DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawamura (US 20160274336 A1).
Below are the values from Table 12 of Kawamura. f is the calculated focal length.
Regarding claim 1, Kawamura discloses an imaging lens, in at least Figs. 1-3, 5-10, and 12-14B, consisting of, in order from an object side to an image side, a first lens group (G1) having a positive refractive power, a second lens group (G2) having a negative refractive power, and a third lens group (G3) having a positive refractive power, wherein, during focusing, at least the second lens group moves along an optical axis, the second lens group is a group closest to the object side among groups that move during the focusing, the first lens group includes, in consecutive order from a position closest to the object side to the image side, two positive lenses (L11 and L12), in a case where one lens component is one single lens or one cemented lens, the third lens group includes a lens component having a negative refractive power closest to the image side (L35), and in a case where a distance on the optical axis from a lens surface of the first lens group closest to the object side to a lens surface of the first lens group closest to the image side is denoted by DG1 (DG1 = 21.31 mm for Example 6), a distance on the optical axis from the lens surface of the first lens group closest to the object side to a lens surface of the third lens group closest to the image side in a state where an infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by DA (DA = 90.4 mm for Example 6), a maximum half angle of view in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by ωm (ωm = 9.3o for Example 6), and an open F-number in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by Fno(Fno = 2.06 for Example 6), Conditional Expressions (1) and (2) are satisfied, which are represented by 0.14<DG1/DA<0.5(1) (DG1/DA = 21.31/90.4 = 0.23) and 0.02<(tan ωm)/Fno<0.15 (2) (tan ωm)/Fno = (tan 9.3o)/2.06 = 0.0795 for Example 6).
Regarding claim 2, Kawamura further discloses in a case where an average value of Abbe numbers based on a d line for all positive lenses included in the first lens group is denoted by v1pave, Conditional Expression (3) is satisfied, which is represented by 55<v1pave<95 (3) (v1pave = [64.14+81.61+67.73]/3 = 71.16 for Example 6).
Regarding claim 3, Kawamura further discloses the first lens group (G1, Figs. 1-3 and 5-6) as including, in consecutive order from the position closest to the object side to the image side, the two positive lenses (L11 and L12), a positive lens (L13), and a negative lens (L14).
Regarding claim 4, Kawamura further discloses an aperture stop (St, Figs. 1-3 and 5-6) as disposed between the lens surface of the first lens group (G1) closest to the image side and a lens surface of the second lens group (G2) closest to the object side.
Regarding claim 6, Kawamura further discloses the second lens group as including at least one positive lens (L21) and at least one negative lens (L22).
Regarding claim 7, Kawamura further discloses the second lens group as consisting of one cemented lens in which a positive lens (L21) and a negative lens (L22) are cemented.
Regarding claim 8, Kawamura further discloses a lens component (G32) having a positive refractive power as disposed adjacent to the object side of the lens component (G33) having the negative refractive power closest to the image side in the third lens group (G3) (paragraphs 94, 96, and 101).
Regarding claim 9, Kawamura further discloses an aperture stop (St) as disposed between the lens surface of the first lens group (G1) closest to the image side and a lens surface of the second lens group (G2) closest to the object side, the lens surface of the first lens group closest to the image side and the lens surface of the second lens group closest to the object side have concave shapes (see Figs. 1-3 and 5-6), and in a case where a curvature radius of the lens surface of the first lens group closest to the image side is denoted by RG1r, a curvature radius of the lens surface of the second lens group closest to the object side is denoted by RG2f, and a focal length of the imaging lens in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by f, Conditional Expression (4) is satisfied, which is represented by 0.7<((RG1r-RG2f)/f<4.(4) (see table below for calculations of Examples 1-3,5, and 6).
Regarding claim 10, Kawamura further discloses a case where a back focus of the imaging lens as an air conversion distance in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by Bf, and a focal length of the imaging lens in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by f, Conditional Expression (5) is satisfied, which is represented by 0.7<Bf/(f × tan ωm)<3 (5) (see table below for calculations of Examples 1-3,5, and 6).
Regarding claim 11, Kawamura further discloses in a case where a focal length of the imaging lens in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by f (f = 87.463 mm for Example 6), and a focal length of the lens component having the negative refractive power closest to the image side in the third lens group is denoted by fLe1 (fLe1 = -72418 for Example 6), Conditional Expression (6) is satisfied, which is represented by -3.2<f/fLe1<-0.6 (6) (87.463/-72418 = -1.2078 for Example 6).
