DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kang et al (US 20220391093, Kang).
As to claim 1, Kang discloses a method for exchanging interface information between different communication partners for communication of the communication partners via a bus PCI Express (fig. 1, par 74), the method comprising the following steps:
a) ascertaining an interface definition (par. 53 “map data”), which describes memory areas and an internal memory layout (fig. 6) of a first communication partner (memory system) which a second communication partner (host 102) is to access to read and/or write data (par. 55 “read request”);
c) providing the serialized form of the interface definition created in step b) to the second communication partner (fig. 8, 10, par. 60); and
d) automatically configuring the second communication partner with the provided interface definition for the communication between the communication partners (par. 61 “store the memory map segment obtained from the memory system 110 in the host cache 106”).
As to claim 2, Kang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the interface definition ascertained in step a) also includes protocol information (par. 13 “UFS protocol information unit”).
As to claim 5, Kang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the second communication partner has a configurable communication stack for the communication with the first communication partner, wherein the configurable communication stack is configured in step d) with the provided interface definition (fig. 9 shows “H-SEGMENT1” table as a configurable communication stack).
As to claim 7, all the same elements of claim 1 are listed, but in a system form with the first communication partner (fig. 2 memory system 110) and the second communication partner (host 102). Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 1 applies equally to claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
to combine the teachings of X and X, by x. The motivation is to x of the system (Background).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Chen et al (US 20070099567, Chen).
As to claim 3, Kang discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the transmitting of the interface definition according to step c) includes storing the interface definition in serialized form in a memory area provided for the purpose of storing the interface definition, of the first communication partner (fig. 9, host map data, par. 127-128).
Kang does not disclose wherein second communication partners retrieve the interface definition from the memory area of the first communication partner. In the same field of art (peripheral configuration), Chen discloses methods for providing a platform coexistence system of multiple wireless communication devices (abstract). In one embodiment, Chen further discloses the interface definition of the first communication partner is exchanged with the interface definition of the second communication partner (par. 48-49). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang and Chen, by configuring second communication partners to retrieve the interface definition from the memory area of the first communication partner. The motivation is to improve the reliability of the system (par. 3).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Becker et al (US 20170242450, Becker).
As to claim 4, Kang discloses the method according to claim 1 but does not disclose the limitations in claim 4. In the same field of art (peripheral configuration), Becker discloses a computer system that includes one or more processors and a display configured to display images that are representative of an energy system (par. 5). In one embodiment, Becker further discloses a memory map is created as an XML structure (par. 32). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang and Becker, by creating the interface definition first according to step a) as an XML structure or JSON structure and then serialized according to step b) with a serialization function for XML or JSON. The motivation is to provide to users the convenience of the system.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Govindarajan et al (US 20230251793, Govindarajan).
As to claim 6, Kang discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not disclose the limitations in claim 6. In the same field of art (peripheral configuration), Govindarajan discloses a method for exchanging information between different communication partners (fig. 1 processor 250 and storage system 220) for communication of the communication partners via a bus PCI Express (PCIe interface 236), wherein the method is used during development of data processing units (par. 1) for data processing of sensor data (sensor 211, 212) for highly automated driving (par. 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang and Govindarajan, by using during development of data processing units for data processing of sensor data for highly automated driving. The motivation is to improve the functionality of the system (par. 1).
Conclusion
/D.P/Examiner, Art Unit 2184
/HENRY TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2184