DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 2/07/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites in part: “A method performed by at least one processor of an encoder; the method…” However, this should seemingly be –A method performed by at least one processor of an encoder[[;]], the method…--
Claim 17 is objected to for analogous reasons.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mammou et al. (US 20230290063 A1) (hereinafter Mammou).
Regarding claim 1, Mammou discloses:
A method performed by at least one processor of an encoder; the method comprising:
receiving a polygon mesh comprising a plurality of vertices; [See Mammou, ¶ 0003-0005, 0058, 0066 discloses receiving a polygon mesh, wherein a set of vertex attributes may be associated with vertices of a mesh.]
determining, for a vertex from the plurality of vertices at a base level of the polygon mesh, one or more displacements between the vertex and one or more reference vertices from the plurality of vertices; [See Mammou, ¶ 0058-0066, 0067-0068, 0084 discloses producing a base mesh m(i) and displacements d(i) that can be provided to encoder. Further, that a displacement vector can be computed for each vertex of the subdivided mesh.]
encoding the one or more displacements; and [See Mammou, ¶ 0058-0066, 0067-0068 discloses a pre-processor produces a base mesh m(i) and displacements d(i) that can be provided to encoder 402, which produces a compressed bitstream b(i) therefrom.]
generating a bitstream comprising the one or more encoded displacements and at least one of the one or more reference vertices. [See Mammou, ¶ 0058-0066, 0067-0068 discloses a pre-processor produces a base mesh m(i) and displacements d(i) that can be provided to encoder 402, which produces a compressed bitstream b(i) therefrom.]
Regarding claim 9, One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have been aware that decoding is simply the inverse operation of encoding and, in fact is often more generally referred to as "coding", encompassing both. Such a person would have been aware that in order to most accurately decode, it is typically best to use the same method on both the encoding and decoding ends.
Claim 9 thus recites analogous limitations to claim 1 and is therefore rejected based on the decoder of claim 9 performing the complimentary operations of the corresponding encoder and encoding process with respect to video encoding claim 1 as such.
Regarding claim 17, this claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Further, claim 17 recites the following limitations which are not explicitly found from claim 1, but are addressed as follows:
A method performed by at least one processor of an encoder; the method comprising: generating a bitstream comprising a polygon mesh comprising a plurality of vertices;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, 10, 13, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mammou in view of Nishimura et al. (US 20250148646 A1) (hereinafter Nishimura).
Regarding claim 2, Mammou discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Mammou does not appear to explicitly disclose:
wherein the one or more reference vertices comprise a plurality of reference vertices that are not connected to the vertex, and
wherein the one or more displacements comprise a displacement between the vertex and each reference vertex from the plurality of reference vertices.
However, Nishimura discloses:
wherein the one or more reference vertices comprise a plurality of reference vertices that are not connected to the vertex, and [See Nishimura, ¶ 0111-0121, 0162 discloses determining coordinates of a vertex of a reference frame along with corresponding connection information (connectivity).]
wherein the one or more displacements comprise a displacement between the vertex and each reference vertex from the plurality of reference vertices. [See Nishimura, ¶ 0056-0059, 0239-0240, 0297-0299, 0322-0329 discloses determining displacement between a vertex in a target frame and a vertex in a reference frame.]
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Mammou to add the teachings of Nishimura in order to improve coding efficiency by enabling rearrangement of displacements for each frame (Nishimura, para. 0329).
Regarding claim 5, Mammou discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Nishimura discloses:
wherein the one or more reference vertices comprise at least a first reference vertex, a second reference vertex, and a reference third vertex, [See Nishimura, ¶ 0111-0121, Fig. 9 illustrates a vertex to be encoded as well as determined from first, second, and third reference vertices.]
wherein the first reference vertex, the second reference vertex, and the third reference vertex are connected to the vertex. [See Nishimura, ¶ 0111-0121, Fig. 9 illustrates reference vertices connected to vertex to be encoded/decoded.]
The reasons to combine the cited prior art are applicable to those presented for previously rejected claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, this claim recites analogous limitations to claim 2, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 13, this claim recites analogous limitations to claim 5, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 18, this claim recites analogous limitations to claim 2, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim(s) 6-7, and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mammou in view of Nishimura in view of Zou et al. (US 20250095213 A1) (hereinafter Zou).
Regarding claim 6, Mammou in view of Nishimura discloses all the limitations of claim 5.
Mammou in view of Nishimura does not appear to explicitly disclose:
wherein the bitstream includes a first indicator that indicates one of a plurality of modes, each mode comprising a plurality of displacements from the determined one or more displacements.
However, Zou discloses:
wherein the bitstream includes a first indicator that indicates one of a plurality of modes, each mode comprising a plurality of displacements from the determined one or more displacements. [See Zou, ¶ 0184-0185, 0186-0189, 0191-0197 discloses determining a feasible encoding mode for displacement information. Particularly, traversing vertices and generating an entropy-encoded codeword representative of encoding modes used in determining vertex displacement.]
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Mammou in view of Nishimura to add the teachings of Zou in order to enable encoding mode determination based on displacement information (Zou, para. 0197)
Regarding claim 7, Mammou in view of Nishimura in view of Zou discloses all the limitations of claim 6.
Zou discloses:
wherein the bitstream includes a second indicator that indicates a displacement from the plurality of displacements of the one of the plurality of modes. [See Zou, ¶ 0184-0185, 0186-0189, 0191-0197, 0212 discloses decoding a displacement information sub-bitstream.]
The reasons to combine the cited prior art are applicable to those presented for previously rejected claim 2.
Regarding claim 14, this claim recites analogous limitations to claim 6, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 15, this claim recites analogous limitations to claim 7, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 8, 11-12, 16, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PATRICK E DEMOSKY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486