DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s amendment and argument received on 07/14/2026 in an RCE has been considered. It is noted that claims 1 and 17 have been amended.
Response to Amendment
The amended claims submitted as part of the “Amendment Submitted/Entered” on 07/14/2026 should have been submitted as a separate paper as required by 37 CFR 1.4(c). The paper has been entered. However, all future correspondence must comply with 37 CFR 1.4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sohn et al (US 2022/0134217) in view of Haskin et al (US 2024/0020968).
Regarding claims 1, 7, 17, 18, and 20: Sohn et al discloses a drone gaming/racing system, comprising: a plurality of gates (see figure 10; paragraph [0021], showing one more gates for a drone to pass through), wherein each of the plurality of gates include: at least two sensors configured to capture sensor data, and a microprocessor configured to process the sensor data to determine at least gate pass indicators (see abstract; figure 9; paragraphs [0015]-[0017], showing multiple sensors);a control system communicatively coupled to the plurality of gates, wherein the control system is configured to: receive the sensor data and the gate pass indicators (see paragraph [0016], showing controller for receiving signals);update, based on the sensor data and the gate pass indicators, tracking data for a plurality of drones while the plurality of drones navigate the plurality of gates (see abstract; paragraphs [0005] and [0007]); and perform at least one action based on the tracking data (see abstract; paragraphs [0005] and [0007], showing performing an action such as scoring points by a goal based on detection of the drone by the sensors).
In an analogous invention, Haskin et al teaches wherein the at least two sensors include an accelerometer, infer skill levels of user using a machine learning model and adjusting points based on the sensor data from the accelerometer (see paragraphs [0002], [0028], [0034], showing an Inertial Measurement Unit (TMU) further measures and reports a body's specific force, angular rate, and sometimes the magnetic field surrounding the body, using a combination of accelerometers and gyroscopes, sometimes also magnetometers. IMUs are typically used to maneuver aircraft, including Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs), among many others, and spacecraft, including satellites and landers. The IMU is the main component of inertial navigation systems used in aircraft, spacecraft, watercraft, drones. Improving georegistration accuracy by using machine learning or neural networks for identifying, ignoring, using, or handling static and dynamic objects in a video captured by an airborne vehicle, such as a drone).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Sohn’s drone racing game as taught by Haskin’s accelerometer and machine learning, for the purpose of providing a racing game, whereby the movement and impact of the drone is detected using an accelerometer and whereby improvement is made to the game play using machine learning. This yields the expected result of improving the racing system and thereby increasing the user’s satisfaction in the game play.
Regarding claim 2: Sohn et al discloses wherein the at least two sensors include an RFID sensor and a camera (see paragraphs [0053], [0054], [0061]).
Regarding claim 3: Sohn et al discloses wherein the RFID sensor is configured to detect an RFID tag attached to a drone passing through or near a gate (see paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 4: Sohn et al discloses wherein the camera is positioned to capture images of drones passing through its own gate and/or other gates (see paragraphs [0054] and [0061]).
Regarding claims 5, 19: Sohn et al discloses wherein the gates are arranged in a specific sequence for gameplay or racing (see figure 10; paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 6: Sohn et al discloses wherein the gates include indicator lights, and the indicator lights are controlled to change color based on a drone passing through a defined volume of space associated with a gate (see paragraphs [0039], [0044], [0053], [0062]).
Regarding claim 10: Sohn et al discloses wherein the gates are configured to withstand impacts from drones (see paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 11: Sohn et al discloses wherein the gates are circular hoops and/or polygonal hoops (see paragraph [0044]).
Regarding claim 12: Sohn et al discloses wherein the gates are arranged in a grid pattern or in a circuit (see figure 10; paragraph [0053]).
Regarding claim 13: Sohn et al discloses wherein the system is configured for outdoor use or inside use (see paragraph [0023]).
Regarding claim 14: Sohn et al discloses wherein the gates are arranged on adjustable legs in the specific sequence (see paragraph [0009], showing gate arranged as a goal post for soccer drone game).
Regarding claim 15: Sohn et al discloses wherein the gates are arranged on a frame in the specific sequence (see figure 10; paragraphs [0007] and [0010]).
Regarding claim 16: Sohn et al discloses wherein the frame and an adjacent volume of space is enclosed by a net (see paragraph [0009], showing gate arranged as a goal post for soccer drone game).
Regarding claims 17 and 20: Sohn et al discloses a drone gaming system, comprising: a plurality of hoops, wherein each of the plurality of hoops include a set of sensors (see figure 10, paragraph [0021], showing a drone game system using a drone pass multi-detection sensor gate, includes one or more gates having a ring-shaped structure through which a drone is able to pass during flight, a first pass detection sensor disposed in an inner front of the gate to detect whether a drone in flight passes through the gate from a front of the gate, a second pass detection sensor disposed in inner rear of the gate to detect whether the drone detected by the first pass detection sensor passes through the gate from a rear of the gate), the set of sensors include one or combinations of: an RFID sensor, camera, and accelerometer, the accelerometer is configured to detect drones striking the plurality of hoops, and the set of sensors are configured to sense drones passing through the hoops (see paragraph [0053], showing the system including an RFID sensor. To identify the ID of a drone, an identification tag containing information such as an RFID tag or a transmitter that transmits a signal may be attached to the drone, and the drone detection sensor may include a means for detecting a remotely located identification tag such as an RFID sensor or a receiver for receiving a signal transmitted from a transmitter attached to a drone remotely located. For such wireless communication, various means using radio waves or light may be used in drones and drone detection sensors); and a control system configured to: manage data from the plurality of hoops, and referee gameplay based on the data from the plurality of hoops (see paragraph [0042], showing determination of whether or not the drone has passed may be performed in such a way that a main controller receives signals detected by sensors and determines whether the drone has passed and corresponding image information may be then output to a display or the like. In addition, the gate where the sensor is disposed and the main controller that determines whether the drone has passed or not are separated from each other, thereby resolving a problem in which scoring is continued even when the drone collides with the gate in which a sensor and a scoreboard are embedded together).
In an analogous invention, Haskin et al teaches wherein the at least two sensors include an accelerometer, infer skill levels of user using a machine learning model and adjusting points based on the sensor data from the accelerometer (see paragraphs [0002], [0028], [0034], showing an Inertial Measurement Unit (TMU) further measures and reports a body's specific force, angular rate, and sometimes the magnetic field surrounding the body, using a combination of accelerometers and gyroscopes, sometimes also magnetometers. IMUs are typically used to maneuver aircraft, including Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs), among many others, and spacecraft, including satellites and landers. The IMU is the main component of inertial navigation systems used in aircraft, spacecraft, watercraft, drones. Improving georegistration accuracy by using machine learning or neural networks for identifying, ignoring, using, or handling static and dynamic objects in a video captured by an airborne vehicle, such as a drone).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was made to modify Sohn’s drone racing game as taught by Haskin’s accelerometer and machine learning, for the purpose of providing a racing game, whereby the movement and impact of the drone is detected using an accelerometer and whereby improvement is made to the game play using machine learning. This yields the expected result of improving the racing system and thereby increasing the user’s satisfaction in the game play.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Seiler discloses a virtual reality system with drone integration.
/ADETOKUNBO O TORIMIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715