DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 59-67, 106-108, 112, 116, 118-123 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0177145 (Melack) in view of US 2020/0346769 (Knapp).
Regarding claim 59, Melack teaches a charging system for an aircraft (Fig. 1-5 shows power distribution architecture for powering an aircraft), comprising: a plurality of electric propulsion units (EPUs) (Fig. 2B shows EPUs 1-12); a plurality of battery packs (Fig. 2B shows battery packs 1-6) configured to power the plurality of EPUs (Fig. 2B shows EPUs 1-12 powered by battery packs 1-6) [0062]; a charge port (Fig. 5 shows charger port 552) configured to accept high voltage power to charge the plurality of battery packs (Fig. 5 shows charger port 552 configured to accept high voltage power to charge the battery packs 1-2);
a common high voltage charging bus connected to the charge port (Fig. 5 shows common bus 314 connected to the charger port 552) [0079];
charge contactors configured to selectively couple the plurality of battery packs to the common high voltage charging bus (Fig. 5 shows slower fuse 312 i.e. battery pack charge contactor located in battery packs 300) [0071-72]; and
the plurality of battery packs are chargeable through the common high voltage charging bus (plurality of battery packs are chargeable charged through the common bus 314) [0070- 0071];
to control the charging of the plurality of battery packs via the charge contactors by providing charge contactors commands to the charge contactors (Fig. 5-8 shows charge port to connect to an external charger to charge battery pack 300 by controlling slower fuse 312); and
each of the plurality of battery packs include a disconnection device configured to disconnect a respective one of the plurality of battery packs from the common high voltage charging bus (Fig. 5 shows charger fuse 556 i.e. disconnection device connected to each of the plurality of battery packs configured to disconnect the battery pack from charging from the common bus 314) [0071-0072].
However, Meleck does not explicitly teach charge port configured to accept high voltage power from a ground charging subsystem; a charge control unit is configured to control charge contactors with charge contactor commands based on information associated with an upcoming flight of an aircraft and a current state of each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs.
However, Knapp teaches charge port configured to accept high voltage power from a ground charging subsystem (Fig. 5 shows charge port 528 charging energy storage units 510-513 using ground power charge) [0155]; a charge control unit is configured to control charge contactor commands (Fig. 10 shows cockpit interface 1010) [0257] based on information associated with an upcoming flight of an aircraft and a current state of each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs (Fig. 3A shows a flowchart of commands to implement recharging of storage units based on flight information by controlling distribution elements such as switches) [0109, 0111-0115, 0255-257].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have charge port configured to accept high voltage power from a ground charging subsystem in order to ensure that the charge port is supplied with sufficient power from commercial power system thereby able to supply sufficient power to the battery packs, furthermore a charge control unit is configured to control battery pack charge contactor commands based on information associated with an upcoming flight of an aircraft and a current state of each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs as taught by Knapp in order to supply power to the battery packs according to the demands of the aircraft thereby increasing the efficiency of the power supply.
Regarding claim 60, Melack teaches the common high voltage charging bus (Fig. 5 shows common bus 314) is electrically separate from other high voltage wiring in the aircraft that provides a power connection from the plurality of battery packs (Fig. 5 shows plurality of battery packs) to the plurality of EPUs (Fig. 5 shows plurality of EPUs being powered by plurality of battery packs in a high voltage wiring separate from common bus 314) [0069-0072].
Regarding claim 61, Melack teaches further comprising: a high voltage channel at each respective battery pack (Fig. 5 shows a high voltage channel at each respective battery pack), wherein the high voltage channel connects its respective battery pack to the common high voltage charging bus (Fig. 5 shows common bus 314 connected to the high voltage channel).
Regarding claim 62, Melack teaches wherein the disconnection device for each battery pack is located on the high voltage channel (Fig. 5 shows slower fuse 312 i.e. disconnection device for each battery pack located on the high voltage channel) [0071, 0074].
Regarding claim 63, Melack teaches wherein the disconnection device comprises at least one of the charge contactors [0075].
Regarding claim 64, Melack teaches wherein the disconnection device comprises at least a first one of the charge contactor on a positive side of the high voltage channel and at least a second one of the charge contactors on a negative side of the high voltage channel (Fig. 5 shows slower fuse 312 and contactor 506 on both positive and negative sides) [0075, 0079].
Regarding claim 65, Melack teaches wherein the plurality of EPUs comprise all EPUs on one wing of the aircraft [0047, 0062].
