DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Argument
This office action is in response to the Application filed on 06/30/2026.
Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are presented for further examination.
Applicant’s argument rejection for regarding claim 8 is persuasive.
Current office action is Non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biles et al. (US 2009/0133032 A1; hereinafter Biles) in view of Eltantawy et al. (US 11,768,715; hereinafter Eltantawy), and further in view of Walker et al. (US 2019/0179757; hereinafter Walker).
Regarding independent claims 1, 18 and 20, taking claim 1 as exemplary analysis, Biles teaches an apparatus comprising circuitry for executing processing transactions containing memory accesses to shared data, wherein the shared data is accessible to multiple concurrent program threads (Biles [0005]–[0012], [0029]–[0033], claims 25, 44–47; Biles defines a processing thread as code running on one processor concurrently with code running on other processors and a processing transaction as work executed by a thread in which memory accesses appear atomic relative to other threads/transactions; the transactional memory detects conflicts between concurrent processing transactions accessing shared data).
Biles further teaches detecting an indication of concurrent access/contention to shared data by another program thread/transaction (Biles [0007], [0009]–[0012], [0023]–[0033]; hardware transactional memory detects a conflict when two processing transactions seek to access the same data; conflict data identifies transactions that previously conflicted; transactions having potential conflicts may be prevented from being scheduled or marked pended). Biles [0030] specifically identifies threads that “cannot currently be scheduled due to a potential conflict indicated by said conflict data,” and [0031] releases blocked processing transactions after the conflicting transaction completes.
Biles further teaches, in response to the conflict, delaying a subsequent attempt by the conflicting transaction (Biles [0007]; upon conflict, the transaction is aborted and subsequently rescheduled, with the later execution time typically determined using an exponential backoff whereby the transaction is suspended for a time before rescheduling to provide an opportunity for the conflicting transaction to complete; if the rescheduled transaction conflicts again, it may be rescheduled after an exponentially increased delay).
However, Biles does not expressly teach implementing the delay as hardware delay circuitry associated with the processor execution/load-store path that delays reissuance of the memory access by a hardware-controlled delay period.
In analogous contention-management art, Eltantawy teaches hardware delay/backoff circuitry in a multithreaded processor configured to delay subsequent execution of a thread/warp exhibiting spin-inducing synchronization behavior (Eltantawy, Abstract; Figs. 7, 14–15; col. 6–8; a warp executing a spin-inducing branch is marked backed-off/deprioritized; a back-off counter is initialized and decremented each clock; scheduling is prevented/deprioritized while the backoff remains active; Eltantawy additionally teaches adaptive delay/backoff behavior).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Biles's contention-management system to implement Biles's known delay/rescheduling after contention using Eltantawy's hardware backoff mechanism. Both references address wasted processor execution caused by concurrent threads/transactions repeatedly attempting to progress while contention remains unresolved. Implementing Biles's backoff in hardware as taught by Eltantawy would predictably reduce repeated unsuccessful execution/accesses while allowing the conflicting thread/transaction an opportunity to progress.
Thus, Biles in view of Eltantawy teaches or suggests load/store circuitry configured, in response to an indication of concurrent access to a shared memory location by another program thread, to cause a delay of reissuance of the memory system transaction by a delay period, Biles supplying concurrent shared-memory conflict detection and delayed retry/backoff and Eltantawy supplying the hardware-controlled delay/backoff implementation.
However, Biles and Eltantawy do not expressly teach that the delay period is set in dependence upon a memory latency factor indicative of the relative latency of accessing the shared memory location.
In analogous memory-request-control art, Walker teaches determining, during runtime, a memory-access latency factor representative of the current latency of fulfilling memory requests and controlling subsequent memory-request issuance based upon that factor (Walker Abstract; Fig. 2; [0016]; claims 1, 8, 10 and 17).
