DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-15 are amended.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (WO 2022035151 A1 which US 2023194622 A1, referenced below, is considered to be a translation of), in view of Shiojima (US 5391974 A).
In claim 1, Kim discloses a method for diagnosing a battery assembly (see title, Fig. 1, 1), the battery assembly including a battery bank (Fig. 1, 10) comprising a plurality of battery cells (Par. 4 “battery cells”) connected in parallel with each other (Par. 4 “parallel”), the method comprising: generating a differential profile (Par. 35 “differential data” “a differential curve dQ/dV”) representing a relationship between a differential capacity (Par. 35 “a differential curve dQ/dV for the capacity”), which is obtained by differentiating a capacity of the battery bank (Fig. 3, Par. 46) with respect to a voltage of the battery bank (Par. 35, 45 “voltage of the battery cell” “a voltage of a battery”), and the voltage of the battery bank (Par. 35, 45 “voltage of the battery cell” “a voltage of a battery”); and diagnosing a state of the battery bank (Par. 39 “diagnose abnormality of the battery cell based on the differential data and classify a type of the abnormality”) based on a difference value (Par. 41 “comparing a sum of intensities of peaks of the differential data with a preset second reference value”) between a differential capacity value of a target peak (Par. 41 “target peak” Fig. 3, Ea(5)) located in a predetermined voltage section (see Fig. 3, voltage sections of the peaks) among a plurality of peaks of the differential profile (see Fig. 3) and a differential capacity value (Fig. 3 dQdV) of a valley adjacent to the target peak (Fig. 3, Ea(6)); controlling a charger that charges the battery bank (Par. 25 MBMS) to reduce a voltage at an end of charging of the battery bank or reduce a current rate of a current (Par. 26 “controlling a current flow for charging or discharging”) that charges the battery bank (Par. 25 “prevent over-charging and over-discharging”)
Kim does not explicitly disclose when the state of the battery bank is diagnosed as an abnormal state, controlling at least one of (i) a charger that charges the battery bank to reduce a voltage at an end of charging of the battery bank or reduce a current rate of a current that charges the battery bank, and (ii) a cooling device that cools the battery bank to lower the temperature of the battery bank.
Shiojima teaches when the state of the battery bank is diagnosed as an abnormal state, controlling at least one of (i) a charger that charges the battery bank to reduce a voltage at an end of charging of the battery bank or reduce a current rate of a current that charges the battery bank (Columns 15-16 Line 62-10 ‘ If an abnormality occurs’, “rate of increase in temperature of the battery 10 reaches a value for causing the output V.sub.t ' from the differential circuit unit 400 to reach the setting value V.sub.k”, “performing control for stopping the charging operation or control for decreasing the charging current”), and (ii) a cooling device that cools the battery bank to lower the temperature of the battery bank.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to have when the state of the battery bank is diagnosed as an abnormal state, controlling at least one of (i) a charger that charges the battery bank to reduce a voltage at an end of charging of the battery bank or reduce a current rate of a current that charges the battery bank, and (ii) a cooling device that cools the battery bank to lower the temperature of the battery bank as taught by Shiojima in Kim since the battery and equipment using the battery can be prevented from being damaged, thus improving reliability and safety (Shiojima Column 5 Lines 27-31).
In claim 2, Kim further discloses wherein generating the differential profile includes: repeatedly measuring a voltage value and a current value of the battery bank (Par. 34 “measure the voltage and the current of the battery cell at specific time intervals”) using at least one electrical sensor (Fig. 2, 210) while the battery bank is being charged or discharged (Par. 36 “when a charging current change or a discharging current”); and generating the differential profile using the voltage values and the current values measured while the battery bank is being charged or discharged (Par. 36).
In claim 3, Kim further discloses wherein generating the differential profile includes; generating a profile representing the relationship between the voltage and the capacity of the battery bank (Fig. 3 dQdV); and generating the differential profile by differentiating the profile with respect to the voltage of the battery bank (Fig. 3 V).
In claim 4, Kim further discloses wherein diagnosing the state of the battery bank includes diagnosing the state of the battery bank as an abnormal state when the difference value is less than a predetermined reference value (Par. 36 “less than a reference value”).
In claim 5, Kim further discloses wherein diagnosing the state of the battery bank includes diagnosing the state of the battery bank as an abnormal state in which the plurality of battery cells are unevenly deteriorated (Par. 5 “Conventionally, detection of an unstable behavior of measurement data has been detected to detect degradation of the battery” Par. 59 “anodic reaction area reduction”), when the difference value is less than a predetermined reference value (Fig. 6, S660) and the number of target peaks located in the predetermined voltage section exceeds a predetermined reference number (Fig. 6 S650).
