Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura, US PGPUB 20150084857, in view of Kim, US PGPUB 20230209255.
1-20. (Canceled)
As to claim 21, Kimura discloses an electronic device comprising: one or more cameras ([0106] A visible light camera is provided in the position corresponding to the front surface outside the housing of the head mounted display 100);
communication circuitry (e.g., communication unit 132, fig. 2);
one or more processors (e.g., CPU 140, fig. 2); and
memory (e.g., storing unit 120, fig. 2) storing instructions configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the instructions for: wirelessly pairing with an external electronic device (communication unit 132, fig. 2);
transmitting a request for state information to the external electronic device via the communication circuitry; receiving, via the communication circuitry, the state information from the external electronic device ([0086] For example, in changing the size of the identification images, the generating unit 142 may determine the size of the identification images according to the distances between the external devices and the head mounted display 100); and
in accordance with a determination that the state information does not satisfy a criterion: capturing, via the one or more cameras, one or more images; estimating state information for the external electronic device based on the one or more images ([0086] For example, in changing the size of the identification images, the generating unit 142 may determine the size of the identification images according to the distances between the external devices and the head mounted display 100); and
presenting content that is based on the estimated state information for the external electronic device ([0086] For example, if the size is set larger for the identification image of the external device closer to the head mounted display 100, it is possible to cause the user, who views the integrated image, to visually grasp the distances between the head mounted display 100 and the external devices).
Kimura does not specifically disclose in accordance with a determination that the state information does not satisfy a criterion: capturing, via the one or more cameras, one or more images.
However, in the same endeavor, Kim discloses in accordance with a determination that the state information does not satisfy a criterion: capturing, via the one or more cameras, one or more images ([0018] acquiring image capture direction information based on a direction of a camera detected by a sensor; identifying the external device for acquiring an audio signal of the subject based on the acquired image capture direction information, ranging information, and angle information; controlling a microphone to acquire an audio signal of the subject when a distance to the external device is less than a predetermined distance; acquiring the audio signal of the subject through the external device when the distance to the external device is greater than or equal to a predetermined distance; and displaying a user interface (UI) indicating a magnitude of the acquired audio signal together with the captured image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Kimura to further include Kim’s image capturing method to improve user experience.
As to claim 28, Kimura discloses a method of operating an electronic device that comprises one or more cameras and communication circuitry ([0106] A visible light camera is provided in the position corresponding to the front surface outside the housing of the head mounted display 100),
the method comprising: obtaining, via the communication circuitry, state information from an external electronic device ([0086] For example, in changing the size of the identification images, the generating unit 142 may determine the size of the identification images according to the distances between the external devices and the head mounted display 100); and
in accordance with a determination that the state information does not satisfy a criterion: capturing, via the one or more cameras, one or more images; estimating state information for the external electronic device based on the one or more images ([0086] For example, in changing the size of the identification images, the generating unit 142 may determine the size of the identification images according to the distances between the external devices and the head mounted display 100); and
presenting content that is based on the estimated state information for the external electronic device ([0086] For example, if the size is set larger for the identification image of the external device closer to the head mounted display 100, it is possible to cause the user, who views the integrated image, to visually grasp the distances between the head mounted display 100 and the external devices).
Kimura does not specifically disclose in accordance with a determination that the state information does not satisfy a criterion: capturing, via the one or more cameras, one or more images.
However, in the same endeavor, Kim discloses in accordance with a determination that the state information does not satisfy a criterion: capturing, via the one or more cameras, one or more images ([0018] acquiring image capture direction information based on a direction of a camera detected by a sensor; identifying the external device for acquiring an audio signal of the subject based on the acquired image capture direction information, ranging information, and angle information; controlling a microphone to acquire an audio signal of the subject when a distance to the external device is less than a predetermined distance; acquiring the audio signal of the subject through the external device when the distance to the external device is greater than or equal to a predetermined distance; and displaying a user interface (UI) indicating a magnitude of the acquired audio signal together with the captured image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Kimura to further include Kim’s image capturing method to improve user experience.
As to claim 35, Kimura discloses a non-transitory computer- readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of an electronic device that comprises one or more cameras and communication circuitry ([0106] A visible light camera is provided in the position corresponding to the front surface outside the housing of the head mounted display 100),
the one or more programs including instructions for: wirelessly pairing with an external electronic device (e.g., communication unit 132, fig. 2);
transmitting a request for state information to the external electronic device via the communication circuitry ([0058] The wireless communication unit 132 performs wireless communication with the external devices according to a predetermined wireless communication standard (e.g., infrared ray, short range wireless communication exemplified by Bluetooth (registered trademark), or a wireless LAN exemplified by IEEE802.11));
receiving, via the communication circuitry, the state information from the external electronic device ([0086] For example, in changing the size of the identification images, the generating unit 142 may determine the size of the identification images according to the distances between the external devices and the head mounted display 100); and
in accordance with a determination that the state information does not satisfy a criterion: capturing, via the one or more cameras, one or more images; estimating state information for the external electronic device based on the one or more images ([0086] For example, in changing the size of the identification images, the generating unit 142 may determine the size of the identification images according to the distances between the external devices and the head mounted display 100); and
presenting content that is based on the estimated state information for the external electronic device ([0086] For example, if the size is set larger for the identification image of the external device closer to the head mounted display 100, it is possible to cause the user, who views the integrated image, to visually grasp the distances between the head mounted display 100 and the external devices).