Regarding claim 66, Melack does not teach wherein the charge port is located on a fuselage of the aircraft.
However, Knapp teaches wherein the charge port is located on a fuselage of the aircraft (Table 1 shows Figure element 528: Ground power charge point being a single access point on the fuselage).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the charge port is located on a fuselage of the aircraft as taught by Knapp in order to access the charge port with ease thereby facilitating the process of charging the battery packs in the aircraft.
Regarding claim 67, Melack does not teach wherein the charge port is further configured to accept communication from a ground charging subsystem configured to supply the high voltage power to charge the plurality of battery packs.
However, Knapp teaches wherein the charge port (Fig. 5 shows ground power charge point 528) is further configured to accept communication from the ground charging subsystem (Fig. 5 shows ground power charge point 528 receiving power from ground based charging stations) [0155] configured to supply the high voltage power to charge the plurality of battery packs (Fig. 5 shows plurality battery packs 510-513 receive power from commercial power system via charger port 528 i.e. accept communication in form of power) [0155].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the charge port is further configured to accept communication from the ground charging subsystem configured to supply the high voltage power to charge the plurality of battery packs as taught by Knapp in order to receive power from an external source while maintaining the safety of the circuitry.
Regarding claim 106, Melack teaches wherein the flight information comprises at least one of flight mission information, upcoming flight information [0044], a location of a destination, a distance to the destination, an expected flight time, or availability of at least one ground charging subsystem (availability of external charger to connect to charger port 552 i.e. ground charging subsystem) [0079].
Regarding claim 107, Melack teaches wherein flight information comprises flight information for multiple subsequent flights (information regarding landing and take-off of the aircraft thereby having the information of multiple subsequent flights) [0055-0057].
Regarding claim 108, Melack teaches wherein the information is used to determine a target charge level for each battery pack prior to conducting flight operations [0084, 0087].
However, Melack does not teach information associated with an upcoming flight.
However, Knapp teaches information associated with an upcoming flight [0109-112].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have information associated with an upcoming flight as taught by Knapp in order to supply power to the battery packs according to the demands of the aircraft thereby increasing the efficiency of the power supply.
Regarding claim 112, Melack teaches wherein the determined commands are provided to at least one of the charge contactor located in the battery pack (Fig. 5 shows slower fuse 312 i.e. battery pack charge contactor located in battery packs 300) [0071-72].
Regarding claim 116, Melack does not teach wherein upon each battery pack reaching the target charge level during charging operations, the charge control unit transmits a signal to a ground charging subsystem.
However, Knapp teaches wherein upon each battery pack reaching the target charge level during charging operations, the charge control unit transmits a signal to a ground charging subsystem [0115, 0121].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein upon each battery pack reaching the target charge level during charging operations, the charge control unit transmits a signal to a ground charging subsystem as taught by Knapp in order to ensure that the battery packs are refueled in order to efficiently supply power to the various systems of the aircraft during its flight.
Regarding claim 118, Melack teaches wherein the high voltage power is controlled prior to initiating flight of the aircraft [0062].
Regarding claim 119, Melack teaches further comprising determining respective charge levels for the plurality of battery packs, wherein the determined charge contactor commands are configured to charge the battery packs at least to the respective charge levels [0084].
Regarding claim 120, Melack teaches wherein the disconnection devices are configured to disconnect the battery packs from the common high voltage charging bus at different times or different charge levels [0084].
Regarding claim 121, Melack does not teach wherein the charge control unit is installable in the aircraft.
However, Knapp teaches wherein the charge control unit is installable in the aircraft [0267, 0273].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the charge control unit is installable in the aircraft as taught by Knapp in order to streamline the functionality of the circuitry being controlled by the charge control unit.
Regarding claim 122, Melack does not teach wherein the charge control unit is further configured to transmit a cooling command to the ground charging subsystem.
However, Knapp teaches wherein the charge control unit is further configured to transmit a cooling command to the ground charging subsystem (onboard charging and cooling mechanisms that connect to the mains or fast charge station i.e. ground charging subsystem) [0212].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the charge control unit is further configured to transmit a cooling command to the ground charging subsystem as taught by Knapp in order to ensure that the circuitry is not overheating thereby protecting the circuitry from heat based damages.
Regarding claim 123, Melack teaches wherein the charge contactor commands are configured to selectively connect or disconnect each battery pack from the common high voltage charging bus via the charge contactors [0063, 0069].
Claim(s) 68 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0177145 (Melack) in view of US 2020/0346769 (Knapp) further in view of US 2022/0363384 (Nagase).
