DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/06/2025 and 08/28/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim objection
Claims 10, 12 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 10 and 12 recite “a data centre” should be “a data center”.
Claim 17 recites “millimetres” should be “millimeters”.
Claim Interpretation Under 35 USC §112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “computing devices” in claim 1, 10 and 12.
Claim limitation “computing devices” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C.112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “devices” coupled with functional language “computing” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 1, 10 and 12 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Computing devices treated as meaning servers in a data center. See par. 3.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §112
Claims 1-11 and 18-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation -- the coolant inlet -- in lines 19-20 of said claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation is being considered as -- a coolant inlet --.
Claim 1 recites the limitation -- the inlet pipe / the outlet pipe -- in line 17 are unclear. Same claim recites a set of inlet pipes and a set of outlet pipes, so “the inlet pipe/the outlet pipe” could mean any of them. For examination purposes, the limitation is being considered as -- the corresponding inlet pipe / the corresponding outlet pipe of each tank --.
Claim 1 recites the limitation -- the tank -- in line 16 is ambiguous because the claim recites multiple cooling tanks. It should read -- the cooling tank or each cooling tank --.
Claim 8 recites the limitation: “both the drain interconnection pipe and the fill interconnection pipe connect the main drain and fill pipe to the main outlet pipe” is unclear. The claim then states that coolant is both drained into and filled from the main outlet pipe. It is unclear how the two pipes differ structurally, or whether the fill interconnection pipe was meant to connect to a main inlet pipe. A person of ordinary skill could not determine the bounds of the claim.
Claim 10 calls for the limitation “a cooling system” in line 1 which is confusing as it is unclear how it relates to the previous recitation of “a cooling system” above in line 1 of claim 1. For examination purposes, the limitation is being considered as -- the cooling system --.
Claim 10 calls for the limitation “computing devices” in line 1 which is confusing as it is unclear how it relates to the previous recitation of “computing devices” above in line 1 of claim 1. For examination purposes, the limitation is being considered as -- the computing devices --.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Long!, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1-12 and 14-17 is rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-10, 15, 17-18, 21-22 and 24 of Pending Patent: Application No.18559205. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application and that of the Pending Patent: Application No.18559205 are directed toward common subject matter’ and are ‘similar in scope’ to one another with minor obvious variations.
The following chart illustrates an example of how the claims of the instant invention are not patentably distinct from the claims of the Pending Patent: Application No.18559205:
Instant application 19/047887
Pending Patent: Application No.18559205
1. A cooling system for cooling computing devices, the cooling system comprising: multiple cooling tanks, each of the cooling tanks configured to hold a liquid coolant and sized to at least partially immerse at least one computing device in the liquid coolant in order for the liquid coolant to absorb heat generated from the at least one computing device; a set of inlet pipes, each inlet pipe being fluidly connected to a corresponding cooling tank of the multiple cooling tanks to supply the liquid coolant into the corresponding cooling tank; a set of outlet pipes, each outlet pipe being fluidly connected to a corresponding cooling tank to release the liquid coolant carrying the heat absorbed from the at least one computing device out of the corresponding cooling tank; a heat exchanger fluidly connected to each of the set of inlet pipes to supply the liquid coolant and fluidly connected to each of the set of outlet pipes to receive the liquid coolant carrying the heat absorbed from the at least one computing device, the heat exchanger being configured to dissipate the heat from the liquid coolant; and a pump configured to facilitate circulation of the liquid coolant through the multiple cooling tanks, the set of inlet pipes, the set of outlet pipes, and the heat exchanger; wherein each cooling tank comprises a separation panel to separate the tank into a cooling space fluidly coupled to the inlet pipe and a return space fluidly coupled to the outlet pipe; wherein each cooling tank further comprises a coolant distribution panel including multiple spaced groups of holes, the coolant distribution panel extending in the cooling space to cover the coolant inlet so as to regulate pressure of the liquid coolant entering the cooling space.
2. The cooling system of claim 1, wherein the separation panel has a height that enables the cooling space to fluidly communicate with the return space above the separation panel such that the liquid coolant is able to flow from the cooling space into the return space, wherein the outlet pipe extends from a bottom panel of the cooling tank and has a top opening lower than the height of the separation panel such that the top opening of the outlet pipe is immersed in the liquid coolant so as to allow the liquid coolant to flow out of the return space through the outlet pipe.
3. The cooling system of claim 1, wherein the set of inlet pipes comprises a main inlet pipe and multiple branch inlet pipes extending from and fluidly connected to the main inlet pipe, wherein the main inlet pipe is fluidly connected to the heat exchanger, and wherein each of the multiple branch inlet pipes is fluidly connected to one of the multiple cooling tanks.
4. The cooling system of claim 3, wherein each of the multiple branch inlet pipes comprises a balance valve to control a speed at which the liquid coolant flows into the cooling tank to which the branch inlet pipe is fluidly connected.