Kimura does not specifically disclose in accordance with a determination that the state information does not satisfy a criterion: capturing, via the one or more cameras, one or more images.
However, in the same endeavor, Kim discloses in accordance with a determination that the state information does not satisfy a criterion: capturing, via the one or more cameras, one or more images ([0018] acquiring image capture direction information based on a direction of a camera detected by a sensor; identifying the external device for acquiring an audio signal of the subject based on the acquired image capture direction information, ranging information, and angle information; controlling a microphone to acquire an audio signal of the subject when a distance to the external device is less than a predetermined distance; acquiring the audio signal of the subject through the external device when the distance to the external device is greater than or equal to a predetermined distance; and displaying a user interface (UI) indicating a magnitude of the acquired audio signal together with the captured image).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Kimura to further include Kim’s image capturing method to improve user experience.
As to claim 22, the combination of Kimura and Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 21. The combination further discloses estimating the state information comprises: analyzing the one or more images using the one or more processors (Kimura, [0106] By analyzing the outside scene image and collating the outside scene image with the appearance features of the external devices stored in the storing unit 120, the external-device specifying unit can specify an external device to which the user is assumed to direct attention. Methods explained below may be used).
As to claim 23, the combination of Kimura and Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 22. The combination further discloses analyzing the one or more images comprises determining a first position of the external electronic device and wherein the instructions further comprise instructions for: determining a second position at which to present the content based on the first position of the external electronic device, wherein presenting the content comprises presenting the content at the second position (Kimura, [0084] Note that the OS 150 can calculate the distances between the external devices and the head mounted display 100 by comparing present position information of the head mounted display 100 detected by the GPS module 134 and present position information of the external devices acquired from the external devices).
As to claim 24, the combination of Kimura and Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 23. The combination further discloses the external electronic device is positioned in a physical environment, wherein analyzing the one or more images to determine the first position of the external electronic device comprises determining the first position of the external electronic device within the physical environment, and wherein the electronic device further comprises: one or more displays configured to emit light from a transparent structure towards an eye box, wherein the second position overlaps the external electronic device when viewed from the eye box (Kimura, [0046] The head mounted display 100 in this embodiment is an optical see-through head mounted display with which a user can visually recognize a virtual image and directly visually recognize an outside view).
As to claim 25, the combination of Kimura and Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 21. The combination further discloses obtaining the state information comprises: wirelessly pairing with the external electronic device; and transmitting a request for the state information to the external electronic device via the communication circuitry (Kimura, [0058] The wireless communication unit 132 performs wireless communication with the external devices according to a predetermined wireless communication standard (e.g., infrared ray, short range wireless communication exemplified by Bluetooth (registered trademark), or a wireless LAN exemplified by IEEE802.11)).
As to claim 26, the combination of Kimura and Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 21. The combination further discloses the estimated state information comprises an application running on the external electronic device, comprises application information for an application running on the external electronic device, identifies content being displayed on a display in the external electronic device, or identifies audio being played on a speaker in the external electronic device (Kimura, [0065] The sound processing unit 170 acquires sound signal included in contents, amplifies the acquired sound signal, and supplies the sound signal to a not-shown speaker of a right earphone 32 and a not-shown speaker of a left earphone 34).
As to claim 27, the combination of Kimura and Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 21. The combination further discloses the instructions further comprise instructions for: changing one or more settings in the electronic device, the external electronic device, or an additional external electronic device based on the estimated state information (Kimura, [0087] In the thumbnail display region B3, a display image G3 of a setting screen of the home electric appliance 400 is arranged as an identification image of the home electric appliance 400).
As to claim 29, the combination of Kimura and Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 28. The combination further discloses estimating the state information comprises: analyzing the one or more images using one or more processors of the electronic device (Kimura, [0106] By analyzing the outside scene image and collating the outside scene image with the appearance features of the external devices stored in the storing unit 120, the external-device specifying unit can specify an external device to which the user is assumed to direct attention. Methods explained below may be used).
As to claim 30, the combination of Kimura and Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 29. The combination further discloses analyzing the one or more images comprises determining a first position of the external electronic device and wherein the method further comprises: determining a second position at which to present the content based on the first position of the external electronic device, wherein presenting the content comprises presenting the content at the second position (Kimura, [0084] Note that the OS 150 can calculate the distances between the external devices and the head mounted display 100 by comparing present position information of the head mounted display 100 detected by the GPS module 134 and present position information of the external devices acquired from the external devices).
As to claim 31, the combination of Kimura and Kim discloses the electronic device of claim 30. The combination further discloses the external electronic device is positioned in a physical environment, wherein analyzing the one or more images to determine the first position of the external electronic device comprises determining the first position of the external electronic device within the physical environment, wherein the electronic device further comprises one or more displays configured to emit light from a transparent structure towards an eye box, and wherein the second position overlaps the external electronic device when viewed from the eye box (Kimura, [0046] The head mounted display 100 in this embodiment is an optical see-through head mounted display with which a user can visually recognize a virtual image and directly visually recognize an outside view).