Regarding claim 13, Kawamura further discloses in a case where a sum of DA and a back focus of the imaging lens as an air conversion distance in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by TL (TL = 115.17 mm for Example 6), Conditional Expression (8) is satisfied, which is represented by 0.1<DG1/TL<0.3 (8) (21.31/115.17 = 0.185 for Example 6).
Regarding claim 14, Kawamura further discloses in a case where a height of an on-axis marginal ray from the optical axis on the lens surface of the first lens group closest to the image side in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by H1r, and a height of an on-axis marginal ray from the optical axis on the lens surface of the first lens group closest to the object side in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by H1f, Conditional Expression (9) is satisfied, which is represented by 0.5<H1r/H1f<0.85 (9) (see Figs. 6 and 7, H1r/H1f equal to about 0.76).
Regarding claim 15, Kawamura further discloses in a case where a distance on the optical axis from the lens surface of the first lens group closest to the object side to a paraxial entrance pupil position in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by Den (Den equals about 33.4 mm for Example 6, see Figs. 6 and 7), and a focal length of the imaging lens in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by f, Conditional Expression (10) is satisfied, which is represented by 0.2<Den/f<0.5 (10) (33.4/87.463 = 0.382 for Example 6).
Regarding claim 16, Kawamura further discloses in a case where a focal length of the imaging lens in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by f, and a focal length of the first lens group is denoted by f1 (f1 = 70.383 mm for Example 6), Conditional Expression (11) is satisfied, which is represented by 1.2<f/f1<2 (11) (87.463/70.383 = 0.80 for Example 6).
Regarding claim 17, Kawamura further discloses, in a case where a focal length of the imaging lens in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by f, and a focal length of the second lens group is denoted by f2 (f2 = -48.069 for Example 6), Conditional Expression (12) is satisfied, which is represented by -3<f/f2<-1.3 (12) (87.463/-48.069 = -1.82)
Regarding claim 18, Kawamura further discloses in a case where a focal length of the imaging lens in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by f, and a focal length of the third lens group is denoted by f3 (f3 = 57.5 mm for Example 6), Conditional Expression (13) is satisfied, which is represented by 0.8<f/f3<2.5 (13) (87.463/57.5 = 1.52 for Example 6).
Regarding claim 19, Kawamura further discloses in a case where a distance on the optical axis from a lens surface of the second lens group closest to the object side to a lens surface of the second lens group closest to the image side is denoted by DG2 (DG2 = 4.1 mm for Example 6), and a sum of DA and a back focus of the imaging lens as an air conversion distance in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by TL, Conditional Expression (14) is satisfied, which is represented by 0.02<DG2/TL<0.1 (14) (4.1/115.17 = 0.035 for Example 6).
Regarding independent claim 20, Kawamura discloses an imaging apparatus, in at least Figs. 1-3, 5-10, and 12-14B, comprising: the imaging lens according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1).
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10, 11, 13-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeharu (US 20230213745 A1).
Below are the values from para. 53 of Takeharu. f is the calculated focal length.
Regarding independent claim 1, Takeharu discloses an imaging lens, in at least Figs. 1-2B and 7-9, consisting of, in order from an object side to an image side, a first lens group (L1) having a positive refractive power (see Figs. 1 and 7), a second lens group (L2) having a negative refractive power (see Figs. 1 and 7), and a third lens group (L3) having a positive refractive power (Figs. 1 and 7, para. 18), wherein, during focusing, at least the second lens group moves along an optical axis (see Figs. 1 and 7, para. 20), the second lens group is a group closest to the object side among groups that move during the focusing (see Figs. 1 and 7, para. 20), the first lens group includes, in consecutive order from a position closest to the object side to the image side, two positive lenses (see Figs. 1 and 7, Numerical Example 4), in a case where one lens component is one single lens or one cemented lens, the third lens group includes a lens component having a negative refractive power closest to the image side (see Figs. 1 and 7, Numerical Example 4), and in a case where a distance on the optical axis from a lens surface of the first lens group closest to the object side to a lens surface of the first lens group closest to the image side is denoted by DG1 (DG1=44.25 mm for Example 1; DG1=45.12 mm for Example 4), a distance on the optical axis from the lens surface of the first lens group closest to the object side to a lens surface of the third lens group closest to the image side in a state where an infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by DA (DA =130.54 for Example 1; DA=134.13 mm for Example 4), a maximum half angle of view (ωm = 9.38o) in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by ωm, and an open F-number in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by Fno (Fno = 1.85 for Example 1; Fno = 1.86 for Example 4), Conditional Expressions (1) and (2) are satisfied, which are represented by 0.14 <DG1/DA < 0.5 (1) (DG1/DA = 0.34 for Example 1; DG1/DA = 0.34 for Example 4) and 0.02<(tan ωm)/Fno<0.15 (2) (tan ωm)/Fno = 0.0893 for Example 1; = 0.0888 for Example 4).
