Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 7/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10 and 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Groups II and II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 2/7/2025 and 6/25/2025 have been considered by the examiner. Initialed copies accompany this action.
Drawings
The Drawings filed 2/7/2025 are approved by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US20180040891) in view of Venkatachalam et al (US2010/0086853).
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 9, Choi discloses a method for preparing a washing fluid, the method comprising: preparing a positive electrode active material comprising a nickel-containing lithium composite oxide; adding a first washing fluid to the positive electrode active material to form a mixture, wherein the first washing fluid comprises a coating raw material (para 0020-21; 0052-53), wherein the recovered washing fluid has a lithium concentration equal to or greater than about 3500 ppm residual lithium, para 0142, Table 3, embodiments 4, 6-10). Choi does not disclose recovering the washing fluid from the mixture and the recovering step comprises filtering the mixture. Choi, however, discloses the washing fluid comprises an alkaline solution and it is known in the art to use sodium hydroxide as a precipitant in precipitation process for preparing positive electrode active materials as shown by Venkatachalam (0076). Venkatachalam also discloses filtering step to separate the precipitate (solid) from the fluid (para 0054 and 0089). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the invention to use sodium hydroxide in the method for preparing a washing fluid of Choi to precipitate the metals and separate the precipitate (solid) from the fluid by filtering with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known method in the prior art and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses the nickel-containing lithium composite oxide is represented by Chemical Formula 1 (para 0098, Table 1)
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses the coating raw material comprises a cobalt compound (para 0053).
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses the first washing fluid further comprises a precipitant (lithium composite oxide) and a solvent (distilled water), see the Table 3, embodiments)
Regarding claim 6, Choi discloses the solvent comprises distilled water or an alkaline solution (para 0020)
Regarding claim 7, Choi discloses the lithium concentration is about 3500 ppm to about 10000 ppm (para 0142, Table 3, embodiments 4, 6-10).
Regarding claim 8, Choi discloses an impurity concentration of the recovered washing fluid is about 20 ppm to about 30000 ppm (para 0142, Table 3, embodiments 4, 6-10). The “impurity” is not defined in the specification, therefore lithium in the recovered washing fluid can be considered an impurity.
Conclusion
/HAIDUNG D NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
10/20/2026