Specifically, Walker's latency tracker 230 monitors access latencies of memory requests issued by memory-resource consumers of processor core 200 and fulfilled by memory; tracker table 234 stores an address and a latency value representing the time required to fulfill each sampled request; latency tracker 230 determines an average or nominal access latency and provides that value to throttle controller 228 as an access latency metric used for memory-request throttling (Walker [0016]; Fig. 2).
Walker further teaches setting the degree of memory-request throttling in dependence upon the current runtime memory-latency metric (Walker Fig. 3, steps 304–318; determine access latency of memory request → determine updated access-latency metric → set throttle level based on current access-latency metric → adjust number of available pending memory requests).
Walker's claim 8 similarly recites sampling memory requests, measuring for each sampled request a corresponding access latency for fulfilling the request, and determining the access-latency metric based upon an averaging of the measured access latencies. Walker's claim 1 expressly uses that access-latency metric to throttle the rate of memory requests issuable by the processor core.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the contention-delay mechanism of Biles/Eltantawy so that the amount/aggressiveness of backoff is determined in further dependence upon Walker's runtime memory-access-latency metric. Biles already teaches delaying subsequent execution following a shared-memory conflict to permit the conflicting transaction to progress, while Walker teaches that the actual latency of servicing memory requests is measurable at runtime and provides a useful feedback parameter for controlling how aggressively subsequent memory requests are permitted to issue. Applying Walker's known latency-responsive memory-request control to the Biles/Eltantawy contention backoff would predictably adapt the amount of restraint placed upon reissued memory accesses to current memory-system service conditions, thereby reducing repeated memory requests during periods of relatively high access latency.
Thus, Biles in view of Eltantawy and Walker teaches or suggests delay circuitry configured to set the delay period in dependence on at least one factor determined at runtime, wherein the at least one factor comprises a memory latency factor indicative of a relative latency of accessing the shared memory location (Biles [0007], [0009]–[0012]; Eltantawy Figs. 14–15 and associated backoff disclosure; Walker Abstract, Fig. 2, Fig. 3, [0016], claims 1, 8, 10 and 17). Accordingly, the combination teaches or renders obvious the subject matter of independent claims 1, 18 and 20.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Biles, Eltantawy and Walker further teaches wherein the delay circuitry is associated with the load/store circuitry and is configured to modify timing of an action of the load/store circuitry in order to implement the delay (Biles [0007], [0030]–[0033]; Eltantawy Figs. 7 and 14, col. 6–8; Eltantawy's hardware backoff prevents/deprioritizes scheduling/issue of instructions belonging to a backed-off warp/thread, thereby postponing subsequent execution, including the memory access associated with the synchronization/spin operation).
It would have been obvious to associate the backoff mechanism with the processor execution/load-store path because the purpose of the Biles/Eltantawy combination is specifically to prevent the contending thread from immediately issuing/reissuing accesses while the conflicting operation remains unresolved..
Regarding claim 3, the combination further teaches an execution pipeline configured to execute a sequence of instructions defining a program thread, wherein the delay circuitry is associated with the execution pipeline and is responsive to the contention condition to delay progress of at least one instruction through the execution pipeline in order to implement the delay (Eltantawy Fig. 7; col. 7–8; GPU pipeline includes instruction fetch/decode and warp scheduling/issue circuitry; a backed-off warp is prevented or deprioritized from scheduling/issue during the backoff period).
Thus, Eltantawy supplies a hardware pipeline implementation in which the detected contention/spin condition prevents further progress of instructions belonging to the affected program thread until the backoff condition permits scheduling.
Regarding claim 4, the combination further teaches wherein the delay circuitry delays progress through the execution pipeline by delaying at least one of fetching, decoding, dispatching, renaming and/or issuing the instruction (Eltantawy Fig. 7; col. 7–8; the warp scheduler controls selection/issue of warp instructions and prevents/deprioritizes issue of the backed-off warp during the backoff interval).
Because claim 4 recites the alternatives disjunctively, Eltantawy's teaching of delaying issue/scheduling of the backed-off warp satisfies at least the recited issuing alternative.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Biles, Eltantawy and Walker further teaches memory latency determination circuitry configured to determine or estimate the memory latency factor during runtime (Walker Fig. 2, latency tracker 230 and tracker table 234; [0016]; claims 8 and 17).
