DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Claims 1 – 20 have no support in any of the priority documents and thus are entitled to an effective filing date corresponding to the instant application of February 7, 2025.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is less than 50 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 recites … wherein when the plurality of teeth are configured to be engaged with the retainer to retain a relative position of the reed, the backer, and the retainer – this is not grammatically correct.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 8 and 17 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 18 of US 12180967 in view of Zhao et al. (hereafter “Zhao” – CN 115045819). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the comparative table below:
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of US 12180967
An antirotation valve system comprising:
a compressor including a compressor surface defining at least one valve opening and a mounting opening;
a reed valve assembly comprising:
a reed including a reed mounting opening, wherein the reed is positionable between an open position where the reed does not obstruct the at least one valve opening and a closed position wherein the reed blocks at least a portion of the valve opening;
a backer having a backer mounting opening;
a retainer, wherein the reed and the backer are mounted to the compressor by the retainer extending through the reed mounting opening, the backer mounting opening, and into the compressor mounting opening; and
a washer including an annular wall defining a washer opening that is sized and shaped to receive the retainer extended through the reed mounting opening and the backer mounting opening to retain a relative position of the reed, the backer, the washer, and the retainer.
An antirotation valve system, wherein the valve system comprises:
a compressor including a compressor surface defining at least one valve opening and a mounting opening;
a reed including a reed mounting opening and a reed antirotation slot, wherein the reed is positionable between an open position where the reed does not obstruct the at least one valve opening and a closed position wherein the reed blocks at least a portion of the valve opening, wherein the reed antirotation slot includes an arched cutout positioned on a boundary edge of the reed and wherein a portion of the arched cutout has the same radius of curvature as a radius of curvature of the reed mounting opening; and
a backer having a backer mounting opening and a backer antirotation protrusion sized and shaped to engage with the reed antirotation slot preventing rotation between the reed and the backer, wherein the reed and the backer are mounted to the compressor by a fastener extending through the reed mounting opening, the backer mounting opening, and into the compressor mounting opening.
As seen above, the US Patent recites all features except for the retainer and the washer. Zhao (Figures 2, 4) teaches a reed valve assembly for a compressor, including a reed (22), a backer (60), as well as a retainer (bolt 70), wherein the reed and the backer are mounted to the compressor by the retainer extending through the reed mounting opening, the backer mounting opening, and into the compressor mounting opening (see Figure 2); and a washer (unlabeled nut shown threaded to bolt 70 in Figure 4 – note that as per Paragraph 60 of the instant disclosure: “In one embodiment, the washer 450 is a threaded nut wherein the inner surface 454 includes threads that may be threadably engaged with threads, not shown, of the retainer 430”, making a nut qualify as a washer under BRI) including an annular wall defining a washer opening that is sized and shaped to receive the retainer extended through the reed mounting opening and the backer mounting opening to retain a relative position of the reed, the backer, the washer, and the retainer (as shown in Figure 4). MPEP 2143A teaches it is obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods in order to yield predictable results. In this case, a retainer and a washer (i.e. nut) are known fasteners combinations that secure the reed valve assembly together, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of the US Patent to include a retainer and washer as shown in Zhao in order to yield the predictable results described above.
Although no comparative table is shown, Claims 2 – 8 and 17 – 20 are also rejected over the US Patent in view of Zhao, or further in view of one of the prior art references relied on below.
Claims 1 – 8 and 17 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of US Application number 18/970,300 in view of Zhao et al. (hereafter “Zhao” – CN 115045819). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the comparative table below:
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of App 18/970,300
An antirotation valve system comprising:
a compressor including a compressor surface defining at least one valve opening and a mounting opening;
a reed valve assembly comprising:
a reed including a reed mounting opening, wherein the reed is positionable between an open position where the reed does not obstruct the at least one valve opening and a closed position wherein the reed blocks at least a portion of the valve opening;
a backer having a backer mounting opening;
a retainer, wherein the reed and the backer are mounted to the compressor by the retainer extending through the reed mounting opening, the backer mounting opening, and into the compressor mounting opening; and
a washer including an annular wall defining a washer opening that is sized and shaped to receive the retainer extended through the reed mounting opening and the backer mounting opening to retain a relative position of the reed, the backer, the washer, and the retainer.
