., to trim around trees, fence posts, etc.)."]); and
an electronic device (see Fig. 1, electronic controller 112; [0009] and [0051]) comprising:
a memory configured to store computer executable instructions (see Fig. 1, memory 116; [0051]); and
a processor (see Fig. 1, processor 114; [0051]) configured to execute the computer executable instructions stored in the memory to perform acts comprising:
detecting whether a specific object is detected in a normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit (see [0009 "The controller, via the sensor, is adapted to detect the presence of an unknown object within a local area of operation of the mower, and is further adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assembly while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly when the unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."], [0045]-[0047] and [0093 "As described elsewhere herein, the controller 112 may be adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly 320 when an unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."]-[0094]);
maintaining a working state of the main cutting unit based on at least that the specific object is detected (see [0009 "The controller, via the sensor, is adapted to detect the presence of an unknown object within a local area of operation of the mower, and is further adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assembly while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly when the unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."] and [0092 "That is, instead of shifting a single cutting blade assembly, the mower 300 may include a powered first cutting blade assembly 320 that operates alone (e.g., with the second cutting blade assembly deactivated) for mower operation in the first operating mode..."]-[0093 "As described elsewhere herein, the controller 112 may be adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly 320 when an unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."]); and
switching to an obstacle working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit based on at least that the specific object is detected (see [0009 "The controller, via the sensor, is adapted to detect the presence of an unknown object within a local area of operation of the mower, and is further adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assembly while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly when the unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."], [0092 "That is, instead of shifting a single cutting blade assembly, the mower 300 may include a powered first cutting blade assembly 320 that operates alone (e.g., with the second cutting blade assembly deactivated) for mower operation in the first operating mode ...The motors, 366, 367 may be independently activated by the controller when the mower is in the second operating mode but be deactivated when the mower is in the first operating mode."] and [0093 "As described elsewhere herein, the controller 112 may be adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly 320 when an unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."]-[0094]).
The claim is being examined with a filing date of 06 February 2025, as there is no support for the “maintaining a working state of the main cutting unit based on at least that the specific object is detected” limitation in the parent Application 17/280,627. The same analysis has been made with respect to independent claims 17 and 20 and thus said claims are also being examined with a filing date of 06 February 2025.
Regarding Claim 2
Frick teaches the automatic mower according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
wherein in the obstacle working mode, the automatic mower performs changing a working state of the auxiliary cutting unit (see [0009 "The controller, via the sensor, is adapted to detect the presence of an unknown object within a local area of operation of the mower, and is further adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assembly..."], [0092 "That is, instead of shifting a single cutting blade assembly, the mower 300 may include a powered first cutting blade assembly 320 that operates alone (e.g., with the second cutting blade assembly deactivated) for mower operation in the first operating mode ...The motors, 366, 367 may be independently activated by the controller when the mower is in the second operating mode but be deactivated when the mower is in the first operating mode."] and [0093 "As described elsewhere herein, the controller 112 may be adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362...."]-[0094 "Moreover, while described above as energizing motors associated with both second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 simultaneously, other embodiments may activate and deactivate these motors independently. For example, when the mower 300 is operating in the second operating mode and the controller 112 detects an unknown object approaching on its left side, it may deactivate the left cutting blade assembly 362 while permitting the right cutting blade assembly 360 to continue operation."]).
Regarding Claim 3
Frick teaches the automatic mower according to claim 2 (as discussed above in claim 2),
wherein the changing the working state of the auxiliary cutting unit comprises at least one of:
controlling the auxiliary cutting unit to stop working; and reducing a cutting energy of the auxiliary cutting unit (see [0009 "The controller, via the sensor, is adapted to detect the presence of an unknown object within a local area of operation of the mower, and is further adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assembly..."], [0092 "That is, instead of shifting a single cutting blade assembly, the mower 300 may include a powered first cutting blade assembly 320 that operates alone (e.g., with the second cutting blade assembly deactivated) for mower operation in the first operating mode ...The motors, 366, 367 may be independently activated by the controller when the mower is in the second operating mode but be deactivated when the mower is in the first operating mode."] and [0093 "As described elsewhere herein, the controller 112 may be adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362...."]-[0094 "Moreover, while described above as energizing motors associated with both second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 simultaneously, other embodiments may activate and deactivate these motors independently. For example, when the mower 300 is operating in the second operating mode and the controller 112 detects an unknown object approaching on its left side, it may deactivate the left cutting blade assembly 362 while permitting the right cutting blade assembly 360 to continue operation."]).
Regarding Claim 4
Frick teaches the automatic mower according to claim 3 (as discussed above in claim 3),
wherein the reducing the cutting energy of the auxiliary cutting unit comprises at least one of:
reducing a working speed of the auxiliary cutting unit (see [0009 "The controller, via the sensor, is adapted to detect the presence of an unknown object within a local area of operation of the mower, and is further adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assembly..."], [0092 "..The motors, 366, 367 may be independently activated by the controller when the mower is in the second operating mode but be deactivated when the mower is in the first operating mode."] and [0093 "As described elsewhere herein, the controller 112 may be adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362...."]-[0094 "Moreover, while described above as energizing motors associated with both second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 simultaneously, other embodiments may activate and deactivate these motors independently. For example, when the mower 300 is operating in the second operating mode and the controller 112 detects an unknown object approaching on its left side, it may deactivate the left cutting blade assembly 362 while permitting the right cutting blade assembly 360 to continue operation."]); and
reducing a cutting radius of the auxiliary cutting unit (see Fig. 9, cutting widths 350 and 349; [0093 "Accordingly, the mower 300 may, when in the second operating mode, provide a cutting width 350 that is larger than the cutting width 349. In fact, the cutting width 350 may be approximately equal to the width of the mower housing 102. As described elsewhere herein, the controller 112 may be adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly 320 when an unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."]-[0095]).
Regarding Claim 5
Frick teaches the automatic mower according to claim 2 (as discussed above in claim 2),
wherein in the obstacle working mode, the automatic mower performs at least one of:
reducing a moving speed of the automatic mower (see [0085 "In addition to switching to the first operating mode, mowers in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure may, alternatively or in addition, slow propulsion the drive wheels 106. For example, upon detection of an unknown object in the local area of operation, the controller 112 may slow or stop propulsion by slowing or stopping the drive wheels 106. If the unknown object moves out of the local area of operation, the mower may resume normal speed and advance without exiting the second operating mode."]);
controlling the automatic mower to stop moving (see [0085 "In addition to switching to the first operating mode, mowers in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure may, alternatively or in addition, slow propulsion the drive wheels 106. For example, upon detection of an unknown object in the local area of operation, the controller 112 may slow or stop propulsion by slowing or stopping the drive wheels 106. If the unknown object moves out of the local area of operation, the mower may resume normal speed and advance without exiting the second operating mode."]); and
changing a movement direction of the automatic mower (see [0010 "The cutting blade assembly is adapted to cut grass along a path located at a first distance from the sidewall when the mower is configured in an autonomous first operating mode, and at a second distance from the sidewall when the mower is configured in an autonomous second operating mode, the second distance being less than the first distance ...an unknown object within a local area of operation; automatically switching, with the controller, the mower from the second operating mode to the first operating mode; and autonomously operating the mower in the first operating mode."] and [0065]-[0067]).