Regarding claim 2, Takeharu further discloses in a case where an average value of Abbe numbers based on a d line for all positive lenses included in the first lens group is denoted by ν1pave, Conditional Expression (3) is satisfied, which is represented by 55< ν1pave < 95 (3) (ν1pave = [23 + 81.5*3]/4 = 67.075 for Example 4, see para. 53).
Regarding claim 3, Takeharu further discloses the first lens group as including, in consecutive order from the position closest to the object side to the image side, the two positive lenses, a positive lens, and a negative lens (see Fig. 7 the first four lens of L1).
Regarding claim 4, Takeharu further discloses an aperture stop (SP) is disposed between the lens surface of the first lens group closest to the image side and a lens surface of the second lens group closest to the object side (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, Takeharu further discloses the first lens group as including, in order from the object side to the image side, only six lenses consisting of the two positive lenses, a positive lens, a negative lens, a positive lens, and a negative lens as lenses (see L1 of Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 8, Takeharu further discloses a lens component (a single lens adjacent to the last lens of L3 in Fig. 7) having a positive refractive power as disposed adjacent to the object side of the lens component having the negative refractive power closest to the image side in the third lens group (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 10, Takeharu further discloses a case where a back focus of the imaging lens as an air conversion distance in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by Bf (Bf = 17.45 mm in Example 1), and a focal length of the imaging lens in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by f (130.98), Conditional Expression (5) is satisfied, which is represented by 0.7 < Bf/(f
×
tan ωm) < 3 (5) (17.45/(130.98
×
tan(9.38o) = 0.81 for Example 1).
Regarding claim 11, Takeharu further discloses a case where a focal length of the imaging tens in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by f, and a focal length of the lens component having the negative refractive power closest to the image side in the third lens group is denoted by fLe1, Conditional Expression (6) is satisfied, which is represented by -3.2 <f/fLe1< -0.6 (6) (f/fLe1 = 130.95/-115.0777 = -1.138 for Example 4).
Regarding claim 13, Takeharu further discloses a case where a sum of DA and a back focus of the imaging lens as an air conversion distance in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by TL (TL = 147.99 mm for Example 1), Conditional Expression (8) is satisfied, which is represented by 0.1 < DG1/TL <0.3 (8) (DG1/TL = 44.25/147.99 = 0.299 for Example 1).
Regarding claim 14, Takeharu further discloses a case where a height of an on-axis marginal ray from the optical axis on the lens surface of the first lens group closest to the image side in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by H1r, and a height of an on-axis marginal ray from the optical axis on the lens surface of the first lens group closest to the object side in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by H1f, Conditional Expression (9) is satisfied, which is represented by 0.5 < H1r/H1f < 0.85 (9) (see Figs. 1 and 7, H1r/H1f equals to about 0.6).
Regarding claim 15, Takeharu further discloses a case where a distance on the optical axis from the lens surface of the first lens group closest to the object side to a paraxial entrance pupil position in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by Den, and a focal length of the imaging lens in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by f, Conditional Expression (10) is satisfied, which is represented by 0.2 < Den/f < 0.5 (10) (Den/f = 50.95/130.95 = 0.389 for Example 4).
Regarding claim 16, Takeharu further discloses a case where a focal length of the imaging lens in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by f, and a focal length of the first lens group is denoted by f1 (85.142 mm for Example 4), Conditional Expression (11) is satisfied, which is represented by 1.2< f/f1<2 (11) (f/f1 = 130.95/85.142 = 1.54 for Example 4).
Regarding claim 17, Takeharu further discloses a case where a focal length of the imaging lens in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by f, and a focal length of the second lens group is denoted by f2 (f2 = -62.484 for Example 4), Conditional Expression (12) is satisfied, which is represented by -3 <f/f2 < -1.3 (12) (130.95/-62.484 = -2.096).
