DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/25/2025 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 02/07/2025 have been accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 9-10, 12, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by ZHOU [US 2019/0102291].
Claim 1, ZHOU discloses a system comprising: a plurality of storage devices; and a storage controller operatively coupled to the plurality of storage devices [Fig. 2], the storage controller external to the plurality of storage devices [microprocessor 108], the storage controller offloading management of the plurality of storage devices from respective storage device controllers, the storage controller comprising a processing device, the processing device configured to: associate a first number of blocks of a storage device of the plurality of storage devices to a first portion of the storage device and a second number of blocks of the storage device to a second portion of the storage device [par. 0043 wherein based on metadata, allocation to the nonvolatile or volatile memory occurs] based on one or more performance parameters associated with data resiliency [controller receives write command which includes descriptor metadata, Fig 3, steps S302-S306], the first portion associated with a different resiliency than the second portion [par. 0043]; receive a modification to the one or more performance parameters; and adjust the first number of blocks associated to the first portion and the second number of blocks associated with the second portion based on the modification to the one or more performance parameters [volatile and nonvolatile zones, wherein each is referred to the target zone depending on the information gathered from the write command, par. 0043].
Claim 2, ZHOU discloses the system of claim1, wherein the first portion is associated with a different programming mode than the second portion [volatile and nonvolatile zones, wherein each is referred to the target zone depending on the information gathered from the write command, par. 0043].
Claim 4, ZHOU discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the first portion of the storage device has a higher resiliency than the second portion of the storage device [volatile and nonvolatile zones, wherein each is referred to the target zone depending on the information gathered from the write command, par. 0043].
Claims 9-10, 12, 17-10 are rejected using the same rationale as claims 1-2, 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU [US 2019/0102291] in view of Wang et al. [US 2019/0042422].
Claim 3, ZHOU discloses the system of claim 1. ZHOU fails to teach, yet Wang et al. discloses the first portion is a single-level cell (SLC) memory and the second portion is a multi-level cell (MLC) memory [volatile and nonvolatile memory may be programmed as SLC, MLC, TLC, QLC among other configurations, par. 0028]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of ZHOU to include such configurations as disclosed by Wang et al. since these are all well known configurations for memory modules.
Claims 11 is rejected using the same rationale as Claim 3.
Claims 5, 13, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU [US 2019/0102291] in view of Peterson et al. [US 2016/0188219].
Claim 5, ZHOU discloses the system of Claim 1. ZHOU does not teach but Peterson et al. discloses the one or more performance parameters associated with data stored at the storage device of the plurality of storage devices comprises a storage capacity of the system [write capacity metadata, par. 0097]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the metadata taught by ZHOU to include the storage capacity information as taught by Peterson et al. since doing so helps optimize data placement and allocation strategies.
Claims 13 and 20 are rejected using the same rationale as Claim 5.
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU [US 2019/0102291] in view of Chen et al. [US 2018/0314550].
Claim 6, ZHOU discloses the system of claim 1. ZHOU fails to teach, yet Chen et al. discloses the one or more performance parameters associated with data stored at the storage device of the plurality of storage devices comprises a read/write latency of storage system operations performed by the system [claim 8]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the metadata taught by ZHOU to include the latency information as taught by Chen et al. since doing so helps in fine tuning the performance on the storage system.
Claim 14 is rejected using the same rationale as Claim 6.
Claims 7-8, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU [US 2019/0102291] in view of Navon et al. [US 2018/0276113].
Claim 7, ZHOU discloses the system of claim 1. ZHOU does not teach by Navon discloses the processing device is further to: allocate one or more blocks of the storage device to the first portion of the storage device upon determining that a number of program/erase cycles to program data to the one or more blocks exceeds a threshold [allocation based on program erase cycle status/threshold, par 0050]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of ZHOU to include the allocation parameters as disclosed by Navon since these facilitate efficient garbage collection.
Claim 8, ZHOU discloses he system of claim 1. ZHOU does not teach but Navon et al. discloses the processing device is further to: rotate which blocks of the storage device are allocated to the first portion and the second portion based on a number of program/erase cycles performed on each of the blocks [allocation based on program erase cycle status/threshold, par. 0050]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of ZHOU to include the allocation parameters as disclose by Navon since these facilitate efficient garbage collection.
Claims 15-16 are rejected using the same rationale as claims 7-8.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-9, 11-17, 19-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12236117. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the limitations found in claims 1-20 of the instant application can be found in claims 1, 3-9, 11-17, 19-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12236117.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Prather et al. [US 10/489,316]; Method for Performing Multiple Memory Operations in Response to a Single Command and Memory Devices and Systems Employing the Same. See Abstract.
/MIDYS ROJAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2133