DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 85-89, 93-94, 96-100, 104-105 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0177145 (Melack) in view of US 2020/0274371 (Kirleis).
Regarding claim 85, Melack teaches a system for battery management on a vehicle (Fig. 2A shows a system for battery management on a vehicle) [0062], comprising:
a first battery pack (Fig. 2B shows first battery pack 1; Fig. 3-8 shows battery pack 300) [0062, 0069]; and
a second battery pack (Fig. 2B shows second battery pack 2; Fig. 3-8 shows battery pack 350) [0062, 0069];
wherein the first battery pack (Fig. 3-8 shows battery pack 300) is electrically connected to the second battery pack (Fig. 3-8 shows battery pack 350 electrically connected to battery pack 300) via a high voltage bus (Fig. 3-8 shows common bus 314) [0070],
wherein the first battery pack (Fig. 3-8 shows battery 300) is configured to power a first electric engine (Fig. 3-8 shows EPU 304 being powered by battery 300) [0069],
wherein the second battery pack (Fig. 3-8 shows battery pack 350) is configured to power a second electric engine (Fig. 3-8 shows EPU 354 being powered by battery pack 350) [0073]; wherein the first battery pack is electrically separate from a third battery pack configured to power a third electric engine (Fig. 2B shows first battery pack 1 is electrically separate from a third battery pack 3 configured to power a third electric engine 3) [0062];
wherein the first battery pack (Fig. 3-8 shows battery 300) is configured to act as a backup battery for powering the second electric engine (Fig. 3-8 shows EPU 354) via the high voltage bus (Fig. 3-8 shows common bus 314 carries power shared between battery 300 and battery 350) [0070, 0073];
wherein the second battery pack (Fig. 3-8 shows battery 350) is configured to act as a backup battery for powering the first electric engine (Fig. 3-8 shows EPU 304) via the high voltage bus (Fig. 3-8 shows common bus 314 carries power shared between battery 300, and battery 350) [0070];
isolate the first battery pack (Fig. 3-8 shows battery 300) from the second battery pack (Fig. 3-8 shows battery 350) upon detecting electrical issue (during overcurrent fault event first common bus electrical disconnection device 312 is disconnected thereby disconnecting battery 300 from battery 350) [0071] by transmitting a command to a first active fuse [0074-76] wherein the command is configured to blow a first active fuse (Fig. 3-8 shows first common bus electrical disconnection device 312 being an explosive fuse is blown) [0063, 0069, 0071-73, 0075]; and
isolate the second battery pack (Fig. 3-8 shows battery 350) from the first battery pack (Fig. 3-8 shows battery 300) upon detecting an electrical issue (in an event of overcurrent, second common bus electrical disconnection device 362 is blown thereby isolating battery 350 from battery 300) [0073-0074] by transmitting a command to a second active fuse, wherein the command is configured to blow the second active fuse (Fig. 3-8 shows second common bus electrical disconnection device 362 being an explosive fuse blown) [0074-75]; and determine contactor commands to cause the first battery pack to charge by connecting to a ground charging substation via a high voltage charging bus (Fig. 5 shows charger port 552 used to connect to an external charger to charge first battery pack 300) [0079-80].
However, Melack does not teach a first battery management system associated with a first battery pack; a second battery management system associated with a second battery pack; wherein the first battery management system is configured to monitor a state of the first battery pack; wherein the second battery management system is configured to monitor a state of the second battery pack.