Regarding Claim 15
Frick teaches the automatic mower according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
wherein:
the normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit refers to a working mode in which the auxiliary cutting unit normally performs trimming operation (see [0093 "The second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362, which again may be configured in a manner similar to, but be potentially smaller than, the blade assembly 120 described above, may thus rotate and define cutting paths (defined by their respective blade tip circles 361 and 363) that overlap the cutting path defined by the first cutting blade assembly 320. Accordingly, the mower 300 may, when in the second operating mode, provide a cutting width 350 that is larger than the cutting width 349. In fact, the cutting width 350 may be approximately equal to the width of the mower housing 102."]-[0095 "For instance, the cutting blade assembly 364 may be configured as a string trimmer head that may be selectively activated and deactivated by the controller 112 as needed (e.g., to trim around trees, fence posts, etc.)."]]); and
during the trimming operation, the auxiliary cutting unit has a cutting range extending at least to be flush with a housing of the automatic mower (see Fig. 9, cutting width 350; [0093 "Accordingly, the mower 300 may, when in the second operating mode, provide a cutting width 350 that is larger than the cutting width 349. In fact, the cutting width 350 may be approximately equal to the width of the mower housing 102."]).
Regarding Claim 16
Frick teaches the automatic mower according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
wherein the acts further comprise changing a movement mode of the automatic mower based on at least that the specific object is detected (see [0010 "The cutting blade assembly is adapted to cut grass along a path located at a first distance from the sidewall when the mower is configured in an autonomous first operating mode, and at a second distance from the sidewall when the mower is configured in an autonomous second operating mode, the second distance being less than the first distance ...an unknown object within a local area of operation; automatically switching, with the controller, the mower from the second operating mode to the first operating mode; and autonomously operating the mower in the first operating mode."], [0065]-[0067] and [0085 "In addition to switching to the first operating mode, mowers in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure may, alternatively or in addition, slow propulsion the drive wheels 106. For example, upon detection of an unknown object in the local area of operation, the controller 112 may slow or stop propulsion by slowing or stopping the drive wheels 106. If the unknown object moves out of the local area of operation, the mower may resume normal speed and advance without exiting the second operating mode."]).
Regarding Claim 17
Frick teaches a method for operating and controlling an automatic mower (see all Figs.; especially Fig. 9; [0009]), the automatic mower including a main cutting unit (see Fig. 9, first cutting blade assembly 320; [0009 "...first and second cutting blade assemblies carried by the housing, wherein the first and second cutting blade assemblies are transversely spaced-apart from one another with the second cutting blade assembly being located proximate the sidewall.] and [0092 "...the mower 300 may include a powered first cutting blade assembly 320..."]-[0093]) and an auxiliary cutting unit (see Fig. 9, second cutting blade assemblies 360 and 362 and/or cutting blade assembly 364; [0009 "..first and second cutting blade assemblies carried by the housing, wherein the first and second cutting blade assemblies are transversely spaced-apart from one another with the second cutting blade assembly being located proximate the sidewall."], [0092 "...one or more powered second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362. The second cutting blade assemblies (located proximate respective sidewalls in the illustrated examples) are powered by motors (e.g., motors 366 and 367, respectively)."]-[0095 "In still other embodiments, the mower could, in addition or alternatively to one or of both the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 provide yet another cutting blade assembly 364 defining a blade tip circle 365. In some embodiments, the cutting blade assembly 364 may be powered by its own motor (not shown) or clutched/declutched off of another blade motor. As is evident in FIG. 9 , the cutting blade assembly 364 may extend beyond the cutting chamber/housing to permit more versatile trimming. For instance, the cutting blade assembly 364 may be configured as a string trimmer head that may be selectively activated and deactivated by the controller 112 as needed (e.g., to trim around trees, fence posts, etc.)."]), the method comprising:
detecting a specific object in a normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit;
determining that the specific object is detected (see [0009 "The controller, via the sensor, is adapted to detect the presence of an unknown object within a local area of operation of the mower, and is further adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assembly while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly when the unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."], [0045]-[0047] and [0093 "As described elsewhere herein, the controller 112 may be adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly 320 when an unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."]-[0094]);
switching to an obstacle working mode based on at least the specific object being detected (see [0009 "The controller, via the sensor, is adapted to detect the presence of an unknown object within a local area of operation of the mower, and is further adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assembly while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly when the unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."], [0092 "That is, instead of shifting a single cutting blade assembly, the mower 300 may include a powered first cutting blade assembly 320 that operates alone (e.g., with the second cutting blade assembly deactivated) for mower operation in the first operating mode ...The motors, 366, 367 may be independently activated by the controller when the mower is in the second operating mode but be deactivated when the mower is in the first operating mode."] and [0093 "As described elsewhere herein, the controller 112 may be adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly 320 when an unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."]-[0094]); and
maintaining a working mode of the main cutting unit based on at least the specific object being detected (see [0009 "The controller, via the sensor, is adapted to detect the presence of an unknown object within a local area of operation of the mower, and is further adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assembly while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly when the unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."] and [0092 "That is, instead of shifting a single cutting blade assembly, the mower 300 may include a powered first cutting blade assembly 320 that operates alone (e.g., with the second cutting blade assembly deactivated) for mower operation in the first operating mode..."]-[0093 "As described elsewhere herein, the controller 112 may be adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly 320 when an unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."]).
Regarding Claim 18
Frick teaches the method according to claim 17 (as discussed above in claim 17),
wherein:
the switching to an obstacle working mode comprising changing a working state of the auxiliary cutting unit, the changing the working state of the auxiliary cutting unit comprising at least one of:
controlling the auxiliary cutting unit to stop working; and reducing a cutting energy of the auxiliary cutting unit (see [0009 "The controller, via the sensor, is adapted to detect the presence of an unknown object within a local area of operation of the mower, and is further adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assembly..."], [0092 "That is, instead of shifting a single cutting blade assembly, the mower 300 may include a powered first cutting blade assembly 320 that operates alone (e.g., with the second cutting blade assembly deactivated) for mower operation in the first operating mode ...The motors, 366, 367 may be independently activated by the controller when the mower is in the second operating mode but be deactivated when the mower is in the first operating mode."] and [0093 "As described elsewhere herein, the controller 112 may be adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362...."]-[0094 "Moreover, while described above as energizing motors associated with both second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 simultaneously, other embodiments may activate and deactivate these motors independently. For example, when the mower 300 is operating in the second operating mode and the controller 112 detects an unknown object approaching on its left side, it may deactivate the left cutting blade assembly 362 while permitting the right cutting blade assembly 360 to continue operation."]).
