DETAILED ACTION
The present application has been made of the record and currently claims 1-12 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
On the IDS filed 2/7/2025, all Foreign Patents and Non-Patent Literature documents listed on the IDS have not been considered because a copy of each of the documents has not been provided as required by 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2).
Claim Objections
Claims 3-5, 9, 11, and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 3, line 3, “a base end side” should be “the inner side” as the internal thread portion does not comprise a base end side.
In claim 3, line 6, “the tip portion” should be “the opening end side” as the second oil well pipe does not comprise a tip portion.
In claim 4, line 3, “an inner side” should be “the inner side” as the inner side was previously presented in claim 1.
In claim 4, line 8, “set to shorter” should be “set shorter”.
In claim 5, line 9, “firstexternal” should be “external”.
In claim 5, line 9, “andhas” should be “has”.
In claim 5, line 11, “dimension.wherein” should be “dimension, wherein”.
In claim 9, line 5, “gradually expands” should be “gradually contracts” as the tapered section contracts as its going away from the first threaded portion (ex., see fig. 15A, where 424 is contracting).
In claim 11, line 3, “that can” should be “can”.
In claim 12, lines 8-9, “the third internal thread portion” should be “the first internal thread portion” as L3’ is less than L4’ (see fig. 18b; see paragraph 0158).
In claim 12, line 11, “the first internal thread portion” should be “the third internal thread portion” as L1’ is less than L2’ (see fig. 18b; see paragraph 0158).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Breihan et al. (U.S. PGPub No. 2009/0058085) in view of Kawai et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,053,749).
In regards to claim 1, Breihan discloses:
An oil well pipe coupling structure (see annotated fig. 1 below) comprising:
a first oil well pipe (see annotated fig. 1) having an external thread portion on an outer circumferential surface (see annotated fig. 1); and
a second oil well pipe (see annotated fig. 1) that has an internal thread portion (see annotated fig. 1) that is screwed to the external thread portion on an inner circumferential surface and can be connected to the first oil well pipe,
wherein the external thread portion is made up of a first external thread portion (see annotated fig. 1) having a diameter of a predetermined dimension (see annotated fig. 1, where the thread portion comprises a diameter) and a substantially tapered second external thread portion (see annotated fig. 1, where all thread portions are tapered) that is disposed on one end portion side with respect to the first external thread portion and gradually contracts radially toward one end side (see annotated fig. 1, where the tapered portion contracts radially to the right),
the internal thread portion is made up of a first internal thread portion (see annotated fig. 1) that is disposed on an opening end side (see annotated fig. 1) and has a diameter of a predetermined dimension (see annotated fig. 1, where the thread portion comprises a diameter) and a substantially tapered second internal thread portion (see annotated fig. 1) that gradually contracts radially from the first internal thread portion side toward an inner side,
the first external thread portion is screwed to the first internal thread portion (see annotated fig. 1),
the second external thread portion is screwed to the second internal thread portion (see annotated fig. 1), and
the first oil well pipe and the second oil well pipe are coupled together (see annotated fig. 1);
wherein the external thread portion has a third external thread portion (see annotated fig. 1) that is disposed on the one end side with respect to the second external thread portion and has a diameter of a predetermined dimension (see annotated fig. 1),
the internal thread portion has a third internal thread portion (see annotated fig. 1) that is disposed on the inner side with respect to the second internal thread portion and has a diameter of a predetermined dimension (see annotated fig. 1), and
the third external thread portion can be screwed to the third internal thread portion (see annotated fig. 1),
wherein the external thread portion has a first circular region including the first external thread portion (ex., the circular region produced by the first external threads), a second circular region including the second external thread portion (ex., circular region produced by second external threads), and a third circular region including the third external thread portion (ex., the circular region produced by the third external threads) that are virtually divided in a radial direction (ex., it is inherent that viewing the first oil well pipe in the axial direction would produce three circular regions),
the internal thread portion has a fourth circular region including the first internal thread portion, a fifth circular region including the second internal thread portion, and a sixth circular region including the third internal thread portion that are virtually divided in a radial direction (ex., it is inherent that viewing the second oil well pipe in the axial direction would produce three circular regions),
but does not disclose:
an area of the first circular region is equal to or smaller than a third of a total cross-sectional area of a transverse section of the first oil well pipe,
an area of the second circular region is equal to or larger than a third of the total cross-sectional area of the transverse section of the first oil well pipe,
an area of the third circular region is equal to or smaller than a third of the total cross-sectional area of the transverse section of the first oil well pipe,
an area of the fourth circular region is equal to or smaller than a third of a total cross-sectional area of a transverse section of the second oil well pipe,
an area of the fifth circular region is equal to or larger than a third of the total cross-sectional area of the transverse section of the second oil well pipe, and
an area of the sixth circular region is equal to or smaller than a third of the total cross-sectional area of the transverse section of the second oil well pipe.