5. The cooling system of claim 3, wherein the set of outlet pipes comprises a main outlet pipe and multiple branch outlet pipes extending from and fluidly connected to the main outlet pipe, wherein the main outlet pipe is fluidly connected to the heat exchanger via the coolant pump and wherein each of the multiple branch outlet pipes is fluidly connected to one of the multiple cooling tanks.
6. The cooling system of claim 5, wherein each of the multiple branch outlet pipes comprises an outlet isolation valve to stop the liquid coolant carrying the heat flowing out of the cooling tank to which the branch outlet pipe is fluidly connected.
7. The cooling system of claim 1, further comprising a drain and fill system, the drain and fill system comprising: a drain and fill pump; a coolant reservoir; and a set of drain and fill pipes comprising a main drain and fill pipe and multiple branch drain and fill pipes each extending from the main drain and fill pipe and fluidly connected to one of the cooling tanks; wherein the main drain and fill pipe is fluidly connected to the drain and fill pump, and the drain and fill pump is fluidly connected to the coolant reservoir.
8. The cooling system of claim 7, wherein each of the branch drain and fill pipes includes a drain and fill valve, wherein the set of drain and fill pipes further comprises: a drain interconnection pipe fluidly connecting the main drain and fill pipe to the main outlet pipe, the drain interconnection pipe including a drain interconnection valve to control fluid connection between the main drain and fill pipe and the main outlet pipe; and a fill interconnection pipe fluidly connecting the main drain and fill pipe to the main outlet pipe, the fill interconnection pipe including a fill interconnection valve to control the fluid connection between the main drain and fill pipe and the main outlet pipe; such that the liquid coolant can be drained into the main outlet pipe from one or more of the multiple cooling tanks and the liquid coolant can be filled into the one or more of the multiple cooling tanks from the main outlet pipe.
9. The cooling system of claim 1, further comprising: a water supply pipe fluidly connected to the heat exchanger to supply water into the heat exchanger in order for the heat exchanger to dissipate the heat into the water: a water release pipe fluidly connected to the heat exchanger to release from the heat exchanger the water with the heat; a cooling tower that is fluidly connected to the water supply pipe and the water release pipe, the cooling tower being configured to supply the water into the water supply pipe, receive from the water release pipe the water with heat, and release the heat from the water so as to cool down the water before supplying the water into the water supply pipe; and a water pump that is fluidly connected to the cooling tower and the water supply pipe to facilitate circulation of the water in the water supply pipe, the water release pipe, the cooling tower, and the heat exchanger.
10. A cooling system for cooling computing devices operating in a data centre, the cooling system comprising: a first sub cooling system and a second sub cooling system each configured according to the cooling system of claim 5; an inlet interconnection pipe fluidly connecting the main inlet pipe of the first sub cooling system with the main inlet pipe of the second sub cooling system to allow the liquid coolant to flow between the main inlet pipe of the first sub cooling system and the main inlet pipe of the second sub cooling system; and an outlet interconnection pipe fluidly connecting the main outlet pipe of the first sub cooling system with the main outlet pipe of the second sub cooling system to allow the liquid coolant carrying the heat to flow between the main outlet pipe of the first sub cooling system and the main outlet pipe of the second sub cooling system.
11. The cooling system of claim 10, wherein the inlet interconnection pipe includes an inlet interconnection valve that controls a speed the liquid coolant flows between the main inlet pipe of the first sub cooling system and the main inlet pipe of the second sub cooling system and/or wherein the outlet interconnection pipe includes an outlet interconnection valve to control a speed the liquid coolant carrying the heat flows between the main outlet pipe of the first sub cooling system and the main outlet pipe of the second sub cooling system.
12. A cooling tank for cooling computing devices operating in a data centre, the cooling tank comprising: a container forming a working space to accommodate a liquid coolant, the working space sized to at least partially immerse at least one computing device in the liquid coolant in order for the liquid coolant to absorb heat generated from the at least one computing device, wherein the container includes a coolant inlet and a coolant outlet, the coolant inlet being configured to fluidly connect to one of a set of inlet pipes and the coolant outlet being configured to fluidly connect to one of a set of outlet pipes; a separation panel extending in the working space of the container to separate the working space into a cooling space and a return space, wherein the cooling space is fluidly coupled to the coolant inlet and the return space is fluidly coupled to the coolant outlet; wherein the separation panel has a height that enables the cooling space to fluidly connunicate with the return space above the separation panel such that the liquid coolant is able to flow from the cooling space into the return space; and wherein the coolant outlet extends from a bottom panel of the cooling tank and has a top opening lower than the height of the separation panel such that the top opening of the coolant outlet is immersed in the liquid coolant so as to allow the liquid coolant to flow out of the return space through the coolant outlet; wherein the cooling tank further comprises a coolant distribution panel including multiple spaced groups of holes, the coolant distribution panel extending in the cooling space to cover the coolant inlet so as to regulate pressure of the liquid coolant entering the cooling space.