Regarding Claim 19
Frick teaches the method according to claim 17 (as discussed above in claim 17),
wherein the determining that the specific object is detected comprises:
determining that the detected object is a living body; and
determining that the specific object is detected in response to determining that the detected object is the living body (see [0065 "Examples of unknown objects include but are not limited to humans, animals, other yard vehicles, and debris. Unknown objects may include both moving and stationary objects. The controller 112 may respond differently when encountering different unknown objects. For example, the controller 112 may be able to determine that the unknown object is a person and cause the mower to behave differently than if the unknown object is determined to be something other than a person."]-[0067]).
Regarding Claim 20
Frick teaches an automatic mower (see all Figs.; especially Fig. 9; [0009]) comprising:
a housing (see Figs. 1 and 9, housing 102; [0009], [0040] and [0093]);
a main cutting unit (see Fig. 9, first cutting blade assembly 320; [0009 "...first and second cutting blade assemblies carried by the housing, wherein the first and second cutting blade assemblies are transversely spaced-apart from one another with the second cutting blade assembly being located proximate the sidewall.] and [0092 "...the mower 300 may include a powered first cutting blade assembly 320..."]-[0093]);
an auxiliary cutting unit (see Fig. 9, second cutting blade assemblies 360 and 362 and/or cutting blade assembly 364; [0009 "..first and second cutting blade assemblies carried by the housing, wherein the first and second cutting blade assemblies are transversely spaced-apart from one another with the second cutting blade assembly being located proximate the sidewall."], [0092 "...one or more powered second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362. The second cutting blade assemblies (located proximate respective sidewalls in the illustrated examples) are powered by motors (e.g., motors 366 and 367, respectively)."]-[0095 "In still other embodiments, the mower could, in addition or alternatively to one or of both the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 provide yet another cutting blade assembly 364 defining a blade tip circle 365. In some embodiments, the cutting blade assembly 364 may be powered by its own motor (not shown) or clutched/declutched off of another blade motor. As is evident in FIG. 9 , the cutting blade assembly 364 may extend beyond the cutting chamber/housing to permit more versatile trimming. For instance, the cutting blade assembly 364 may be configured as a string trimmer head that may be selectively activated and deactivated by the controller 112 as needed (e.g., to trim around trees, fence posts, etc.)."]);
a universal wheel at a front side of the automatic mower in front of the auxiliary cutting unit (see Fig. 1, front wheels 108a-b; [0040 "...one or more front wheels 108 (e.g., left front wheel 108 a and right front wheel 108 b), that support the housing 102 in rolling engagement upon the ground (grass) surface 101, i.e., the front wheels 108 may support a front-end portion 134 of the mower housing 102 while the rear wheels 106 support a rear end portion 136 of the mower housing."] and [0041 "In some embodiments, the front wheels 108 may freely caster relative to the housing 102 (e.g., about vertical axes)."]); and
an electronic device (see Fig. 1, electronic controller 112; [0009] and [0051]) comprising:
a memory configured to store computer executable instructions (see Fig. 1, memory 116; [0051]); and
a processor (see Fig. 1, processor 114; [0051]) configured to execute the computer executable instructions stored in the memory to perform acts comprising:
detecting that a specific object is detected in a normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit (see [0009 "The controller, via the sensor, is adapted to detect the presence of an unknown object within a local area of operation of the mower, and is further adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assembly while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly when the unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."], [0045]-[0047] and [0093 "As described elsewhere herein, the controller 112 may be adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly 320 when an unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."]-[0094]);
in response to determining that the specific object is detected, controlling the auxiliary cutting unit to execute a response action, while the main cutting unit does not perform any action (see [0009 "The controller, via the sensor, is adapted to detect the presence of an unknown object within a local area of operation of the mower, and is further adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assembly while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly when the unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."], [0092 "That is, instead of shifting a single cutting blade assembly, the mower 300 may include a powered first cutting blade assembly 320 that operates alone (e.g., with the second cutting blade assembly deactivated) for mower operation in the first operating mode ...The motors, 366, 367 may be independently activated by the controller when the mower is in the second operating mode but be deactivated when the mower is in the first operating mode."] and [0093 "As described elsewhere herein, the controller 112 may be adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly 320 when an unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."]-[0094]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frick.
Regarding Claim 6
Frick teaches the automatic mower according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
wherein a cutting energy of the auxiliary cutting unit is less than 2 joules (see [0009 "The controller, via the sensor, is adapted to detect the presence of an unknown object within a local area of operation of the mower, and is further adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assembly..."], [0084 "...may analyze information from the remote sensor 162 to confirm that the unknown object is no longer present within the local area of operation. If such confirmation fails, the mower may not proceed to the second operating mode, but rather may take other action (e.g., slow, turn, stop, stop blade operation, notify the remote computer, etc.)."] and [0093 "As described elsewhere herein, the controller 112 may be adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362...."]-[0094 "Moreover, while described above as energizing motors associated with both second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 simultaneously, other embodiments may activate and deactivate these motors independently."]).
Frick explicitly teaches disabling and/or stopping the second blade assembly from operating. Accordingly, the cutting energy is inherently ≈ 0 which is less than 2 joules, which a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been more than capable of recognizing.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cutting energy of the auxiliary cutting unit of the automatic mower of Frick to be less than 2 joules by stopping or disabling the auxiliary cutting unit, as taught by Frick, in order to improve safety by preventing the auxiliary cutting unit from colliding with an object.
Regarding Claims 8-9
Frick teaches the automatic mower according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
wherein:
the auxiliary cutting unit is arranged on a side of the automatic mower (see Fig. 9, second cutting blade assemblies 360 and 362 and/or cutting blade assembly 364; [0009 "..first and second cutting blade assemblies carried by the housing, wherein the first and second cutting blade assemblies are transversely spaced-apart from one another with the second cutting blade assembly being located proximate the sidewall."], [0092 "...one or more powered second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362. The second cutting blade assemblies (located proximate respective sidewalls in the illustrated examples) are powered by motors (e.g., motors 366 and 367, respectively)."]-[0095 "In still other embodiments, the mower could, in addition or alternatively to one or of both the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 provide yet another cutting blade assembly 364 defining a blade tip circle 365. In some embodiments, the cutting blade assembly 364 may be powered by its own motor (not shown) or clutched/declutched off of another blade motor. As is evident in FIG. 9 , the cutting blade assembly 364 may extend beyond the cutting chamber/housing to permit more versatile trimming. For instance, the cutting blade assembly 364 may be configured as a string trimmer head that may be selectively activated and deactivated by the controller 112 as needed (e.g., to trim around trees, fence posts, etc.)."]), and
the automatic mower further comprises: a sensor, disposed on the side of the automatic mower where the auxiliary cutting unit is arranged, configured to detect the specific object (see Fig. 1, sensors 103 and/or 132 and/or 131 and/or "side obstacle detection sensors"; [0045 "The mower 100 may optionally include one or more front obstacle detection sensors 130 and one or more rear obstacle detection sensors 132, as well as other sensors, such as side obstacle detection sensors (not shown)."]-[0047 "The vision-based sensors may include one or more cameras 131 that capture and/or record images for use with a vision system. The cameras 131 may be described as part of the vision system of the mower 100."] and [0065]);
wherein two or more sensors disposed on the side of the automatic mower where the auxiliary cutting unit is arranged (see Fig. 1, sensors 103 and/or 132 and/or 131 and/or "side obstacle detection sensors"; [0045 "The mower 100 may optionally include one or more front obstacle detection sensors 130 and one or more rear obstacle detection sensors 132, as well as other sensors, such as side obstacle detection sensors (not shown)."]-[0047 "The vision-based sensors may include one or more cameras 131 that capture and/or record images for use with a vision system. The cameras 131 may be described as part of the vision system of the mower 100."] and [0065]).
