DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The transitional phrases “having” and “has” I the claims are being interpreted per MPEP 2111.03 IV, based on a reading of the specification these phrases are being interpreted as open claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is seen as vague and indefinite since as written it requires all 7 chemicals listed, which seems to be counter to the specification (e.g. paragraph 0015 and 0044). The specification appears to indicate using at least one of the listed surfactants. For examination purposes claim 4 will be interpreted as if it said “comprises at least one of.”
Claim 7 is seen as vague and indefinite since it is unclear what “type” is referring back to? Essentially, what type of what? “Type” is used in claim 3, but it refers to the type of dispersant; this is not the case in claim 7. It is suggested to amend claim 7 to say: “wherein the composition further has other components selected from…” This language is supported by paragraph 0046 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho (US 2009/0082479). Regarding claim 1:
Cho teaches combining an aerogel and polymer to make a composite, molding the composite, and heat treating the composite (Abstract and paragraphs 0030 and 0043)
Regarding claims 2-4:
Cho teaches using polyethylene oxide or polyvinyl alcohol (paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 5:
As previously discussed Cho uses polyethylene oxide. Cho heat treats the composite at temperature of 50 to 100 degrees C above the melting point if the polymer used is semi-crystalline (paragraph 0041). Per paragraph 0030 polyethylene oxide is semi-crystalline. Polyethylene oxide has a melting point of 65-70 degrees C (as evidenced by https://eureka.patsnap.com/blog/material-tech-resources/what-is-polyethylene-oxide/). Therefore, Cho heat treats at the claimed temperature.
Regarding claim 6:
Cho teaches heat treating for 1 minute to 10 hours (paragraph 0041).
Regarding claim 8:
Cho teaches the aerogel is a silica aerogel (paragraph 0024).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho, in view of Menashi et al (US 2008/0287561: herein Menashi). Regarding claim 7:
Cho is silent to the addition of either an infrared shielding particle or an inorganic fiber. In the same field of aerogel composites, Menashi teaches adding an IR opacifier to the composite (paragraph 0135).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add the IR opacifier of Menashi, since it helps reduce the thermal conductivity of the composition.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2008/0220333, US 2015/0079485, and US 2016/0181585 disclose molding of aerogel composites.
/TIMOTHY KENNEDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743