In regards to the area of each circular region, while Breihan does not expressly disclose “an area” of each circular region, the “area” may be determined through the use of routine experimentation during the engineering design process to optimize the functionality of the device, suited to the intended use and desired parameters because Kawai explicitly discloses that the cross-sectional area (ex., circular areas) are known parameters for both a first oil well pipe (ex., see fig. 1) and a second oil well pipe (ex., see fig. 2) such that the ratio between a cross-section area and the total cross section area is known (see abstract, where S1/S0 >= 15% or S2/S0’ >= 20%).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the area of each circular cross section of Breihan above to meet the limitations of claim 1 because the “area” of each circular region (ex., circular regions 1-6) may be optimized to the desired operational parameters through the use of routine experimentation. A person of ordinary skill in the art undertaking such experimentation would have had a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable because Kawai explicitly discloses that it is known to modify areas or circular regions of threaded connectors to be within a certain percentage of the total cross sectional area of the pipe (ex., see abstract). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
In regards to claim 2, Breihan further discloses:
The oil well pipe coupling structure according to claim 1, wherein the first external thread portion and/or the third external thread portion have a thread with a symmetrical shape (4:19-21),
the first internal thread portion has the thread shape corresponding to the thread of the first external thread portion (see annotated fig. 1 above hereinafter), and
the third internal thread portion has the thread shape corresponding to the thread of the third external thread portion (see annotated fig. 1).
In regards to claim 3, Breihan further discloses:
The oil well pipe coupling structure according to claim 1, wherein a sealing structure is provided between an outer circumferential surface of a tip portion of the first oil well pipe (see annotated fig. 1 near the magnified portion) and an inner circumferential surface on the inner side of the internal thread portion of the second oil well pipe (see annotated fig. 1) or between an outer circumferential surface on a base end side of the external thread portion of the first oil well pipe and an inner circumferential surface of the opening end side of the second oil well pipe (ex., see the opposite side where the structure is similarly met).
In regards to claim 4, Breihan further discloses:
The oil well pipe coupling structure according to claim 1, wherein a sealing structure is provided between an outer circumferential surface of a tip portion of the first oil well pipe (see annotated fig. 1 near the magnified portion) and an inner circumferential surface on an inner side of the internal thread portion of the second oil well pipe (see annotated fig. 1 near the magnified portion) or between an outer circumferential surface on a base end side of the external thread portion of the first oil well pipe and an inner circumferential surface of the opening end side of the second oil well pipe, and
in the sealing structure, a length in an axial direction of the outer circumferential surface of a tip portion of the first oil well pipe is set to shorter than a length in the axial direction of the third internal thread portion of the second oil well pipe (ex., see annotated fig. 1, where the tip portion is shorter than any of the thread lengths) or
a length in the axial direction of the outer circumferential surface on the base end side of the external thread portion of the first oil well pipe is set to shorter than a length in the axial direction of the inner circumferential surface on the opening end side of the second oil well pipe (see the two circumferential surface lengths near Opening End Side in annotated fig. 1).
