DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0101046 A1 (“Korodi”) in view of WD5: Working Draft 5 of High-Efficiency Video Coding (JCTVC-G1103) (“Bross”) (Note: Korodi is included in the IDS, as well as, Bross that is also previously attached in the last office action, dated 4/2/26).
Regarding claim 1, Korodi discloses an encoding apparatus (e.g. see encoder 10 in Fig. 1), comprising:
a processor configured to:
acquire a significance map (e.g. see significance map, paragraphs [0006], [0042]-[0044]) of quantized transform coefficients of 4 * 4 blocks as a target (e.g. see block or matrix of quantized transform domain coefficients, e.g. see at least paragraph [0006], and see 4x4 luma block, e.g. see at least paragraphs [0042]-[0044]), wherein the significance map is based on application of a scanning order to the quantized transform coefficients (e.g. see significance map of quantized transform domain coefficients is converted to a vector in accordance with the scan order, e.g. see at least paragraphs [0042]-[0044], [0093]-[0104]);
share a table for assignment of contexts between a context assigned to a luma component of the quantized transform coefficients of a 4 * 4 block and a context assigned to a chroma component of the quantized transform coefficients of the 4 * 4 block,
wherein the table is based on a mapping of a position in the significance map of the quantized transform coefficients to a corresponding context index increment using a single 15 element lookup table (e.g. see context assignment, paragraphs [0006], [0042]-[0044], e.g. see context assignment in Figs. 3-4, e.g. see P4-9, in Fig. 4 that signifies 9 contexts to the 9 distinct parts of the 4x4 block (paragraph [0056]), may be used for both 4x4 luma and chroma, paragraphs [0065]-[0066] and see context index increment in at least paragraphs [0106]-[0111]; the same single 15-element lookup table shown in paragraph [0110] is used if P4-9 is used or same for both 4x4 luma and chroma); and
apply a significance map encoding process (e.g. see encoding a significance map, e.g. see at least paragraphs [0006], [0042]-[0044]) in a state where encoding coefficients that share the contexts have a same grouping (e.g. see 4x4 luma and 4x4 chroma may both use a P4-9 partition set, e.g. see at least paragraphs [0065]-[0066]),
wherein the significance map encoding process uses a same number of contexts and a same context index increment mapping for the luma component and the chroma component (context assignment, paragraphs [0006], [0042]-[0044], e.g. see context assignment in Figs. 3-4, e.g. see P4-9, in Fig. 4 that signifies 9 contexts to the 9 distinct parts of the 4x4 block (paragraph [0056]), may be used for both 4x4 luma and chroma, paragraphs [0065]-[0066] and see context index increment in at least paragraphs [0106]-[0111]; thus, if P4-9 is used for both 4x4 luma and chroma, then the same mapping would be used for both luma and chroma in paragraph [0110]), and
the single 15 element lookup table is [0,1,2,3,4,5,2,3,6,6,7,7,8,8,7] (e.g. see P4-9 may be used for both 4x4 luma and chroma, paragraphs [0065]-[0066], e.g. see paragraphs [0106]-[0110] and Table after [0110] (shown below for the 4x4): P4-9
Specification of ctxIdxMap4x4[i]
i
0
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
ctxIdxMap4x4[i]
0
1
2
3
4
5
2
3
6
6
7
7
8
8
7
),
the significance map encoding process codes, based on the single 15 element lookup table, video content to generate a coded bitstream (e.g. see encoder 10 receives a video source 12 and produces an encoded bitstream 14 as shown in Fig. 1).
Although Korodi discloses the single 15 element lookup table is [0,1,2,3,4,5,2,3,6,6,7,7,8,8,7], it is noted Korodi differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose [0,1,4,5,2,3,4,5,6,6,8,8,7,7,8].
Bross however, teaches [0,1,4,5,2,3,4,5,6,6,8,8,7,7,8] (e.g. see
Specification of ctxIdxMap4x4[i]
i
0
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
ctxIdxMap4x4[i]
0
1
4
5
2
3
4
5
6
6
8
8
7
7
8
, Table 9-40 on page 187, Section 9.2.3.1.1.5 Derivation process of ctxIdxInc for the syntax element significant_coeff_flag).
Further, although Korodi disclose the video content is coded (e.g. see encoder 10 in Fig. 1), it is noted Korodi differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose without determination of a context offset based on luma and chroma decision of at least one significance map of an 8x8 significance map, a 16x16 significance map, or a 32x32 significance map. Bross however, teaches without determination of a context offset based on luma and chroma decision of at least one significance map of an 8x8 significance map, a 16x16 significance map, or a 32x32 significance map (e.g. see ctxIdxInc is derived using the color component index cIdx and sigCtx, see Equation (9-64)-(9-65), i.e. without determination of context offset, Section 9.2.3.1.1.5 Derivation process of ctxIdxInc for the syntax element significant_coeff_flag).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, having the references of Korodi and Bross before him/her, to incorporate Bross into Korodi in order to conform to High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC) standard for higher compression and flexible coded video representation for a wide variety of network environments.
Regarding claims 2-4, the claims recite analogous limitations to the claims above and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,025,938 in view of the cited prior art above. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the application and the patent are substantially similar and obvious variants of one another. The difference with the patent are the newly added limitations; however, these limitations are well-known and taught by Korodi and Bross as mapped above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the claims of the Patent with Korodi and Bross in order to balance computation speed and compression efficiency by effective partition set and context mappings, as well as, conform to High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC) standard for higher compression and flexible coded video representation for a wide variety of network environments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts on page 8 of the Remarks that Korodi and Bross do not teach “the video content is coded without determination of a context offset based on luma and chroma decision of at least one significance map of an 8x8 significance map, a 16x16 significance map, or a 32x32 significance map”.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. It is noted that the rejection above has been clarified in order to illustrate that the claims remain unpatentable over Korodi in view of Bross. Bross, in at least Section 9.2.3.1.1.5 Derivation process of ctxIdxInc for the syntax element significant_coeff_flag, teaches that ctxIdxInc is derived using the color component index cIdx and sigCtx, see Equation (9-64)-(9-65); thus, Bross teaches to deriving ctxIdxInc, for video content coding, without determination of context offset that meets the limitations in the broadest reasonable sense.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Korodi et al., Encoding and decoding significant coefficient flags for small Transform Units using partition sets (JCTVC-G657) (in the IDS)
Hsu et al., US 2015/0010055 A1, discloses method and apparatus for unification of significance map context selection (in the IDS)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Francis Geroleo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619