DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3-12 and 17-18 are currently pending. Claims 2 and 13-16 are canceled. Claims 1, 6, 8 and 11 are amended. This is the first Office Action on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
No Information Disclosure Statement has been filed. Applicant is reminded of their duty to disclose.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §112(b)
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for reciting “undesirably dark skin”.
The phrase “undesirably dark skin” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase “undesirably dark skin” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. One skilled in the art, therefore, would not be reasonably apprised of the metes and bounds of the claims.
For the purposes of this office action claim 8 will be interpreted to mean dark skin.
Claims 6 recite an improper Markush group “selected from”. See MPEP 2173.05(h). The group is listed using the alternative “or” and it is unclear whether the group is open ended or closed. This ambiguity has rendered the claim indefinite.
A Markush grouping is a closed group of alternatives, i.e., the selection is made from a group "consisting of" (rather than "comprising" or "including") the alternative members. Abbott Labs., 334 F.3d at 1280, 67 USPQ2d at 1196. If a Markush grouping requires a material selected from an open list of alternatives (e.g., selected from the group "comprising" or "consisting essentially of" the recited alternatives), the claim should generally be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite because it is unclear what other alternatives are intended to be encompassed by the claim.
Claim 6 recites an improper Markush group in the recitation of the phrase “selected from” and the use of the alternative conjunction “or” in listing the group. See MPEP 2173.05(h). The use of this language makes it unclear whether the group is open ended or closed. This ambiguity has rendered the claim indefinite.
A Markush grouping is a closed group of alternatives, i.e., the selection is made from a group "consisting of" (rather than "comprising" or "including") the alternative members. Abbott Labs., 334 F.3d at 1280, 67 USPQ2d at 1196. If a Markush grouping requires a material selected from an open list of alternatives (e.g., selected from the group "comprising" or "consisting essentially of" the recited alternatives), the claim should generally be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite because it is unclear what other alternatives are intended to be encompassed by the claim.
Claim 7 recites an improper Markush group in the recitation of the phrase “selected from” and the use of the alternative conjunction “or” in listing the group. See MPEP 2173.05(h). The use of this language makes it unclear whether the group is open ended or closed. This ambiguity has rendered the claim indefinite.
A Markush grouping is a closed group of alternatives, i.e., the selection is made from a group "consisting of" (rather than "comprising" or "including") the alternative members. Abbott Labs., 334 F.3d at 1280, 67 USPQ2d at 1196. If a Markush grouping requires a material selected from an open list of alternatives (e.g., selected from the group "comprising" or "consisting essentially of" the recited alternatives), the claim should generally be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite because it is unclear what other alternatives are intended to be encompassed by the claim.
Claim 8 recites an improper Markush group in the recitation of the phrase “selected from” and the use of the alternative conjunction “or” in listing the group. See MPEP 2173.05(h). The use of this language makes it unclear whether the group is open ended or closed. This ambiguity has rendered the claim indefinite.
A Markush grouping is a closed group of alternatives, i.e., the selection is made from a group "consisting of" (rather than "comprising" or "including") the alternative members. Abbott Labs., 334 F.3d at 1280, 67 USPQ2d at 1196. If a Markush grouping requires a material selected from an open list of alternatives (e.g., selected from the group "comprising" or "consisting essentially of" the recited alternatives), the claim should generally be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite because it is unclear what other alternatives are intended to be encompassed by the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-12 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Farwick et al. US 2010/0311668 (10/22/2009) in view of Sun et al. Bisacurone Inhibits Adhesion of Inflammatory Monocytes or Cancer Cells to Endothelial Cells Through Down-Regulation of VCAM-1 Expression, International Immunopharmacology 8, 1272-1281 (2008) and Megumi et al. Preventive Activity of ar-Turmerone and Bisacurone Isolated From Turmeric Extract Against Ethanol Induced Hepatocyte Injury, Food Science and Technology Research, 23 (2), 175-281, 2017 as evidenced by Mae et al. US 2004/0028751 (2/12/2004).
Farwick et al. (Farwick) teaches a method of reducing the visible signs of aging in human skin and hair that comprises applying to skin in need of such treatment a topical composition comprising a safe and effective amount of a tetrapeptide and a safe and effective amount of at least one additional active ingredient that includes a skin lightening agent, an anti-inflammatory active and a dermatologically acceptable carrier. (See Abstract and Farwick claim 9). Farwick teaches kojic acid as a skin lightening agent. (See [0039]). Kojic acid is called for in instant claim 7. Farwick also teaches that the topical composition can comprise ascorbic acid (called for in instant claim 11) which is a skin rejuvenation agent as called for in instant claim 10. Topical application is called for in instant claim 5. With respect to the method of whitening the skin in claim 1, kojic acid will lighten skin since Farwick teaches that it is a known skin lightening agent. (See [0039]).
Farwick teaches that the skin that is treated may be undesirably dark skin such as dark circles. (See [0108]). Undesirably dark skin is called for in instant claim 8. A human patient is called for in instant claim 9. The composition may be a solution as called for in instant claim 6.
Farwick also teaches that the topical composition can also comprise turmeric extract. (See [0070]). Turmeric extract is turmeric rhizome extract as called for in instant claim 12 as evidenced by Mae et al. which teaches at [0038] that turmeric is the raw material of the turmeric extract and it is the root or the rhizome of Curcuma longa. (See Mae [0038]).
Farwick does not teach an effective amount of bisacurone or bisacurone that is extracted from a turmeric rhizome. These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Sun et al. and Megumi et al.
