DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2 and 4 are pending and claim 3 has been cancelled.
This action is in response to the amendment filed 3/31/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that Cleaver does not provide, each said corner bounded by two port walls such that a diagonal span is defined between said port walls at each of said corners, and, each said corner section having a width greater than each said diagonal span , and each corner section ends extending beyond said diagonal span to thereby extend laterally into one of said ports, is not persuasive since Greco, discloses these features are shown below, where, a valve housing (28) having four ports (21-24) and four corners (at 78, see Fig. 4), each said corner bounded by two port walls (as shown below in amended Fig. 3B) such that a diagonal span (as shown below) is defined between said port walls at each of said corners, said valve housing including a curved corner section (the surface at 78, see col.7, lns. 37-38 “rounded corners 78”), each said curved corner section formed within said valve housing between each of said ports, each said corner section having a width greater than each said diagonal span (as shown below in amended Fig. 3B, the overall width of the corner section is greater than the diagonal span); each said curved corner section has two corner section ends (the left/right ends of upper and lower ends of each section that extend beyond the width as shown clearly), said corner section ends extending beyond said diagonal span to thereby extend laterally into one of said ports.
Since applicant’s arguments and amendments are not persuasive and the new amendments necessitated the new grounds for rejection, this action has been made Final.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the width and diagonal span for the corner section (claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Applicant’s Figure 11 shows the ends 5b for the corner section 5a, however no width or diagonal are shown.
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The cancellation of claim 3 overcomes the specification objection.
The amendment to the specification has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "said corner section" in line 5.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being unpatentable over Greco (US 11079107). The claim being rejected as best understood based on the 112 above.
Regarding claim 1, Greco discloses an indexing valve (20 see Fig. 2), comprising:
a valve housing (28) having four ports (21-24) and four corners (at 78, see Fig. 4), each said corner bounded by two port walls (as shown below in amended Fig. 3B) such that a diagonal span is defined between said port walls at each of said corners, said valve housing including a curved corner section (the surface at 78, see col.7, lns. 37-38 “rounded corners 78”), each said curved corner section formed within said valve housing between each of said ports, each said corner section having a width greater than each said diagonal span (as shown below in amended Fig. 3B, the overall width of the corner section is greater than the diagonal span);
each said curved corner section has two corner section ends (the left/right ends of upper and lower ends of each section that extend beyond the width as shown clearly), said corner section ends extending beyond said diagonal span to thereby extend laterally into one of said ports (see amended Figure 3B below);
a diverter assembly (the pipe 27 within 26, Fig. 2,3A,B, and Fig. 5) within said valve housing, said diverter assembly further comprising:
a pipe shaft (the shaft of 27) having two pipe shaft ends, said pipe shaft disposed through said valve housing (see Fig. 2);
a diverter blade subassembly (26) connected to said pipe shaft between said pipe shaft ends, said diverter blade subassembly further comprising a pair of opposing diverter plates (70,71), wherein an inlet plenum is defined between said diverter plates for receiving fluid flow from one of said ports, each said diverter plate having two end edges (at the outer ends where 76 is located);
a seal retainer subassembly (at 76) at each of said end edges of said diverter plates, said seal retainer subassembly including a seal (76 “brush seals”, col.7, lns. 37-38), said seal positioned to seal against said curved corner section; and,
a gear motor (44,42,48) attached to said stub shaft for rotating said diverter blade subassembly within said valve housing to thereby divert said fluid flow.
When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979). See MPEP 2125.
Here, the drawings clearly show the width extending beyond the diagonal span in the Greco reference in amended Figure 3B above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greco (US 11079107) in view of Cleaver et al. (US 3973592).
Regarding claim 2, Greco has disclosed all of the features of the claimed invention although is silent to having the corner section ends are chamfered to limit wear of said seal.
Cleaver et al. disclose that the corner section ends (at ends of 34) are chamfered (as shown above each of the ends are angled and therefore considered as being “chamfered”) to limit wear of said seal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the end shape of the corner end section as taught by Cleaver et al. for the end section in Greco to have the corner section ends are chamfered, since it has been held, that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component (one valve end seat shape for another) or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alter the existing straight end to a chamfer since it has been held, that a change in form, proportions, or degree “will not sustain a patent” Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) and In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) (“It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.”).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greco (US 11079107) and Cleaver et al. (US 3973592) in view of Flower (US 5474305).
Regarding claim 4, Greco and Cleaver et al. have disclosed all of the features of the claimed invention, including a seal retainer (the bolted structures near 76 in Fig. 4), although are silent to having the seal retainer subassembly is S-shaped formed of an elongate brace, said elongate brace transitioning to an upstanding retainer lip overhanging said elongate brace, thereby defining a seal housing for said seal.
Flower teaches the use of a seal retainer (52, in Fig. 9) , the seal retainer subassembly is S-shaped (in as much as applicant’s device) formed of an elongate brace, said elongate brace transitioning to an upstanding retainer lip (the upper vertical section of 52 that bolt 53 passes through) overhanging said elongate brace, thereby defining a seal housing for said seal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute seal retainer as taught by Flower for the seal retainer in the combined device of Greco and Cleaver et al. to have the seal retainer subassembly is S-shaped formed of an elongate brace, said elongate brace transitioning to an upstanding retainer lip overhanging said elongate brace, thereby defining a seal housing for said seal, in order to permit easily changing of the seal and to have a means to retain the seal in the channel (Flower, col.3, lns. 44-51), and, since it has been held, that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component (one retaining means for another) or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. Additionally, the well-known expected outcome of holding the seal in place, would result from the combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.
/CRAIG J PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753