Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 7 February 2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1), which requires the following: (1) a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office; (2) U.S. patents and U.S. patent application publications listed in a section separately from citations of other documents; (3) the application number of the application in which the information disclosure statement is being submitted on each page of the list; (4) a column that provides a blank space next to each document to be considered, for the examiner’s initials; and (5) a heading that clearly indicates that the list is an information disclosure statement. The information disclosure statement has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as the form appears to have no information therein.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a first holder” in claim 1;
and “a second holder” in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the second holder" in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Itabashi et al. (US Pub.2017/0269544).
Regarding claim 1, Itabashi et al. (US Pub.2017/0269544) teach a cartridge (fig.3&9, #1) comprising: a housing (fig.3, #10) configured to accommodate developer therein (para.0038); a developing roller (fig.3, #30) rotatable about a developing roller axis extending in a first direction (fig3, #32); a storage medium (fig.3&5, #61; para.0071) including an electrical contact surface (fig.5, #611) facing in a second direction crossing the first direction (fig.3&6, see direction of #611 vs. second direction and first direction); and a first holder holding the electrical contact surface (fig.5&6, #71 holding #61/#611), the first holder being positioned at one end portion of the housing in the first direction (see fig.3, at one end in “first direction”), wherein the first holder has a first through hole penetrating the first holder in the second direction (fig.3&5, #620penetrating #71 in the second direction), and wherein the first through hole is aligned with the electrical contact surface in the second direction in a state where the first holder holds the electrical contact surface (fig.5, when #61 installed in #620, the two are aligned in the second direction).
Regarding claim 2, Itabashi et al. (US Pub.2017/0269544) teach a cartridge further comprising: a second holder positioned spaced away from the first holder in the second direction (fig.5&6, #72 spaced in “second direction”); and an elastic member positioned between the first holder and the second holder in the second direction (fig.5&6, #73), the elastic member being expandable and shrinkable in the second direction (fig.6, see solid representation and ghost representation).
Regarding claim 4, Itabashi et al. (US Pub.2017/0269544) teach a cartridge wherein the first through hole is aligned with the storage medium in the second direction (fig.5, when #61 installed in #620, the two are aligned in the second direction).
Regarding claim 7, Itabashi et al. (US Pub.2017/0269544) teach a cartridge wherein the first holder further has a second through hole penetrating the first holder in the second direction (fig.5&6, portion of #71 in which #73 exists), and wherein the second through hole is aligned with the electrical contact surface in the second direction (see fig.6).
Regarding claim 8, Itabashi et al. (US Pub.2017/0269544) teach a cartridge wherein an inner dimension of the first through hole is larger than an inner dimension of the second through hole (see fig.6, diameter of hole with #73 vs. diameter of hole with #611).
Regarding claim 9, Itabashi et al. (US Pub.2017/0269544) teach a cartridge wherein a portion of the first holder is positioned farther from the second holder in the second direction than the electrical contact surface is from the second holder in the second direction (see annotated fig.6, below, distance A vs. distance B).
Annotated Fig.6:
Regarding claim 10, Itabashi et al. (US Pub.2017/0269544) teach a cartridge wherein the first holder includes a recessed outer surface that holds the electrical contact surface in a state where the electrical contact surface is inserted in the recessed outer surface (fig.6, see hole/recess holding #611).
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Itabashi et al. (US Pub.2021/0063961).
Regarding claim 1, Itabashi et al. (US Pub.2021/0063961) teach a cartridge (fig.3, #1) comprising: a housing (fig.3, #10/#50) configured to accommodate developer therein (para.0023); a developing roller rotatable about a developing roller axis extending in a first direction (fig.2&3, #20 when #1 is in #50); a storage medium (fig.3&6, #70; para.0046) including an electrical contact surface facing in a second direction crossing the first direction (fig.3&6, #71 (fig.4, #71 faces in second direction); and a first holder holding the electrical contact surface (fig.6&7, #81 holding #70/#71), the first holder being positioned at one end portion of the housing in the first direction (fig.3, #81/#80 at one end in first direction), wherein the first holder has a first through hole penetrating the first holder in the second direction (fig.7, unlabeled hole in #80 at back side of #70), and wherein the first through hole is aligned with the electrical contact surface in the second direction in a state where the first holder holds the electrical contact surface (fig.7, when #70 aligned with unlabeled hole in #80 in the second direction).
Regarding claim 2, Itabashi et al. (US Pub.2021/0063961) teach a cartridge further comprising: a second holder positioned spaced away from the first holder in the second direction (fig.6&7, projection on #50 supporting #90 spaced in “second direction”); and an elastic member positioned between the first holder and the second holder in the second direction (fig.6&7, #90), the elastic member being expandable and shrinkable in the second direction (para.0049).
Regarding claim 3, Itabashi et al. (US Pub.2021/0063961) teach a cartridge wherein the second holder and the elastic member are positioned between the first through hole and the housing in the first direction (fig.6&7, unlabeled hole in #80 farther in first direction than support post on #50).
Regarding claim 4, Itabashi et al. (US Pub.2021/0063961) teach a cartridge wherein the first through hole is aligned with the storage medium in the second direction (fig.7, when #70 aligned with unlabeled hole in #80 in the second direction).
Regarding claim 5, Itabashi et al. (US Pub.2021/0063961) teach a cartridge further comprising: an adhesive positioned between the electrical contact surface and the first holder (para.0047; fig.7, likely unlabeled different material layer between #70 and #81).
Regarding claim 6, Itabashi et al. (US Pub.2021/0063961) teach a cartridge wherein the adhesive is aligned with the electrical contact surface and the first through hole in the second direction (fig.7, likely unlabeled different material layer between #70 and unlabeled hole in #81).
Regarding claim 7, Itabashi et al. (US Pub.2021/0063961) teach a cartridge wherein the first holder further has a second through hole penetrating the first holder in the second direction (fig.7, the portion of #80 with which #547 interact), and wherein the second through hole is aligned with the electrical contact surface in the second direction (fig.7, at least the edge near #54 is aligned with #71).
Regarding claim 8, Itabashi et al. (US Pub.2021/0063961) teach a cartridge wherein an inner dimension of the first through hole is larger than an inner dimension of the second through hole (see fig.7, diameter of hole of #80 with which #547 interact vs. diameter of unlabeled hole in #80).
Regarding claim 9, Itabashi et al. (US Pub.2021/0063961) teach a cartridge wherein a portion of the first holder is positioned farther from the second holder in the second direction than the electrical contact surface is from the second holder in the second direction (see annotated fig.7, below, distance A vs. distance B).
Annotated fig.7:
Regarding claim 10, Itabashi et al. (US Pub.2021/0063961) teach a cartridge wherein the first holder includes a recessed outer surface that holds the electrical contact surface in a state where the electrical contact surface is inserted in the recessed outer surface (fig.7, see hole/recess holding #70).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mori et al. (US Pub.2023/0244183) is being cited as related art even though it does not constitute prior art.
Mizutani (US Pub.2018/0284690) is being cited as related art.
Itabashi et al. (US Pub.2021/0397124) is similar to Itabashi et al. (US Pub.2021/0063961) cited above in the rejections.
Contact Information
/LKR/
2/6/2026
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852