Regarding claim 68, Melack and Knapp does not teach wherein the charge control unit is located inside the aircraft, and the charge port is further configured to accept communications from a charge control unit inside the aircraft.
However, Nagase teaches wherein the charge control unit is located inside the aircraft, and the charge port is further configured to accept communications from a charge control unit inside the aircraft (Fig. 2 shows charger port P1 configured to accept communications from power controller 70 i.e. charge control unit inside the aircraft via charger cable 4a as shown in Fig. 4) [0047-0049].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the charge port is further configured to accept communications from a charge control unit inside the aircraft as taught by Nagase in order to safely supply power to the plurality of battery packs in the aircraft.
Claim(s) 96-100, 103-105, 109-111, 114, 117, 124-129 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0363384 (Nagase) in view of US 2020/0346769 (Knapp).
Regarding claim 96, Nagase teaches a control unit for charging an aircraft (Fig. 2 shows power supply controller 70 for charging an aircraft) [0033], comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 2 shows power supply controller 70 formed of a microcomputer) [0033], configured to: control high voltage power (Fig. 2 shows accept high voltage power from external source as shown in Fig. 4 commercial power supply 5) [0032, 0047], received at a charge port, via charge contactors (Fig. 2 shows charger port P1 receiving power via switches S21-28), to charge a plurality of battery packs (Fig. 2 shows plurality battery packs 51-59) configured to power a plurality of electric propulsion units (EPUs) (Fig. 2 shows electric propellers 11-18) [0020-0021],
wherein the plurality of battery packs (Fig. 2 shows plurality battery packs 51-59) are chargeable through a common high voltage charging bus (Fig. 2 and Fig. 4 shows high voltage charging bus);
determine charge contactor commands based on information of an aircraft and a current state of each battery pack (power supply controller 70 controls switches S11-S18 and $21-S28 based on flight information of aircraft and a state of charge and state of health of each battery pack 51-59) [0033, 0045-0046]; and
provide the determined charge contactor commands to charge each battery packs through the common high voltage charging bus and using a ground charging subsystem (power supply controller 70 provide commands to charge the plurality of battery packs 51-59 through common high voltage charging bus via a charge port 1 i.e. ground charging subsystem) [0047-0051].
However, Nagase does not teach to control battery pack charge contactor commands based on information associated with an upcoming flight of an aircraft.
However, Knapp teaches to control battery pack charge contactor commands based on information associated with an upcoming flight of an aircraft (Fig. 10 shows cockpit interface 1010) [0257] based on information associated with an upcoming flight of an aircraft and a current state of each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs (ADT devices 50 switches from drawing power from primary power source to the secondary power source based on flight plan data) [0109, 0111-0115].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a charge control unit is configured to control battery pack charge contactor commands based on information associated with an upcoming flight of an aircraft and a current state of each battery pack of the plurality of battery packs as taught by Knapp in order to supply power to the battery packs according to the demands of the aircraft thereby increasing the efficiency of the power supply.
Regarding claim 97, Nagase teaches wherein the common high voltage charging bus is electrically separate from other high voltage wiring in the aircraft that provides a power connection from the plurality of battery packs to the plurality of EPUs (Fig. 2 shows common high voltage charging bus to be electrically separate from other high voltage wiring in the aircraft that provides a power connection from the plurality of battery packs 51-58 to power plurality of EPUs 11-18).
Regarding claim 98, Nagase teaches further comprising: a high voltage channel at each respective battery pack (Fig. 2 shows a high voltage channel at each respective battery pack), wherein the high voltage channel connects its respective battery pack to the common high voltage charging bus (Fig. 2 shows high voltage channel connects its respective battery pack to the common high voltage charging bus).
Regarding claim 99, Nagase teaches wherein each battery pack (Fig. 2 shows battery packs 51- 58) comprises a disconnection device located on the high voltage channel (Fig. 2 shows switches 821-28).
Regarding claim 100, Nagase teaches wherein the disconnection device comprises at least one of the charge contactors (Fig. 2 shows switches $21-28 are formed of relay) [0031].
Regarding claim 103, Nagase does not teach wherein the charge port is located on a fuselage of the aircraft.
However, Knapp teaches wherein the charge port is located on a fuselage of the aircraft (Table 1 shows Figure element 528: Ground power charge point being a single access point on the fuselage).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the charge port is located on a fuselage of the aircraft as taught by Knapp in order to access the charge port with ease thereby facilitating the process of charging the battery packs in the aircraft.
