DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a. air-moving device in at least claim 4.
b. fluid-heating device in at least claim 7.
c. refrigerant actuator in at least claim 8.
Air-moving device is interpreted to cover at least one of a fan or an air blower as per para [0029] of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
Fluid-heating device is interpreted to cover a shelf heater tank per Fig. 4 of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
Refrigerant actuator is interpreted to cover a valve as per para [0054] of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rutishauser (US 3115019 A) in view of Jouhara (US 20180008061 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Rutishauser discloses a temperature-controlled foodservice unit (Fig. 1), comprising:
a body including a frame and defining a chamber (see Fig. 1); and
a plurality of temperature-controlled systems operatively coupled with the frame and configured for transferring heat with respect to a food product #24 positioned within the chamber, the plurality of temperature-controlled systems including:
a temperature-controlled shelf system including at least one shelf #26 and at least one fluid passageway #18, the at least one shelf being positioned within the chamber, the at least one fluid passageway being associated with the at least one shelf and configured for carrying a fluid therein so as to transfer heat by thermal conduction and thermal radiation with respect to the food product positioned on the at least one shelf (see airflow diagram of Fig. 1 and corresponding description thereof); and
a temperature-controlled air system #2 configured for moving air through the chamber so as to transfer heat by thermal convection with respect to the food product positioned on the at least one shelf and for supplying air to the chamber from opposing directions (see airflow diagram of Fig. 1 and corresponding description thereof).
Note: the limitation “the at least one fluid passageway … configured for carrying a fluid, which is a liquid” is functional language. The fluid has not been claimed as part of the invention. An apparatus claim is evaluated against the prior art based on the underlying structure required to achieve a function; rather than just the abstract capability or action (Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc. (909 F.2d 1464, 1469) - MPEP § 2114). Furthermore, the fluid passageway #18 of Rutishauser is capable of carrying a liquid.
For sake of compact prosecution; even if Rutishauser did not disclose wherein the at least one fluid passageway was configured for carrying a liquid; Jouhara, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that it is known to provide a temperature-controlled shelf #10 with passageways #50 configured for carrying a liquid ([0044]).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Rutishauser with the at least one fluid passageway configured for carrying a liquid; in a similar manner as taught by Jouhara.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have improved thermal uniformity and heat transfer efficiency at least by virtue of reducing localized hot spots.
Regarding claim 2:
Rutishauser either alone or as modified discloses all the limitations.
Rutishauser further discloses wherein the temperature-controlled air system includes a first air supply plenum (see Fig. 1 of Rutishauser Reproduced and Annotated below), a second air supply plenum (see Fig. 1 below), and an air return plenum #30, the first air supply plenum including a first wall with a first plurality of holes #22, the second air supply plenum including a second wall with a second plurality of holes (see Fig. 1), the air return plenum including a third wall with a third plurality of holes (see Fig. 1 below).
Fig. 1 of Rutishauser Reproduced and Annotated
Regarding claim 3:
Rutishauser either alone or as modified discloses all the limitations.
Rutishauser further discloses wherein the first wall is a first side wall, the second wall is a second side wall opposing the first side wall (see Fig. 1 above), and the third wall is a rear wall (the third wall is a rear wall at least with respect to the positioning of articles #24 in the unit).
Regarding claim 4:
Rutishauser either alone or as modified discloses all the limitations.
Rutishauser further discloses wherein the temperature-controlled air system includes an air-moving device #16 configured for moving the air within the temperature-controlled air system and thereby for increasing or decreasing a velocity of the air (see Fig. 1 above), the air-moving device being configured for receiving the air from the third plurality of holes and for moving the air to the first plurality of holes and the second plurality of holes (see airflow diagram of Fig. 1 and corresponding description thereof).
Regarding claim 5:
Rutishauser either alone or as modified discloses all the limitations.
