DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 20-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,257,580 B2 (hereinafter: 580).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as further explained below.
As per pending claim 20, patented claim 12 discloses a wearable insulin pump with controller, memory, and a user interface, wherein the controller applies stored rules to patient information, and generates initial pump settings, delivers insulin, receives glucose data, and modifies the settings based on that data.
Pending claim 20 differs by specifying that the patient enters a total daily dose (TDD) of insulin, and using the TDD as the patient information would have been obvious choice because TDD provides a measure of the patient’s insulin needs for setting up the pump therapy.
With respect to dependent claim 21, patented claim 15 adequately discloses generating a basal rate pattern, and in the opinion of the examiner, an initial basal rate pattern is not a patentable distinction.
With respect to dependent claims 22 and 23, patented claim 16 adequately discloses comparing glucose data with target glucose levels and modifying pump settings based on that comparison.
With respect to dependent claim 24, patented claim 13 adequately discloses automatically delivering insulin according to the modified pump settings.
With respect to dependent claim 25, patented claim 17 adequately discloses presenting questions to the patient through the user interface.
With respect to dependent claim 26, patented claim 22 adequately discloses monitoring glucose data during delivery using modified settings and generating further changes based on that data.
Claims 27-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,249,412 B2 (hereinafter: ‘412).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as further explained below.
As per pending claim 27, patented claim 8 recites a wearable insulin pump system having a pump, user interface, memory and processor, wherein the processor applies stored rules to entered body weight, generates initial pump settings, delivers insulin using those settings, receives glucose data, and changes insulin delivery based on the glucose data.
The differences between pending claim 27 and patented claim 8 are not patentably distinct. That is, receiving entered body weight is already part of the claimed prompting operation, and using the initial pump settings to begin delivery is an obvious implementation of those settings. Further, the claimed electrical communication is also an ordinary form of recited communication.
With respect to dependent claim 28, patented claim 8 adequately discloses generating initial pump settings.
With respect to dependent claim 29, patented claim 9 adequately discloses generating an initial basal rate pattern.
With respect to dependent claim 30, patented claim 10 adequately discloses comparing glucose data to target glucose levels.
With respect to dependent claim 31, patented claim 11 adequately discloses changing insulin delivery based on the glucose comparison.
With respect to dependent claim 32, patented claim 8 adequately discloses prompting the patient to enter body weight.
With respect to dependent claim 33, patented claim 12 adequately discloses presenting a question about body weight.
As per claim 34, the rejection rational applied to claim 27, from above, is applied herein. Patented claim 8 further recites generating initial pump settings from stored rules applied to body weight, delivering insulin according to those settings, and receiving glucose data during delivery. Claim 34 recites using mathematical formulas rather than stored rules; however, using a mathematical formula to calculate a setting from body weight would be an obvious variation of a numerical weight-based rule and would therefore not provide for a patentable distinction in and of itself.
With respect to dependent claim 35, patented claim 9 adequately discloses generating an initial basal rate pattern.
With respect to dependent claim 36, patented claim 10 adequately discloses comparing glucose data to target glucose levels.
With respect to dependent claim 37, patented claim 11 adequately discloses changing insulin delivery based on the glucose comparison.
With respect to dependent claim 38, patented claim 8 adequately discloses prompting the patient to enter body weight.
With respect to dependent claim 39, patented claim 12 adequately discloses presenting a question about body weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 34 and 36-37 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Steil, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0193025 A1 (hereinafter: ‘025).
As per claim 34, ‘025 discloses a user-wearable infusion pump system (e.g., See ‘025; [0096], which discloses an insulin infusion device and associated glucose monitoring components that are worn on a user’s body), comprising:
a pump configured to deliver insulin to a patient (e.g., See ‘025; [0093], which discloses the infusion device having a motor that delivers insulin through an infusion tube);
a user interface (e.g., See ‘025; [0172], which discloses a device that receives body weight and insulin sensitivity entered by the user);
a memory (e.g., See ‘025; [0096], which discloses a memory storing digital sensor values); and
at least one processor in electrical communication with the pump, the memory and the user interface (e.g., See [0096] – [0097] and [0172], which discloses a controller that receives the sensor values, processes the sensor values, controls the infusion device, and uses patient information entered by the user. It is noted that the controller corresponds to the claimed processor because it processes information and controls insulin delivery), where the at least one processor is configured to:
receive a body weight of the patient into the user interface (e.g., See ‘025; [0172], which discloses the user entering body weight into the device containing the controller);
utilize the body weight of the patient in one or more mathematical formulas to determine one or more initial pump settings for an initial set up of the pump for the patient (e.g., See ‘025; [0169] and [0172], which disclose the controller automatically calculating controller gains using an equation based on the user’s entered body weight and insulin sensitivity. It is noted that the equation corresponds to a mathematical formula because it sets out a mathematical relationship used for the calculation. It is further noted that the calculated gains correspond to pump settings because they control insulin delivery. It would have been obvious to calculate the gains during initial pump setup so that insulin delivery begins with settings based on the patient’s body weight);
cause the pump to deliver insulin to the patient according to the one or more initial pump settings (e.g., See ‘025; [0142] and [0172], which disclose the controller using the calculated gains to control the rate of insulin delivery. It would have been obvious to use the calculated gains when beginning insulin delivery so that the infusion device delivers insulin according to the initial settings);
receive glucose level data of the user while insulin is being delivered to the patient based on the one or more initial pump settings (e.g., See ‘025; [0090], which discloses the controller receiving a glucose sensor signal while the infusion system delivers insulin using the controller’s operating settings); and
modify the insulin being delivered to the patient based on the glucose level data (e.g., See ‘025; [0136] – [0137], which disclose increasing, reducing, or stopping insulin delivery according to the difference between measured and desired glucose levels).