An antirotation valve system comprising:
a compressor including a compressor surface defining at least one valve opening, a single compressor mounting opening, and a single compressor antirotation opening;
a reed including a reed body defining a reed mounting opening and a single reed antirotation slot, wherein the reed antirotation slot is formed on a rear boundary edge of the reed body and extends inward into the reed body from the rear boundary edge, wherein the reed is positionable between an open position where the reed does not obstruct the at least one valve opening and a closed position wherein the reed blocks at least a portion of the valve opening; and
a backer including a backer body having a rear portion defining a backer mounting opening, and a backer antirotation protrusion extending from the rear portion, wherein the backer antirotation protrusion is sized and shaped to engage with the reed antirotation slot preventing rotation between the reed and the backer, wherein a width of the backer antirotation protrusion is narrower than a width of the rear portion, wherein the reed and the backer are mounted to the compressor by a fastener extending through the reed mounting opening, the backer mounting opening, and into the compressor mounting opening.
As seen above, the US Patent recites all features except for the washer (the “fastener” of the US application claim is equivalent to the “retainer” of the instant claim). Zhao (Figures 2, 4) teaches a reed valve assembly for a compressor, including a reed (22), a backer (60), as well as a retainer (bolt 70), wherein the reed and the backer are mounted to the compressor by the retainer extending through the reed mounting opening, the backer mounting opening, and into the compressor mounting opening (see Figure 2); and a washer (unlabeled nut shown threaded to bolt 70 in Figure 4 – note that as per Paragraph 60 of the instant disclosure: “In one embodiment, the washer 450 is a threaded nut wherein the inner surface 454 includes threads that may be threadably engaged with threads, not shown, of the retainer 430”, making a nut qualify as a washer under BRI) including an annular wall defining a washer opening that is sized and shaped to receive the retainer extended through the reed mounting opening and the backer mounting opening to retain a relative position of the reed, the backer, the washer, and the retainer (as shown in Figure 4). MPEP 2143A teaches it is obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods in order to yield predictable results. In this case, a retainer and a washer (i.e. nut) are known fasteners combinations that secure the reed valve assembly together, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of the US application to include a retainer and washer as shown in Zhao in order to yield the predictable results described above.
Although no comparative table is shown, Claims 2 – 8 and 17 – 20 are also rejected over the US application in view of Zhao, or further in view of one of the prior art references relied on below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites a compressor surface. The metes and bounds of the claim are unascertainable because a compressor surface was already introduced in Claim 1, upon which Claim 8 depends. As such it is unclear whether the instance in Claim 8 refers to a new compressor surface or the surface introduced in Claim 1. For purposes of examination, the compressor surface of Claim 8 will be treated as the same surface of Claim 1. Examiner suggests amending accordingly.
Claim 9, Line 16 recites a retainer. The metes and bounds of the claim are unascertainable because a retainer was already introduced previously in the same claim (see Lines 7 and 13). As such it is unclear whether the instance in Line 16 refers to a new retainer or the same retainer previously introduced. For purposes of examination, the retainer will be treated as the same retainer through the claim. Examiner suggests amending accordingly.
Claims 10 – 16 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on Claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 – 8, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao (CN 115045819 A).
With regards to Claim 1:
Zhao discloses an antirotation valve system (Figures 2, 4) comprising:
a compressor (Paragraph 26: “This invention relates to a valve plate assembly for use in conjunction with a compressor to complete the intake or exhaust process”) including a compressor surface (valve plate 10) defining at least one valve opening exhaust hole 11) and a mounting opening (screw hole 12);
a reed valve assembly comprising:
a reed (reed 22) including a reed mounting opening (unlabeled hole on fixing part 21 of reed 22, see annotated Figure 2 below), wherein the reed is positionable between an open position where the reed does not obstruct the at least one valve opening and a closed position wherein the reed blocks at least a portion of the valve opening (Paragraph 29);
a backer (limiting plate 60) having a backer mounting opening (unlabeled hole on limiting plate 60 into which bolt 70 extends through, see annotated Figure 2 below);
a retainer (bolt 70), wherein the reed and the backer are mounted to the compressor by the retainer extending through the reed mounting opening, the backer mounting opening, and into the compressor mounting opening (see Figures 2, 4, and Paragraphs 27, 38); and
a washer (see unlabeled nut connected to bolt 70 in Figure 4, see annotated Figure 4 below – note that as per Paragraph 60 of the instant disclosure: “In one embodiment, the washer 450 is a threaded nut wherein the inner surface 454 includes threads that may be threadably engaged with threads, not shown, of the retainer 430”, making a nut qualify as a washer under BRI) including an annular wall defining a washer opening that is sized and shaped to receive the retainer extended through the reed mounting opening and the backer mounting opening to retain a relative position of the reed, the backer, the washer, and the retainer (see Figure 4 and Paragraphs 27, 38, bolt goes through nut so it must have an opening).