14. The cooling tank of claim 13, wherein each cooling tank comprises: a bottom panel having a first edge, a second edge adjacent to the first edge, a third edge adjacent to the second edge and opposite to the first edge, and a fourth edge connecting the third edge with the first edge; a first side wall extending from the first edge; a second side wall extending from the second edge; a third side wall extending from the third edge; a fourth side wall extending from the fourth edge, wherein the bottom panel, the first side wall, the second side wall, the third side wall, and the fourth side wall form the working space.
15. The cooling tank of claim 14, wherein the separation panel extends from the bottom panel along the first side wall and the third side wall to separate the working space into the cooling space and the return space such that the first side wall, the third side wall, the fourth side wall, the bottom panel and the separation panel form the cooling space, and the first side wall, the second side wall, the third side wall, the bottom panel and the separation panel form the return space.
16. The cooling tank of claim 12, wherein at least some of the multiple holes of the coolant distribution panel are configured to be aligned with the at least one of the computing devices.
17. The cooling tank of claim 12, wherein the diameter of the multiple holes is 3 millimetres.
1. A cooling system for cooling servers operating in a data centre, the cooling system comprising: multiple cooling tanks, each of the cooling tanks being configured to accommodate a liquid coolant and sized to immerse the servers in the liquid coolant in order for the liquid coolant to absorb heat generated from the servers so as to cool theservers; a set of connection pipes configured to fluidly connect the multiple cooling tanks to keep the liquid coolant in each of the multiple cooling tanks at a substantially same level; a set of inlet pipes, the set of inlet pipes being fluidly connected to the multiple cooling tanks to supply the liquid coolant into the multiple cooling tanks; a set of outlet pipes, the set of outlet pipes being fluidly connected to the multiple cooling tanks to release the liquid coolant carrying the heat absorbed from the servers out of the multiple cooling tanks; a heat exchanger that fluidly connects to each of the set of inlet pipes to supply the liquid coolant into the set of inlet pipes and fluidly connects to each of the set of outlet pipes to receive from the set of outlet pipes the liquid coolant carrying the heat absorbed from the servers, the heat exchanger being configured to dissipate the heat from the liquid coolant carrying the heat; and a coolant pump that fluidly connects to each of the set of outlet pipes, the coolant pump being configured to facilitate circulation of the liquid coolant in the multiple cooling tanks, the set of inlet pipes, the set of outlet pipes, and the heat exchanger.
18. (Original) The cooling system of claim 17, wherein the separation panel has a first height that enables the cooling space to fluidly communicate with the return space above the separation panel such that the liquid coolant in the cooling space is able to flow into the return space.
2. The cooling system of claim 1, wherein the set of inlet pipes comprises a main inlet pipe and multiple branch inlet pipes extending from and fluidly connecting to the main inlet pipe, the main inlet pipe fluidly connects to the heat exchanger and each of the multiple branch inlet pipes fluidly connects to one of the multiple cooling tanks.
5. The cooling system of claim 3, wherein each of multiple branch inlet pipes comprises a balance valve to control a speed at which the liquid coolant flows into the cooling tank to which the branch inlet pipe is fluidly connected.
3. The cooling system of claim 2, wherein the set of outlet pipes comprises a main outlet pipe and multiple branch outlet pipes extending from and fluidly connecting to the main outlet pipe, the main outlet pipe fluidly connects to the heat exchanger via the coolant pump and each of the multiple branch outlet pipes fluidly connects to one of the multiple cooling tanks.
6. The cooling system of claim 3, wherein each of multiple branch outlet pipes comprises an outlet isolation valve to stop the liquid coolant carrying the heat flow out of the cooling tank to which the branch outlet pipe is fluidly connected.
7. The cooling system of claim 3, further comprises a drain and fill system, the drain and fill system comprising: a drain and fill pump; a coolant reservoir; and a set of drain and fill pipes comprising a main drain and fill pipe and multiple branch drain and fill pipes extending from the main drain and fill pipe and fluidly connected to one of the cooling tanks; wherein the main drain and fill pipe is fluidly connected to the drain and fill pump, and the drain and fill pump is fluidly connected to the coolant reservoir.
8. The cooling system of claim 7, wherein each of the branch drain and fill pipes includes a drain and fill valve.
9. The cooling system of claim 7, wherein the set of drain and fill pipes further comprises a drain interconnection pipe fluidly connecting the main drain and fill pipe to the main outlet pipe, the drain interconnection pipe including a drain interconnection valve to control fluid connection between the main drain and fill pipe and the main outlet pipe; and a fill interconnection pipe fluidly connecting the main drain and fill pipe to the main outlet pipe, the fill interconnection pipe including a fill interconnection valve to control the fluid connection between the main drain and fill pipe and the main outlet pipe; such that the liquid coolant can be drained into the main outlet pipe from one or more of the multiple cooling tanks and the liquid coolant can be filled into the one or more of the multiple cooling tanks from the main outlet pipe.