The claims do not define details of "on the side of the automatic mower where the auxiliary cutting unit is arranged". Accordingly, any of the above mentioned sensors in Frick read on the claim language, especially the "side obstacle detection sensors (not shown)". A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been more than capable of modifying the features in Frick to be the same as claimed in these claims.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensors of the automatic mower of Frick to be disposed on the side of the automatic mower where the auxiliary cutting unit is arranged, in order to adequately detect objects nearby the auxiliary cutting unit to prevent collisions. Additionally, rearrangement of parts is held to be an obvious matter of design choice when it would not have modified the operation of the device, as it would not have in this modification. See MPEP 2144.04(VI).
Claims 7 and 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frick and further in view of Kuriyagawa (US 20200390028 A1 and Kuriyagawa hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 7
Frick teaches the automatic mower according to claim 2 (as discussed above in claim 2),
wherein the acts further comprise:
detecting whether a specific object is detected in the obstacle working mode (see [0009 "The controller, via the sensor, is adapted to detect the presence of an unknown object within a local area of operation of the mower, and is further adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assembly while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly when the unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."], [0045]-[0047] and [0093 "As described elsewhere herein, the controller 112 may be adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly 320 when an unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."]-[0094]).
Frick is silent regarding in response to determining that the specific object is not detected,
detecting whether a working speed of the auxiliary cutting unit is 0, and resuming a normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit based on at least a working speed of the auxiliary cutting unit being not 0; or
detecting whether a maintaining time of the obstacle working mode exceeds a preset safety time, and resuming the normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit based on at least the maintaining time not exceeding the preset safety time.
Kuriyagawa teaches an automatic mower (see all Figs.; [0006] and [0018]) comprising:
an auxiliary cutting unit (see Fig. 1, blade 6; [0005] and [0020]); and
an electronic device (see Fig. 2, control portion 10; [0023]) comprising:
a memory configured to store computer executable instructions (see Fig. 2, memory 25; [0023]); and
a processor (see Fig. 2, CPU 24; [0023]) configured to execute the computer executable instructions stored in the memory to perform acts comprising:
detecting whether a specific object is detected in a normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit (see "foreign object"/"obstacle" in [0005] and [0028]); and
switching to an obstacle working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit based on at least that the specific object is detected (see "stop" and/or "safe mode" in [0006], [0028 "The second case is that the engine 2 has stopped due to a large amount of lawn grass, plant matter, an obstacle (e.g. stone, rock, dead tree, stump), or the like coming into contact with the blade 6, which is the work portion. The third case is that the engine 2 has stopped due to mowed lawn grass being stuck between the blade 6 and a housing of the lawn mower 1. If a large amount of lawn grass comes into contact with the blade 6, the engine speed of the engine 2 lowers relatively gently. If an obstacle comes into contact with the blade 6, the engine speed of the engine 2 lowers relatively rapidly."] and [0075]-[0076]);
wherein the acts further comprise:
detecting whether a specific object is detected in the obstacle working mode (see Fig. 4, steps S403-S404 and all of Fig. 5, especially step S507; [0005], [0028]-[0030], [0033] and [0051 "Accordingly, if an obstacle (foreign object), a large amount of lawn grass, or the like is still acting on the blade 6, the increase rate of the engine speed is small. That is to say, the engine speed does not reach the predetermined value in the predetermined time. On the other hand, an obstacle, a large amount of lawn grass, or the like is no longer acting on the blade 6, the increase rate of the engine speed is large."]); and
in response to determining that the specific object is not detected (see Fig. 4, all; Figs. 5, steps S501-S505; [0038]-[0050], especially [0038 "In step S401, the CPU 24 (engine control portion 28) determines whether or not an instruction to start the engine 2 has been given by the user. If the user has operated the stop-start switch 31 and given an instruction to start the engine 2, the CPU 24 advances the processing to step S402. An instruction to start the engine 2 given immediately after blade locking has occurred may also be called a restart request."] and [0046 "Note that, if the cause of blade locking is the presence of an obstacle, the travel control portion 26 may drive the travel motor 9 and reverse the lawn mower 1."]. While the automatic mower is turned off/stopped, it is incapable of sensing the specific object and therefore the specific object is not detected. The specific object is also not detected during steps S501-S505 because the engine speed has not yet been obtained, which is used to determine if the specific object is still present or not. Examiner recommends to amend the claim limitation to state "in response to determining that the specific object is not detected in the obstacle working mode,"),
detecting whether a working speed of the auxiliary cutting unit is 0, and resuming a normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit based on at least a working speed of the auxiliary cutting unit being not 0 (see Fig. 5, steps S506-511; [0029]-[0030], [0033], [0050]-[0051 "On the other hand, an obstacle, a large amount of lawn grass, or the like is no longer acting on the blade 6, the increase rate of the engine speed is large. That is to say, the engine speed reaches the predetermined value in the predetermined time. Thus, the CPU 24 can determine whether or not the factor of locking of the blade 6 has been solved or reduced, based on the engine speed. Note that the predetermined time is a threshold related to the time that has elapsed since the engine began to start. If the engine speed has reached the predetermined value in the predetermined time, the CPU 24 advances the processing to step S511. Step S511 is a step related to work control, and the details thereof will be described later."], [0053]-[0054] and [0073 "In step S812, the CPU 24 (engine control portion 28) stops the engine 2. In step S813, the CPU 24 (reason-for-stopping determination portion 50) creates stop information indicating that the factor of the stop is other than blade locking. For example, the stop information includes information indicating that the engine 2 has stopped based on a stop request made by the user. In step S809, the CPU 24 (RW portion 54) writes the stop information in the memory 25."]-[0075 "If it is determined in step S803 that the engine 2 has stopped, the CPU 24 advances the processing to step S804.']); or
detecting whether a maintaining time of the obstacle working mode exceeds a preset safety time, and resuming the normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit based on at least the maintaining time not exceeding the preset safety time (see "work control" in Fig. 5, steps S507-S511; Fig. 7, steps S801-S803 and S811 NO; [0051 "On the other hand, an obstacle, a large amount of lawn grass, or the like is no longer acting on the blade 6, the increase rate of the engine speed is large. That is to say, the engine speed reaches the predetermined value in the predetermined time. Thus, the CPU 24 can determine whether or not the factor of locking of the blade 6 has been solved or reduced, based on the engine speed. Note that the predetermined time is a threshold related to the time that has elapsed since the engine began to start. If the engine speed has reached the predetermined value in the predetermined time, the CPU 24 advances the processing to step S511. Step S511 is a step related to work control, and the details thereof will be described later."] and [0067]-[0057]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the automatic mower of Frick to further include instructions in response to determining that the specific object is not detected, detecting whether a working speed of the auxiliary cutting unit is 0, and resuming a normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit based on at least a working speed of the auxiliary cutting unit being not 0 or detecting whether a maintaining time of the obstacle working mode exceeds a preset safety time, and resuming the normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit based on at least the maintaining time not exceeding the preset safety time, as taught by Kuriyagawa, in order to determine whether or not an object locking the auxiliary cutting has been removed and to safely restart the auxiliary cutting unit accordingly.