Walker expressly teaches that latency tracker 230: monitors access latencies of memory requests; records the time required to fulfill sampled memory requests; stores corresponding latency values; determines an average/nominal access latency; and supplies the resulting metric to throttle controller 228. Walker claim 17 likewise expressly recites a latency tracker that samples memory requests, measures a corresponding access latency for each sampled request, and determines the access-latency metric based on averaging the measured latencies. Thus, Walker directly teaches the claimed runtime memory latency determination circuitry.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biles et al. (US 2009/0133032 A1; hereinafter Biles) in view of Eltantawy et al. (US 11,768,715; hereinafter Eltantawy) and Walker et al. (US 2019/0179757; hereinafter Walker), and further in view of Rappoport et al. (US 2016/0019063; hereinafter Rappoport).
Regarding claim 5, Biles, Eltantawy and Walker do not expressly teach instruction decoding circuitry configured to decode a contention delay instruction and control the delay circuitry in response thereto.
Rappoport teaches a processor including a decode unit configured to decode a thread-pause instruction, wherein processing of subsequent instructions of the thread is paused in response to the decoded pause instruction (Rappoport [0032]–[0036], Fig. 1; block 101 receives the thread-pause instruction, block 102 pauses subsequent instructions, and block 103 maintains the back-end empty for a predetermined time).
Rappoport further teaches that decode unit 214 receives and decodes thread-pause instruction 220 and outputs microinstructions, micro-operations or control signals derived from the pause instruction (Rappoport [0040]–[0041], Fig. 2).
Rappoport expressly teaches that the back-end responds to one or more control signals decoded from the thread-pause instruction to pause/delay subsequent instructions and that a decoded control signal may be stalled at a pipeline stage so as to block subsequent instructions (Rappoport [0044]–[0045]). Rappoport's detailed implementation further teaches decoding the pause instruction into control signals CS1–CS3, with CS1 ultimately starting a hardware empty timer 644 and the resulting stall preventing younger instructions from progressing through the pipeline.
Rappoport is also directed to the same synchronization problem: it explains that a spin-wait loop occurs when one thread waits for another to synchronize or obtain a shared resource such as a shared lock, semaphore or mutex, typically by repeatedly executing a load-compare-branch loop (Rappoport [0007]–[0008]).
It would have been obvious to modify the hardware backoff of Biles/Eltantawy to accept instruction-decoded delay control as taught by Rappoport because Rappoport demonstrates a known processor mechanism allowing software to intentionally pause a thread participating in synchronization rather than repeatedly consume execution resources while waiting.
Thus, Biles in view of Eltantawy, Walker and Rappoport teaches or suggests instruction decoding circuitry configured to decode instructions of the program thread, wherein the delay circuitry is configured to set the delay period in further dependence on control signals generated by the instruction decoding circuitry in response to decoding a contention delay instruction.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biles et al. (US 2009/0133032 A1; hereinafter Biles) in view of Eltantawy et al. (US 11,768,715; hereinafter Eltantawy) and Walker et al. (US 2019/0179757; hereinafter Walker) and Rappoport et al. (US 2016/0019063; hereinafter Rappoport), and further in view of Desai et al. (US 5,347,638; hereinafter Desai).
Regarding claim 6, Rappoport further teaches the thread-pause instruction itself comprising an operand indicating the amount of delay (Rappoport [0061], Fig. 5; operand 562 may directly specify a number of clock cycles or select among predetermined delay values, e.g., a two-bit field selecting 0, 32, 64 or 128 cycles).
Rappoport does not expressly call the encoded value a scaling factor.
Desai teaches a WAIT instruction containing a RATE field and COUNT field, wherein the RATE bits are decoded to provide a multiplier for COUNT, the actual wait count being (RATE × COUNT)+1 (Desai, Fig. 5D; Table IV; col. 13–14). Desai provides RATE multiplier values including 1, 32, 2048 and 65536 cycles/count, and expressly states that COUNT multiplied by the count multiplier provides the maximum wait time.