In regards to claim 5, Breihan discloses:
An oil well pipe having a hollow structure (see annotated fig. 1 above hereinafter), comprising:
an external thread portion on an outer circumferential surface (see annotated fig. 1),
wherein the external thread portion is made up of a first external thread portion (see annotated fig. 1) having a diameter of a predetermined dimension (see annotated fig. 1) and a substantially tapered second external thread portion (see annotated fig. 1) that is disposed on one end portion side with respect to the first external thread portion and gradually contracts radially toward one end side, and
the external thread portion is screwed to a different member (ex., see “Second Oil Well Pipe” in annotated fig. 1) having an internal thread portion;
wherein the external thread portion has a third external thread portion (see annotated fig. 1) that is disposed on the one end side with respect to the second external thread portion and has a diameter of a predetermined dimension,
wherein the external thread portion has a first circular region including the first external thread portion, a second circular region including the second external thread portion, and a third circular region including the third external thread portion that are virtually divided in a radial direction (ex., it is inherent that viewing the oil well pipe in the axial direction would produce three circular regions),
but does not disclose:
an area of the first circular region is equal to or smaller than a third of a total cross-sectional area of a transverse section of the oil well pipe,
an area of the second circular region is equal to or larger than a third of the total cross-sectional area of the transverse section of the oil well pipe, and
an area of the third circular region is equal to or smaller than a third of the total cross-sectional area of the transverse section of the oil well pipe.
In regards to the area of each circular region, while Breihan does not expressly disclose “an area” of each circular region, the “area” may be determined through the use of routine experimentation during the engineering design process to optimize the functionality of the device, suited to the intended use and desired parameters because Kawai explicitly discloses that the cross-sectional area (ex., circular areas) are known parameters for both a first oil well pipe (ex., see fig. 1) and a second oil well pipe (ex., see fig. 2) such that the ratio between a cross-section area and the total cross section area is known (see abstract, where S1/S0 >= 15% or S2/S0’ >= 20%).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the area of each circular cross section above to meet the limitations of claim 5 because the “area” of each circular region may be optimized to the desired operational parameters through the use of routine experimentation. A person of ordinary skill in the art undertaking such experimentation would have had a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable because Kawai explicitly discloses that it is known to modify areas or circular regions of threaded connectors to be within a certain percentage of the total cross sectional area of the pipe (ex., see abstract). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
In regards to claim 6, Breihan further discloses:
The oil well pipe according to claim 5, wherein the first external thread portion and the third external thread portion have the thread having a symmetrical shape (see annotated fig. 1).
In regards to claim 7, Breihan further discloses:
The oil well pipe according to claim 5, wherein, on a tip side or a base end side of the external thread portion, an outer circumferential surface (see annotated fig. 1) that can be brought into close contact with an inner circumferential surface (see annotated fig. 1) of the different member substantially throughout an entire circumference when the external thread portion has been fitted into the internal thread portion of the different member is provided (see annotated fig. 1, near the magnified portion).
In regards to claim 8, Breihan further discloses:
The oil well pipe according to claim 5, wherein, on a tip side or a base end side of the external thread portion, an outer circumferential surface (see annotated fig. 1) can be brought into close contact with an inner circumferential surface (see annotated fig. 1) of the different member substantially throughout an entire circumference when the external thread portion has been fitted into the internal thread portion of the different member is provided (see annotated fig. 1, near the magnified portion), and
a length in an axial direction of the outer circumferential surface on the tip side of the external thread portion is set to shorter than a length in the axial direction of the third external thread portion (see annotated fig. 1, where the tip portion is shorter than the third external thread portion) or a length in the axial direction of the outer circumferential surface on the base end side of the external thread portion is set to shorter than a length in the axial direction of the first external thread portion (ex., see near “Opening End Side” which shows an outer circumferential surface shorter than the first external thread portion).