In claim 6, Kim further discloses wherein diagnosing the state of the battery bank includes: calculating a first difference value between a differential capacity value of a first target peak located in a first voltage section among the predetermined voltage sections and a differential capacity value of a first valley adjacent to the first target peak (Par. 41 “comparing a sum of intensities of peaks of the differential data with a preset second reference value”, “target peak” Fig. 3, Ea(5), dQdV, Ea(6)); calculating a second difference value between a differential capacity value of a second target peak located in a second voltage section among the predetermined voltage sections and a differential capacity value of a second valley adjacent to the second target peak (Par. 41 “comparing a sum of intensities of peaks of the differential data with a preset second reference value”, “target peak” Fig. 3, Ea(2), dQdV, Ea(6)); and determining the state of the battery bank as an abnormal state in which the plurality of battery cells are unevenly deteriorated (Par. 36 “less than a reference value”), when the first difference value is less than a predetermined first reference value (Fig. 6 S660) and the second difference value is less than a predetermined second reference value (Fig. 6 S660).
In claim 7, Kim further discloses wherein the battery assembly includes a plurality of battery banks (Par. 25 “ a plurality of battery modules”), wherein generating the differential profile includes generating a plurality of differential profiles respectively corresponding to the plurality of battery banks (Par. 27), and wherein diagnosing the state of the battery bank includes a step of diagnosing a state of each of the plurality of battery banks as a normal state or an abnormal state based on the plurality of differential profiles (See Fig. 6).
In claim 8, Kim further discloses wherein diagnosing the state of the battery bank includes diagnosing the state of the battery bank as an abnormal state when the difference value is less than a predetermined reference value (Fig. 6 S660), and controlling the charger that charges the battery bank (Par. 25 MBMS) to reduce the voltage at end of charging of the battery bank or reduce the current rate of the current (Par. 26 “controlling a current flow for charging or discharging”) that charges the battery bank (Par. 25 “prevent over-charging and over-discharging”).
Kim does not explicitly disclose controlling a charger that charges the battery bank to reduce a voltage at an end of charging of the battery bank or reduce a current rate of a current that charges the battery bank, when the state of the battery bank is diagnosed as an abnormal state (emphasis added).
Shiojima teaches controlling a charger that charges the battery bank to reduce a voltage at an end of charging of the battery bank or reduce a current rate of a current that charges the battery bank, when the state of the battery bank is diagnosed as an abnormal stat (Columns 15-16 Line 62-10 ‘ If an abnormality occurs’, “rate of increase in temperature of the battery 10 reaches a value for causing the output V.sub.t ' from the differential circuit unit 400 to reach the setting value V.sub.k”, “performing control for stopping the charging operation or control for decreasing the charging current).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to have controlling a charger that charges the battery bank to reduce a voltage at an end of charging of the battery bank or reduce a current rate of a current that charges the battery bank, when the state of the battery bank is diagnosed as an abnormal state as taught by Shiojima in Kim since the battery and equipment using the battery can be prevented from being damaged, thus improving reliability and safety (Shiojima Column 5 Lines 27-31).
In claim 9, Kim discloses an apparatus for diagnosing a battery assembly (see title, Fig. 1, 1) including a battery bank (Fig. 1, 10) comprising a plurality of battery cells (Par. 4 “battery cells”) connected in parallel with each other (Par. 4 “parallel”), the apparatus comprising one or more processors (Fig. 7, 710, Par. 75); and memory configured to store program code (Fig. 7, 720, Par. 75) that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform: generating a differential profile (Par. 35 “differential data” “a differential curve dQ/dV”) representing a relationship between a differential capacity (Par. 35 “a differential curve dQ/dV for the capacity”), which is obtained by differentiating a capacity of the battery bank (Fig. 3, Par. 46) with respect to a voltage of the battery bank (Par. 35, 45 “voltage of the battery cell” “a voltage of a battery”), and the voltage of the battery bank (Par. 35, 45 “voltage of the battery cell” “a voltage of a battery”); and diagnosing a state of the battery bank (Par. 39 “diagnose abnormality of the battery cell based on the differential data and classify a type of the abnormality”) based on a difference value (Par. 41 “comparing a sum of intensities of peaks of the differential data with a preset second reference value”) between a differential capacity value of a target peak (Par. 41 “target peak” Fig. 3, Ea(5)) located in a predetermined voltage section (see Fig. 3, voltage sections of the peaks) among a plurality of peaks of the differential profile (see Fig. 3) and a differential capacity value (Fig. 3 dQdV) of a valley adjacent to the target peak (Fig. 3, Ea(6)); controlling a charger that charges the battery bank (Par. 25 MBMS) to reduce a voltage at an end of charging of the battery bank or reduce a current rate of a current (Par. 26 “controlling a current flow for charging or discharging”) that charges the battery bank (Par. 25 “prevent over-charging and over-discharging”).
Kim does not explicitly disclose when the state of the battery bank is diagnosed as an abnormal state, controlling at least one of (i) a charger that charges the battery bank to reduce a voltage at an end of charging of the battery bank or reduce a current rate of a current that charges the battery bank, and (ii) a cooling device that cools the battery bank to lower the temperature of the battery bank.