Regarding Claim 21
Frick teaches an automatic mower (see all Figs.; especially Fig. 9; [0009]) comprising:
a housing (see Figs. 1 and 9, housing 102; [0009], [0040] and [0093]);
a main cutting unit (see Fig. 9, first cutting blade assembly 320; [0009 "...first and second cutting blade assemblies carried by the housing, wherein the first and second cutting blade assemblies are transversely spaced-apart from one another with the second cutting blade assembly being located proximate the sidewall.] and [0092 "...the mower 300 may include a powered first cutting blade assembly 320..."]-[0093]);
an auxiliary cutting unit (see Fig. 9, second cutting blade assemblies 360 and 362 and/or cutting blade assembly 364; [0009 "..first and second cutting blade assemblies carried by the housing, wherein the first and second cutting blade assemblies are transversely spaced-apart from one another with the second cutting blade assembly being located proximate the sidewall."], [0092 "...one or more powered second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362. The second cutting blade assemblies (located proximate respective sidewalls in the illustrated examples) are powered by motors (e.g., motors 366 and 367, respectively)."]-[0095 "In still other embodiments, the mower could, in addition or alternatively to one or of both the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 provide yet another cutting blade assembly 364 defining a blade tip circle 365. In some embodiments, the cutting blade assembly 364 may be powered by its own motor (not shown) or clutched/declutched off of another blade motor. As is evident in FIG. 9 , the cutting blade assembly 364 may extend beyond the cutting chamber/housing to permit more versatile trimming. For instance, the cutting blade assembly 364 may be configured as a string trimmer head that may be selectively activated and deactivated by the controller 112 as needed (e.g., to trim around trees, fence posts, etc.)."]); and
an electronic device (see Fig. 1, electronic controller 112; [0009] and [0051]) comprising:
a memory configured to store computer executable instructions (see Fig. 1, memory 116; [0051]); and
a processor configured to execute the computer executable instructions stored in the memory (see Fig. 1, processor 114; [0051]) to perform acts comprising:
detecting whether a specific object is detected in a normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit (see [0009 "The controller, via the sensor, is adapted to detect the presence of an unknown object within a local area of operation of the mower, and is further adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assembly while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly when the unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."], [0045]-[0047] and [0093 "As described elsewhere herein, the controller 112 may be adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly 320 when an unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."]-[0094]);
maintaining a working state of the main cutting unit based on at least that the specific object is detected (see [0009 "The controller, via the sensor, is adapted to detect the presence of an unknown object within a local area of operation of the mower, and is further adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assembly while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly when the unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."] and [0092 "That is, instead of shifting a single cutting blade assembly, the mower 300 may include a powered first cutting blade assembly 320 that operates alone (e.g., with the second cutting blade assembly deactivated) for mower operation in the first operating mode..."]-[0093 "As described elsewhere herein, the controller 112 may be adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly 320 when an unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."]);
switching to an obstacle working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit based on at least that the specific object is detected (see [0009 "The controller, via the sensor, is adapted to detect the presence of an unknown object within a local area of operation of the mower, and is further adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assembly while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly when the unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."], [0092 "That is, instead of shifting a single cutting blade assembly, the mower 300 may include a powered first cutting blade assembly 320 that operates alone (e.g., with the second cutting blade assembly deactivated) for mower operation in the first operating mode ...The motors, 366, 367 may be independently activated by the controller when the mower is in the second operating mode but be deactivated when the mower is in the first operating mode."] and [0093 "As described elsewhere herein, the controller 112 may be adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly 320 when an unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."]-[0094]); and
detecting whether a specific object is detected in the obstacle working mode (see [0009 "The controller, via the sensor, is adapted to detect the presence of an unknown object within a local area of operation of the mower, and is further adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assembly while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly when the unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."], [0045]-[0047] and [0093 "As described elsewhere herein, the controller 112 may be adapted to automatically disable the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 while maintaining operation of the first cutting blade assembly 320 when an unknown object is detected within the local area of operation."]-[0094]).
Frick is silent regarding in response to determining that the specific object is not detected,
detecting whether a working speed of the auxiliary cutting unit is 0, and resuming a normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit based at least on the working speed of the auxiliary cutting unit being not 0; or
detecting whether a maintaining time of the obstacle working mode exceeds a preset safety time, and resuming the normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit based on at least the maintaining time not exceeding the preset safety time.