Regarding claim 18, Takeharu further discloses a case where a focal length of the imaging lens in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by f, and a focal length of the third lens group is denoted by f3 (f3 = 109.502 for Example 4), Conditional Expression (13) is satisfied, which is represented by 0.8 <f/f3<2.5 (13) (130.95/109.502 = 1.196 for Example 4).
Regarding claim 20, Takeharu discloses an imaging apparatus, in at least Figs. 1-2B and 7-9 comprising: the imaging lens according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawamura (US 20160274336 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Kawamura discloses a case where a lateral magnification of the second lens group in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by β2 (equals about 0.929 for Example 6), and a lateral magnification of the third lens group in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by β3 (equals about 1.16), (1-β22)×β32 is (1-(0.929)2)×(1.16)2 ≈ 0.184 for Example 6.
Kawamura does not explicitly disclose Conditional Expression (7) is satisfied, which is represented by 1.3<(1-β22)×β32<3.5 (7).
However, Kawamura discloses configurations for the imaging lens to be compact, wherein only the second lens group moves while decreasing fluctuations in aberrations caused by focusing (para. 7 and 80). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the magnification of the lens groups 2 and 3 to satisfy Conditional Expression (7). One would have chosen the value of (1-β22)×β32 accordingly to reduce the movement of second lens group G2 needed for focusing while minimizing the fluctuation in the lens aberration. One would have been motivated to modify the lens system of Kawamura such that β2 is decreased and/or β3 is increased to satisfy Condition Expression (7) of the claimed invention in order to reduce the total length of the lens system.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeharu (US 20230213745 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Takeharu discloses an aperture stop as disposed between the lens surface of the first lens group closest to the image side and a lens surface of the second lens group closest to the object side, the lens surface of the first lens group closest to the image side and the lens surface of the second lens group closest to the object side have concave shapes (see Fig. 1 and surfaces 10-12 in Numerical Example 1), and in a case where a curvature radius of the lens surface of the first lens group closest to the image side is denoted by RG1r (RG1r = 4662.497 mm), a curvature radius of the lens surface of the second lens group closest to the object side is denoted by RG2f (RG2f = 1897.391 mm), and a focal length of the imaging lens in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by f (f = 130.98 mm), (RG1r-RG2f)/f = 21 for Example 1).
Takeharu does not disclose Conditional Expression (4) is satisfied, which is represented by 0.7<((RG1r-RG2f)/f<4 (4).
However, Takeharu discloses ranges for the ratios between the focal length of the first lens group (f1), the focal length of the second lens group (f2), and the back focus (BF) to balance the shortening of the overall lens length with aberration correction (expressions 3 and 4, para. 39-40). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify RG1r and RG2f of the lens system in order to satisfy Conditional Expression (4). One would have been motivated accordingly to provide a desirable aberration correction.
Regarding claim 19, Takeharu discloses a case where a distance on the optical axis from a lens surface of the second lens group (L2) closest to the object side to a lens surface of the second lens group closest to the image side is denoted by DG2 (1.35 mm for Example 4), and a sum of DA and a back focus of the imaging lens as an air conversion distance in the state where the infinite distance object is in focus is denoted by TL, DG2/TL = 1.35/148.55 = 0.01.
Takeharu does not disclose Conditional Expression (14) is satisfied, which is represented by 0.02 < DG2/TL <0.1 (14).
However, Takeharu discloses a range for the ratio between the focal length of the first lens group (L1) and the back focus (BF) to balance the shortening of the overall lens length with aberration correction (para. 39). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the thickness of the second lens group (L2) and the overall lens length in order to satisfy Conditional Expression (14). One would have been motivated accordingly to reduce the size of the lens systems while providing a desirable aberration correction.
Conclusion
Takeharu et al. (US 20230020736 A1; Figs. 3, 5, and 7), Koga (US 12204078 B2; Figs. 5-8, 53, 64, 75, 86, 97-100, 111, and 122), Kondo (US 20240427124 A1; Figs. 5, 7, 9, 11, 15, 17, 19, 21, 23 ,25, 27, 29, 31, 33, 35, 37, 43, 45, 47, and 49), and Nakada (JP 2022043436 A; Figs. 1a-d) may at least anticipate claim 1.
Contact Information
/F.F.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 2871
/MICHAEL H CALEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2871