It would have been obvious to encode Rappoport's already-disclosed pause-delay operand using a known multiplier/scaling-field technique such as Desai's RATE field because multiplier encoding provides a wide range of selectable delay intervals using a relatively small instruction field.
Thus, the combination teaches or suggests wherein the contention delay instruction comprises an indication of a scaling factor and the delay circuitry is responsive to the control signals generated by the instruction decoding circuitry to modify the delay period in dependence on the scaling factor (Rappoport [0061], Fig. 5; Desai Fig. 5D, Table IV, col. 13–14).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biles et al. (US 2009/0133032 A1; hereinafter Biles) in view of Eltantawy et al. (US 11,768,715; hereinafter Eltantawy) and Walker et al. (US 2019/0179757; hereinafter Walker), and further in view of LaBerge et al. (US 7,055,012; hereinafter LaBerge).
Regarding claim 9, Walker does not expressly teach wherein the memory latency factor is a static value held as a boot-time-set configuration value in the apparatus.
LaBerge teaches that a memory device has a latency interval between receiving an access request and delivering the requested data, and specifically defines CAS latency as the amount of time between receipt of a read request and transmission of the requested data (LaBerge, col. 2; col. 5–6; Figs. 1–4).
LaBerge expressly teaches boot-time configuration of that latency: at system boot-up, BIOS determines the current memory configuration and the fastest common CAS latency; the selected system CAS latency is delivered to the memory controller, where it can be stored in a register and used by the memory controller (LaBerge Fig. 4; col. 6, approximately ll. 35–55). The related background likewise states that memory parameters such as CAS latency may be selected at boot-up and written to mode registers.
It would have been obvious to provide Walker's memory-latency factor as, alternatively or initially, a static boot-configured latency value as taught by LaBerge. Walker already establishes that memory latency is useful for controlling the aggressiveness of memory-request issuance; LaBerge teaches a conventional mechanism for determining and retaining such a latency at system initialization. Thus, Biles in view of Eltantawy, Walker and LaBerge teaches or suggests wherein the memory latency factor is a static value held as a boot-time-set configuration value in the apparatus.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biles et al. (US 2009/0133032 A1; hereinafter Biles) in view of Eltantawy et al. (US 11,768,715; hereinafter Eltantawy) and Walker et al. (US 2019/0179757; hereinafter Walker), and further in view of Guim Bernat et al. (US 2017/0185351 A1; hereinafter Guim Bernat)
Regarding claim 11, Biles, Eltantawy and Walker do not expressly teach determining the delay factor according to physical proximity of the accessed memory location.
In analogous NUMA/memory-request-control art, Guim Bernat teaches a plurality of memory domains having non-uniform access latencies and controlling memory requests according to the destination memory domain (Guim Bernat Abstract; [0002], [0011]–[0015], Figs. 1–3; discussion of non-uniform memory-access latency). Guim Bernat describes memory pools having substantially different access latencies, including an exemplary relatively fast memory pool having approximately 50 ns latency and another pool having approximately 500 ns latency.
Guim Bernat further describes nodes/sockets and cache agents managing requests to both local and remote memory, thereby expressly associating physical/destination location with different memory-access characteristics.
It would have been obvious to use destination/proximity information as an additional input to Walker's latency-responsive control because Guim Bernat expressly teaches that memory location/domain is predictive of relative access latency. Thus, the combination teaches wherein the at least one factor comprises a physical memory location factor dependent on a proximity of the shared memory location to the load/store circuitry.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biles et al. (US 2009/0133032 A1; hereinafter Biles) in view of Eltantawy et al. (US 11,768,715; hereinafter Eltantawy) and Walker et al. (US 2019/0179757; hereinafter Walker), and further in view of Sun et al. (US 2023/0297507 A1; hereinafter Sun).
Regarding claim 12, the prior combination does not expressly identify a system-level-cache latency as one of the factors.