10. The cooling system of claim 9, further comprising: a water supply pipe fluidly connected to the heat exchanger to supply water into the heat exchanger in order for the heat exchanger to dissipate the heat into the water: a water release pipe fluidly connected to the heat exchanger to release from the heat exchanger the water with the heat; a cooling tower that is fluidly connected to the water supply pipe and the water release pipe, the cooling tower being configured to supply the water into the water supply pipe, receive from the water release pipe the water with heat, and release the heat from the water so as to cool down the water before supplying the water into the water supply pipe; and a water pump that is fluidly connected to the cooling tower and the water supply pipe to facilitate circulation of the water in the water supply pipe, the water release pipe, the cooling tower, and the heat exchanger.
24. The cooling system of claim 23, wherein the inlet interconnection pipe includes an inlet interconnection valve that controls a speed the liquid coolant flows between the main inlet pipe of the first sub cooling system and the main inlet pipe of the second sub cooling system.
15. The cooling system of claim 14, wherein the container of each of the multiple cooling tanks comprises: a bottom panel having a first edge, a second edge adjacent to the first edge, a third edge adjacent to the second edge and opposite to the first edge, and a fourth edge connecting the third edge with the first edge; a first side wall extending from the first edge; a second side wall extending from the second edge; a third side wall extending from the third edge; a fourth side wall extending from the fourth edge, wherein the bottom panel, the first side wall, the second side wall, the third side wall, and the fourth side wall form the working space.
17. The cooling system of claim 16, wherein the separation panel extends from the bottom panel along the first side wall and the third side wall to separate the working space into the cooling space and the return space such that the first side wall, the third side wall, the fourth side wall, the bottom panel and the separation panel form the cooling space, and the first side wall, the second side wall, the third side wall, the bottom panel and the separation panel form the return space.
21. The cooling system of claim 20, wherein at least some of the multiple holes of the coolant distribution panel are configured to be aligned with the at least one of the servers.
22. The cooling system of claim 20, wherein the diameter of the multiple holes is 3 millimetres.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1, 3-5 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Best et al. (US 2011/0132579) in view of SHAN (CN 111065245 A, see attached translation).
In regards to claim 1, Best discloses a cooling system (cooling system 300/900; Figs. 2 and 15) for cooling computing devices (multiple servers 120), the cooling system comprising: multiple cooling tanks (a tub or tank 310 containing a liquid coolant; par. 80), each of the cooling tanks (310) configured to hold a liquid coolant (par. 80) and sized to at least partially immerse at least one computing device (120) in the liquid coolant (cooling multiple immersion-cooled server racks; Figs. 2 and 15; par. 120) in order for the liquid coolant to absorb heat generated from the at least one computing device (refer to par. 80 and 120); a set of inlet pipes (inlet piping 370), each inlet pipe (370) being fluidly connected to a corresponding cooling tank (120) of the multiple cooling tanks (120) to supply the liquid coolant into the corresponding cooling tank (310); a set of outlet pipes (outlet piping 315), each outlet pipe (315) being fluidly connected to a corresponding cooling tank (310) to release the liquid coolant carrying the heat absorbed from the at least one computing device (120) out of the corresponding cooling tank (as can be seen in Fig. 15); a heat exchanger (910; par. 120) fluidly connected to each of the set of inlet pipes (370) to supply the liquid coolant and fluidly connected to each of the set of outlet pipes (315) to receive the liquid coolant carrying the heat absorbed from the at least one computing device (120), the heat exchanger (910) being configured to dissipate the heat from the liquid coolant; and a pump (pump 904) configured to facilitate circulation of the liquid coolant through the multiple cooling tanks (310), the set of inlet pipes (370), the set of outlet pipes (315), and the heat exchanger (910). Best fails to explicitly teach wherein each cooling tank comprises a separation panel to separate the tank into a cooling space fluidly coupled to the inlet pipe and a return space fluidly coupled to the outlet pipe; wherein each cooling tank further comprises a coolant distribution panel including multiple spaced groups of holes, the coolant distribution panel extending in the cooling space to cover the coolant inlet so as to regulate pressure of the liquid coolant entering the cooling space.
SHAN teaches server a liquid cooling device (Fig. 1) wherein each cooling tank (1) comprises a separation panel (partition 7) to separate the tank (1) into a cooling space (immersion zone 2) fluidly coupled to the inlet pipe (5) and a return space (return buffer area 3) fluidly coupled to the outlet pipe (return buffer 3 is provided with a liquid outlet 6; par. 38); wherein each cooling tank (1) further comprises a coolant distribution panel (injection plate 10) including multiple spaced groups of holes (multiple through holes; par. 45), the coolant distribution panel (10) extending in the cooling space (2) to cover the coolant inlet (5) so as to regulate pressure of the liquid coolant (implicit) entering the cooling space.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Best such that each cooling tank comprises a separation panel to separate the tank into a cooling space fluidly coupled to the inlet pipe and a return space fluidly coupled to the outlet pipe; wherein each cooling tank further comprises a coolant distribution panel including multiple spaced groups of holes, the coolant distribution panel extending in the cooling space to cover the coolant inlet so as to regulate pressure of the liquid coolant entering the cooling space as taught by SHAN in order to ensure uniform heat dissipation of the
server and achieve rapid heat dissipation (refer to par. 4 of SHAN).