Kuriyagawa teaches an automatic mower (see all Figs.; [0006] and [0018]) comprising:
a housing (see Fig. 1, lawn mower 1; [0019]);
an auxiliary cutting unit (see Fig. 1, blade 6; [0005] and [0020]); and
an electronic device (see Fig. 2, control portion 10; [0023]) comprising:
a memory configured to store computer executable instructions (see Fig. 2, memory 25; [0023]); and
a processor configured to execute the computer executable instructions (see Fig. 2, CPU 24; [0023]) stored in the memory to perform acts comprising:
detecting whether a specific object is detected in a normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit (see "foreign object"/"obstacle" in [0005] and [0028]);
switching to an obstacle working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit based on at least that the specific object is detected (see "stop" and/or "safe mode" in [0006], [0028 "The second case is that the engine 2 has stopped due to a large amount of lawn grass, plant matter, an obstacle (e.g. stone, rock, dead tree, stump), or the like coming into contact with the blade 6, which is the work portion. The third case is that the engine 2 has stopped due to mowed lawn grass being stuck between the blade 6 and a housing of the lawn mower 1. If a large amount of lawn grass comes into contact with the blade 6, the engine speed of the engine 2 lowers relatively gently. If an obstacle comes into contact with the blade 6, the engine speed of the engine 2 lowers relatively rapidly."] and [0075]-[0076]);
detecting whether a specific object is detected in the obstacle working mode (see Fig. 4, steps S403-S404 and all of Fig. 5, especially step S507; [0005], [0028]-[0030], [0033] and [0051 "Accordingly, if an obstacle (foreign object), a large amount of lawn grass, or the like is still acting on the blade 6, the increase rate of the engine speed is small. That is to say, the engine speed does not reach the predetermined value in the predetermined time. On the other hand, an obstacle, a large amount of lawn grass, or the like is no longer acting on the blade 6, the increase rate of the engine speed is large."]); and
in response to determining that the specific object is not detected (see Fig. 4, all; Figs. 5, steps S501-S505; [0038]-[0050], especially [0038 "In step S401, the CPU 24 (engine control portion 28) determines whether or not an instruction to start the engine 2 has been given by the user. If the user has operated the stop-start switch 31 and given an instruction to start the engine 2, the CPU 24 advances the processing to step S402. An instruction to start the engine 2 given immediately after blade locking has occurred may also be called a restart request."] and [0046 "Note that, if the cause of blade locking is the presence of an obstacle, the travel control portion 26 may drive the travel motor 9 and reverse the lawn mower 1."]. While the automatic mower is turned off/stopped, it is incapable of sensing the specific object and therefore the specific object is not detected. The specific object is also not detected during steps S501-S505 because the engine speed has not yet been obtained, which is used to determine if the specific object is still present or not. Examiner recommends to amend the claim limitation to state "in response to determining that the specific object is not detected in the obstacle working mode,"),
detecting whether a working speed of the auxiliary cutting unit is 0, and resuming a normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit based at least on the working speed of the auxiliary cutting unit being not 0 (see Fig. 5, steps S506-511; [0029]-[0030], [0033], [0050]-[0051 "On the other hand, an obstacle, a large amount of lawn grass, or the like is no longer acting on the blade 6, the increase rate of the engine speed is large. That is to say, the engine speed reaches the predetermined value in the predetermined time. Thus, the CPU 24 can determine whether or not the factor of locking of the blade 6 has been solved or reduced, based on the engine speed. Note that the predetermined time is a threshold related to the time that has elapsed since the engine began to start. If the engine speed has reached the predetermined value in the predetermined time, the CPU 24 advances the processing to step S511. Step S511 is a step related to work control, and the details thereof will be described later."], [0053]-[0054] and [0073 "In step S812, the CPU 24 (engine control portion 28) stops the engine 2. In step S813, the CPU 24 (reason-for-stopping determination portion 50) creates stop information indicating that the factor of the stop is other than blade locking. For example, the stop information includes information indicating that the engine 2 has stopped based on a stop request made by the user. In step S809, the CPU 24 (RW portion 54) writes the stop information in the memory 25."]-[0075 "If it is determined in step S803 that the engine 2 has stopped, the CPU 24 advances the processing to step S804.']); or
detecting whether a maintaining time of the obstacle working mode exceeds a preset safety time, and resuming the normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit based on at least the maintaining time not exceeding the preset safety time (see "work control" in Fig. 5, steps S507-S511; Fig. 7, steps S801-S803 and S811 NO; [0051 "On the other hand, an obstacle, a large amount of lawn grass, or the like is no longer acting on the blade 6, the increase rate of the engine speed is large. That is to say, the engine speed reaches the predetermined value in the predetermined time. Thus, the CPU 24 can determine whether or not the factor of locking of the blade 6 has been solved or reduced, based on the engine speed. Note that the predetermined time is a threshold related to the time that has elapsed since the engine began to start. If the engine speed has reached the predetermined value in the predetermined time, the CPU 24 advances the processing to step S511. Step S511 is a step related to work control, and the details thereof will be described later."] and [0067]-[0057]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the automatic mower of Frick to further include instructions in response to determining that the specific object is not detected, detecting whether a working speed of the auxiliary cutting unit is 0, and resuming a normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit based on at least a working speed of the auxiliary cutting unit being not 0 or detecting whether a maintaining time of the obstacle working mode exceeds a preset safety time, and resuming the normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit based on at least the maintaining time not exceeding the preset safety time, as taught by Kuriyagawa, in order to determine whether or not an object locking the auxiliary cutting has been removed and to safely restart the auxiliary cutting unit accordingly.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frick as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lego (US 20180077861 A1 and Lego hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 10
Frick teaches the automatic mower according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
wherein:
the auxiliary cutting unit is a mowing head (see [0095 "For instance, the cutting blade assembly 364 may be configured as a string trimmer head that may be selectively activated and deactivated by the controller 112 as needed (e.g., to trim around trees, fence posts, etc.)."]); and
the mowing head comprises a trimmer line (see [0042 "Still further, embodiments combining various cutting elements, e.g., a rotary blade and a string trimmer, are also contemplated."] and [0095 "For instance, the cutting blade assembly 364 may be configured as a string trimmer head that may be selectively activated and deactivated by the controller 112 as needed (e.g., to trim around trees, fence posts, etc.)."]), and a driving motor that drives the winder to rotate (see [0095 "In some embodiments, the cutting blade assembly 364 may be powered by its own motor (not shown) or clutched/declutched off of another blade motor. "]).
Although it may be inherent and/or obvious, Frick does not explicitly teach the mowing head comprising a winder and the trimmer line wound around the winder.
Lego teaches an automatic mower (see all Figs.; [0006]-[0007]) comprising:
an auxiliary cutting unit (see lawn trimmer assembly 10 in all Figs.; [0006]-[0012] and [0021]);
wherein:
the auxiliary cutting unit is a mowing head (see [0022 "Further, in the embodiment shown, the distal end 13 of the trimmer shaft 11 is a trimmer line head that contains a central spool, around which extra trimmer line is wrapped. In some embodiments, the spool is separated into two sections by a divider, each section having a trimmer line wrapped around it, wherein an end portion of the trimmer line protrudes through an aperture on the trimmer line head to extend horizontally outwards from the trimmer shaft in opposing directions. The trimmer line head may be a bump feed trimmer line head."]); and
the mowing head comprises a winder, a trimmer line wound around the winder, and a driving motor that drives the winder to rotate (see [0021 "The motor 15 is configured to rotate the trimmer shaft 11 about a central longitudinal axis 18. In the shown embodiment, the motor 15 rotates the trimmer shaft 11 at 8000 revolutions per minute (RPM), but, in other embodiments, the motor 15 can rotate the trimmer shaft 11 at a range of revolutions per minute.']-[0022 "Further, in the embodiment shown, the distal end 13 of the trimmer shaft 11 is a trimmer line head that contains a central spool, around which extra trimmer line is wrapped. In some embodiments, the spool is separated into two sections by a divider, each section having a trimmer line wrapped around it, wherein an end portion of the trimmer line protrudes through an aperture on the trimmer line head to extend horizontally outwards from the trimmer shaft in opposing directions. The trimmer line head may be a bump feed trimmer line head."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the auxiliary cutting unit of the automatic mower of Frick to include a winder and the trimmer line wound around the winder, as taught by Lego, to facilitate a trimming operation by extending the trimmer line outwards in opposite directions.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frick as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hans et al. (US 20180352732 A1 and Hans hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 11
Frick teaches the automatic mower according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Frick is silent regarding wherein a cutting element of the auxiliary cutting unit is different from a cutting element of the main cutting unit.
