DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claim 19 has not been further treated on the merits. Additionally, claim 19 depends from cancelled claims 1-13 and it is unclear what applicant intends to claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 depends from cancelled claims 1-13, and as such is indefinite as it cannot be determined what the scope of the claim is intended to be. Otherwise, the claim is relatively similar to Claim 15 and would be expected to be rejected similarly if it was dependent from Claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuno et al. (US 2016/0001223) in view of Khodayar et al. “Conventional Geothermal Systems and Unconventional Geothermal Developments: An overview” NPL hereinafter Khodayar.
With regards to Claims 14-18:
Okuno teaches:
(Claim 14) A carbon dioxide removal system for removing carbon dioxide from a gas feed, part G, comprising an absorber, part 10, which reads on applicant's claimed first gas-liquid contactor. A first inlet that receives an alkaline capture solution, from line L7, and a first flow path that receives the first gaseous feed, part G, and directs a flow of the gaseous feed to interact with an alkaline capture solution in the absorber causing a first portion of the carbon dioxide from the gas feed to dissolve into an alkaline absorbing liquid (See Okuno paragraphs 37 and 54) forming a carbon rich absorbing liquid, part A1, which is then pumped to a regenerator, part 20, which reads on applicant's claimed second gas-liquid contactor with a second inlet, along line L4, which receives the carbon rich absorbing liquid where it is heated in a reboiler with an external heating implement or steam heater, part 25. The heated carbon rich absorbing liquid releases a second portion of the absorbed carbon dioxide at a temperature of about 100 to 130 degrees Celsius (See Okuno paragraph 57) with the outlet of the steam heater having a temperature of about 120 degrees Celsius (See Okuno paragraph 68). The heated carbon rich absorbing liquid then becomes a lean absorbing liquid, part A2. The lean absorbing liquid (A2) is then returned to the absorber, part 10, while some is refluxed to the vessel of the regenerator where it is separated from the carbon dioxide. (See Okuno paragraphs 40 and 42)
(Claim 15) Okuno teaches a reboiler heater, part 25, which is a steam heater and which transfers heat from a working fluid to the carbon dioxide lean alkaline capture solution to form a gaseous fluid in the regenerator, part 20. (See Okuno Paragraph 43, 60, 61)
(Claim 16) The carbon dioxide lean absorbing liquid (A2) is passed to the absorber from the reboiler by the return path, part L7, (See Okuno Paragraphs 62-64)
(Claim 17) Utilizing a heat pump to improve operational efficiency. (See Okuno paragraph 51) It is obvious that a heat pump can utilize a lower temperature fluid and remove heat therefrom in order to heat a different space or fluid to a higher temperature as heat pumps are known to remove heat from low temperature outdoor air to move the heat into higher temperature indoor air.
(Claim 18) Transferring heat from the carbon dioxide lean absorbing liquid (A2) to the carbon dioxide rich absorbing liquid (A1, A1’) along the path L7 at the second heat exchanger, part 30. (See Okuno Paragraphs 44-45 and Fig. 1)
Okuno does not teach:
The steam of the reboiler steam heater, part 25, is generated using heat from a geothermal heat source.
Khodayar teaches:
Conventional geothermal resources provide heat up to 374 degrees Celsius and 221 bar. (See pg. 197 “Introduction” paragraph 4) Geothermal working fluids (Claim 9) include geothermal water extracted from water at depth, brine (Claim 10), and closed loop surface water or other fluids pumped to appropriate depths. (See Khodayar pg. 199-201) (Claim 13) Sedimentary host rock is known with a temperature gradient of 34 degrees Celsius per kilometer with known ranges up to 190 degrees Celsius. (See Khodayar pg. 202 “Medium Temperature”) Heat exchangers are utilized to create steam and energy from medium temperature geothermal sources in power plants and other industrial uses. (See Khodayar pg. 205-206 “Pumped Geothermal Wells” and “Classical Utilizations”) Carbon capture and storage are also known uses in combination with geothermal wells. (See Khodayar pg. 208)
Okuno discloses the claimed invention except for Okuno does not teach geothermal energy as the source of steam energy. Khodayar teaches that it is known to use geothermal energy in heat exchangers either directly with a working fluid or indirectly with a closed loop system or by heat pump. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize a known heat source, geothermal heat, at appropriate temperatures of about 120 to 130 degrees Celsius dependent on flow and temperature gradient within the heat exchangers where available as taught by Khodayar, since Khodayar states on pg. 197 that such a modification would utilize a low carbon emission source of heat energy which is desirable for a goal of capturing carbon dioxide. See MPEP 2144
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the system of Okuno to utilize any additional heat required for the carbon dioxide rich fluid before it reaches the regenerator with additional heat streams such as a geothermal working fluid stream in a heat exchanger.