As to claim 32, the combination of Kimura and Kim discloses the method of claim 28. The combination further discloses obtaining the state information comprises: wirelessly pairing with the external electronic device; and transmitting a request for state information to the external electronic device via the communication circuitry (Kimura, [0058] The wireless communication unit 132 performs wireless communication with the external devices according to a predetermined wireless communication standard (e.g., infrared ray, short range wireless communication exemplified by Bluetooth (registered trademark), or a wireless LAN exemplified by IEEE802.11)).
As to claim 33, the combination of Kimura and Kim discloses the method of claim 28. The combination further discloses the estimated state information comprises an application running on the external electronic device, comprises application information for an application running on the external electronic device, identifies content being displayed on a display in the external electronic device, or identifies audio being played on a speaker in the external electronic device (Kimura, [0065] The sound processing unit 170 acquires sound signal included in contents, amplifies the acquired sound signal, and supplies the sound signal to a not-shown speaker of a right earphone 32 and a not-shown speaker of a left earphone 34).
As to claim 34, the combination of Kimura and Kim discloses the method of claim 28. The combination further discloses changing one or more settings in the electronic device, the external electronic device, or an additional external electronic device based on the estimated state information (Kimura, [0087] In the thumbnail display region B3, a display image G3 of a setting screen of the home electric appliance 400 is arranged as an identification image of the home electric appliance 400).
As to claim 36, the combination of Kimura and Kim discloses the non-transitory computer- readable storage medium of claim 35. The combination further discloses estimating the state information comprises: analyzing the one or more images using the one or more processors (Kimura, [0106] By analyzing the outside scene image and collating the outside scene image with the appearance features of the external devices stored in the storing unit 120, the external-device specifying unit can specify an external device to which the user is assumed to direct attention. Methods explained below may be used).
As to claim 37, the combination of Kimura and Kim discloses the non-transitory computer- readable storage medium of claim 36. The combination further discloses analyzing the one or more images comprises determining a first position of the external electronic device and wherein the instructions further comprise instructions for: determining a second position at which to present the content based on the first position of the external electronic device, wherein presenting the content comprises presenting the content at the second position, wherein the external electronic device is positioned in a physical environment, wherein analyzing the one or more images to determine the first position of the external electronic device comprises determining the first position of the external electronic device within the physical environment, wherein the electronic device further comprises one or more displays configured to emit light from a transparent structure towards an eye box, and wherein the second position overlaps the external electronic device when viewed from the eye box (Kimura, [0084] Note that the OS 150 can calculate the distances between the external devices and the head mounted display 100 by comparing present position information of the head mounted display 100 detected by the GPS module 134 and present position information of the external devices acquired from the external devices).
As to claim 38, the combination of Kimura and Kim discloses the non-transitory computer- readable storage medium of claim 35. The combination further discloses obtaining the state information comprises: wirelessly pairing with the external electronic device; and transmitting a request for the state information to the external electronic device via the communication circuitry (Kimura, [0058] The wireless communication unit 132 performs wireless communication with the external devices according to a predetermined wireless communication standard (e.g., infrared ray, short range wireless communication exemplified by Bluetooth (registered trademark), or a wireless LAN exemplified by IEEE802.11)).
As to claim 39, the combination of Kimura and Kim discloses the non-transitory computer- readable storage medium of claim 35. The combination further discloses the estimated state information comprises an application running on the external electronic device, comprises application information for an application running on the external electronic device, identifies content being displayed on a display in the external electronic device, or identifies audio being played on a speaker in the external electronic device (Kimura, [0065] The sound processing unit 170 acquires sound signal included in contents, amplifies the acquired sound signal, and supplies the sound signal to a not-shown speaker of a right earphone 32 and a not-shown speaker of a left earphone 34).
As to claim 40, the combination of Kimura and Kim discloses the non-transitory computer- readable storage medium of claim 35. The combination further discloses the instructions further comprise instructions for: changing one or more settings in the electronic device, the external electronic device, or an additional external electronic device based on the estimated state information (Kimura, [0087] In the thumbnail display region B3, a display image G3 of a setting screen of the home electric appliance 400 is arranged as an identification image of the home electric appliance 400).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al., US PGPUB 20170102549 discloses a head mount display device including a housing comprising a closed, front side and a back side having an opening, a pair of optic modules arranged horizontally and a head fixing unit configured to fix the housing to a user's head is provided. Each of the optic modules includes a display provided in the housing; a barrel comprising one side arranged in the housing and the other side exposed outside the housing via the opening; a lens fixed to the barrel; a focus adjuster configured to adjust a distance between the barrel and the display; and a horizontal adjusting unit configured to guide horizontal movement of the optic module, and the focus adjuster and the horizontal adjusting unit provided in one of the optic modules is operable independently from the focus adjuster and the horizontal adjusting unit provided in the other optic module.
/SAHLU OKEBATO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625 9/4/2026