Hans teaches an automatic mower (see all Figs., especially Fig. 1; [0006]) comprising:
a main cutting unit (see Fig. 1, first motor-driven treatment tool 20; [0006] and [0037]);
an auxiliary cutting unit (see Fig. 2, second motor-driven treatment tool 30; [0006] and [0037]); and
an electronic device (see Fig. 2, control unit 60; [0041]) comprising:
a memory configured to store computer executable instructions (the memory is inherent in the control unit 60); and
a processor (the processor is inherent in the control unit 60) configured to execute the computer executable instructions stored in the memory to perform acts comprising:
detecting whether a specific object is detected in a normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit (see [0015 "Furthermore additionally or alternatively, the autonomous mobile green area maintenance robot can have at least one obstacle sensor, wherein the obstacle sensor can be configured for detecting an obstacle. The green area maintenance robot can be configured to render the first treatment tool and/or the second treatment tool inoperative, depending on any detected obstacle. The obstacle can be, for example, a human being and/or an animal."], [0022]-[0024] and [0040]-[0042]); and
switching to an obstacle working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit based on at least that the specific object is detected (see [0015 "Furthermore additionally or alternatively, the autonomous mobile green area maintenance robot can have at least one obstacle sensor, wherein the obstacle sensor can be configured for detecting an obstacle. The green area maintenance robot can be configured to render the first treatment tool and/or the second treatment tool inoperative, depending on any detected obstacle. The obstacle can be, for example, a human being and/or an animal."], [0022 "In a refinement of the invention the autonomous mobile green area maintenance robot is configured in such a manner that the second motor-driven treatment tool takes evasive action when touching and/or contacting an obstacle."]-[0024] and [0040]-[0042]);
wherein a cutting element of the auxiliary cutting unit is different from a cutting element of the main cutting unit (see [0022], [0037 "The second treatment tool 30 is different from the first treatment tool 20."] and [0039]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cutting element of the auxiliary cutting unit of the automatic mower of Frick to be different from a cutting element of the main cutting unit, as taught by Hans, to enable the main cutting unit to cut a variety of grass and plants with metal, while improving safety when collisions occur between objects and a flexible auxiliary cutting unit.
Regarding Claim 12
Frick teaches the automatic mower according to claim 11 (as discussed above in claim 11),
wherein the cutting element of the auxiliary cutting unit is made of a flexible material (see [0040]-[0042 "Still further, embodiments combining various cutting elements, e.g., a rotary blade and a string trimmer, are also contemplated."] and [0095 "For instance, the cutting blade assembly 364 may be configured as a string trimmer head that may be selectively activated and deactivated by the controller 112 as needed (e.g., to trim around trees, fence posts, etc.)."]).
Frick is silent regarding while the cutting element of the main cutting unit is made of metal.
Hans teaches wherein the cutting element of the auxiliary cutting unit is made of a flexible material; while the cutting element of the main cutting unit is made of metal (see [0022 "Additionally or alternatively, a receptacle of the second treatment tool can be configured so as to be elastic, flexible, and/or resilient. Furthermore additionally or alternatively, a drive shaft of the second treatment tool can be configured so as to be elastic."] and [0039 "In the exemplary embodiment shown, the first treatment tool 20 comprises a metallic cutting blade having three cutting teeth."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cutting element of the main cutting unit of the automatic mower of Frick to be made of metal, as taught by Hans, to enable the main cutting unit to cut a variety of grass and plants with metal, while improving safety when collisions occur between objects and a flexible auxiliary cutting unit.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frick as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhao et al. (US 20210219488 A1 and Zhao hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 13
Frick teaches the automatic mower according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
wherein:
the auxiliary cutting unit is arranged on an opposite side of the main cutting unit (see Fig. 9, second cutting blade assemblies 360 and 362 and/or cutting blade assembly 364; [0009 "..first and second cutting blade assemblies carried by the housing, wherein the first and second cutting blade assemblies are transversely spaced-apart from one another with the second cutting blade assembly being located proximate the sidewall."], [0092 "...one or more powered second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362. The second cutting blade assemblies (located proximate respective sidewalls in the illustrated examples) are powered by motors (e.g., motors 366 and 367, respectively)."]-[0095 "In still other embodiments, the mower could, in addition or alternatively to one or of both the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 provide yet another cutting blade assembly 364 defining a blade tip circle 365. In some embodiments, the cutting blade assembly 364 may be powered by its own motor (not shown) or clutched/declutched off of another blade motor. As is evident in FIG. 9 , the cutting blade assembly 364 may extend beyond the cutting chamber/housing to permit more versatile trimming. For instance, the cutting blade assembly 364 may be configured as a string trimmer head that may be selectively activated and deactivated by the controller 112 as needed (e.g., to trim around trees, fence posts, etc.)."]);
the acts further comprise:
controlling the auxiliary cutting unit to operate when the automatic mower moves along a first movement path (see Fig. 9, second cutting blade assemblies 360 and 362 and/or cutting blade assembly 364; [0009 "..first and second cutting blade assemblies carried by the housing, wherein the first and second cutting blade assemblies are transversely spaced-apart from one another with the second cutting blade assembly being located proximate the sidewall."], [0092 "...one or more powered second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362. The second cutting blade assemblies (located proximate respective sidewalls in the illustrated examples) are powered by motors (e.g., motors 366 and 367, respectively)."]-[0095 "In still other embodiments, the mower could, in addition or alternatively to one or of both the second cutting blade assemblies 360, 362 provide yet another cutting blade assembly 364 defining a blade tip circle 365. In some embodiments, the cutting blade assembly 364 may be powered by its own motor (not shown) or clutched/declutched off of another blade motor. As is evident in FIG. 9 , the cutting blade assembly 364 may extend beyond the cutting chamber/housing to permit more versatile trimming. For instance, the cutting blade assembly 364 may be configured as a string trimmer head that may be selectively activated and deactivated by the controller 112 as needed (e.g., to trim around trees, fence posts, etc.)."]).
Frick is silent regarding controlling the main cutting unit to operate when the automatic mower moves along a second movement path, the first movement path referring to a path formed when the automatic mower moves clockwise along a boundary of a working area, and the second movement path referring to a path formed when the automatic mower moves counter clockwise along the boundary of the working area,
wherein in a width direction of the automatic mower, an auxiliary cutting area of the auxiliary cutting unit, when the automatic mower moves along the first movement path, is tangent to or overlaps with a main cutting area of the main cutting unit when the automatic mower moves along the second movement path.