Sun teaches a processing system including multiple requestors and a shared system-level cache (SSLC) 110 (Sun [0012], Fig. 1). Sun further teaches that requests are submitted through switch fabric 104 to SSLC 110, with cache hits being serviced by the SSLC and cache misses resulting in memory access (Sun [0015]).
Most significantly, Sun expressly defines a cache latency CL of SSLC 110 as the delay from submission of a request to SSLC 110 until a cache miss is determined and teaches that the delay of a cache hit depends upon where the information is located within the SSLC and is generally less than CL (Sun [0020], Fig. 1). Sun further teaches that miss latency may be substantially greater than hit latency and gives exemplary system-level-cache latency values in clock cycles/nanoseconds (Sun [0021]–[0022]).
It would have been obvious to use Sun's expressly identified SSLC cache latency as one of the latency components/factors in Walker's latency-responsive delay mechanism because Walker already teaches selecting memory-request restraint according to memory service latency and Sun identifies the shared-cache portion of that service latency.
Thus, the combination teaches wherein the apparatus is configured to share a system-level cache and the at least one factor comprises at least a system-level-cache latency.
Because the claim recites at least one of system-level-cache latency and/or snoop-hit latency, Sun's explicit teaching of the system-level-cache-latency alternative is sufficient; a separate snoop-hit-latency showing is unnecessary.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biles et al. (US 2009/0133032 A1; hereinafter Biles) in view of Eltantawy et al. (US 11,768,715; hereinafter Eltantawy) and Walker et al. (US 2019/0179757; hereinafter Walker), and further in view of Sun et al. (US 2023/0297507 A1; hereinafter Sun) and Hughes et al. (US 2023/0101512 A1; hereinafter Hughes)
Regarding claim 13, the combination through claim 12 does not expressly teach instruction decoding circuitry decoding a shared-cache-hint instruction and generating corresponding control signals.
Hughes expressly teaches a “shared prefetch” instruction, PREFETCHS m8, whose execution provides hardware with a hint that the prefetched data will be shared by multiple threads (Hughes [0032]–[0034]; the opcode or other indicator specifies shared treatment, and in some examples the data is stored in an LLC).
Hughes further teaches hardware decoding of the shared-prefetch instruction: Fig. 9 shows storage 903 containing shared prefetch instruction 901, the instruction being received by decode circuitry 905, and decode circuitry 905 decoding it into one or more operations/micro-operations for execution circuitry 909 (Hughes [0055]–[0057], Fig. 9). Hughes additionally teaches that the instruction's opcode/indicator causes the fetched data to be stored in a shared state, including in an LLC in disclosed examples.
It would have been obvious to use the control indication generated by decoding Hughes's shared-cache/shared-prefetch hint instruction to select the appropriate shared-cache latency contribution identified by Sun. The decoded instruction identifies in advance that the access is intended for shared-cache treatment, while Walker already adjusts delay according to memory-path latency. Using that decoded hint to select the applicable shared-cache latency therefore constitutes a predictable use of the instruction's expressly intended cache-path information.
Thus, Biles in view of Eltantawy, Walker, Sun and Hughes teaches or suggests wherein the delay circuitry is responsive to control signals generated by instruction decoding circuitry in response to decoding a shared cache hint instruction to set the delay period in dependence on at least the system-level-cache latency.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biles et al. (US 2009/0133032 A1; hereinafter Biles) in view of Eltantawy et al. (US 11,768,715; hereinafter Eltantawy) and Walker et al. (US 2019/0179757; hereinafter Walker), and further in view of Sun et al. (US 2023/0297507 A1; hereinafter Sun) and Duan et al. (US 2024/0061780 A1; hereinafter Duan).
Regarding claim 14, the foregoing combination does not expressly teach system-level-cache-hit monitoring circuitry whose hit indication affects the delay/throttling determination.
