Information Disclosure Statement
Receipt is acknowledged of the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 06/04/2025 and 09/04/2026. The Examiner has considered the reference cited therein to the extent that each is a proper citation. Please see attached USPTO form.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 17 contains the phrase “wherein the composition is substantially free of abrasive particles.” The instant Specification defines “substantially free of” to be at most 2000 ppm abrasive particles in the composition (see US20250257286A1 [0145]). Herein, claim 17 will be interpreted as comprising abrasive particles at 2000 ppm or less.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the method of claim 1" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as no method is recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Man et. al (US20180249704A1) hereinafter Man.
Man teaches a concentrated antimicrobial composition comprising a cleaning component and a polymer component (see claim 1). With regards to claims 1-2 and 18, Man teaches the composition to comprise of an organic acid sanitizer such as formic acid, and acetic acid (which are known carboxylic acid), among others (see [0107]). The composition can comprise of 0.1-30 wt% nonionic surfactant (see claim 20). The concentrated composition can include solvents such as water (see [0267]) and anionic monomers such as acrylic acid and acrylates (see [0127]).
Although Man does not explicitly disclose the organic acid, anionic polymer, nonionic surfactant, and water in a single embodiment to the point of anticipation, the general teachings of Man suggest the inventive composition of the instant claim. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to combine these limitations into a single embodiment for the benefit of efficacious cleaning, sanitizing and disinfecting (see [0005]). With regards to claim 18, the dienoic acid and pH adjuster are optional hence the composition need not have any.
With regards to claims 2-4, the use of both organic acid and amino acid sanitizers is taught (see [0099]). Methane sulfonic acid, cumene sulfonic acid, formic acid, acetic acid are suitable examples of organic acids, and arginine, aspartic acid, glycine, glutamine, histidine, lysine, phenylalanine, proline, serine, valine, are suitable examples of amino acids (see [0107]-[0108]). Man teaches the use of 0.1-30 wt% acid in the composition (see [0027]).
With regards to claims 5-7, Man explicitly discloses the use of acrylic acid salts, acrylamide tertiary butyl sulfonic acid salts, vinylphosphonic acid, 2-acrylamido-2-methylpropanesulfonic acid as anionic monomer, among others as anionic monomers in the composition (see [0127]).
With regards to claim 8, the anionic dispersion polymer is taught to be included in the composition in amounts from 0.0001-1 wt% (see [0139]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect to include anionic monomer compounds listed above within the overlapping ranges.
With regards to claim 9-10, the use of surfactants such as nonionic surfactants is taught 0.1-30 wt% (see [0175]). The use of polyoxyalkylene alkyl ether, polyoxyalkylene alkenyl ether, sorbitan alknoic acid esters, EO/PO block copolymers, polyethylene glycol, among others are taught as suitable types of nonionic surfactants (see [0177]-[0182]).
With regards to claims 11-12 and 19, the pH of the composition is taught to be acidic within the range from 0-6 (see [0243]).
With regards to claims 13-14, Man does not explicitly teach the use of an organic base as a pH adjuster. However, the use of pH buffers is generally taught (see [0130]). Man also specifically teaches the use of a dialkyldimethyl ammonium salt as a suitable quaternary ammonium compound (see [0025]) with a hydroxide as its anionic counterion (see [0082]). Dialkyldimethyl ammonium salts include diethyldimethylammonium, dimethyldipropylammonium, among others. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.07. See also In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 445 (CCPA 1971) (obviousness rejection affirmed where the genus of the prior art was “huge, but it undeniably include[d] at least some of the compounds recited in appellant's generic claims and [was] of a class of chemicals to be used for the same purpose as appellant's additives”).
With regards to claim 15, Man teaches the use of the quartenrary ammonium compound to be present in the composition in amounts of 0.0001-10 wt% (see [0097]).
With regards to claims 16-17, the concentrated composition does not require a dienoic acid or abrasive particles. Hence, the inventive composition could be formulated free of these limitations.
With regards to claims 20-21, Man teaches a method of using the inventive composition by contacting the surface with the composition (see [0251]). Man also teaches the use of the composition to disinfect hard surfaces such as metal surgical or medical instruments (see [0254]). Although the type of metal is not explicitly recited, a person of ordinary skill would reasonably expect medical and surgical devices to be made from the metals overlapping with those recited in the instant claim.
Conclusion
/SP/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/BRIAN P MRUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761