With regards to Claim 5:
Zhao discloses the reed includes a reed antirotation feature positioned a distance away from an edge of the reed (see annotated Figure 2 in rejection of Claim 1, unlabeled hole next to the reed mounting opening).
With regards to Claim 6:
Zhao discloses the backer includes a backer antirotation feature sized and shaped to be received within a reed antirotation feature such that the backer antirotation feature extends completely through the reed (see annotated Figures 2 and 4 in rejection of Claim 1, backer anti-rotation feature shown extending downwards so as to go through the reed anti-rotation feature and the compressor anti-rotation opening).
With regards to Claim 7:
Zhao discloses when the reed antirotation feature is engaged with the backer antirotation feature, the reed mounting opening is axially aligned with the backer mounting opening (see annotated Figures 2 and 4 in rejection of Claim 1).
With regards to Claim 8:
Zhao discloses a compressor surface defines a compressor antirotation opening configured to engage with the backer antirotation feature (see annotated Figures 2 and 4 in rejection of Claim 1, backer anti-rotation feature engages with compression anti-rotation opening).
With regards to Claim 17:
Zhao discloses a method of assembly (see Figures 2 and 4) comprising:
providing a reed (reed 22) including a single reed mounting opening (unlabeled hole on fixing part 21 of reed 22, see annotated Figure 2 in rejection of Claim 1) and a reed antirotation feature (see annotated Figure 2 in rejection of Claim 1, unlabeled hole next to the reed mounting opening);
providing a backer (limiting plate 60) having an antirotation feature (see annotated Figures 2 and 4 in rejection of Claim 1, backer anti-rotation feature shown extending downwards so as to go through the reed anti-rotation feature and the compressor anti-rotation opening) sized to engage with the reed antirotation feature and a single backer mounting opening (unlabeled hole on limiting plate 60 into which bolt 70 extends through, see annotated Figure 2 in rejection of Claim 1);
inserting a retainer (bolt 70) through the reed mounting opening and the backer mounting opening (see Figures 2 and 4); and
inserting the retainer extended through the reed mounting opening and the backer mounting opening into a washer opening defined by an annular wall of a washer (see unlabeled nut connected to bolt 70 in Figure 4, see annotated Figure 4 in rejection of Claim 1 – note that as per Paragraph 60 of the instant disclosure: “In one embodiment, the washer 450 is a threaded nut wherein the inner surface 454 includes threads that may be threadably engaged with threads, not shown, of the retainer 430”, making a nut qualify as a washer under BRI) to retain a relative position of the reed, the backer, and the washer (see Figure 4 and Paragraphs 27, 38, bolt goes through nut so it must have an opening).
With regards to Claim 18:
Zhao discloses inserting the retainer into a single compressor mounting opening (screw hole 12).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (hereafter “Lee” – US 2020/0032797).
With regards to Claim 1:
Lee discloses an antirotation valve system (Figures 1 – 3B) comprising:
a compressor (scroll compressor 10) including a compressor surface (plate part 215) defining at least one valve opening (discharge port 211) and a mounting opening (unlabeled, see Figure 2, fastening hole in surface 215 which fastener 700 extends into);
a reed valve assembly comprising:
a reed (reed valve 500) including a reed mounting opening (fastening portion 510 with hole for fastener 700), wherein the reed is positionable between an open position where the reed does not obstruct the at least one valve opening and a closed position wherein the reed blocks at least a portion of the valve opening (see Figures 3A, 3B, Paragraph 66);
a backer (retainer 600) having a backer mounting opening (fixing portion 610 having hole for fastener 700);
a retainer (fastener 700), wherein the reed and the backer are mounted to the compressor by the retainer extending through the reed mounting opening, the backer mounting opening, and into the compressor mounting opening (see Figures 2 – 3B and Paragraph 85); and
a washer (spacing member 710, which “may be a washer of a predetermined thickness”, Paragraph 77) including an annular wall defining a washer opening that is sized and shaped to receive the retainer extended through the reed mounting opening and the backer mounting opening to retain a relative position of the reed, the backer, the washer, and the retainer (as shown in Figures 2 – 3B, see Paragraph 77, 85).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bredel (DE 10-2021-121592 A).