As per claim 36, ‘025 further discloses that the at least one processor is further configured to compare the glucose level data to one or more target glucose levels (e.g., See ‘025; [0135], which discloses the controller comparing the current glucose level to a desired basal blood glucose level).
As per claim 37, ‘025 further discloses that the insulin being delivered to the patient is modified based on the comparison of the glucose level data to the one or more target glucose levels (e.g., See ‘025; [0136] – [0137], which discloses the controller increasing, reducing, or stopping insulin delivery based on the difference between the current and desired glucose levels).
Claims 27-28 and 30-31 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Steil, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0193025 A1 (hereinafter: ‘025), in view of Blomquist, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0163223 A1 (hereinafter: ‘223).
As per claim 27, ‘025 discloses a user-wearable infusion pump system (e.g., See ‘025; [0096], which discloses an insulin infusion device and associated glucose monitoring components that are worn on a user’s body), comprising:
a pump configured to deliver insulin to a patient (e.g., See ‘025; [0093], which discloses the infusion device having a motor that delivers insulin through an infusion tube);
a user interface (e.g., See ‘025; [0172], which discloses a device that receives body weight and insulin sensitivity entered by the user);
a memory (e.g., See ‘025; [0096], which discloses a memory storing digital sensor values); and
at least one processor in electrical communication with the pump, the memory and the user interface (e.g., See [0096] – [0097] and [0172], which discloses a controller that receives the sensor values, processes the sensor values, controls the infusion device, and uses patient information entered by the user. It is noted that the controller corresponds to the claimed processor because it processes information and controls insulin delivery), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive a body weight of the patient into the user interface (e.g., See ‘025; [0172], which discloses the user entering body weight into the device containing the controller);
apply one or more rules to the body weight of the patient (e.g., See ‘025; [0169] and [0172], which disclose automatically calculating controller gains using an equation based on the user’s entered body weight and insulin sensitivity. It is noted that the equation corresponds to a rule because it sets out a mathematical relationship used for the calculation);
initialize delivery of insulin to the patient with the pump based on the application of the one or more stored rules to the body weight of the patient (e.g., See ‘025; [0172], which discloses the controller automatically calculating gains from the entered body weight and using the calculated gains to control insulin delivery; also See [0142], which discloses the controller gains being selected to control the rate of insulin delivery. It would have been obvious to use the calculated gains when beginning insulin delivery so that the device delivers insulin using settings based on the user’s body weight from the start);
receive glucose level data of the user while insulin is being delivered to the patient (e.g., See ‘025; [0090], which discloses the controller receiving a glucose sensor signal while the infusion system delivers insulin); and
modify the insulin being delivered to the patient based on the glucose level data (e.g., See ‘025; [0136] – [0137], which disclose increasing, reducing, or stopping insulin delivery according to the difference between measured and desired glucose levels).
Although ‘025 discloses automatically calculating controller gains using an equation based on user’s entered body weight and using the calculated gains to control insulin delivery, ‘025 does not expressly disclose storing the equation as a rule for application to the user’s body weight.
‘223 discloses this missing feature by disclosing a microprocessor that is in electrical communication with ROM that stores operating system code and application programs (e.g., See ‘223; [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have incorporated the teachings of ‘223 into ‘025 for the purpose of storing the body weight calculation instructions in ROM, thereby preserving the instructions when power is lost and eliminating the need to reload them when the pump restarts.
As per claim 28, ‘025 in view of ‘223 further discloses that initializing delivery of insulin includes generating one or more initial pump settings (e.g., See ‘025; [0172], which discloses the controller automatically calculating gains from the entered body weight and using the calculated gains to control insulin delivery).
As per claim 30, ‘025 in view of ‘223 further discloses that the at least one processor is further configured to compare the glucose level data to one or more target glucose levels (e.g., See ‘025; [0135], which discloses the controller comparing the current glucose level to a desired basal blood glucose level).
As per claim 31, ‘025 in view of ‘223 further discloses that the insulin being delivered to the patient is modified based on the comparison of the glucose level data to the one or more target glucose levels (e.g., See ‘025; [0136] – [0137], which discloses the controller increasing, reducing, or stopping insulin delivery based on the difference between the current and desired glucose levels).