However, Kirleis teaches a first battery management system associated with a first battery pack (Fig. 5 shows each battery array 200 i.e. first battery array comprises plurality of battery pack assemblies 202 each of which has first battery pack controller 730 comprising MCU 708 as shown in Fig. 7a) [(0062, 0075, 0081-0082, 0093]; a second battery management system associated with a second battery pack (Fig. 5 shows each battery array 200 i.e. second battery array comprises plurality of battery pack assemblies 202 each of which has second battery pack controller 730 comprising MCU 708 as shown in Fig. 7a) [0062, 0075, 0081-0082, 0093]; wherein the first battery management system is configured to monitor a state of the first battery pack (each of the MCU 708 i.e. first BMS for each battery packs 212 i.e. first battery monitor a state of said battery pack) [0083-0088, 0093]; wherein the second battery management system is configured to monitor a state of the second battery pack (each of the MCU 708 i.e. second BMS for each battery packs 212 i.e. second battery monitor a state of said battery pack) [0083-0088, 0093].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first battery management system associated with a first battery pack; a second battery management system associated with a second battery pack; wherein the
first battery management system is configured to monitor a state of the first battery pack; wherein the second battery management system is configured to monitor a state of the second battery pack as taught by Kirleis in order to individually monitor the state of each of the first and second battery packs thereby operating the power transfer with precision ensuring safe operating conditions.
Examiner’s Note: US 2023/0311663 (Isaji) teaches that explosive fuse i.e. pyro fuse as taught by Melack is an active fuse in paragraphs [0021, 0023, 0027] as is commonly known in the art.
Regarding claim 86, Melack teaches wherein the electrical issue is an overcurrent condition or short circuit condition [0043, 0063, 0069-0075].
Regarding claim 87, Melack teaches wherein the electrical issue is associated with the first electric engine, and transmitting the command to the first active fuse isolates the first electric engine from power supply (fault associated with EPU and blowing of the first common bus electrical disconnection device 312 disconnects EPU from battery 300) [0072, 0075].
Examiner’s Note: US 2023/0311663 (Isaji) teaches that explosive fuse i.e. pyro fuse as taught by Melack is an active fuse in paragraphs [0021, 0023, 0027] as is commonly known in the art.
Regarding claim 88, Melack teaches wherein the electrical issue is associated with the high voltage bus and the transmitting the command to the first active fuse isolates power supply to the first electric engine from power supply to the second electric engine (fault associated with high voltage bus 314 and blowing first common bus electrical disconnection device 312 separating battery 300 to the EPU 304 from battery 350 to EPU 354) [0071, 0075].
Examiner’s Note: US 2023/0311663 (Isaji) teaches that explosive fuse i.e. pyro fuse as taught by Melack is an active fuse in paragraphs [0021, 0023, 0027] as is commonly known in the art.
Regarding claim 89, Melack teaches wherein the electrical issue is associated with circuitry of the first battery pack and transmitting the command to the first active fuse isolates the first battery pack from supplying power to the first and second electric engines (fault associated with battery 300 and blowing of the first common bus electrical disconnection device 312 disconnects battery 300 from EPUs) [0072, 0075].
Examiner’s Note: US 2023/0311663 (Isaji) teaches that explosive fuse i.e. pyro fuse as taught by Melack is an active fuse in paragraphs [0021, 0023, 0027] as is commonly known in the art.
Regarding claim 93, Melack teaches wherein at least me of the first active fuse or the second active fuse is a pyro-technical fuse (first and second fuse is an explosive fuse i.e. pyro-technical fuse) [0075].
Examiner’s Note: US 2023/0311663 (Isaji) teaches that explosive fuse i.e. pyro fuse as taught by Melack is an active fuse in paragraphs [0021, 0023, 0027] as is commonly known in the art.
Regarding claim 94, Melack teaches wherein the first and second electric engines are power aircraft electric propulsion units (Fig. 3-8 shows EPUS i.e. electric propulsion units).
