DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: encoding unit in claim 1 and decoding unit in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, because the claim purports to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, but fails to recite a combination of elements as required by that statutory provision and thus cannot rely on the specification to provide the structure, material or acts to support the claimed function. As such, the claim recites a function that has no limits and covers every conceivable means for achieving the stated function, while the specification discloses at most only those means known to the inventor. Accordingly, the disclosure is not commensurate with the scope of the claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,025,938. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim in the application is broader than the one in the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0101046 A1 (“Korodi”) in view of WD5: Working Draft 5 of High-Efficiency Video Coding (JCTVC-G1103) (“Bross”) (Note: Korodi and Bross are included in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Korodi discloses an encoding apparatus (e.g. see encoder 10 in Fig. 1), comprising:
an encoding unit configured to:
acquire a significance map (e.g. see significance map, paragraphs [0006], [0042]-[0044]) of quantized transform coefficients of 4 * 4 blocks as a target (e.g. see block or matrix of quantized transform domain coefficients, e.g. see at least paragraph [0006], and see 4x4 luma block, e.g. see at least paragraphs [0042]-[0044]), wherein the significance map is based on application of a scanning order to the quantized transform coefficients (e.g. see significance map of quantized transform domain coefficients is converted to a vector in accordance with the scan order, e.g. see at least paragraphs [0042]-[0044], [0093]-[0104]);
share a table for assignment of contexts between a context assigned to a luma component of the quantized transform coefficients of a 4 * 4 block and a context assigned to a chroma component of the quantized transform coefficients of the 4 * 4 block, wherein the table is based on a mapping of a position in the significance map of the quantized transform coefficients to a corresponding context index increment using a single 15 element lookup table (e.g. see context assignment, paragraphs [0006], [0042]-[0044], e.g. see context assignment in Figs. 3-4, e.g. see P4-9, in Fig. 4 that signifies 9 contexts to the 9 distinct parts of the 4x4 block (paragraph [0056]), may be used for both 4x4 luma and chroma, paragraphs [0065]-[0066] and see context index increment in at least paragraphs [0106]-[0111]; the same single 15-element lookup table shown in paragraph [0110] is used if P4-9 is used or same for both 4x4 luma and chroma); and
apply a significance map encoding process (e.g. see encoding a significance map, e.g. see at least paragraphs [0006], [0042]-[0044]) in a state where encoding coefficients that share the contexts have a same grouping (e.g. see 4x4 luma and 4x4 chroma may both use a P4-9 partition set, e.g. see at least paragraphs [0065]-[0066]), wherein
the significance map encoding process uses a same number of contexts and a same context index increment mapping for the luma component and the chroma component (context assignment, paragraphs [0006], [0042]-[0044], e.g. see context assignment in Figs. 3-4, e.g. see P4-9, in Fig. 4 that signifies 9 contexts to the 9 distinct parts of the 4x4 block (paragraph [0056]), may be used for both 4x4 luma and chroma, paragraphs [0065]-[0066] and see context index increment in at least paragraphs [0106]-[0111]; thus, if P4-9 is used for both 4x4 luma and chroma, then the same mapping would be used for both luma and chroma in paragraph [0110]), and
the single 15 element lookup table is [0,1,2,3,4,5,2,3,6,6,7,7,8,8,7] (e.g. see P4-9 may be used for both 4x4 luma and chroma, paragraphs [0065]-[0066], e.g. see paragraphs [0106]-[0110] and Table after [0110] (shown below for the 4x4): P4-9
Specification of ctxIdxMap4x4[i]
i
0
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
ctxIdxMap4x4[i]
0
1
2
3
4
5
2
3
6
6
7
7
8
8
7
).
Although Korodi discloses the single 15 element lookup table is [0,1,2,3,4,5,2,3,6,6,7,7,8,8,7], it is noted Korodi differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose [0,1,4,5,2,3,4,5,6,6,8,8,7,7,8]. Bross however, teaches [0,1,4,5,2,3,4,5,6,6,8,8,7,7,8] (e.g. see
Specification of ctxIdxMap4x4[i]
i
0
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
ctxIdxMap4x4[i]
0
1
4
5
2
3
4
5
6
6
8
8
7
7
8
, Table 9-40 on page 187, Section 9.2.3.1.1.5 Derivation process of ctxIdxInc for the syntax element significant_coeff_flag).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, having the references of Korodi and Bross before him/her, to incorporate Bross into Korodi in order to conform to High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC) standard for higher compression and flexible coded video representation for a wide variety of network environments.
Regarding claims 2-4, the claims recite analogous limitations to the claims above and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Korodi et al., Encoding and decoding significant coefficient flags for small Transform Units using partition sets (JCTVC-G657) (in the IDS)
Hsu et al., US 2015/0010055 A1, discloses method and apparatus for unification of significance map context selection (in the IDS)
/Francis Geroleo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619