With regards to Claim 9:
Bredel discloses an antirotation valve system (Figure 2) comprising:
a compressor (abstract: “compressor”) including a compressor surface (valve seat plate 1) defining at least one valve opening (valve opening 5) and a mounting opening (see annotated Figure below);
a reed valve assembly comprising:
a reed (valve blade 8) including a wall defining a reed mounting opening (see annotated Figure below) sized and shaped to receive a retainer (screw 11) extended therethrough, wherein the reed is positionable between an open position where the reed does not obstruct the at least one valve opening and a closed position wherein the reed blocks at least a portion of the valve opening, the wall includes a plurality of teeth configured to be engaged with the retainer (see annotated Figure below); and
a backer (valve limiter 10) having a backer mounting opening (see annotated Figure below); and
a retainer (screw 11), wherein the reed and the backer are mounted to the compressor by the retainer extending through the reed mounting opening, the backer mounting opening, and into the compressor mounting opening (see Figure 2), wherein when the plurality of teeth are configured to be engaged with the retainer to retain a relative position of the reed, the backer, and the retainer (see Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 – 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (hereafter “Lee” – US 2020/0032797) in view of Teal (US 2005/0135896).
With regards to Claim 2:
Lee does not explicitly disclose the washer includes an inner surface defining a boundary of the washer opening, wherein the inner surface includes a plurality of teeth protruding radially inward. Lee does teach that the washer is used in conjunction with a threaded fastener. Teal (Figures 2 – 3A) teaches fasteners (threaded stud 54) used in conjunction with washers (push nut 48), wherein the washers includes an inner surface defining a boundary of the washer opening (opening 52), wherein the inner surface includes a plurality of teeth protruding radially inward (teeth 56). Teal teaches that these teeth have a slightly smaller diameter than the fastener threads in order to resist axial force applied to the push nut that would tend to remove it from the stud such that the teeth are placed under compression, are restrained by the rim, and jam the push nut into engagement with the stud, preventing its removal under axial force (Paragraph 20). Given that the washer of Lee is also used in conjunction with a threaded fastener, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee by substituting in a lock washer with internal teeth as shown in Teal in order to yield the predictable benefits described above, notably aiding in securing an axial positioning of the fastener.
With regards to Claim 3:
The Lee modification of Claim 2 teaches each of the plurality of teeth include one or more rounded portions (see Figure 2 of Teal, radially inner portion of teeth 56 engaging the stud are rounded to match radius of opening 52).
With regards to Claim 4:
The Lee modification of Claim 2 teaches each of the plurality of teeth include a portion that extends vertically beyond an upper surface of the annular wall (see Figures 3, 3A of Teal, teeth 56 are long and form an orientation angle with stud, see Paragraph 20).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bredel (DE 10-2021-121592 A) in view of Koubek (US 2290056).
With regards to Claim 10:
Bredel does not explicitly disclose the teeth are triangular. As per MPEP 2144, changes in shape are a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant. Applicant has not shown in evidence of the criticality of the shape of the teeth. Nevertheless, Koubek (Figures 3 – 5) teaches a lock washer (10) connecting to a threaded fastener (30) wherein the lock washer has substantially triangularly teeth (18, see Col. 1, Lines 42 – 45) such that it may “readily slipped over the shank of the bolt” (ld). Given the above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bredel by making the teeth triangular to yield the predictable results described above.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bredel (DE 10-2021-121592 A) in view of Teal (US 2005/0135896).
With regards to Claim 11:
Bredel does not explicitly disclose the teeth include rounded portions. As per MPEP 2144, changes in shape are a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant. Applicant has not shown in evidence of the criticality of the shape of the teeth. Nevertheless, Teal (Figures 2 – 3A) teaches fasteners (threaded stud 54) used in conjunction with washers (push nut 48), wherein the washers includes an inner surface defining a boundary of the washer opening (opening 52), wherein the inner surface includes a plurality of teeth protruding radially inward (teeth 56), wherein each of the plurality of teeth include one or more rounded portions (see Figure 2 of Teal, radially inner portion of teeth 56 engaging the stud are rounded to match radius of opening 52). This rounding allows for the teeth to jam the push nut into engagement with the stud, preventing its removal under axial force (Paragraph 20). Given the above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Bredel by making the teeth partially rounded to yield the predictable results described above.