In regards to claim 9, Breihan discloses:
An oil well pipe (see annotated fig. 1 above hereinafter) having a hollow structure, comprising:
an internal thread portion on an inner circumferential surface,
wherein the internal thread portion is made up of a first internal thread portion (see annotated fig. 1) having a diameter of a predetermined dimension (ex., diameter of one of the threads) on an opening end side (see annotated fig. 1) and a substantially tapered second internal thread portion (see annotated fig. 1) that gradually “contracts” radially along a direction away from the first internal thread portion, and
the internal thread portion is screwed to a different member having an external thread portion (see annotated fig. 1);
wherein the internal thread portion has a third internal thread portion (see annotated fig. 1) that is disposed on the opening end side with respect to the second internal thread portion and has a diameter of a predetermined dimension (ex., diameter of one of the threads)
wherein the internal thread portion has a fourth circular region including the first internal thread portion, a fifth circular region including the second internal thread portion, and a sixth circular region including the third internal thread portion that are virtually divided in a radial direction (ex., it is inherent that viewing the oil well pipe in the axial direction would produce three circular regions),
but does not disclose:
an area of the fourth circular region is equal to or smaller than a third of a total cross-sectional area of a transverse section of the oil well pipe,
an area of the fifth circular region is equal to or larger than a third of the total cross-sectional area of the transverse section of the oil well pipe, and
an area of the sixth circular region is equal to or smaller than a third of the total cross-sectional area of the transverse section of the oil well pipe.
In regards to the area of each circular region, while Breihan does not expressly disclose “an area” of each circular region, the “area” may be determined through the use of routine experimentation during the engineering design process to optimize the functionality of the device, suited to the intended use and desired parameters because Kawai explicitly discloses that the cross-sectional area (ex., circular areas) are known parameters for both a first oil well pipe (ex., see fig. 1) and a second oil well pipe (ex., see fig. 2) such that the ratio between a cross-section area and the total cross section area is known (see abstract, where S1/S0 >= 15% or S2/S0’ >= 20%).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the area of each circular cross section of Breihan above to meet the limitations of claim 9 because the “area” of each circular region may be optimized to the desired operational parameters through the use of routine experimentation. A person of ordinary skill in the art undertaking such experimentation would have had a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable because Kawai explicitly discloses that it is known to modify areas or circular regions of threaded connectors to be within a certain percentage of the total cross sectional area of the pipe (ex., see abstract). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
In regards to claim 10, Breihan further discloses:
The oil well pipe according to claim 9, wherein the first internal thread portion and the third internal thread portion have the thread having a symmetrical shape (see annotated fig. 1).
In regards to claim 11, Breihan further discloses:
The oil well pipe according to claim 9, wherein, on the opening end side or an inner side of the internal thread portion, an inner circumferential surface (see annotated fig. 1) that can be brought into close contact with an outer circumferential surface (see annotated fig. 1) of the different member (see annotated fig. 1, near the magnified portion) substantially throughout an entire circumference when the internal thread portion has been fitted into the external thread portion of the different member is provided (see annotated fig. 1, near the magnified portion).
In regards to claim 12, Breihan further discloses:
The oil well pipe according to claim 9, wherein, on the opening end side or an inner side of the internal thread portion, an inner circumferential surface (see annotated fig. 1) that can be brought into close contact with an outer circumferential surface (see annotated fig. 1) of the different member (see annotated fig. 1, near the magnified portion) substantially throughout an entire circumference when the internal thread portion has been fitted into the external thread portion of the different member is provided (see annotated fig. 1, near the magnified portion), and
a length in an axial direction of the inner circumferential surface on the opening end side of the internal thread portion is set to shorter than a length in the axial direction of the third internal thread portion (see annotated fig. 1, where the length of the circumferential surface is shorter than any of the threaded portions) or a length in the axial direction of the inner circumferential surface on the inner side of the internal thread portion is set to shorter than a length in the axial direction of the first internal thread portion (see annotated fig. 1, where the length of the circumferential surface is shorter than any of the threaded portions).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kawai et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,657,873) discloses a similar device comprising circular regions.
Inose et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,753,878) discloses a similar device comprising circular cross-sectional regions and how it is known to make up a joint efficiency (2:12-27).
Fredd (U.S. Patent No. 3,994,516) discloses a similar device comprising straight-taper-straight thread connection profile (see fig. 5).
Yin et al. (CN-111058779) discloses a similar device comprises three stepped threads.
Campbell (U.S. Patent No. 11,697,971) discloses a multi-tapered thread comprising multiple lengths.
Blose et al. (U.S. Patent No. 4,570,982) discloses a similar device to the present invention.
/A.T.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679