DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Species Group 1, as represented by Figures 1-6 in the reply filed on 11/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention/species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/17/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 9, the claim verbiage -- the first lip and the second lip—should be changed to -- the first lip contour and the second lip contour—for claim verbiage consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dygert (US 20190211843).
In reference to Claim 1
Dygert discloses:
A vane-axial fan comprising (10): a housing (housing made of circumferential outer wall of 16 and 34; Fig. 2) comprising a radial wall (radial wall of housing made of circumferential outer wall of 16 and 34; Fig. 2) that circumscribes an axis (20) associated with the vane-axial fan; an impeller (18 fan rotor or impeller) positioned interior to the radial wall; and a vane insert (36) that is positioned interior to the radial wall. [0023-0029] (Fig. 1-4).
Figure 1: Annotated Figure 2 of Dygert.
In reference to Claim 2
Dygert discloses:
The vane-axial fan of claim 1, wherein: the housing further comprises a shoulder (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert) that transitions from a first narrower portion to a second wider portion (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert); and the impeller comprises a shroud (26) aligned with the shoulder and positioned within the second wider portion of the housing. (Fig. 1-4).
In reference to Claim 3
Dygert discloses:
The vane-axial fan of claim 2, wherein the first narrower portion (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert) comprises a bell curve expanding away from the housing (Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 4
Dygert discloses:
The vane-axial fan of claim 2, further comprising a stator assembly (28) that is coupled to the housing and that comprises one or more rings (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert) that taper towards the axis. (Fig. 1-4).
In reference to Claim 5
Dygert discloses:
The vane-axial fan of claim 1, wherein the vane insert comprises vanes comprising a first contour (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert) and the impeller comprises blades comprising a second contour (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert), and wherein the first contour comprises a leading edge (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert) that corresponds with a trailing edge (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert) of the second contour (Fig. 1-4).
In reference to Claim 6
Dygert discloses:
The vane-axial fan of claim 5, wherein the first contour (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert) comprises a convex top face oriented towards the impeller and wherein the second contour (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert) comprises a convex bottom face oriented towards the vane insert.
In reference to Claim 7
Dygert discloses:
The vane-axial fan of claim 5, wherein alignment between the first contour and the second contour offsets a stall factor.
[0025, Dygert] Under some operating conditions, airflow 14 exiting the fan rotor 18 and entering the stator assembly 28 has a significant radially outward component that can result in large area of recirculation at an inboard-span portion of the stator assembly 28, which may result in stall of the stator assembly 28. Furthermore, this radially outward flow migration in the axial spacing between the trailing edge of the fan blades 22 and the leading edge of the stator vanes 30 can recirculate radially to the tip of the fan blades 22 at their termination at the fan shroud 26 such that the stall and stall recovery performance of the fan rotor 18 is degraded.
In reference to Claim 8
Dygert discloses:
The vane-axial fan of claim 1, wherein: the impeller comprises a first shroud comprising a first lip contour (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert) that is on a trailing edge of the first shroud; the vane insert comprises a second shroud comprising a second lip contour (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert) that is on a leading edge of the second shroud; and the first lip is aligned with the second lip –axially—(Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 9
Dygert discloses:
The vane-axial fan of claim 8, wherein alignment of the first lip and the second lip (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert) is capable of at least partially reduces bypass.(Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 10
Dygert discloses:
A system for heating, cooling, and/or venting air (” a vane-axial flow fan 10 utilized, for example in a heating, ventilation and air conditioning (HVAC) system as an air handling fan,” [0024]), the system comprising: a vane-axial fan comprising:
a housing (housing made of circumferential outer wall of 16 and 34; Fig. 2) comprising a radial wall (radial wall of housing made of circumferential outer wall of 16 and 34; Fig. 2) that circumscribes an axis associated with the vane-axial fan;
a stator assembly (28) that is coupled to the housing and that comprises one or more rings (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert);
an impeller (18 fan rotor or impeller) positioned interior to the radial wall; and a vane insert (36) that is removably coupled to the stator assembly and that is positioned interior to the radial wall and between the impeller and the stator assembly. [0023-0029] (Fig. 1-4).
In reference to Claim 11
Dygert discloses:
The system of claim 10, wherein: the housing further comprises a shoulder (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert) that transitions from a first narrower portion (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert) to a second wider portion (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert); and the impeller comprises a shroud (26) aligned with the shoulder and positioned within the second wider portion of the housing (Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 12
Dygert discloses:
The system of claim 11, wherein the first narrower portion (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert) comprises a bell curve expanding away from the housing. (Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 13
Dygert discloses:
The system of claim 10, wherein the one or more rings (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert) of the stator taper towards the axis.