Regarding claim 104, Nagase teaches wherein the charge port (Fig. 4 shows charger port P1) is further configured to accept communication (Fig. 4 shows charger cable 4a connected to port P1 which accepts communication) from a ground charging subsystem (Fig. 4 shows commercial
power system 5 i.e. ground charging subsystem) configured to supply the high voltage power to charge the plurality of battery packs (Fig. 4 shows plurality battery packs 51-59 receive power from commercial power system via charger port P1 which accepts charging cable 4a i.e. accept communication in form of power) [0047].
Regarding claim 105, Nagase teaches wherein the at least one processor is located inside the aircraft (Fig. 2 shows power controller 70 is inside the aircraft), the charge port is further configured to accept communications from a charge control unit inside the aircraft (Fig. 2 shows charger port P1 configured to accept communications from power controller 70 i.e. charge control unit inside the aircraft via charger cable 4a as shown in Fig. 4) [0047-0049].
Regarding claim 109, Nagase does not teach wherein the information associated with an upcoming flight comprises at least one of flight mission information, a location of a destination, a distance to the destination, an expected flight time, or availability of at least one ground charging subsystem at the destination.
However, Nagase does not teach wherein the information associated with an upcoming flight comprises at least one of flight mission information, a location of a destination, a distance to the destination, an expected flight time, or availability of at least one ground charging subsystem at the destination [0109-0110].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the information associated with an upcoming flight comprises at least one of flight mission information, a location of a destination, a distance to the destination, an expected flight time, or availability of at least one ground charging subsystem at the destination as taught by Knapp in order to efficiently operate the aircraft thereby avoiding damages to the circuitry via overdischarge or overvoltage.
Regarding claim 110, Nagase does not teach wherein the information associated with an upcoming flight comprises information for multiple subsequent flights, wherein the information for the multiple subsequent flights is used to control a battery pack charge contactor for charging by the ground charging subsystem.
However, Knapp teaches wherein the information associated with an upcoming flight comprises information for multiple subsequent flights (upcoming multiple flight paths) [0086, 0105, 0647], wherein the information for the multiple subsequent flights is used to control a battery pack charge contactor for charging by the ground charging subsystem packs (ADT devices 50 switches from drawing power from primary power source to the secondary power source based on flight plan data) [0109-112, 0115, 0129-131].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the information associated with an upcoming flight comprises information for multiple subsequent flights, wherein the information for the multiple subsequent flights is used to control a battery pack charge contactor for charging by the ground charging subsystem as taught by Knapp in order to ensure that the power is supplied to the battery packs in an efficient manner throughout the multiple flights of the aircraft while ensuring safety and avoiding over discharge of the battery packs.
Regarding claim 111, Nagase teaches wherein the flight information is used to determine a target charge level for each battery pack prior to conducting flight operations [0043-45, 0070].
However, Nagase does not teach information associated with an upcoming flight.
However, Knapp teaches information associated with an upcoming flight [0109-0112].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the information associated with an upcoming flight as taught by Knapp in order to supply power to the battery packs according to the demands of the aircraft thereby increasing the efficiency of the power supply.
Regarding claim 114, Nagase teaches wherein the determined charge contactor commands are provided to a battery pack charge contactor located in the battery pack (Fig. 2 shows switches S21-28 i.e. battery pack charge contactor located in the battery packs 51-58) [0029].
Regarding claim 117, Nagase does not teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, upon each battery pack reaching the target charge level during charging operations, transmit a signal to the ground charging subsystem.
However, Knapp teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, upon each battery pack reaching the target charge level during charging operations, transmit a signal to the ground charging subsystem [0115, 121].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, upon each battery pack reaching the target charge level during charging operations, transmit a signal to the ground charging subsystem as taught by Knapp in order to ensure that the battery packs are refueled in order to efficiently supply power to the various systems of the aircraft during its flight.
Regarding claim 124, Nagase teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to control the high voltage power prior to initiating flight of the aircraft [0020-22].
Regarding claim 125, Nagase teaches further comprising determining respective charge levels for the plurality of battery packs, wherein the determined charge contactor commands are configured to charge the battery pack at least to the respective charge levels [0048-50]
Regarding claim 126, Nagase teaches wherein providing the charge contactor commands causes the battery packs to disconnect from the common high voltage charging bus at different times or different charge levels [0048-49].
Regarding claim 127, Nagase does not teach wherein the control unit is installable in the aircraft.
