DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Claims 10-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/29/2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 12/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and a2 as being anticipated by Milshtein (US Pub No. 2020/0395891)
Regarding Claim 1, Milshtein et al. teaches a photovoltaic device converting received light into electric power [30, Fig. 4, 0038], the photovoltaic device comprising:
a photovoltaic unit having, among panels having photovoltaic modules for converting the light into the electric power [see 32 as the photovoltaic unit, Fig. 4, 0038]
a snow accumulation part on which the snow accumulates when snow falling and a non-snow accumulation part on which the snow does not accumulate when snow falling, the snow accumulation part and the non-snow accumulation part being connected in series therein [sensors 50 in figure 6 are used to detect snow on the solar panels, Fig. 6, 0040, examiner is reading the snow accumulation part as the part that the sensor can detect, and the non-snow accumulation part as the part where the sensor cannot detect (i.e. the back of the cell)];
a power output circuit [44 or 48, Fig. 4, 0038] connecting in series the photovoltaic unit and an external device [inverter, Fig. 4, 0038] which utilizes the electric power generated by the photovoltaic unit [0038, During frozen water mitigation operation, the circuit makes use of bypass current blocking diodes 44 and 48 connected in series with the solar panel sets 32 and 36, respectively, which allows flow of current only through the solar panels 32, 36 and not the bypass diodes connected in antiparallel to each of them as shown in FIG. 4.]:
a bypass circuit [46 or 49, Fig. 4, 0038] connecting an output terminal side and an input terminal side of the photovoltaic unit in such a manner as to bypass the external device [inverter, Fig. 4, 0038]; and
a switching unit [40, Fig. 4, 0038] which allows the photovoltaic unit to be switched to either the power output circuit or the bypass circuit [0038].
Regarding Claim 2, Milshtein et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Milshtein et al. teaches further comprising a control unit [47, Fig. 4, 0039] which controls the switching of the circuits by the switching unit,
wherein the control unit controls the switching unit so that the switching unit switches the power output circuit to the bypass circuit in a case where the snow accumulation part is accumulated with the snow, and
wherein the control unit controls the switching unit so that the switching unit switches the bypass circuit to the power output circuit in a case where the snow accumulation part is not accumulated with the snow [0039, 0038-0039, Fig. 4].
Regarding Claim 3, Milshtein et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Milshtein et al. teaches wherein the control unit comprises a snow accumulated state determining circuit for determining whether or not the snow accumulation part is accumulated with the snow [0038-0039].
Regarding Claim 4, Milshtein et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Milshtein et al. teaches wherein the snow accumulated state determining circuit determines whether or not the snow accumulation part is accumulated with the snow, in correspondence to a detected temperature which is detected by a temperature sensor disposed in the photovoltaic unit [0039].
Regarding Claim 5, Milshtein et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Milshtein et al. teaches wherein the control unit determines that the snow accumulation part is accumulated with the snow when a state in which the detected temperature is a predetermined temperature or less for determining the snow accumulated state is continuously kept for a predetermined time [Fig. 5-6, 0039-0040].
Regarding Claim 6, Milshtein et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Milshtein et al. teaches wherein the control unit determines that the snow accumulation part is not accumulated with the snow when a state in which the detected temperature is a predetermined temperature or more for determining the non-snow accumulated state is continuously kept for a predetermined time [Fig. 5-6, 0039-0040].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milshtein (US Pub No. 2020/0395891) in view of Hernandez (US Pub No. 2024/0007044)
Regarding Claim 7, Milshtein et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Milshtein et al. is silent on wherein the photovoltaic unit is a both sides photovoltaic panel which is exposed to the light and generates power in both front face and back face, the front face being the snow accumulation part which is disposed in an upper space side and is accumulated with the snow, and the back face being the non-snow accumulation part which is disposed in the side opposite to the front face
Hernandez et al. teaches a bifacial pv module used as part of a solar tracker [Abstract].
Since Milshtein et al. teaches a system for removing ice and snow from solar panels, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to apply the system of Milshtein et al. to the solar tracker of Hernandez et al. and configuring a snow accumulation and non-snow accumulation part to the solar tracker of Hernandez et al. as it is merely the selection of a conventional engineering design for outdoor solar panels and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Regarding Claim 8, Milshtein et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Milshtein et al. is silent on wherein the non-snow accumulation part is in a state in which the panels are placed vertically, and wherein the snow accumulation part is a one side photovoltaic panel in which the photovoltaic module is disposed in an upper space side, or a both sides photovoltaic panel which is exposed to the light and generates power in both front face and back face, the front face having the photovoltaic module disposed in an upper space side, and the back face being disposed in the side opposite to the front face.
Hernandez et al. teaches a bifacial pv module used as part of a solar tracker [Abstract].
Since Milshtein et al. teaches a system for removing ice and snow from solar panels, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to apply the system of Milshtein et al. to the solar tracker of Hernandez et al. and configuring a snow accumulation and non-snow accumulation part to the solar tracker of Hernandez et al. as it is merely the selection of a conventional engineering design for outdoor solar panels and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milshtein (US Pub No. 2020/0395891) in view of Sewalt (US Pub No. 2020/0287502)
Regarding Claim 9, Milshtein et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Milshtein et al. is silent on wherein the snow accumulation part is disposed in a road surface.
Sewalt et al. teaches the use of a pv assembly that is integrated in a road surface [Abstract, 0027].
Since Milshtein et al. teaches a system for removing ice and snow from solar panels, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to apply the system of Milshtein et al. to the pv assembly in the road of Sewalt et al. as it is merely the selection of a conventional engineering design for pv modules in the art and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728