Zhao teaches an automatic mower (see all Figs.; [0007]) comprising:
a main cutting unit (see cutting module 300 in most Figs.; [0007 "...a cutting module, mounted in the housing, the cutting module rotating with a first rotational axis being the center to form a cutting region…"] and [0053]);
an auxiliary cutting unit (see cut-to-edge module 200 in most Figs.; [0007 "...a cut-to-edge module, mounted in the housing, the cut-to-edge module rotating with a second rotational axis being the center to form a cut-to-edge region, the cut-to-edge module including a cut-to-edge element, the cut-to-edge element being different from the cutting element..."] and [0053]);
wherein:
the auxiliary cutting unit is arranged on an opposite side of the main cutting unit (see the cutting module 300 and cut-to-edge module 200 in Figs. 15-18);
the acts further comprise:
controlling the auxiliary cutting unit to operate when the automatic mower moves along a first movement path (see Figs. 17-18, all; [0116 "Next, the cut-to-edge mode is started, the autonomous lawn mower moves along the boundary of the working region in the second direction, the cut-to-edge module 200 works and trims plants beyond the boundary of the working region, and the cutting module 300 stops working. As shown in FIG. 17 and FIG. 18, when the cut-to-edge module 200 works, the cut-to-edge module 200 can trim plants to the edge."]); and
controlling the main cutting unit to operate when the automatic mower moves along a second movement path (see Figs. 15-16, all; [0115 "Referring to FIG. 15 to FIG. 18, in an optional implementation of this embodiment, in the cut-along-edge mode, the autonomous lawn mower moves along the boundary of the working region in the first direction, the cutting module 300 works, and the cut-to-edge module 200 stops working. As shown in FIG. 15 and FIG. 16, when the cutting module 300 works, the cutting module 300 cannot completely perform cutting to the edge."]), the first movement path referring to a path formed when the automatic mower moves clockwise along a boundary of a working area (see Figs. 17-18, all; [0090] and [0116 "Next, the cut-to-edge mode is started, the autonomous lawn mower moves along the boundary of the working region in the second direction, the cut-to-edge module 200 works and trims plants beyond the boundary of the working region, and the cutting module 300 stops working. As shown in FIG. 17 and FIG. 18, when the cut-to-edge module 200 works, the cut-to-edge module 200 can trim plants to the edge."]), and the second movement path referring to a path formed when the automatic mower moves counter clockwise along the boundary of the working area (see Figs. 15-16, all; [0091] and [0115 "Referring to FIG. 15 to FIG. 18, in an optional implementation of this embodiment, in the cut-along-edge mode, the autonomous lawn mower moves along the boundary of the working region in the first direction, the cutting module 300 works, and the cut-to-edge module 200 stops working. As shown in FIG. 15 and FIG. 16, when the cutting module 300 works, the cutting module 300 cannot completely perform cutting to the edge."]),
wherein in a width direction of the automatic mower, an auxiliary cutting area of the auxiliary cutting unit, when the automatic mower moves along the first movement path, is tangent to or overlaps with a main cutting area of the main cutting unit when the automatic mower moves along the second movement path (see Figs. 15-18, all; [0064 "In an embodiment, the maximum size of an overlap between the moving trajectory of the cut-to-edge region of the cut-to-edge module 200 and the moving trajectory of the cutting region of the cutting module 300 is not less than 5 mm, to avoid a dead zone between the trimming region of the cut-to-edge module 200 and the cutting region of the cutting module 300, and to further avoid a case in which plants such as grass near the edge of the working region cannot be cut."], [0090]-[0096] and [0115]-[0116]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the automatic mower of Frick to include the second movement path control instructions, as taught by Zhao, to cut plants or grass near the edge of a working region while avoiding a dead zone between the main cutting unit and auxiliary cutting unit.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frick as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Yamada (US 20190364727 A1 and Yamada hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 14
Modified Frick teaches the automatic mower according to claim 13 (as discussed above in claim 13),
wherein:
a universal wheel at a front side of the automatic mower in front of the auxiliary cutting unit (see Fig. 1, front wheels 108a-b; [0040 "...one or more front wheels 108 (e.g., left front wheel 108 a and right front wheel 108 b), that support the housing 102 in rolling engagement upon the ground (grass) surface 101, i.e., the front wheels 108 may support a front-end portion 134 of the mower housing 102 while the rear wheels 106 support a rear end portion 136 of the mower housing."] and [0041 "In some embodiments, the front wheels 108 may freely caster relative to the housing 102 (e.g., about vertical axes)."]).
Frick is silent regarding a gap between an auxiliary cutting area of the auxiliary cutting unit and a movement area of the universal wheel is greater than 5 mm.
Yamada teaches an automatic mower (see all Figs.; [0001], [0006]-[0018] and [0027]) comprising:
a main cutting unit (see Fig. 2; center cutter blade unit 53; [0014], [0018] and [0030]);
an auxiliary cutting unit (see Fig. 2, left cutter blade unit 51 and/or right cutter blade unit 52; [0012]-[0013] and [0030]); and
an electronic device (see Fig. 4, control unit 6; [0034]) comprising:
a memory configured to store computer executable instructions (the memory is inherent); and
a processor (see Fig. 4, all, for example image processing module 93; [0039]) configured to execute the computer executable instructions stored in the memory to perform acts comprising:
detecting whether a specific object is detected in a normal working mode of the auxiliary cutting unit (see [0039 "The image processing module 93 has a function of detecting a borderline between a cut land and an uncut land or a function of detecting an obstacle, from photographed image."] and [0045]);
wherein:
a universal wheel at a front side of the automatic mower in front of the auxiliary cutting unit (see Fig. 2; front wheel 10; [0008], [0020] and [0029 "The front wheel 10 is a caster wheel.']); and
a gap between an auxiliary cutting area of the auxiliary cutting unit and a movement area of the universal wheel is greater than 5 mm (see the gap between front wheel 10 and left/right cutter blade units 51/52 in Fig. 2, especially gap "W"; [0019]-[0020] and [0033 "In the vehicle body transverse direction, a gap (denoted by “W” in FIG. 2) is present between the left rotation locus C1 and the right rotation locus C2. Due to the presence of this gap, there is formed an uncut area having the width W when the robot mower has traveled forwardly with driving its mower unit."]; the minimum gap between an auxiliary cutting area of the auxiliary cutting unit and a movement area of the universal wheel is equal to W/2 - half of the width of the front wheel 10. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been more than capable of designing the gap to be greater than 5mm based off of Fig. 2 of Yamada).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the automatic mower of modified Frick to include a gap between an auxiliary cutting area of the auxiliary cutting unit and a movement area of the universal wheel greater than 5 mm, as taught by Yamada, in order to avoid interference between the universal wheel and the auxiliary cutting unit. Determining a gap greater than 5mm would have been obvious because it would have been well within the level of skill of the person having ordinary skill in the art and is one of a finite number of inclination angles which could be set and is a mere matter of design choice. Choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation for success, is likely to be obvious to a person if ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, E.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TANNER L CULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656