Sun et al. (Sun) teaches that bisacurone, one of the active compounds of the traditionally used indigenous herb Curcuma longa, has anti-oxidant, anti-inflammatory and anti-metastatic activities. (See Abstract). Sun teaches an isolated and purified bisacurone. (See page 1273). The amount of isolated and purified bisacurone is 220 mg which is an effective amount as called for in instant claim 1. It is an effective amount because concentrations of bisacurone that are much less (specifically 1, 5, 10 and 50 microMolar concentrations, see Sec. 3.1) were effective in inhibiting VCAM-1 luc promoter activity dose dependently. (See Sec. 3.1 and Figure 2). An effective amount of bisacurone is called for in instant claim 1.
Sun teaches that the bisacurone is obtained through solvent extraction, specifically using methanol solvent. (See Section 2.1 Extraction and isolation). Sun thus teaches that the bisacurone is obtained by solvent extraction as called for in instant claim 17. Methanol extraction is also alcohol extraction as called for in instant claim 18.
Megumi et al. (Megumi) describes a study using bisacurone extracted from a turmeric rhizome. (See Abstract, page 276 and 279). The study describes the demonstrable cytoprotective activities of isolated bisacurone against ethanol-induced hepatocyte injury. (See Figure 5). Cells were treated with purified bisacurone and then exposed to 1.5% ethanol for 24 hours. (See Figure 5). A biscurone that is an extract of a turmeric rhizome is called for in instant claim 12.
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date following the Farwick method to use 220 mg purified bisacurone to the composition as an additional anti-inflammatory in order to give the composition anti-oxidant and anti-inflammatory activities as taught by Sun. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because Farwick teaches the acceptability of the inclusion of additional antioxidants from botanical sources.
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date following the Farwick method to use methanol solvent extraction of turmeric to obtain bisacurone as taught by Sun in order to have a simple alcohol solvent extraction method that is effective at obtaining bisacurone as taught by Sun.
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date following the Farwick method to use obtain bisacurone from turmeric rhizome as taught by Megumi in order to have a bisacurone that is able to protect cells from ethanol damage as taught by Megumi.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Farwick et al. US 2010/0311668 (10/22/2009) in view of Sun et al. Bisacurone Inhibits Adhesion of Inflammatory Monocytes or Cancer Cells to Endothelial Cells Through Down-Regulation of VCAM-1 Expression, International Immunopharmacology 8, 1272-1281 (2008) and Megumi et al. Preventive Activity of ar-Turmerone and Bisacurone Isolated From Turmeric Extract Against Ethanol Induced Hepatocyte Injury, Food Science and Technology Research, 23 (2), 175-281, 2017 as evidenced by Mae et al. US 2004/0028751 (2/12/2004) as applied to claims 1, 5-12 and 17-18 and further in view of KR 20180121412 (11/7/2018)(“KR”).
The teachings of Farwick in view of Sun and Megumi are described supra. Farwick in view of Sun and Megumi do not teach oral or systemic administration. These deficiencies are made up with the teachings of KR.
KR teaches a whitening cosmetic composition and beauty functional food containing demothoxycurcumin isolated from a Curcuma aromatic extract which has melanin synthesis inhibitor activity. (See Abstract). While KR does not teach bisacurone, it does teach that extracts of Curcuma can be administered topically, orally and systemically and can aid in whitening skin or inhibiting melanin synthesis. In addition to demethoxycurcumin, the cosmetic composition may contain conventional adjuvants and carriers such as antioxidants. (See pages 9 and 12). Thus, the inclusion of additional antioxidants is expressly taught.
KR teaches that oral administration is preferred. (See page 12). Oral administration is called for in instant claim 3 and systemic administration is called for in instant claim 4.
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date following the Farwick in view of Sun and Megumi to administer the composition orally and systemically as taught by KR in light of its teaching that its whitening composition can contain additional antioxidants and its preferred mode of administration is oral administration.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-12 and 17-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstautory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12246079 in view of Sun et al. Bisacurone Inhibits Adhesion of Inflammatory Monocytes or Cancer Cells to Endothelial Cells Through Down-Regulation of VCAM-1 Expression, International Immunopharmacology 8, 1272-1281 (2008).
Specifically, although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in the instant case the claims are drawn to a method of whitening the skin comprising administering to a patient in need thereof an effective amount of a composition comprising bisacurone; wherein administering said composition whitens the skin of the patient.
Claims 1-12 of US Patent No. 17/980169 are drawn to a method of whitening the skin comprising administering to a patient in need thereof an effective amount of a composition comprising bisacurone; wherein administering said composition whitens the skin of the patient.
Claims 1-12 of US Patent No. 17/980169 differ from those of the instant application in that they do not teach an effective amount of a composition comprising bisacurone and they do not teach an alcohol solvent extraction to obtain the extract of turmeric rhizome. These deficiencies are made up for with the teachings of Sun.
The teachings of Sun are described supra. It would be prima facie obvious for a skilled artisan before the earliest effective filing date following the method of US Patent No. 12246079 to use 220 mg purified bisacurone in the method as the amount of purified bisacurone in order to be certain that an effective amount was used and to provide the composition with anti-oxidant and anti-inflammatory activities as taught by Sun.
It would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date following the method of US Patent No. 12246079 to use methanol solvent extraction of turmeric rhizome to obtain bisacurone as taught by Sun in order to have a simple alcohol solvent extraction method that is effective at obtaining bisacurone as taught by Sun.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/SARAH CHICKOS/
Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/SARAH ALAWADI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619