Duan teaches a multicore processor having private caches, a shared last-level cache (LLC) 116, memory-bandwidth controllers 112, and cache-access predictors 114 (Duan [0017]–[0019], Fig. 1). The memory-bandwidth controllers perform request-rate control/throttling between private caches and the shared LLC by applying different delay values to requesting threads (Duan [0023]–[0027], Figs. 1–2).
Duan further teaches that cache-access predictor 114 determines whether an access request is an LLC hit or LLC miss and selectively controls throttling according to that determination (Duan [0028]–[0029], Fig. 3). In particular, an LLC hit causes throttling to be disabled, whereas an LLC miss causes throttling to be enabled.
Duan also provides embodiments in which a predictor queries LLC 116, receives a cache hit-or-miss status 720 from the LLC, and determines the access to be a hit or miss from that status (Duan [0040]–[0042], Fig. 7). Duan then teaches continuing to perform bandwidth allocation by setting and dynamically updating delay values when throttling is enabled.
It would have been obvious to use Duan's LLC-hit indication in the Walker/Sun delay determination because Sun expressly teaches that an SSLC hit and miss have different access latencies, while Duan expressly teaches changing delay-based throttling according to whether the request hits the shared LLC. The combination therefore provides both the latency distinction and the cache-hit feedback used to select the corresponding delay treatment.
Thus, the combination teaches or suggests system-level-cache-hit monitoring circuitry and delay circuitry responsive to a system-level-cache-hit indication to set the delay period in dependence on at least the system-level-cache latency.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biles et al. (US 2009/0133032 A1; hereinafter Biles) in view of Eltantawy et al. (US 11,768,715; hereinafter Eltantawy) and Walker et al. (US 2019/0179757; hereinafter Walker), and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0129186A1; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 15, the preceding combination does not expressly teach an indication having a quantitative contention-level component used as a factor in controlling subsequent memory requests.
Kim teaches a request node having request circuitry that issues outgoing memory-access requests to a remote node, status-receiving circuitry that receives statuses regarding memory-access requests at the remote node, and control circuitry that controls the rate or aggression of outgoing requests in dependence upon the received statuses (Kim [0016]–[0019]).
Kim expressly teaches that memory controllers receive requests from multiple request nodes and send status information indicating their current busyness/loading, allowing the request nodes to slow/throttle or speed up further memory requests according to that current condition (Kim [0035]–[0036], Fig. 1).
More specifically, Kim's Cbusy status is expressly a remote/completer-node busyness indication encoded in two bits and representing multiple levels: 0: unloaded / lowest loading; 1: low loading; 2: acceptable loading; and 3: overburdened, see Kim [0037], Fig. 2.
Kim further teaches aggregating multiple Cbusy values/status indicators and counting instances of specified loading levels to determine an overall level of busyness, rather than merely reacting to a single binary status (Kim [0038]–[0039]). For example, Kim teaches throttling the request rate/aggression when the number of overload statuses reaches a threshold; a disclosed example reduces request aggression when 16 of 256 statuses indicate that the remote node is overloaded (Kim [0022]–[0026]).
Biles already supplies the claimed concurrent-access/conflict indication. Kim supplies a known multi-level resource-contention/load indication and teaches using that level to control the aggressiveness of further memory accesses. It would therefore have been obvious to use such a quantitative contention/load level as an additional factor in determining the Biles/Eltantawy backoff period so that the amount of delay reflects the current severity of memory-system contention rather than treating all conflict conditions identically.
Thus, Biles in view of Eltantawy, Walker and Kim teaches or suggests wherein the indication of concurrent access further comprises a contention-level indication, and the delay circuitry is configured to use the contention-level indication as the at least one factor when setting the delay period.
Regarding claim 16, Kim further teaches wherein the contention/load-level indication is provided by a remote node via which the memory access is made.
Kim Fig. 1 expressly identifies memory controllers 120a–120c as examples of the claimed remote node; request nodes issue memory-access requests to those remote memory controllers, and each remote memory controller returns status updates indicating its current processing/loading condition (Kim [0035]–[0036]).