Rutishauser further discloses a first heat exchanger #14 configured for conditioning the air before the air enters the chamber by way of the first plurality of holes and the second plurality of holes (see airflow diagram of Fig. 1 and corresponding description thereof; including airflow across evaporators #14).
Regarding claim 6:
Rutishauser either alone or as modified discloses all the limitations.
Rutishauser further discloses wherein the temperature-controlled shelf system is configured such that the fluid carried therein flows through the first heat exchanger before the fluid enters the chamber such that the fluid and the air transfer heat by way of the first heat exchanger (see airflow diagram of Fig. 1 and corresponding description thereof).
Regarding claims 9-14:
If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will perform the claimed process. Thus, the method of claims 9-14, as claimed, would necessarily result from the normal operation of the apparatus of claims 1-6. See MPEP 2112.02. Refer to the rejection of claims 1-6 above for the rejection of claims 9-14.
Claim(s) 7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rutishauser (US 3115019 A) in view of Jouhara (US 20180008061 A1); and further in view of Swofford (US 20100212343 A1).
Regarding claim 7:
Rutishauser further discloses a refrigerant system configured for circulating a refrigerant therein, and the temperature-controlled foodservice unit is configured for using the refrigerant to cool the fluid of the temperature-controlled shelf system and thereby also the air of the temperature-controlled air system. (see Fig. 1 and associated description thereof).
Rutishauser either alone or as modified does not disclose wherein the temperature-controlled shelf system includes a fluid-heating device configured for heating the fluid and a second heat exchanger configured for cooling the fluid by way of the refrigerant.
In the same field of endeavor, Swofford teaches a temperature-controlled foodservice unit (Fig. 1) provided with a temperature-controlled shelf system #30 that includes a fluid-heating device #24 configured for heating a fluid (from #22; [0022]) and a second heat exchanger #42 configured for cooling the fluid by way of a refrigerant ([0020] & [0025]).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Rutishauser with the claimed arrangement as taught by Swofford.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have minimized humidity within the storage space so as to prevent frost formation on the shelves as suggested by Swofford (abstract & para [0002]).
Regarding claim 14:
Refer to the rejection of claim 7 above (MPEP 2112.02).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
There is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the prior art of record to incorporate a control system operatively coupled with the temperature-controlled shelf system and the temperature-controlled air system, the control system including a first sensor configured for (i) sensing an air temperature of the air in the temperature-controlled air system, (ii) outputting an air temperature signal corresponding to the air temperature that is sensed; a controller configured for (i) receiving the air temperature signal, (ii) determining, based at least in part on the air temperature signal, an air temperature adjustment, (iii) outputting, based at least in part on the air temperature adjustment, an air temperature adjustment signal to at least one of the air-moving device and a refrigerant actuator; a second sensor configured for (i) sensing a fluid temperature of the fluid in the temperature-controlled shelf system, (ii) outputting a fluid temperature signal corresponding to the fluid temperature that is sensed; wherein the controller is further configured for (i) receiving the fluid temperature signal, (ii) determining, based at least in part on the fluid temperature signal, a fluid temperature adjustment, (iii) outputting, based at least in part on the fluid temperature adjustment, a fluid temperature adjustment signal to at least one of the fluid-heating device and the refrigerant actuator; and the associated method thereof.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/23/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant submitted that in Rutishauser, air flows through the shelf; not liquid (as claimed). It was pointed out to the applicant that Jouhara, in the same field of endeavor, teaches that it is known to provide a temperature-controlled shelf #10 with passageways #50 configured for carrying a liquid ([0044]). Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Rutishauser with the at least one fluid passageway configured for carrying a liquid; in a similar manner as taught by Jouhara. One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have improved thermal uniformity and heat transfer efficiency at least by virtue of reducing localized hot spots.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liebermann (US 5404935 A) teaches a refrigerative shelving arrangement comprising a heat-absorbing shelf containing a plurality of passages for conveying a working fluid in both liquid and gaseous states around an interior portion of the shelf.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763