In regards to claim 3, Best as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Best teaches wherein the set of inlet pipes (970) comprises a main inlet pipe (distribution piping system 914) and multiple branch inlet pipes (a plurality of parallel piping 916) extending from and fluidly connected to the main inlet pipe (914), wherein the main inlet pipe (914) is fluidly connected to the heat exchanger (910), and wherein each of the multiple branch inlet pipes (916) is fluidly connected to one of the multiple cooling tanks (310; as can be seen in Fig. 15).
In regards to claim 4, Best as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 3. Further, Best teaches wherein each of the multiple branch inlet pipes (916) comprises a balance valve (918) to control a speed at which the liquid coolant flows into the cooling tank (310) to which the branch inlet pipe (914) is fluidly connected (as can be seen in Fig. 15; par. 137).
In regards to claim 5, Best as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 3. Further, Best teaches wherein the set of outlet pipes (315) comprises a main outlet pipe (collection piping system 902) and multiple branch outlet pipes (315) extending from and fluidly connected to the main outlet pipe (902), wherein the main outlet pipe (902) is fluidly connected to the heat exchanger (910) via the coolant pump (904) and wherein each of the multiple branch outlet pipes (315) is fluidly connected to one of the multiple cooling tanks (310; as can be seen in Fig. 15; par. 120).
In regards to claim 18, Best as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Best teaches wherein the cooling tanks (310) are arranged in at least one row (as can be seen in Fig. 15).
.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Best et al. (US 2011/0132579) in view of SHAN (CN 111065245 A), further in view of Day (US 2007/0213000).
In regards to claim 6, Best as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 5, but fails to explicitly teach wherein each of the multiple branch outlet pipes comprises an outlet isolation valve to stop the liquid coolant carrying the heat flowing out of the cooling tank to which the branch outlet pipe is fluidly connected.
Day teaches a data center cooling (Fig. 4) wherein each of the multiple branch outlet pipes (pipes 52) comprises an outlet isolation valve (isolation valve in valve box 50) to stop (switched off; par. 246) the liquid coolant carrying the heat flow out of the cooling tank to which the branch outlet pipe is fluidly connected (refer to par. 171).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Best such that each of the multiple branch outlet pipes comprises an outlet isolation valve to stop the liquid coolant carrying the heat flowing out of the cooling tank to which the branch outlet pipe is fluidly connected as taught by Day in order to avoid any coolant spillage (refer to par. 217of Day).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Best et al. (US 2011/0132579) in view of SHAN (CN 111065245 A), further in view of Shelnutt et al. (US 2014/0218859).
In regards to claim 7, Best as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 3, but fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 7.
Shelnutt further teaches further comprises a drain and fill system (Fig. 13; pars. 71 and 177), the drain and fill system comprising: a drain and fill pump (1340; par. 177); a coolant reservoir (1330); and a set of drain and fill pipes (pipe distribution system 1335A and 1335B) comprising a main drain and fill pipe (1335B) and multiple branch drain and fill pipes extending from the main drain and fill pipe (1335B) and fluidly connected to one of the cooling tanks (400A/400B); wherein the main drain and fill pipe (1335B) is fluidly connected to the drain and fill pump (1340), and the drain and fill pump (1340) is fluidly connected to the coolant reservoir (Fig. 13; pars. 71 and 177).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified system of Best such that further comprises a drain and fill system, the drain and fill system comprising: a drain and fill pump; a coolant reservoir; and a set of drain and fill pipes comprising a main drain and fill pipe and multiple branch drain and fill pipes extending from the main drain and fill pipe and fluidly connected to one of the cooling tanks; wherein the main drain and fill pipe is fluidly connected to the drain and fill pump, and the drain and fill pump is fluidly connected to the coolant reservoir as taught by Shelnutt in order to enable cooling liquid 412 to be drained from immersion cooling tank to facilitate tank maintenance (refer to par. 71 of Shelnutt).