Claim(s) 14-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. " Development of a Potassium Carbonate-Based Absorption Process with Crystallization-Enabled High-Pressure Stripping for CO2 Capture: Vapor-Liquid Equilibrium Behavior and CO2 Stripping Performance of Carbonate/Bicarbonate Aqueous Systems" hereinafter Zhang in view of Khodayar et al. “Conventional Geothermal Systems and Unconventional Geothermal Developments: An overview” NPL hereinafter Khodayar.
With regards to Claims 14-18 and 20:
Zhang teaches:
(Claim 14) A “Hot-CAP” carbon dioxide absorption system utilizing hot carbonate, an alkaline capture solution, in an absorption column, which reads on applicant's claimed first gas-liquid contactor, which causes a first portion of carbon dioxide from a flue gas which reads on applicant's claimed gaseous feed, to dissolve into the alkaline capture solution to form a carbon dioxide rich alkaline capture solution. Sending a slurry from the absorption column to a high-pressure stripper, which reads on applicant's claimed second gas-liquid contactor, wherein a second portion of carbon dioxide is separated from the carbon rich alkaline capture solution and forms a semi-lean solution which reads on applicant's claimed carbon dioxide lean capture solution which is returned to the absorption column. (See Zhang pg. 666 and Fig. 1)
(Claim 15) the carbon dioxide lean alkaline capture solution is passed to a reboiler heater. (See Zhang Fig. 1)
(Claim 16) The semi-lean solution passes through the reboiler to the first gas-liquid contactor or absorption column. (See Zhang Fig. 1)
(Claim 17) It is obvious that a heat pump can utilize a lower temperature fluid and remove heat therefrom in order to heat a different space or fluid to a higher temperature as heat pumps are known to remove heat from low temperature outdoor air to move the heat into higher temperature indoor air.
(Claim 18) The semi-lean solution goes from the reboiler through a cross-heat exchanger to exchange heat with a carbon-rich slurry from the absorption column where heat is passed from the semi-lean solution to the carbon-rich slurry. (See Zhang Fig. 1)
(Claim 20) A crystallization drum which is configured to receive carbon-rich alkaline capture solution from the first gas-liquid contactor and semi-lean solution from the reboiler. By operation of the crystallization drum a slurry and a second output stream comprising a liquid are produced. The slurry is directed to the second gas-liquid contactor and the liquid lean solution is passed to the first gas-liquid contactor. (See Zhang Fig. 1)
Zhang does not teach:
The reboiler has steam generated using heat from a geothermal heat source.
Khodayar teaches:
Conventional geothermal resources provide heat up to 374 degrees Celsius and 221 bar. (See pg. 197 “Introduction” paragraph 4) Geothermal working fluids (Claim 9) include geothermal water extracted from water at depth, brine (Claim 10), and closed loop surface water or other fluids pumped to appropriate depths. (See Khodayar pg. 199-201) (Claim 13) Sedimentary host rock is known with a temperature gradient of 34 degrees Celsius per kilometer with known ranges up to 190 degrees Celsius. (See Khodayar pg. 202 “Medium Temperature”) Heat exchangers are utilized to create steam and energy from medium temperature geothermal sources in power plants and other industrial uses. (See Khodayar pg. 205-206 “Pumped Geothermal Wells” and “Classical Utilizations”) Carbon capture and storage are also known uses in combination with geothermal wells. (See Khodayar pg. 208)
Zhang discloses the claimed invention except for Zhang does not teach geothermal energy as the source of steam energy. Khodayar teaches that it is known to use geothermal energy in heat exchangers either directly with a working fluid or indirectly with a closed loop system or by heat pump. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize a known heat source, geothermal heat, at appropriate temperatures of about 120 to 130 degrees Celsius dependent on flow and temperature gradient within the heat exchangers where available as taught by Khodayar, since Khodayar states on pg. 197 that such a modification would utilize a low carbon emission source of heat energy which is desirable for a goal of capturing carbon dioxide. See MPEP 2144
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the system of Zhang to utilize any additional heat required for the carbon dioxide rich fluid before it reaches the regenerator with additional heat streams such as a geothermal working fluid stream in a heat exchanger.
Other Applicable Prior Art
All other art cited not detailed above in a rejection is considered relevant to at least some portion or feature of the current application and is cited for possible future use for reference. Applicant may find it useful to be familiar with all cited art for possible future rejections or discussion.
Contact Information
/BRIT E. ANBACHT/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
BRIT E. ANBACHT
Examiner
Art Unit 1776