Kim [0037] is especially direct: the Cbusy/status indicator received by status-receiving circuitry 220 is the “completer node (or the remote node)'s busyness indication,” and the indicator represents the level of busyness of the memory controller that issued it.
Thus, the combination teaches wherein the contention-level indication is provided by a remote node via which access to the shared memory location is made.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biles et al. (US 2009/0133032 A1; hereinafter Biles) in view of Eltantawy et al. (US 11,768,715; hereinafter Eltantawy) and Walker et al. (US 2019/0179757; hereinafter Walker), and further in view of Rappoport et al. (US 2016/0019063; hereinafter Rappoport) and Ryan et al. (US 6,223,228 B1; hereinafter Ryan).
Regarding claim 17, Rappoport teaches a decoded thread-pause instruction whose operand specifies or selects a delay duration, but does not expressly disclose the claimed maximum-back-off control value.
Ryan teaches processor synchronization/wait instructions WSYNC and TSYNC containing a maximum-cycle-count operand (Fig. 11, WSYNC/TSYNC maximum-cycle-count operand; Fig. 12, DELAY instruction and countdown implementation). The maximum count can be encoded as an immediate operand, register operand, sum of registers, or register-plus-immediate. When a positive maximum count is specified, the instruction terminates when either the synchronization condition occurs or the maximum number of cycles expires, whichever occurs first.
Ryan additionally teaches a processor DELAY instruction having one or more operands specifying the number of instruction cycles to delay; the delay operand is loaded into a counter and decremented until the specified waiting interval expires (Ryan Fig. 12).
Thus, Ryan establishes the known processor-instruction technique of including a software-specified upper bound on a hardware waiting interval. The reference itself describes the timeout as protecting against indefinitely hanging a waiting processor.
It would have been obvious to add Ryan's maximum-wait operand to Rappoport's decoded thread-pause instruction as incorporated into Biles/Eltantawy because both references concern hardware-controlled suspension of processor execution. Providing a maximum backoff interval would prevent a contending thread from remaining blocked indefinitely and ensure forward progress after the selected maximum interval expires.
Accordingly, the combination teaches or suggests wherein the contention delay instruction further comprises a maximum back-off control value and the delay circuitry is configured to limit, in dependence upon the maximum back-off control value, the period for which the contention/reissuance backoff occurs before the program thread is unblocked.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biles et al. (US 2009/0133032 A1; hereinafter Biles) in view of Eltantawy et al. (US 11,768,715; hereinafter Eltantawy) and Walker et al. (US 2019/0179757; hereinafter Walker), and further in view of Willis et al. (US 2019/0042270; hereinafter Willis).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Biles, Eltantawy and Walker teaches the system of claim 18 as set forth above, but does not expressly disclose a chip-containing product comprising the system, wherein the system is assembled on a further board with at least one other product component.
Willis teaches a chip-containing processor product assembled as part of a board-level computer system, including a processor package comprising at least one CPU die and a motherboard operably coupled to the processor package (US 2019/0042270 A1, Fig. 1; Fig. 5B; claims 1 and 9; processor package 100 includes at least one CPU die 106 and is connected to an external circuit/motherboard; claim 9 expressly recites a processor package and a motherboard operably coupled thereto).
Willis further teaches additional product components assembled with the processor system, including memory circuitry, BIOS functionality, firmware/hardware monitors, and other platform components (Willis, Fig. 2; Fig. 8; claim 18; hardware monitors may monitor memory, power supply unit, hard drives, processor package, and other system components).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the system of Biles/Eltantawy/Walker as a chip-containing processor product mounted/assembled on a motherboard together with other system components, as taught by Willis, because mounting a processor package containing the claimed processing system on a motherboard with memory and other platform components was a conventional and predictable system-level implementation for providing power, interconnection, memory, and peripheral functionality.
Thus, Biles in view of Eltantawy and Walker, and further in view of Willis, teaches or suggests a chip-containing product comprising the system of claim 18, wherein the system is assembled on a further board with at least one other product component.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRACY C CHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2138