Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 10-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by kirchhoff (U.S. 6,641,190 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Kirchhoff discloses a tailgate extension system (see figs. 1-4), comprising:
a tailgate (26; see figs. 1-4 and refer to col. 2, lines 19-31) coupled to a vehicle (20), the tailgate (26) comprising:
i) a frame (as shown in figs. 1-4);
ii) a panel hinge assembly (54) coupled to the frame (see figs. 1-2);
iii) a tailgate bed extension panel (52; see figs. 3-4 and refer to col. 3, lines 11-33), coupled to the panel hinge assembly (54), and configured to rotate about the panel hinge assembly (54) along a first axis of rotation (refer to col. 3, lines 15-33: “pivot between open and closed positions…relative to the first part 42”); and
iv) a support arm (92) coupled to the frame (as shown in figs. 3-4) and configured to rotate about the frame along a second axis of rotation (see figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 2, Kirchhoff discloses wherein the support arm comprises an inner support arm and an outer support arm (col. 5, lines 22-30: 92 has an adjustable length and is a telescoping member).
Regarding claim 3, Kirchhoff discloses wherein the support arm (92) is configured to extend into an extended position (as shown in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Kirchhoff discloses wherein:
i) the tailgate bed extension panel (52; see figs. 3-4 and refer to col. 3, lines 11-33) is configured to rotate between a closed position (fig. 3) and an open position (fig. 4),
ii) the support arm (92) is configured to rotate between a closed position (fig. 3) and an open position (fig. 4), and
iii) when the tailgate bed extension panel (52) is in the open position and the support arm (92) is in the open position (fig. 4), the tailgate bed extension panel (52) is configured to engage the support arm (92; as shown in fig. 4, they are engaged at 55/98).
Regarding claim 5, Kirchhoff discloses a retention mechanism (100, figs. 3-4) configured to secure the support arm (92) in the closed position (refer to col. 5, lines 39-42).
Regarding claim 8, Kirchhoff discloses a striker (62, 68; see fig. 7 and refer to col. 4, lines 1-20) coupled to the tailgate bed extension panel (52); and
a latch assembly (100, figs. 3-4) coupled to the support arm (92; refer to col. 5, lines 39-42).
Regarding claim 10, Kirchhoff discloses wherein the frame comprises an opening (22) configured to house the support arm when the support arm (92) is in the closed position (see figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 11, Kirchhoff discloses wherein the first axis of rotation is perpendicular to the second axis of rotation (see figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 12, Kirchhoff discloses wherein the support arm (92) is configured to rotate 90 degrees about the frame to rotate from the closed position to the open position (as shown in figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 13, Kirchhoff discloses further comprising the vehicle (20; see figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 14, Kirchhoff discloses wherein the vehicle comprises a pickup truck (20; see figs. 1-2 and refer to col. 5, lines 42-44).
Regarding claim 15, Kirchhoff discloses a method for engaging a tailgate panel extension bed support arm, comprising:
a) disengaging a retention mechanism (32; see figs. 1-2 and refer to col. 2, lines 32-44), wherein, when engaged, the retention mechanism (32) is configured to secured a support arm (92) of a tailgate (26) in a closed position (see figs. 1-2), wherein the tailgate (26) is coupled to a vehicle (20) and comprises:
a frame (as shown in figs. 1-4);
a panel hinge assembly (54) coupled to the frame (see figs. 1-2);
a tailgate bed extension panel (52; see figs. 3-4 and refer to col. 3, lines 11-33), coupled to the panel hinge assembly (54), and configured to rotate about the panel hinge assembly along a first axis of rotation (refer to col. 3, lines 15-33: “pivot between open and closed positions…relative to the first part 42”); and
the support arm (92) coupled to the frame (as shown in figs. 3-4) and configured to rotate about the frame along a second axis of rotation (see figs. 3-4);
b) rotating the support arm (92) into the open position (as shown in fig. 4); and
c) rotating the tailgate bed extension panel (52; see figs. 3-4 and refer to col. 3, lines 11-33) to an open position (fig. 4), causing the tailgate bed extension panel (52) to engage the support arm (92; as shown in fig. 4, they are engaged at 55/98).
Regarding claim 16, Kirchhoff discloses prior to rotating the support arm (92) into the open position (fig. 4), rotating the hinge assembly (54), exposing the support arm (see figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 17, Kirchhoff discloses extending the support arm (92) into an open position (see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Kirchhoff discloses wherein
i) the tailgate bed extension panel (52; see figs. 3-4 and refer to col. 3, lines 11-33) is configured to rotate between a closed position (fig. 3) and an open position (fig. 4),
ii) the support arm (92) is configured to rotate between a closed position (fig. 3) and an open position (fig. 4), and
iii) when the tailgate bed extension panel (52) is in the open position (fig. 4) and the support arm (92) is in the open position (see fig. 4), the tailgate bed extension panel (52) is configured to engage the support arm (92; as shown in fig. 4, they are engaged at 55/98).
Regarding claim 20, Kirchhoff discloses wherein the tailgate further comprises: a striker (62, 68; see fig. 7 and refer to col. 4, lines 1-20) coupled to the tailgate bed extension panel (52); and
a latch assembly (100, figs. 3-4) coupled to the support arm (92; refer to col. 5, lines 39-42).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over kirchhoff (U.S. 6,641,190 B2) alone.
Regarding claim 7, Kirchhoff teaches all the features of this claim as applied to claim 1 above; however, Kirchhoff is silent to the F-frame shape.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the frame of Kirchhoff to have an F-frame shape since a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Dailey, 357 F. 2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA1966).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 9, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Matlack (U.S. 5,518,158) and Neighbors et al. (U.S. 10,525,870B2).
/YANICK A AKARAGWE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672