In regards to claim 8, Best as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 7. Further, Shelnutt teaches wherein each of the branch drain and fill pipes includes a drain and fill valve (valve assembly 497/1397; pars. 71 and 174), wherein the set of drain and fill pipes (1335A/1335B) further comprises: a drain interconnection pipe (pipe connector 395/1395) fluidly connecting the main drain and fill pipe (1335B) to the main outlet pipe, the drain interconnection pipe including a drain interconnection valve (1397) to control fluid connection between the main drain and fill pipe and the main outlet pipe; and a fill interconnection pipe (pipe connector 495) fluidly connecting the main drain and fill pipe to the main outlet pipe, the fill interconnection pipe including a fill interconnection valve () to control the fluid connection between the main drain and fill pipe and the main outlet pipe; such that the liquid coolant (412) can be drained into the main outlet pipe (1335) from one or more of the multiple cooling tanks (400A/400B) and the liquid coolant (412) can be filled into the one or more of the multiple cooling tanks (400A/400B) from the main outlet pipe (refer to par. 71).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Best et al. (US 2011/0132579) in view of in view of SHAN (CN 111065245 A), further in view of INANO et al. (US 2017/0303443).
In regards to claim 9, Best as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Best teaches further comprising: a water supply pipe (supply end of line 912) fluidly connected to the heat exchanger (910) to supply water into the heat exchanger (910) in order for the heat exchanger (910) to dissipate the heat into the water (pars. 14 and 120): a water release pipe (another end of line 912) fluidly connected to the heat exchanger (910) to release from the heat exchanger (910) the water with the heat; a cooling tower (pars. 15 and 81), but fails to explicitly teach the cooling tower that is fluidly connected to the water supply pipe and the water release pipe, the cooling tower being configured to supply the water into the water supply pipe, receive from the water release pipe the water with heat, and release the heat from the water so as to cool down the water before supplying the water into the water supply pipe; and a water pump that is fluidly connected to the cooling tower and the water supply pipe to facilitate circulation of the water in the water supply pipe, the water release pipe, the cooling tower, and the heat exchanger.
INANO teaches a data center cooling (Fig. 15) wherein the cooling tower (204) that is fluidly connected to the water supply pipe (pipe of pump 218) and the water release pipe (216), the cooling tower (204) being configured to supply the water into the water supply pipe, receive from the water release pipe (216) the water with heat, and release the heat from the water so as to cool down the water before supplying the water into the water supply pipe (Fig. 15; par. 53); and a water pump (218) that is fluidly connected to the cooling tower (204) and the water supply pipe to facilitate circulation of the water in the water supply pipe, the water release pipe (216), the cooling tower (204), and the heat exchanger (203).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Best such that the cooling tower that is fluidly connected to the water supply pipe and the water release pipe, the cooling tower being configured to supply the water into the water supply pipe, receive from the water release pipe the water with heat, and release the heat from the water so as to cool down the water before supplying the water into the water supply pipe; and a water pump that is fluidly connected to the cooling tower and the water supply pipe to facilitate circulation of the water in the water supply pipe, the water release pipe, the cooling tower, and the heat exchanger as taught by INANO in order to perform the heat exchange between the cooling liquid and the cooling water (refer to par. 53 of INANO).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Best et al. (US 2011/0132579) in view of SHAN (CN 111065245 A), further in view of Stocker et al. (US 2014/0209272).
In regards to claim 10, Best teaches a cooling system (cooling system 300/900; Figs. 2 and 15) for cooling computing devices (multiple servers 120) operating in a data centre (refer to par. 5), but fails to explicitly teach the cooling system comprising: a first sub cooling system and a second sub cooling system each configured according to the cooling system of claim 5; and fails to explicitly teach the remaining limitations of claim 10. Stocker teaches a cooling system (Fig. 3) for cooling computing devices (electronic components 6) operating in a data centre (par. 84), the cooling system comprising: a first sub cooling system (left cooling system of container 1; Fig. 3) and a second sub cooling system (right cooling system of container 1; Fig. 3) each configured according to the cooling system of claim 5; an inlet interconnection pipe (right tee connector pipe 21; Fig. 3) fluidly connecting the main inlet pipe (pipe of circuit 17) of the first sub cooling system with the main inlet pipe (pipe of circuit 17) of the second sub cooling system to allow the liquid coolant to flow between the main inlet pipe of the first sub cooling system and the main inlet pipe of the second sub cooling system (as can be seen in Fig. 3); and an outlet interconnection pipe (left tee connector pipe 21; Fig. 3) fluidly connecting the main outlet pipe of the first sub cooling system with the main outlet pipe of the second sub cooling system to allow the liquid coolant carrying the heat to flow between the main outlet pipe of the first sub cooling system and the main outlet pipe of the second sub cooling system (as can be seen in Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Best such that the cooling system comprising: a first sub cooling system and a second sub cooling system each configured according to the cooling system; an inlet interconnection pipe fluidly connecting the main inlet pipe of the first sub cooling system with the main inlet pipe of the second sub cooling system to allow the liquid coolant to flow between the main inlet pipe of the first sub cooling system and the main inlet pipe of the second sub cooling system; and an outlet interconnection pipe fluidly connecting the main outlet pipe of the first sub cooling system with the main outlet pipe of the second sub cooling system to allow the liquid coolant carrying the heat to flow between the main outlet pipe of the first sub cooling system and the main outlet pipe of the second sub cooling system as taught by Stocker to reduce the overall complexity of the mobile computing centre (par. 100 of Stocker).