In reference to Claim 14
Dygert discloses:
The system of claim 10, wherein the vane insert comprises vanes comprising a first contour (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert) and the impeller comprises blades comprising a second contour (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert), and wherein the first contour comprises a leading edge that corresponds with a trailing edge of the second contour (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert).
In reference to Claim 15
Dygert discloses:
The system of claim 14, wherein the first contour comprises a convex top face (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert) oriented towards the impeller, wherein the second contour comprises a convex bottom face (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert) oriented towards the vane insert, and wherein alignment between the first contour and the second contour at least partially offsets a stall factor [0025, Dygert]. (Fig. 1-4).
In reference to Claim 18
Dygert discloses:
The system of claim 10, wherein:
the impeller comprises a first shroud (26) comprising a first lip (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert) that is on a trailing edge of the first shroud;
the vane insert comprises a second shroud (34) comprising a second lip (as shown in annotated Figure 2 of Dygert) that is on a leading edge of the second shroud; and
the first lip is aligned with the second lip, wherein the alignment of the first lip and the second lip capable of at least partially reduces bypass.(Fig. 2).
In reference to Claim 19
Dygert discloses:
The system of claim 10, wherein:
a mounting bracket (ridges interior on the inner axial flange 24 as shown in Fig. 1-2) is attachable to an inner axial flange (24) of the impeller; and the mounting bracket being attachable to a motor shaft extending through a radial opening of the vane insert.
[0024, Dygert] The fan 10 may be driven by an electric motor 12 connected to the fan 10 by a shaft (not shown), or alternatively a belt or other arrangement. In operation, the motor 12 drives rotation of the fan 10 to urge airflow 14 across the fan 10 and along a flowpath, for example, to and/or from a heat exchanger (not shown). The fan 10 includes a casing 16 with a fan rotor 18, or impeller rotably located in the casing 16. Operation of the motor 12 drives rotation of the fan rotor 18 about a fan axis 20. The fan rotor 18 includes a plurality of fan blades 22 extending from a hub 24 and terminating at a fan shroud 26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dygert (US 20190211843) in view of Takemoto et al. (US 20110058334, hereinafter: “Takemoto”).
In reference to Claim 16
Dygert discloses:
The system of claim 10. Dygert discloses a fan impeller (26) that is separate from the vane-axial flow fan (10).
Dygert is silent on a second impeller.
Takemoto teaches a fan apparatus (23) that discloses a first impeller (3) which is easy to remove and replace by another impeller having one or more properties that are different from the impeller, wherein the second impeller is interchangeable in the system with the impeller.
[0058, Takemoto] As illustrated in FIG. 11, the frame 441 is arranged to be capable of being horizontally inserted into and removed from the case 41 through the front of the case 41. This enables easy removal of the axial fans 3 from the case 41 to repair any of the axial fans 3 or replace any of the axial fans 3 with another axial fan 3. Note that FIG. 11 illustrates a situation in which the second fan apparatus 44 from the bottom has been drawn slightly out of the case 41. The same is true of other similar figures described below.
Based on the teaching of Takemoto and Dygert, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fan assembly of Dygert by replacing it with a second impeller as taught by Takemoto for the purpose of replacing fan impellers for maintenance or repair.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dygert (US 20190211843) in view of Takemoto et al. (US 20110058334, hereinafter: “Takemoto”) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Corbett (US 2689906).
In reference to Claim 17
Dygert discloses:
The system of claim 10. Dygert discloses a vane insert (36) that is separate from the vane-axial flow fan (10).
Dygert is silent on a second vane insert.
Corbett teaches an axial fan (10), wherein the fan unit “can be readily disassembled and the various component parts removed for any needed repairs or cleaning” (Col. 2, ll. 20-25).
Based on the teaching of Corbett and Dygert as modified by Takemoto, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fan assembly of Dygert as modified by Takemoto by replacing it with a second vane insert having one or more properties that are different from the vane insert, wherein the second vane insert is interchangeable in the system with the vane insert as taught by Corbett for the purpose of replacing fan assembly parts for maintenance or repair, as it is known in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tyner et al. (US 20180372113), Yapp et al. (US 5489186), Gray, III (US 4548548) disclose an axial fan that is relevant to the Applicant’s invention.
/AYE S HTAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745