With regards to Claim 12:
The Bredel modification of Claim 11 teaches each of the plurality of teeth include a portion that extends vertically beyond an upper surface of the annular wall (see Figures 3, 3A of Teal, teeth 56 are long and form an orientation angle with stud, see Paragraph 20).
Claims 13 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bredel (DE 10-2021-121592 A) in view of Ahn (KR 1998-0077165).
With regards to Claims 13, 14, and 16:
Bredel does not explicitly disclose the reed includes a reed antirotation feature positioned a distance away from an edge of the reed or the backer includes a backer antirotation feature sized and shaped to be received within a reed antirotation feature such that the backer antirotation feature extends completely through the reed. Ahn (Figure 4) teaches a compressor including a reed (52), a backer (53), and a retainer (54), wherein the reed includes a reed antirotation feature (unlabeled hole in reed 52 through which embossing portion 53’’ extends downward through), the backer includes an antirotation feature (embossing portion 53’’) sized to engage with the reed antirotation feature, and the compressor includes a compressor surface (51) defining an compression anti-rotation opening (groove 51b) configured to engage with the backer anti-rotation feature. Ahn teaches that “by forming the anti-rotation embossing 53 and the embossing insertion groove (51b), the rivet is not necessary to prevent the separate rotation in a simple structure, there is an effect such that not only the parts are reduced, but also the number of assembly labor” (see abstract). In other words, the feature prevents undesired rotation of the reed valve assembly without requiring a second retainer/fastener. MPEP 2143A teaches it is obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods in order to yield predictable results. In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Bredel by adding antirotation features on the reed, backer, and compressor as shown in Ahn in order to yield the predictable benefits described above.
With regards to Claim 15:
The Bredel modification of Claim 14 teaches when the reed antirotation feature is engaged with the backer antirotation feature, the reed mounting opening is axially aligned with the backer mounting opening (see Figure 4 of Ahn, mounting openings align to allow rivet 54 to extend through all when embossed portion 53’’ aligns with groove 51b).
Claims 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (hereafter “Sato” – JP 2002-371965) in view of Ahn (KR 1998-0077165).
With regards to Claim 17:
Sato discloses a method of assembly (Figures 1, 2, 7) comprising:
providing a reed (valve plate 32) including a single reed mounting opening (hole 32a);
providing a backer (valve support 33) having a single backer mounting opening (hole 33a);
inserting a retainer (bolt 34) through the reed mounting opening and the backer mounting opening; and
inserting the retainer extended through the reed mounting opening and the backer mounting opening into a washer opening (hole 31a) defined by an annular wall of a washer (valve seat 31) to retain a relative position of the reed, the backer, and the washer (Paragraph 25).
Sato does not explicitly disclose a reed antirotation feature or an antirotation feature on the backer sized to engage with the reed antirotation feature. Ahn (Figure 4) teaches a compressor including a reed (52), a backer (53), and a retainer (54), wherein the reed includes a reed antirotation feature (unlabeled hole in reed 52 through which embossing portion 53’’ extends downward through) and an antirotation feature (embossing portion 53’’) on the backer sized to engage with the reed antirotation feature. Ahn teaches that “by forming the anti-rotation embossing 53 and the embossing insertion groove (51b), the rivet is not necessary to prevent the separate rotation in a simple structure, there is an effect such that not only the parts are reduced, but also the number of assembly labor” (see abstract). In other words, the feature prevents undesired rotation of the reed valve assembly without requiring a second retainer/fastener. MPEP 2143A teaches it is obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods in order to yield predictable results. In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Sato by adding antirotation features on the reed and backer as shown in Ahn in order to yield the predictable benefits described above.
With regards to Claim 18:
The Sato modification of Claim 17 teaches inserting the retainer into a single compressor mounting opening (mounting hole 8a, Figure 7, Paragraph 25 of Sato).
With regards to Claim 19:
The Sato modification of Claim 17 teaches inserting the retainer and the washer into a single compressor mounting opening (see countersunk surface 36 in Figures 1, 2 of Sato, the countersunk surface accommodating valve seat 31 as per Paragraphs 22, 31, and including mounting hole 8a for the bolt 34).
With regards to Claim 20:
The Sato modification of Claim 17 teaches forming threads in a single compressor mounting opening (mounting hole 8a, see Figure 7 and Paragraph 25 of Sato: “By inserting bolts 34 … and screwing them into the mounting holes 8a…” – screwing the bolts into the mounting holes 8a would require threads in the mounting holes).
Inquiries
/Laert Dounis/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
Wednesday, February 11, 2026