In regards to claim 11, Best as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 10. Further, Stocker teaches wherein the inlet interconnection pipe (left tee connector pipe 21; Fig. 3) includes an inlet interconnection valve (regulating control means; par. 61) that controls a speed the liquid coolant flows between the main inlet pipe of the first sub cooling system and the main inlet pipe of the second sub cooling system (refer to par. 61) and/or wherein the outlet interconnection pipe includes an outlet interconnection valve to control a speed the liquid coolant carrying the heat flows between the main outlet pipe of the first sub cooling system and the main outlet pipe of the second sub cooling system.
Claims 2 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Best et al. (US 2011/0132579) in view of SHAN (CN 111065245 A), further in view of BILAN et al. (US2020/0323108).
In regards to claim 2, Best as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 1. Further, Best teaches wherein the separation panel (7) has a height that enables the cooling space to fluidly communicate with the return space (3) above (top) the separation panel (7) such that the liquid coolant is able to flow from the cooling space (2) into the return space (3), (refer to par. 48; heated liquid flows from the top of the immersion zone 2 into the return buffer zone 3), but fails to explicitly teach wherein the outlet pipe extends from a bottom panel of the cooling tank and has a top opening lower than the height of the separation panel such that the top opening of the outlet pipe is immersed in the liquid coolant so as to allow the liquid coolant to flow out of the return space through the outlet pipe.
BILAN teaches wherein the outlet pipe (15) extends from the bottom panel of the cooling tank (reservoir 1) and has a top opening lower than the first height of the separation panel (dielectric partitions 4), (as can be seen in Fig. 5) such that the top opening of the coolant outlet (15) is immersed into the liquid coolant (2) so as to allow the liquid coolant to flow out of the return space (overflow zone 13) through the coolant outlet pipe (15), (refer to par. 73).
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Best such that the outlet pipe extends from a bottom panel of the cooling tank and has a top opening lower than the height of the separation panel such that the top opening of the outlet pipe is immersed in the liquid coolant so as to allow the liquid coolant to flow out of the return space through the outlet pipe as taught by BILAN in order to provide the predetermined thermostable environment for the electronic component (refer to par. 75 of BILAN).
In regards to claim 12, Best discloses a cooling tank (a tub or tank 310 containing a liquid coolant; par. 80) for cooling computing devices (multiple servers 120) operating in a data centre (refer to par. 5), the cooling tank comprising: a container (a (tub or tank 310) forming a working space (inner space of container) to accommodate a liquid coolant (refer to par. 80), the working space sized to at least partially immerse at least one computing device (120) in the liquid coolant in order for the liquid coolant to absorb heat generated from the at least one computing device (refer to par. 80), wherein the container (310) includes a coolant inlet (inlet piping 370) and a coolant outlet (outlet piping 315), the coolant inlet (370) being configured to fluidly connect to one of a set of inlet pipes (370) and the coolant outlet (315) being configured to fluidly connect to one of a set of outlet pipes (315); but fails to explicitly teach the remaining limitations of claim 12.
SHAN teaches server a liquid cooling device (Fig. 1) wherein a separation panel (partition 7) extending in the working space of the container (1) to separate the working space into a cooling space (immersion zone 2) and a return space (return buffer area 3), wherein the cooling space (2) is fluidly coupled to the coolant inlet (5) and the return space (3) is fluidly coupled to the coolant outlet (6); wherein the separation panel (7) has a height that enables the cooling space to fluidly communicate with the return space (3) above (top) the separation panel (7) such that the liquid coolant is able to flow from the cooling space (2) into the return space (3), (refer to par. 48; heated liquid flows
from the top of the immersion zone 2 into the return buffer zone 3); wherein the cooling tank (1) further comprises a coolant distribution panel (injection plate 10) including multiple spaced groups of holes (multiple through holes; par. 45), the coolant distribution panel (10) extending in the cooling space to cover the coolant inlet (5) so as to regulate pressure of the liquid coolant (implicit) entering the cooling space.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Best such that a separation panel extending in the working space of the container to separate the working space into a cooling space and a return space, wherein the cooling space is fluidly coupled to the coolant inlet and the return space is fluidly coupled to the coolant outlet; wherein the separation panel has a height that enables the cooling space to fluidly communicate with the return space above the separation panel such that the liquid coolant is able to flow from the cooling space into the return space; wherein the cooling tank further comprises a coolant distribution panel including multiple spaced groups of holes, the coolant distribution panel extending in the cooling space to cover the coolant inlet so as to regulate pressure of the liquid coolant entering the cooling space as taught by SHAN in order to ensure uniform heat dissipation of the server and achieve rapid heat dissipation (refer to par. 4 of SHAN).
