DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 8/3/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-15 are pending with claims 14-15 being withdrawn from further consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/3/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on 8/3/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Staal et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0388258), hereinafter STAAL.
Regarding claim 1, STAAL teaches: A method for repairing a sandwich structure (STAAL teaches a method for repairing a sandwich structure [Abstract].), the sandwich structure having a top layer and a bottom layer defining an intermediate space therebetween which is at least partially filled out with a core material (STAAL teaches a sandwich structure having a top layer and a bottom layer defining an intermediate space therebetween which is at least partially filled with a core material [Figs. 5-6; Abstract].), the method comprising the steps of: localizing a damaged section of the sandwich structure (STAAL teaches localizing the damaged section of the sandwich structure [Figs. 8-9; 0071-0073].); removing the damaged section to create a repair cavity while preserving one of the top layer or the bottom layer (STAAL teaches removing the damaged section to create a repair cavity (142) while preserver one of the top or bottom layer [Fig. 9; 0072-0073].); filling up the repair cavity with a filling material (STAAL teaches filling up the repair cavity with a filling material (144) [Fig. 10; 0074].); covering the filled-up repair cavity with a cover layer (STAAL teaches covering the filled-up repair cavity (142) with a cover layer (115) [Fig. 10; 0075-0076].); and fixing the cover layer with at least one fixing element extending through the cover layer and the filling material, or through the core material adjacent to the filling material, or both (STAAL teaches fixing the cover layer (115) with at least one fixing element (120) extending through the cover layer and the filling material [Fig. 13; 0087-0088].).
Regarding claim 4, STAAL teaches: wherein the cover layer is provided with prefabricated through-holes for receiving the at least one fixing element (STAAL teaches the cover layer (115) has a relief hole (116) [0057; 0088].).
Regarding claim 5, STAAL teaches: further comprising the step of: placing a sealing layer below the cover layer (STAAL teaches a sealing layer (144) below the cover layer [0078] as the potting compound is cured.).
Regarding claim 11, STAAL teaches: wherein the at least one fixing element extends through the bottom layer (STAAL teaches at least one fixing element (120) extends through the bottom layer [Fig. 13].).
Regarding claim 12, STAAL teaches: wherein the at least one fixing element is brought into a positive-fit engagement with the bottom layer (STAAL teaches at least one fixing element (120) is brought into a positive-fit engagement with the bottom layer [Fig. 13].).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staal et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0388258), hereinafter STAAL, in view of Itoh et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2004/0028877), hereinafter ITOH.
Regarding claim 2, STAAL teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but is silent as to: wherein the step of removing comprises using a core drill selected according to a maximal diameter of the damaged section. In the same field of endeavor, repairing, ITOH teaches using a core drill (11) selected according to a maximal diameter of the damaged section [0059; Figs. 5-6]. in response to a current location and a desired cut or drill location that is defined by a repair plan [0041-0042]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify STAAL, by the core drill being selected according to a maximal diameter of the damaged section, as suggested by ITOH, in order for the intensity of stress concentration can be limited to a low level [0059].
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staal et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0388258), hereinafter STAAL, in view of Thiagarajan et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2014/0115853), hereinafter THIAGARAJAN.
Regarding claim 3, STAAL teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but is silent as to: wherein the filling material is provided as a foam. In the same field of endeavor, repairing, THIAGARAJAN teaches a filling material is provided as a foam [0002]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify STAAL, by the filling material is provided as a foam, as suggested by THIAGARAJAN, in order to stabilize the core during the curing cycle [0002].
Claim(s) 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staal et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0388258), hereinafter STAAL, in view of Brooks, JR. et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2021/0103266), hereinafter BROOKS.
Regarding claim 6, STAAL teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but is silent as to: further comprising the step of: drilling at least one drill hole for receiving the at least one fixing element. In the same field of endeavor, repairing, BROOKS teaches drilling at least one hole for receiving rivets [0066]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify STAAL, by drilling at least one drill hole, as suggested by BROOKS, in order to drill precisely and reduce labor [0002-0004].
Regarding claim 7, BROOKS further teaches: wherein a drilling tool for drilling the drill hole is guided by a guiding tool supported, or provided, or both at the cover layer (BROOKS teaches the drilling tool is guided by a guiding tool (100) supported at the cover layer (110) [0041-0042; Figs. 3a-3b].).
Regarding claim 8, BROOKS further teaches: wherein the at least one drill hole is being provided with a circumferential step at a respective predefined depth (BROOKS teaches at least one drill hole is being provided with a circumferential step at a respective predefined depth [Fig. 1; 0043; 0072].).
Regarding claim 9, BROOKS further teaches: wherein the at least one circumferential step is provided in the top layer, or in a vicinity of the bottom layer (BROOKS shows the at least one circumferential step is provided in the top layer [Fig. 1].).
Regarding claim 10, BROOKS further teaches: wherein the at least one circumferential step is being provided with a chamfer (BROOKS teaches at least one circumferential step is cutting a bowl-shaped depression of varying depth in the surface of the component [0058; Fig. 7].).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Staal et al. (U.S. PGPUB 2022/0388258), hereinafter STAAL, in view of Oropeza (U.S. PGPUB 2023/0243383), hereinafter OROPEZA.
Regarding claim 13, STAAL teaches all of the claimed limitations as stated above, but is silent as to: wherein the filling material is injected through the at least one fixing element. In the same field of endeavor, fasteners, OROPEZA teaches filling material is injected through at least one fixing element [0018]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify STAAL, by the filling material injected through at least one fixing element, as suggested by OROPEZA, in order to allow to adjust the height of the pieces without losing attachment to the structure [0018].
Conclusion
/C.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748