DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed 02/07/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-11, 15, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richardson et al. (US 6,658,876) in view of Jung et al. (US PG Pub. 2012/0104923).
Regarding claim 1, Richardson discloses a refrigerating or warming apparatus (10) comprising: a compartment (19, Fig. 3) disposed having at least a wall (wall of body 14) and having a thickness in a first direction (Fig. 3); a cover (15) including a portion configured to cover an edge of the compartment (Fig. 2); and a conduit (41, 42) including a first conduit disposed inside the compartment and extending towards the edge (first portion of 41, 42 inside the compartment and extending towards the edge), a second conduit disposed outside the compartment towards the edge (second portion of 41, 42 outside the compartment and extending towards the edge), and a third conduit connecting the first portion and the second portion without passing through the adiabatic body (third portion of 41, 42 connecting the first portion and the second portion that passes over wall of 14 though cutout portion, Fig. 3).
Richardson does not explicitly teach the wall is provided as a vacuum adiabatic body the vacuum adiabatic body including a first plate, a second plate and a space provided between the first plate and the second plate, the space configured to be in a vacuum state.
Jung teaches the concept of a refrigerating apparatus including a wall that is provided as a vacuum adiabatic body, the vacuum adiabatic body (1, Fig. 2) including a first plate (110), a second plate (120) and a space (130) provided between the first plate and the second plate, the space configured to be in a vacuum state (paragraphs 47, 48) that provides enhanced heat insulating function and makes an outside volume compact (paragraph 12). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize forming the walls of Richardson to be provided as a vacuum adiabatic body taught by Jung would improve the adiabatic performance of the insulated container leading to lower cooling capacity needed to remain at a desired temperature as well as improve the transit time of the container to remain at a desired temperature when disconnected from the cooling source. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the adiabatic body of Richardson to include the wall is provided as a vacuum adiabatic body the vacuum adiabatic body including a first plate, a second plate and a space provided between the first plate and the second plate, the space configured to be in a vacuum state taught by Jung in order to provide a vacuum insulation to the insulated cooler to improve the adiabatic performance of the cooler.
Regarding claim 7, Richardson as modified discloses the refrigerating or warming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the conduit (41, 42) includes a portion passing over uncut portion on the edge of the compartment (19, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Richardson as modified discloses the refrigerating or warming apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the conduit (41, 42) includes a portion passing between the cover (15) and the edge of the vacuum adiabatic body (the teachings of Jung when combined with Richardson would have the conduit pass between the cover and the edge of the vacuum adiabatic body).
Regarding claim 9, Richardson as modified discloses the refrigerating or warming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the third conduit (third portion of 41, 42 connecting the first portion and the second portion that passes over wall of 14 though cutout portion, Fig. 3) includes a portion passing between the cover (15) and the edge of the compartment (19, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Richardson as modified discloses the refrigerating or warming apparatus according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the conduit is configured to pass between a conductive resistance sheet and the cover, the conductive resistance sheet configured to reduce a heat transfer between the first plate and the second plate.
Jung teaches the concept of an edge of the vacuum adiabatic body includes a conductive resistance sheet (213) configured to reduce a heat transfer between the first plate and the second plate (paragraphs 101, 102). Adding the conductive resistance sheet to Richardson would have the conduit is configured to pass between a conductive resistance sheet and the cover (15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the refrigerating apparatus of Richardson to have the conduit is configured to pass between a conductive resistance sheet and the cover, the conductive resistance sheet configured to reduce a heat transfer between the first plate and the second plate taught by Jung in order to minimize heat transfer at the edge of the wall improving the insulating performance of the device.
Regarding claim 11, Richardson as modified discloses the refrigerating or warming apparatus according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the conduit is configured to pass between a seal and the cover, the seal configured to seal the first plate to the second plate.
Jung further teaches the vacuum adiabatic body further includes a seal (170) configured to seal the first plate to the second plate (paragraph 63). Adding the seal of vacuum adiabatic body of Jung to the device of Richardson would have the conduit configured to pass between a seal and the cover. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the refrigerating apparatus of Richardson to have the conduit is configured to pass between a seal and the cover, the seal configured to seal the first plate to the second plate taught by Jung in order to properly seal the first and second plates to maintain the vacuum space of the vacuum adiabatic body.
Regarding claim 15, Richardson discloses a refrigerating or warming apparatus comprising: a compartment (19) disposed having at least a wall, a door (15) configured to cover an opening of the compartment such that a product is accessible to the compartment through the opening (Fig. 3); and a conduit (41, 42) including a first conduit disposed inside the compartment and extending towards the opening (first portion of 41, 42 inside the compartment and extending towards the opening), a second conduit disposed outside the compartment towards the opening (second portion of 41, 42 outside the compartment and extending towards the opening), and a third conduit connecting the first portion and the second portion without passing through the vacuum adiabatic body (third portion of 41, 42 connecting the first portion and the second portion that passes over wall of 14 though cutout portion, Fig. 3).