Claim 29 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Steil, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0193025 A1 (hereinafter: ‘025), in view of Blomquist, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0163223 A1 (hereinafter: ‘223), as applied to claim 28, from above, and further in view of Doyle, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0272640 A1 (hereinafter: ‘640).
As per claim 29, although ‘025 discloses calculating controller gains from the entered body weight, ‘025 nor ‘223 specifically discloses the generation of an initial basal rate pattern.
‘640 discloses the missing feature by calculating an initial insulin does based on bod weight and dividing the basal insulin delivery into three time periods (e.g., See ‘640; [0191]), wherein the initial basal insulin infusion is subdivided into three district time periods (e.g., See ‘640; [0115]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have incorporated the teachings of ‘640 into ‘025 in view of ‘223 for the purpose of establishing a body weight based basal delivery schedule, thereby better matching insulin delivery to the patient’s changing needs throughout the day.
Claims 32 and 33 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Steil, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0193025 A1 (hereinafter: ‘025), in view of Blomquist, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2003/0163223 A1 (hereinafter: ‘223), as applied to claim 27, from above, and further in view of Campbell, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0022274 A1 (hereinafter: ‘274).
As per claim 32, although ‘025 in view of ‘223 discloses the user entering body weight into the device containing the controller (e.g., See ‘025; [0172]), ‘025 nor ‘223 specifically disclose that the body weight of the patient is received into the user interface in response to a prompt to the patient to enter the body weight of the patient into the user interface.
‘274 discloses the missing features by disclosing a setup mode that prompts a user to enter information needed to control an infusion pump (e.g., See ‘274; [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have incorporated the teachings of ‘274 into ‘025 in view of ‘223 for the purpose of guiding the user through the step of entering body weight, thereby ensuring the controller receives the needed information for proper, accurate and reliable insulin delivery.
As per 33, ‘025 as modified by ‘223 and ‘274 further discloses that prompting the patient to enter the body weight of the patient includes presenting a question relating to the body weight of the patient on the user interface (e.g., See ‘274; [0083], which discloses a Setup Wizard displaying screens that prompt the user to enter required information. It would have been obvious to include the body weight entry among the prompted entries).
Claim 35 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Steil, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0193025 A1 (hereinafter: ‘025), as applied to claim 34, from above, in view of Doyle, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0272640 A1 (hereinafter: ‘640).
As per claim 35, although ‘025 discloses calculating controller gains from the entered body weight, ‘025 does not specifically discloses the generation of an initial basal rate pattern.
‘640 discloses the missing feature by calculating an initial insulin does based on bod weight and dividing the basal insulin delivery into three time periods (e.g., See ‘640; [0191]), wherein the initial basal insulin infusion is subdivided into three district time periods (e.g., See ‘640; [0115]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have incorporated the teachings of ‘640 into ‘025 for the purpose of establishing a body weight based basal delivery schedule, thereby better matching insulin delivery to the patient’s changing needs throughout the day.
Claims 38 and 39 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Steil, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0193025 A1 (hereinafter: ‘025), as applied to claim 34, from above, in view of Campbell, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0022274 A1 (hereinafter: ‘274).
As per claim 38, although ‘025 discloses the user entering body weight into the device containing the controller (e.g., See ‘025; [0172]), ‘025 does not specifically disclose that the body weight of the patient is received into the user interface in response to a prompt to the patient to enter the body weight of the patient into the user interface.
‘274 discloses the missing features by disclosing a setup mode that prompts a user to enter information needed to control an infusion pump (e.g., See ‘274; [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have incorporated the teachings of ‘274 into ‘025 for the purpose of guiding the user through the step of entering body weight, thereby ensuring the controller receives the needed information for proper, accurate and reliable insulin delivery.
As per claim 39, ‘025 in view of ‘274 further discloses that prompting the patient to enter the body weight of the patient includes presenting a question relating to the body weight of the patient on the user interface (e.g., See ‘274; [0083], which discloses a Setup Wizard displaying screens that prompt the user to enter required information. It would have been obvious to include the body weight entry among the prompted entries).
References Considered but Not Relied Upon
The following references were considered but were not relied upon with respect to any prior art rejections:
(1) US 2005/0049179 A1, which discloses a system that calculates and adjusts daily infusion doses and delivery schedules using patient treatment information;
(2) US 6,379,301 B1, which discloses a diabetes management system that uses patient information and blood sugar readings to help determine insulin treatment;
(3) US 6,551,276 B1, which discloses a programmable insulin pump that uses patient information to calculate insulin doses and control delivery;
(4) US 2006/0276771 A1, which discloses a diabetes control system that uses programmed rules and patient input to manage insulin delivery;
(5) US 2003/0055570 A1, which discloses a calculator that uses blood sugar and other patient information to help determine insulin doses.
Conclusion
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/RONALD D HARTMAN JR/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119 October 24, 2026
/RDH/