DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 & 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu (U.S. PGPub # 2016/0322900).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Xu teaches:
A zero current detection circuit (Title, Abstract, & paragraphs 0002, 0006-0008.) comprising:
a first comparator (Fig 1 Element 103. Paragraph 0024.) configured to compare a first voltage (Fig 1 Elements 103 & IL. Paragraph 0024.), representative of a first current (Fig 1 Elements 103 & IL. Paragraph 0024.), with a first threshold voltage (Fig 1 Elements 103 & Voffset. Paragraphs 0024.); and
a calibration circuit (Fig. 1 Elements 101 & 102. See paragraphs 0022-0025.) configured to modify the value of the first threshold voltage in view of process (Fig. 1 Elements 101 & 102. See paragraphs 0022-0025.), voltage (Fig. 1 Elements 101 & 102. See paragraphs 0022-0025.), and/or temperature variations.
Regarding claim 2, Xu teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Xu teaches said first threshold voltage is an offset voltage of said first comparator (See Fig. 4 See paragraphs 0023-0025, 0027-0029, & 0031-0032.).
Regarding claim 5, Xu teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Xu teaches a logic circuit configured to be the main control circuit of the zero current detection circuit (Fig. 1 Element 204, the logic circuit. Fig. 4 Element 204, the logic circuit. Paragraphs 0022, 0024-0025, 0027, 0029, & 0032-0033 wherein the logic circuits are disclosed.).
Regarding claim 6, Xu teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Xu teaches a DC-DC converter comprising a zero current detection circuit according to claim 1 (Paragraphs 0003, 0022, & 0050 wherein the disclosed Buck convertor is a DC-DC converter.).
Regarding claim 7, Xu teaches all elements of claim 6, upon which this claim depends.
Xu teaches two switches coupled in series, and a coil having one of its terminals coupled to the middle node between said two switches (Fig. 5 Elements M1, M2, SW, & L1.).
Regarding claim 8, Xu teaches all elements of claim 7, upon which this claim depends.
Xu teaches said zero current detection circuit is configured to detect when the current in said coil is equal to zero (Title, Abstract, & Paragraphs 0003, 0006, 0008, 0024, & elsewhere.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (U.S. PGPub # 2016/0322900) in view of Chen et al (U.S. PGPub # 2014/0111168).
Regarding claim 3, Xu teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Xu does not explicitly teach said calibration circuit comprises a second comparator circuit.
Chen teaches said calibration circuit comprises a second comparator circuit (Fig. 7 Element 213, the CMP, and comparator 215. See paragraphs 0022-0026.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Chen to the teachings of Xu such that said calibration circuit comprises a second comparator circuit because this would allow one to better control the functioning of the down bridge transistor.
Regarding claim 4, Xu teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Xu does not explicitly teach said second comparator circuit is more precise than the first comparator.
Chen teaches said second comparator circuit is more precise than the first comparator (Fig. 7 Element 213 in relation to 215. See paragraphs 0022-0026.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Chen to the teachings of Xu such that said second comparator circuit is more precise than the first comparator because this would allow one to better control the functioning of the down bridge transistor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858