Richardson does not explicitly teach the wall provided as a vacuum adiabatic body, the vacuum adiabatic body including a first plate, a second plate and a space provided between the first plate and the second plate, the space configured to be in a vacuum state
Jung teaches the concept of a refrigerating apparatus including a wall that is provided as a vacuum adiabatic body, the vacuum adiabatic body (1, Fig. 2) including a first plate (110), a second plate (120) and a space (130) provided between the first plate and the second plate, the space configured to be in a vacuum state (paragraphs 47, 48) that provides enhanced heat insulating function and makes an outside volume compact (paragraph 12). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize forming the walls of Richardson to be provided as a vacuum adiabatic body taught by Jung would improve the adiabatic performance of the insulated container leading to lower cooling capacity needed to remain at a desired temperature as well as improve the transit time of the container to remain at a desired temperature when disconnected from the cooling source. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the adiabatic body of Richardson to include the wall is provided as a vacuum adiabatic body the vacuum adiabatic body including a first plate, a second plate and a space provided between the first plate and the second plate, the space configured to be in a vacuum state taught by Jung in order to provide a vacuum insulation to the insulated cooler to improve the adiabatic performance of the cooler.
Regarding claim 18, Richardson as modified discloses the refrigerating or warming apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the conduit (41, 42) includes a portion passing over uncut portion on the edge of the compartment (19, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 19¸ Richardson as modified discloses the refrigerating or warming apparatus according to claim 15, wherein the conduit (41, 42) includes a portion passing between the door (15) and the edge of the vacuum adiabatic body (Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richardson et al. (US 6,658,876) in view of Jung et al. (US PG Pub. 2012/0104923), further in view of Jung (US PG Pub. 2013/0105494).
Regarding claim 12, Richardson as modified discloses the refrigerating or warming apparatus according to claim 11, and Jung ’923 further teaches a bar (140) extending in the first direction, wherein the third conduit includes a portion extending in the first direction (Fig. 3).
Richardson does not explicitly teach a support plate provided to an end of the bar and extending in a direction different from the first direction.
Jung ‘494 teaches the concept of a vacuum adiabatic body including a support plate (160, 170) provided to an end of the bar (150) and extending in a direction different from the first direction that maintain the distance between the inner and outer plate to prevent deformation of the adiabatic body (paragraphs 13, 78-79). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the refrigerating apparatus of Richardson to have a support plate provided to an end of the bar and extending in a direction different from the first direction taught by Jung ‘494 in order to provide support to the vacuum adiabatic body to maintain the vacuum space and prevent deformation of the device.
Regarding claim 13, Richardson as modified discloses the refrigerating or warming apparatus according to claim 11, further comprising, wherein the third conduit (portion of 41, 42 passing over wall of (14) includes a portion extending in the first direction (Fig. 3).
Richardson does not explicitly teach a radiation resistance sheet configured to reduce heat radiation between the first plate and the second plate through the space, and including a portion extending in a direction different from the first direction.
Jung ‘494 teaches the concept of a vacuum adiabatic body including a radiation resistance sheet (210, 220) configured to reduce heat radiation between the first plate and the second plate through the space (paragraph 63), and including a portion extending in a direction different from the first direction (Fig. 2) that improves heat insulation performance of the device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the refrigerating device of Richardson to have a radiation resistance sheet configured to reduce heat radiation between the first plate and the second plate through the space, and including a portion extending in a direction different from the first direction taught by Jung ‘494 in order to improve the insulative performance of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 14, 16-17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not anticipate nor render obvious the combination set forth in the independent claims, and specifically does not show "an adiabatic support including a first support, wherein the conduit includes a portion accommodated in a seating insert disposed on an inner surface of the first support, wherein the cover includes a first bearing part, and the first support are inserted into the first bearing part"; “wherein the conduit includes a portion accommodated in a cut portion on the cover”; “the second conduit includes a portion extending in a direction crossing the first direction and extending along the wall”; “the door is opened using a hinge point as a support point, and the conduit includes a portion passing over the hinge point of the door”. The closest prior art of record discloses a refrigerating or warming apparatus with many of the limitations claimed, but not further including the combination of technical features in the arrangement as claimed above. Thus, for at least the foregoing reasons, the prior art of record neither anticipates nor rendered obvious the present invention as set forth in claims 2-6, 14, 16-17 and 20.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH F TRPISOVSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763