DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the inserted plate" in Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirker US 2005/0023219 (hereinafter Kirker) in view of Gay US 2022/0219177 (hereinafter Gay).
Re. Cl. 1, Kirker discloses: An environmental facility supporting structure (Fig. 2) of a vertical heat recovery steam generator (see Fig. 2-3, the device is capable of being used in the intended use environment), the environmental facility supporting structure comprising: a plurality of supporting parts (6, 7, Fig. 2); a plurality of fixing parts (3, Fig. 2) into which the plurality of supporting parts is inserted vertically (see Fig. 2), and each having an extending part (see annotated figure 1) on at least one side portion; a seated member (4, Fig. 1) seated on the extending parts provided in the plurality of fixing parts (see Fig. 1); and a plurality of filter members (2, Fig. 1) provided at an upper portion of the seated member (see Fig. 1), wherein the plurality of fixing parts is connected to the plurality of supporting parts (see Fig. 1)
Re. Cl. 4, Kirker discloses: the plurality of supporting parts comprises a plurality of supporting rods (see 6, 7, Fig. 1-3) and an inserted plate (11, Fig. 1) connected to an upper portion of each supporting rod (see Fig. 1).
Re. Cl. 5, Kirker discloses: the plurality of fixing parts comprises a head part and a pair of fixing plates (see annotated figure 1), the pair of fixing plates being arranged below the head part at an interval therebetween (see Fig. 1), and the inserted plate (4, Fig. 1) is inserted into an insertion groove provided by the head part and the pair of fixing plates (see Fig. 1-2).
Re. Cl. 6, Kirker discloses: the extending part is arranged at an outer surface of the inserted plate (see Fig. 1).
Re. Cl. 1, Kirker does not disclose that the fixing parts are to be movable relative to the supporting parts according to vertical displacement. Gay discloses a filter apparatus which includes a plurality of vertical supports (22, 24, Fig. 2a) that support fixing parts (21a, 21b, Fig. 2b) wherein the plurality of fixing parts are connected to the plurality of supporting parts to be movable according to vertical displacement (see Fig. 2a-2b, by having plates vertically loaded/unloaded into/from 22, 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vertical supports of Kirker to be structured as disclosed by Gay with reasonable expectation of success to enable for selective loading of the filter members. For instance, the user would be enabled to select the number of filter members (2) for each particular use and could otherwise add or subtract the filter members depending on how many are necessary.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Eyers US 2012/0047855, Nicholas US 2011/0277430, Ayshford US 2010/0229514 and Cairns US 5084076 disclose other known filter supports presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632