DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/7/2025 and 6/5/2025 have been considered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: developer carrying member, frame, supplying roller in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshi et al. (JP 2013-109073).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshi discloses a developing device 4 (fig. 2) comprising: a developer carrying member 45 of which a surface carrying a developer is configured to include a conductive portion and a dielectric portion and capable of carrying the developer by a micro electric field formed on the surface including the conductive portion and the dielectric portion (i.e. electric field between the developing roller and the photoreceptor is applied to the developing roller by a developing bias, see par. 0015); a frame 41 (fig. 2) configured to rotatably support the developer carrying member and constituting a developing container which accommodates the developer (par. 0014); and a regulating member 44b (fig. 2) of which one end portion 44b is constituted as a fixed end fixed to the frame and of which the other end portion opposite to the one end portion 44a is constituted as a free end with respect to a short hand direction perpendicular to a longitudinal direction which is a direction parallel to a rotational axis direction of the developer carrying member (par. 0019, fig. 2), and further comprising no supplying roller configured to supply the developer accommodated in the developing container toward the developer carrying member (fig. 2 shows the developing device 40 has no toner supplying roller), wherein the regulating member contacts the developer carrying member in a state in which a tip portion of the free end 44a faces a downstream side in a rotational direction of the developer carrying member 45 and regulates a thickness of a layer of the developer carried on the developer carrying member 45 to a predetermined thickness (par. 0019, fig. 2), and wherein when an axis which passes through a rotation center of the developer carrying member and faces a direction opposite to a direction of gravity is a Y-axis and an axis which passes through the rotation center and rotates the Y-axis by 900 in a clockwise direction is an X- axis, in a coordinate system in which the rotational direction of the developer carrying member isa counterclockwise direction, the tip portion and the fixed end are disposed in a second quadrant of the coordinate system (see par. 0005, 0019, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshi discloses wherein an angle formed by a rectilinear line connecting the tip portion and an origin of the coordinate system and the Y- axis is 45 degrees or more (see angle between L1 and P, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshi discloses wherein in an initial use state of the developing device and in an attitude in use of the developing device, an uppermost surface of the developer accommodated in the developing container is positioned above the tip portion with respect to the direction of gravity (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshi discloses wherein the frame 41 includes an opening portion at a position in which the developer carrying member is provided, and includes a sealing member 46 of which one end is fixed to an end portion of the developing container and of which the other end opposite to the one end is constituted as a free end with respect to a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction and configured to seal the opening portion at a position corresponding to the opening portion, wherein the sealing member is disposed so that the free end thereof slides the surface of the developer carrying member (see fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshi discloses wherein the free end of the sealing member is arranged in a first quadrant of the coordinate system (see fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshi discloses wherein in an attitude in use of the developing device, the free end of the sealing member is positioned above the tip portion of the regulating member with respect to a direction of gravity (see fig. 6).
Conclusion
/HOANG X NGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852