BILAN further teaches wherein the coolant outlet (15) extends from the bottom panel of the cooling tank (reservoir 1) and has a top opening lower than the first height of the separation panel (dielectric partitions 4), (as can be seen in Fig. 5) such that the top opening of the coolant outlet (15) is immersed into the liquid coolant (2) so as to allow the liquid coolant to flow out of the return space (overflow zone 13) through the coolant outlet (15), (refer to par. 73).
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Best such that the coolant outlet extends from a bottom panel of the cooling tank and has a top opening lower than the height of the separation panel such that the top opening of the coolant outlet is immersed in the liquid coolant so as to allow the liquid coolant to flow out of the return space through the coolant outlet as taught by BILAN in order to provide the predetermined thermostable environment for the electronic component (refer to par. 75 of BILAN).
In regards to claim 13, Best as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 12. Further, SHAN teaches wherein the separation panel (7) is positioned vertically within the cooling tank (1) when the cooling tank (1) is positioned to hold the liquid coolant (as can be seen in Figs. 1-3; par. 42), and/or wherein the separation panel is configured such that the liquid coolant in the cooling space can flow into the return space due to supply of the liquid coolant into the cooling space via the inlet pipe of the cooling system or the coolant inlet of the cooling tank.
In regards to claim 14, Best as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 13. Further, Best teaches wherein each cooling tank (310/410) comprises: a bottom panel (refer to par. 86) having a first edge (front side edge), a second edge (next to front side edge) adjacent to the first edge, a third edge (back side edge) adjacent to the second edge and opposite to the first edge, and a fourth edge connecting the third edge with the first edge (Fig. 4); a first side wall (front side wall) extending from the first edge; a second side wall (next to front side wall) extending from the second edge; a third side wall (back side wall) extending from the third edge; a fourth side wall (next to another front side wall) extending from the fourth edge, wherein the bottom panel, the first side wall, the second side wall, the third side wall, and the fourth side wall form the working space (as can be seen in Fig. 4).
In regards to claim 15, Best as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 14. Further, SHAN teaches wherein the separation panel (7) extends from the bottom panel (Figs. 8-9) along the first side wall and the third side wall to separate the working space into the cooling space (2) and the return space (3) such that the first side wall, the third side wall, the fourth side wall, the bottom panel and the separation panel (7) form the cooling space (as can be seen in Figs. 2-4), and the first side wall, the second side wall, the third side wall, the bottom panel and the separation panel form the return space (as can be seen in Figs. 2-4).
In regards to claim 16, Best as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 12. Further, SHAN teaches wherein at least some of the multiple holes (multiple through holes; par. 45) of the coolant distribution panel (10) are configured to be aligned with the at least one of the computing devices (server 4; as can be seen in Figs. 2 and 4).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Best et al. (US 2011/0132579) in view of SHAN (CN 111065245 A) and BILAN et al. (US2020/0323108), further in view of SASAKI et al. (US 2017/0265328).
In regards to claim 17, Best as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 12, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the diameter of the multiple holes is 3 millimetres. In regard wherein the diameter of the multiple holes is 3 millimeters, a person skilled in the art would recognize in view of SASAKI’s teachings the calibers of the injection holes 29b of the distributor 29 are changed depending on the distance from the refrigerant inlet. Therefore, the amount of the refrigerant 22 to be injected from the respective injection holes 29b becomes uniform (refer to par. 39 of SASAKI). In turn, the calibration of the diameter of the multiple holes is a recognized result effective variable.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the diameter of the multiple holes to be 3 millimeters as claimed since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Best et al. (US 2011/0132579) in view of SHAN (CN 111065245 A), further in view of Shelnuttn et al. (US 20150062806 A1).
In regards to claim 19, Best as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 18, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the cooling tanks are arranged in multiple spaced parallel rows.
Shelnuttn teaches an immersion-based cooling of electronics (Fig. 15) wherein the cooling tanks (a plurality of immersion cooling tanks 400) are arranged in multiple spaced parallel rows (as can be seen in Fig. 15).
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Best such that the cooling tanks are arranged in multiple spaced parallel rows as taught by Shelnuttn in order to allow cooling liquid levels to be gravitationally equalized across the multiple interconnected immersion tanks (refer to par. 46 of Shelnuttn).
In regards to claim 20, Best as modified meets the claim limitations as set forth above in the rejection of claim 18, but fails to explicitly teach wherein each row includes 4 to 8 cooling tanks. Shelnuttn teaches an immersion-based cooling of electronics (Fig. 15) wherein each row includes 4 to 8 cooling tanks (a plurality of immersion cooling tanks 400; as can be seen in Fig. 15).
It would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Best such that the cooling tanks are arranged in multiple spaced parallel rows as taught by Shelnuttn in order to allow cooling liquid levels to be gravitationally equalized across the multiple interconnected immersion tanks (refer to par. 46 of Shelnuttn).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MARTHA TADESSE whose telephone number is (571)272-0590. The examiner can normally be reached on 7:30am-5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached on 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For
more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/M.T/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763