Regarding claim 96, Melack teaches a battery pack management system for a vehicle (Fig. 2A shows a system for battery management on a vehicle) [0062], configured to: a first battery pack (Fig. 2B shows first battery pack 1; Fig. 3-8 shows battery pack 300) [0062, 0069],
wherein the first battery pack (Fig. 2B shows first battery pack 1; Fig. 3-8 shows battery pack 300) [0062, 0069] is electrically connected to a second battery pack (Fig. 2B shows second battery pack 2; Fig. 3-8 shows battery pack 350) [0062, 0069] via a high voltage bus (Fig. 3-8 shows common bus 314) [0070], is configured to power to a first electric engine (Fig. 3-8 shows EPU 304 being powered by battery 300) [0069], and is configured to act as a backup battery) via the high bus (Fig. 3-8 shows common bus 314 carries power shared between battery 300 and battery 350) [0070, 0073]; and
isolate, by blowing an active fuse (Fig. 3-8 shows first common bus electrical disconnection device 312 is blown) [0071, 0075], the first battery pack (Fig. 2B shows first battery pack 1; Fig. 3-8 shows battery pack 300) [0062, 0069] from a second battery pack (Fig. 2B shows second battery pack 2; Fig. 3-8 shows battery pack 350) [0062, 0069] upon detecting an electrical issue (during overcurrent fault event first common bus electrical disconnection device 312 is disconnected thereby disconnecting battery 300 from battery 350) [0071], wherein the second battery pack (Fig. 2B shows second battery pack 2; Fig. 3-8 shows battery pack 350) [0062, 0069] is configured to power a second electric engine(Fig. 3-8 shows EPU 354) and is configured to act as a backup battery for powering the first electric engine (Fig. 3-8 shows EPU 304) via the high voltage bus (Fig. 3-8 shows common bus 314 carries power shared between battery 300, and battery 350) [0070].
However, Melack does not teach battery management system configured to monitor a state of the first battery pack.
However, Kirleis teaches battery management system (Fig. 5 shows each battery array 200 i.e. first battery array comprises plurality of battery pack assemblies 202 each of which has first battery pack controller 730 comprising MCU 708 as shown in Fig. 7a) [0062, 0075, 0081-0082, 0093] configured to monitor a state of the first battery pack (each of the MCU 708 Le. first BMS for each battery packs 212 1c. first battery monitor a state of said battery pack) [0083-0088, 0093].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have battery management system configured to monitor a state of the
first battery pack as taught by Kirleis in order to individually monitor the state of the first battery packs thereby operating the power transfer with precision ensuring safe operating conditions.
Examiner’s Note: US 2023/0311663 (Isaji) teaches that explosive fuse i.e. pyro fuse as taught by Melack is an active fuse in paragraphs [0021, 0023, 0027] as is commonly known in the art.
Regarding claim 97, Melack teaches wherein the electrical issue is an overcurrent condition or short circuit condition [0043, 0063, 0069-0075].
Regarding claim 98, Melack teaches wherein the electrical issue is associated with the first electric engine, and transmitting the command of the active fuse isolates the first electric engine from power supply (fault associated with EPU and blowing of the first common bus electrical disconnection device 312 disconnects EPU from battery 300) [0069, 0072].
Examiner’s Note: US 2023/0311663 (Isaji) teaches that explosive fuse i.e. pyro fuse as taught by Melack is an active fuse in paragraphs [0021, 0023, 0027] as is commonly known in the art.
Regarding claim 99, Melack teaches wherein the electrical issue is associated with the high voltage bus and transmitting the command of the active fuse isolates power supply to the first electric engine from power supply to the second electric engine (fault associated with high voltage bus 314 and blowing first common bus electrical disconnection device 312 separating battery 300 to the EPU 304 from battery 350 to EPU 354) [0071, 0075].
Examiner’s Note: US 2023/0311663 (Isaji) teaches that explosive fuse i.e. pyro fuse as taught by Melack is an active fuse in paragraphs [0021, 0023, 0027] as is commonly known in the art.
Regarding claim 100, Melack teaches wherein the electrical issue is associated with circuitry of the first battery pack and transmitting the command of the active fuse isolates the first battery pack from supplying power to the first and second electric engines (fault associated with battery 300 and blowing of the first common bus electrical disconnection device 312 disconnects battery 300 from EPUs) [0072, 0075].
Examiner’s Note: US 2023/0311663 (Isaji) teaches that explosive fuse i.e. pyro fuse as taught by Melack is an active fuse in paragraphs [0021, 0023, 0027] as is commonly known in the art.
Regarding claim 104, Melack teaches wherein the active fuse is a pyro-technical fuse (fuse is an explosive fuse i.e. pyro-technical fuse) [0075].