However, Knapp teaches wherein the charge control unit is installable in the aircraft [0267, 0273].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the charge control unit is installable in the aircraft as taught by Knapp in order to streamline the functionality of the circuitry being controlled by the charge control unit.
Regarding claim 128, Nagase does not teach wherein the charge control unit is further configured to transmit a cooling command to the ground charging subsystem.
However, Knapp teaches wherein the charge control unit is further configured to transmit a cooling command to the ground charging subsystem (onboard charging and cooling mechanisms that connect to the mains or fast charge station i.e. ground charging subsystem) [0212].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the charge control unit is further configured to transmit a cooling command to the ground charging subsystem as taught by Knapp in order to ensure that the circuitry is not overheating thereby protecting the circuitry from heat based damages.
Regarding claim 129, Nagase teaches wherein the charge contactor commands are configured to selectively connect or disconnect each battery pack from the common high voltage charging bus via the charge contactors [0033].
Claim(s) 101-102 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/036384 (Nagase) in view of US 2020/0346769 (Knapp) further in view of US 2022/0177145 (Melack).
Regarding claim 101, Nagase and Knapp do not teach wherein the disconnection device comprises at least a first one of the charge contactors on a positive side of the high voltage channel and at least a second one of the charge contactors on a negative side of the high voltage channel.
However, Melack teaches wherein the disconnection device comprises at least a first one of the charge contactors on a positive side of the high voltage channel and at least a second one of the charge contactors on a negative side of the high voltage channel (Fig. 5 shows slower fuse 312 and contactor 506) [0075, 0079].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the disconnection device comprises at least a first one of the charge contactors on a positive side of the high voltage channel and at least a second one of the charge contactors on a negative side of the high voltage channel as taught by Melack in order to completely disconnect the battery from the charging source.
Regarding claim 102, Nagase and Knapp do not teach wherein the plurality of EPUs comprise all EPUs on one wing of the aircraft.
However, Melack teaches wherein the plurality of EPUs comprise all EPUs on one wing of the aircraft [0047, 0062].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the plurality of EPUs comprise all EPUs on one wing of the aircraft as taught by Melack in order to balance the wings with the propellers in a compact manner thereby saving space.
Claim(s) 113 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0177145 (Melack) in view of US 2020/0346769 (Knapp) further in view of US 2025/0096581 (Deshayes).
Regarding claim 113, Melack and Knapp do not teach wherein at least one of the charge contactor located in a high voltage junction box.
However, Deshayes teaches wherein at least one of the charge contactor located in a high voltage junction box (battery 10 incorporates contactor K1 in electrical distribution box 30) [0027].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein at least one of the charge contactor located in a high voltage junction box as taught by Deshayes in order to protect the contactor from overvoltage or electrical damage.
Claim(s) 115 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0363384 (Nagase) in view of US 2020/0346769 (Knapp) further in view of US 2025/0260221 (Deshayes).
Regarding claim 115, Nagase and Knapp do not teach wherein the determined charge contactor commands are provided to a battery pack charge contactor located in a high voltage junction box.
However, Deshayes teaches wherein the determined charge contactor commands are provided to a battery pack charge contactor located in a high voltage junction box (battery 10 incorporates contactor K1 in electrical distribution box 30) [0027].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have the determined commands are provided to a battery pack charge contactor located in a high voltage junction box as taught by Deshayes in order to protect the contactor from overvoltage or electrical damage.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 59, the Applicant presents that the current references Melack and Knapp fails to teach the amended portion as disclosed: charge contactors configured to selectively couple the plurality of battery packs to the common high voltage charging bus; and charging of the plurality of battery packs via the charge contactors by providing charge contactor commands to the charge contactors, wherein the charge contactor commands are determined based on information associated with an upcoming flight of the aircraft.
The Examiner would like to point to Melack teaches charge contactors as fuse 312 as shown in Fig. 5 which is configured to selectively couple the plurality of battery packs 300 to the common high voltage charging bus 314. Furthermore, Melack teaches controlling the fuse 312 to charge plurality of battery packs 300 from charge port 552 as taught in paragraph [0079]. However, the Examiner is in agreement with the Applicant that Melack does not teach controlling charging the plurality battery packs 300 in accordance to the information associated with an upcoming flight of the aircraft. Hereinafter, the Examiner relies on the Knapp reference to teach the charging of the plurality battery packs being predicated based on the upcoming flight information as is presented in the rejection above.
Thereby, the rejection stands.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836