DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejections under this heading are withdrawn due to the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 2009/0082479; already of record), in view of Hosoi et al (US 2015/0225630; herein Hosoi). Regarding claim 1:
Cho teaches combining an aerogel and polymer to make a composite, molding the composite, and heat treating the composite (Abstract and paragraphs 0030 and 0043). Cho does not teach the required mass percentages.
In the same field of endeavor Hosoi teaches an aerogel and organic component composite. Hosoi teaches 85.013 mass% aerogel and 14.987 mass% organic component in paragraphs 0116-0123. Based on the values in paragraph 0123, one calculates the mass% of the components as follows (A=aerogel, and B=organic component):
The known total volume of A+B=cubic volume of aerogel molded body=1089 cm3
The known total volume of A=cubic volume of aerogel particle=1070.8 cm3
The known total volume of B=cubic volume of adhesive=18.2 cm3
The known density of B=density of adhesive= 1.39 g/cm3
This makes the mass of B=volume of B x density of B=18.2x1.39=25.298 g
The known total density of A+B=density of aerogel molded body=0.155 g/cm3
Thus the total mass of A+B=1089x0.155=168.795 g
Thus the mass% of B =(25.298/168.795)x100=14.987%
Then the mass% of A=100%-14.987%=85.013%
Though the organic component of Hosoi is not 10% or less, Hosoi also teaches that the properties of the composite material can be controlled by controlling the amount of adhesive (paragraph 0084).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, that based on the teachings of Cho and Hosoi that one can control the properties of the composite based on the amounts of the aerogel and organic component to arrive at 10 mass% or less of the organic component in an aerogel composite. Additionally, it has been held when prior art values are close to the claimed value a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I)
Regarding claims 2-4:
Cho teaches using polyethylene oxide or polyvinyl alcohol (paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 5:
As previously discussed Cho uses polyethylene oxide. Cho heat treats the composite at temperature of 50 to 100 degrees C above the melting point if the polymer used is semi-crystalline (paragraph 0041). Per paragraph 0030 polyethylene oxide is semi-crystalline. Polyethylene oxide has a melting point of 65-70 degrees C (as evidenced by https://eureka.patsnap.com/blog/material-tech-resources/what-is-polyethylene-oxide/). Therefore, Cho heat treats at the claimed temperature.
Regarding claim 6:
Cho teaches heat treating for 1 minute to 10 hours (paragraph 0041).
Regarding claim 8:
Cho teaches the aerogel is a silica aerogel (paragraph 0024).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho and Hosoi, and in further view of Menashi et al (US 2008/0287561: herein Menashi, already of record). Regarding claim 7:
Cho and Hosoi are silent to the addition of either an infrared shielding particle or an inorganic fiber. In the same field of aerogel composites, Menashi teaches adding an IR opacifier to the composite (paragraph 0135).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add the IR opacifier of Menashi, since it helps reduce the thermal conductivity of the composition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 8/19/2026 have been considered but are essentially moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the argument of Cho and teaching away based on paragraph 0036 of Cho. Paragraph 0036 of Cho explains what happens above and below the disclosed aerogel/polymer ratio. The Applicant argues that one cannot alter Cho since it would teach away. However, paragraph 0036 of Cho simply discloses non-preferred embodiments (See MPEP 2123 II). Since Cho and Hosoi teach what can happen at different values of the composition, this still provide a prima facie case of obviousness to a skilled artisan to alter the values of Cho based on the teachings of Cho and Hosoi.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY KENNEDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743