Examiner’s Note: US 2023/0311663 (Isaji) teaches that explosive fuse i.e. pyro fuse as taught by Melack is an active fuse in paragraphs [0021, 0023, 0027] as is commonly known in the art.
Regarding claim 105, Melack teaches wherein the first and second electric engines are power aircraft electric propulsion units (Fig. 3-8 shows EPUS i.e. electric propulsion units).
Claim(s) 90-92, 101-103 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0177145 (Melack) in view of US 2020/0274371 (Kirleis) further in view of US 2020/0346769 (Knapp).
Regarding claim 90, Melack does not teach wherein the first battery management system is configured to monitor a charge level for the first battery pack and to transmit information on the charge level to a charge control unit, wherein the charge control unit is configured to transmit information to a ground charging subsystem.
However, Kirleis teaches wherein the first battery management system is configured to monitor a charge level of the first battery pack and to transmit information associated with the charge level to a charge control unit (Fig. 5 shows each battery array 200 1.e. first battery array comprises plurality of battery pack assemblies 202 each of which has first battery pack controller 730 comprising MCU 708 as shown in Fig. 7a configured to monitor a charge level for the first battery pack 224 and to transmit information on the charge level to battery pack controller 730) [0083, 0088].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first battery management system is configured to monitor a charge level for the first battery pack and to transmit transmits information on the charge level to a charge control unit as taught by Kirleis in order to obtain the most accurate charge level information for the first battery pack thereby operating the system in a safe manner.
However, Knapp teaches wherein the charge control unit is configured to transmit information to a ground charging subsystem [0115, 0121].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the charge control unit is configured to transmit information to a ground charging subsystem as taught by Knapp in order to ensure that the battery packs are refueled efficiently and that information is relayed in an effective manner.
Regarding claim 91, Melack does not explicitly teach wherein the first battery management system is configured to monitor a temperature of monitors the first battery pack temperature and to transmit transmits information associated with the temperature of first battery pack temperature to a charge control unit; wherein the charge control unit is configured to transmit information to a ground charging subsystem.
However, Kirleis teaches wherein the first battery management system is configured to monitor a temperature of monitors the first battery pack temperature and to transmit information associated with the temperature of first battery pack temperature to a charge control unit (Fig. 5 shows each battery array 200 i.e. first battery array comprises plurality of battery pack assemblies 202 each of which has first battery pack controller 730 comprising MCU 708 as shown in Fig. 7a connected to temperature sensors 758 to monitor a temperature of battery pack and transmit data to battery pack controller 730 i.e. charge control unit) (0062, 0075, 0081-0082, 0093] [0062, 0083, 0086, 0094].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first battery management system is configured to monitor a temperature of monitors the first battery pack temperature and to transmit transmits information on the temperature of first battery pack temperature to a charge control unit as taught by Kirleis in order to control the power transfer more precisely and safely.
However, Knapp teaches wherein the charge control unit is configured to transmit information to a ground charging subsystem [0115, 0121].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the charge control unit is configured to transmit information to a ground charging subsystem as taught by Knapp in order to ensure that the battery packs are refueled efficiently and that information is relayed in an effective manner.
Regarding claim 92, Melack does not teach wherein the system further comprises a contactor and the first battery management system is configured to open the contactor, disconnecting the first battery pack from charging circuitry, upon receiving a signal from the charge control unit. However, Kirleis teaches wherein the system further comprises a contactor (Fig. 6 shows cross- tie switches 304) and the first battery management system (Fig. 5 shows each battery array 200 i.e. first battery array comprises plurality of battery pack assemblies 202 each of which has first battery pack controller 730 comprising MCU 708 as shown in Fig. 7a) is configured to open the contactor, disconnecting the first battery pack (Fig. 6 shows battery pack 224) from a charging
circuitry (Fig. 7a shows ASCU 302), upon receiving a signal from the charge control unit (Fig. 6 shows battery pack controller 730 sending signal to switch off cross-tie switches 304 in order to disconnect battery 224 from ASCU 302) [0075-0076].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a contactor and the first battery management system is configured to open a contactor, disconnecting the first battery pack from a charging circuitry, upon receiving a signal from the charge control unit as taught by Kirlies in order to disconnect the battery in an efficient manner during a fault event thereby maintaining the safety of the system.
