DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feld et al. (US 6,472,988) in view of Okamoto et al. (US 6,258,039).
Regarding claims 16, 17, 29-30, 33, 34, Feld discloses a method for monitoring a breathing apparatus (abstract), wherein the method is performed by a wireless device of a network (fig. 1-fig. 4), the method comprising: receiving first information (mobile unit 21 in fig. 1), wherein the first information comprises identity information of a wearer of a first breathing apparatus (abstract, col. 2, lines 22-62), a first pressure value (180 bar-270 bar) associated with the first breathing apparatus (col. 5, lines 32-67; col. 6, lines 1-21), and information indicative that the first breathing apparatus is incapable (disconnected) of communicating with the wireless device (col. 5, lines 32-67); and in response to receiving the first information (fig. 1): and the first pressure value, a time discrete second pressure value associated with the first breathing apparatus; and causing, based on determining the time discrete second pressure value, display of the time discrete second pressure value via a display of the wireless device (col. 5, lines 32-67; col. 5, lines 22-48; col. 9, lines 24-53). Claim 29, processing circuitry; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry, configure the wireless device to (fig. 3-fig. 4).
Feld discloses all the limitations set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose receiving, based on the first information, pressure consumption rate information; determining, based on the pressure consumption rate information.
However, Okamoto discloses receiving, based on the first information, pressure consumption rate information; determining, based on the pressure consumption rate information (col. 4, lines 8-27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to incorporate the features of Okamoto within the system of Feld in order to enable the analysis and prediction of the respiratory behavior of different types of breathing thereby improving the reliability of the system.
Regarding claim 18, Feld discloses establishing a connection between the wireless device and a second breathing apparatus of the network; and receiving, from the second breathing apparatus, a third pressure value associated with the second breathing apparatus (fig. 1-fig. 4).
Regarding claim 19, Feld discloses causing display of the third pressure value via the display of the wireless device (col. 9, lines 24-53).
Regarding claim 20, Feld discloses providing a first screen via the display of the wireless device, wherein the first screen comprises: a first user block associated with the first breathing apparatus; and
a second user block associated with the second breathing apparatus, wherein the first user block comprises an indication that the first breathing apparatus is incapable of communicating with the wireless device (fig. 1-fig. 4; col. 9, lines 24-53).
Regarding claim 21, Feld discloses causing, via the display of the wireless device, display of an amount of time elapsed since obtaining the first information (col. 9, lines 24-53).
Regarding claim 22, Feld discloses wherein the time discrete second pressure value is
determined periodically (col. 6, lines 22-48).
Regarding claim 23, Feld discloses wherein the time discrete second pressure value is
determined continuously (col. 6, lines 22-53).
Regarding claim 24, Feld discloses comparing the time discrete second pressure value to a first criterion; and in response to determining, based on the comparing, that the time discrete second pressure
value meets the first criterion: generating an alert indicating that the first criterion has been met (col. 6, lines 22-53).
Regarding claim 25, Feld discloses wherein the determining that the time discrete second
pressure value meets the first criterion comprises: determining whether the time discrete second pressure value is less than or equal to a first pressure threshold value (col. 6, lines 22-53).
Regarding claim 26, Feld discloses wherein the receiving the first information comprises
receiving the first information via a user interface of the wireless device (fig. 1-fig. 4).
Regarding claim 27, Feld discloses establishing a connection between the wireless device and a network node of the network; and initiating transmission of a first message towards the network node of the network, wherein the first message comprises at least one of: the first information; or
the time discrete second pressure value (fig. 1-fig. 4; col. 6, lines 22-53).
Regarding claim 28, Feld and Okamoto disclose all the limitations set forth in claim 1 and Okamoto further discloses wherein the pressure consumption rate information comprises an average breathing rate for the wearer of the first breathing apparatus (fig. 6; col. 4, lines 8-27).
Regarding claims 31, 35, Feld discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the
processing circuitry, further configure the wireless device to: establish a connection between the wireless device and a second breathing apparatus; receive, from the second breathing apparatus, a third pressure value associated with the second breathing apparatus; cause display of the third pressure value via the display of the wireless device; and provide a first screen via the display of the wireless device, wherein the first screen comprises: a first user block associated with the first breathing apparatus; and
a second user block associated with the second breathing apparatus, wherein the first user block comprises an indication that the first breathing apparatus is incapable of communicating with the wireless device (fig. 1-fig. 4; col. 5, lines 32-67; col. 9, lines 24-63).
Regarding claims 32, 36, Feld discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the
processing circuitry, further configure the wireless device to: compare the time discrete second pressure value to a first criterion; and in response to determining, based on the comparing, that the time discrete second pressure value meets the first criterion: generate an alert indicating that the first criterion has been met (fig. 1-fig. 4; col. 6, lines 22-53).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Opperman et al. (US 10,786,693) discloses biometric……..system.
Adams et al. (US 2008/0035145) discloses communications…..display.
Zhou et al. (US 2012/0279503) discloses breathing…..diode.
Tran (US 2013/0231574) discloses fitness monitoring.
DP
July 8, 2026
/DANIEL PREVIL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685