Regarding claim 101, Melack does not teach wherein the battery pack management system monitors a charge level of the first battery pack and transmits information associated with the charge level to a charge control unit; wherein the charge control unit is configured to transmit information to a ground charging subsystem.
However, Kirleis teaches wherein the battery pack management system monitors a charge level for the first battery pack and transmits information associated with the charge level to a charge control unit. (Fig. 5 shows each battery array 200 1.e. first battery array comprises plurality of battery pack assemblies 202 each of which has first battery pack controller 730 comprising MCU 708 as shown in Fig. 7a configured to monitor a charge level for the first battery pack 224 and to transmit information on the charge level to battery pack controller 730) [0083, 0088].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the battery management system is configured to monitor a charge level for the first battery pack and to transmit transmits information on the charge level to a charge control unit as taught by Kirleis in order to obtain the most accurate charge level information for the first battery pack thereby operating the system in a safe manner.
However, Knapp teaches wherein the charge control unit is configured to transmit information to a ground charging subsystem [0115, 0121].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the charge control unit is configured to transmit information to a ground charging subsystem as taught by Knapp in order to ensure that the battery packs are refueled efficiently and that information is relayed in an effective manner.
Regarding claim 102, Melack does not teach wherein the battery pack management system monitors a temperature of the first battery pack and transmits information on the temperature of the first battery pack to the charge control unit; wherein the charge control unit is configured to transmit information to a ground charging subsystem.
However, Kirleis teaches wherein the battery pack management system monitors a temperature of the first battery pack and transmits information on the temperature of the first battery pack to the charge control unit (Fig. 5 shows each battery array 200 i.e. first battery array comprises plurality of battery pack assemblies 202 each of which has first battery pack controller 730 comprising MCU 708 as shown in Fig. 7a connected to temperature sensors 758 to monitor a temperature of battery pack and transmit data to ASCU 302 ie. charge control unit) [0062, 0075, 0081-0082, 0093] [0062, 0083, 0086, 0094].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the battery pack management system monitors a temperature of the first battery pack and transmits information on the temperature of the first battery pack to the charge control unit as taught by Kirleis in order to control the power transfer more precisely and safely.
However, Knapp teaches wherein the charge control unit is configured to transmit information to a ground charging subsystem [0115, 0121].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the charge control unit is configured to transmit information to a ground charging subsystem as taught by Knapp in order to ensure that the battery packs are refueled efficiently and that information is relayed in an effective manner.
Regarding claim 103, Melack does not teach wherein the battery pack management system further comprises a contactor and the battery pack management system opens the contactor, disconnecting the first battery pack from a charging circuitry, upon receiving a signal from the charge control unit.
However, Kirleis teaches wherein the battery pack management system further comprises a contactor (Fig. 6 shows cross-tie switches 304) and the battery pack management system (Fig. 5 shows each battery array 200 i.e. first battery array comprises plurality of battery pack assemblies 202 each of which has first battery pack controller 730 comprising MCU 708 as shown in Fig. 7a) opens the contactor (Fig. 6 shows cross-tie switches 304), disconnecting the first battery pack (Fig. 6 shows battery pack 224) from a charging circuitry (Fig. 7a shows ASCU 302), upon receiving a signal from the charge control unit (Fig. 6 shows battery pack controller 730 sending signal to switch off cross-tie switches 304 in order to disconnect battery 224 from ASCU 302) [0075-0076].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a contactor and the first battery management system is configured to open a contactor, disconnecting the first battery pack from a charging circuitry, upon receiving a signal from the charge control unit as taught by Kirlies in order to disconnect the battery in an efficient manner during a fault event thereby maintaining the safety of the system.
Conclusion
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836