Shiojima teaches when the state of the battery bank is diagnosed as an abnormal state, controlling at least one of (i) a charger that charges the battery bank to reduce a voltage at an end of charging of the battery bank or reduce a current rate of a current that charges the battery bank (Columns 15-16 Line 62-10 ‘ If an abnormality occurs’, “rate of increase in temperature of the battery 10 reaches a value for causing the output V.sub.t ' from the differential circuit unit 400 to reach the setting value V.sub.k”, “performing control for stopping the charging operation or control for decreasing the charging current”), and (ii) a cooling device that cools the battery bank to lower the temperature of the battery bank.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to have when the state of the battery bank is diagnosed as an abnormal state, controlling at least one of (i) a charger that charges the battery bank to reduce a voltage at an end of charging of the battery bank or reduce a current rate of a current that charges the battery bank, and (ii) a cooling device that cools the battery bank to lower the temperature of the battery bank as taught by Shiojima in Kim since the battery and equipment using the battery can be prevented from being damaged, thus improving reliability and safety (Shiojima Column 5 Lines 27-31).
In claim 10 Kim further discloses wherein execution of the program code by the one or more processors causes the one or more processors to perform diagnosing of the state of the battery bank as an abnormal state when the difference value is less than a predetermined reference value (Fig. 6 S660).
In claim 11 Kim further discloses wherein execution of the program code by the one or more processors causes the one or more processors to perform calculating (Par. 76 “programs regarding differential data calculation, abnormality diagnosis and classification”) a first difference value between a differential capacity value of a first target peak located in a first voltage section among the predetermined voltage sections and a differential capacity value of a first valley adjacent to the first target peak (Par. 41 “comparing a sum of intensities of peaks of the differential data with a preset second reference value”, “target peak” Fig. 3, Ea(5), dQdV, Ea(6)); calculating a second difference value between a differential capacity value of a second target peak located in a second voltage section among the predetermined voltage sections and a differential capacity value of a second valley adjacent to the second target peak (Par. 41 “comparing a sum of intensities of peaks of the differential data with a preset second reference value”, “target peak” Fig. 3, Ea(2), dQdV, Ea(6)); and determining (Par. 76 “programs regarding differential data calculation, abnormality diagnosis and classification”) the state of the battery bank as an abnormal state in which the plurality of battery cells are unevenly deteriorated (Par. 36 “less than a reference value”), when the first difference value is less than a predetermined first reference value (Fig. 6 S660) and the second difference value is less than a predetermined second reference value (Fig. 6 S660).
In claim 12 Kim further discloses wherein the battery assembly includes a plurality of battery banks (Par. 25 “ a plurality of battery modules”), and execution of the program code by the one or more processors causes the one or more processors to perform: generating a plurality of differential profiles respectively corresponding to the plurality of battery banks (Par. 27), and diagnosing a state of each of the plurality of battery banks as a normal state or an abnormal state based on the plurality of differential profiles (See Fig. 6).
In claim 13, Kim further discloses diagnosing the state of the battery bank as an abnormal state when the difference value is less than a predetermined reference value (Fig. 6 S660) and controlling the charger that charges the battery bank (Par. 25 MBMS) to reduce the voltage at end of charging of the battery bank or reduce the current rate of the current (Par. 26 “controlling a current flow for charging or discharging”) that charges the battery bank (Par. 25 “prevent over-charging and over-discharging”).
Kim does not explicitly disclose controlling the charger that charges the battery bank to reduce the voltage at end of charging of the battery bank or reduce the current rate of the current that charges the battery bank, when the state of the battery bank is diagnosed as an abnormal state (emphasis added).
Shiojima teaches controlling a charger that charges the battery bank to reduce a voltage at an end of charging of the battery bank or reduce a current rate of a current that charges the battery bank, when the state of the battery bank is diagnosed as an abnormal state (Columns 15-16 Line 62-10 ‘ If an abnormality occurs’, “rate of increase in temperature of the battery 10 reaches a value for causing the output V.sub.t ' from the differential circuit unit 400 to reach the setting value V.sub.k”, “performing control for stopping the charging operation or control for decreasing the charging current).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to have controlling a charger that charges the battery bank to reduce a voltage at an end of charging of the battery bank or reduce a current rate of a current that charges the battery bank, when the state of the battery bank is diagnosed as an abnormal state as taught by Shiojima in Kim since the battery and equipment using the battery can be prevented from being damaged, thus improving reliability and safety (Shiojima Column 5 Lines 27-31).
In claim 14 Kim further discloses a battery pack comprising the apparatus for diagnosing the battery assembly according to claim 9 (Fig. 1).
In claim 15 Kim further discloses a vehicle comprising the apparatus for diagnosing the battery assembly according to claim 9 (Par. 3 “electric vehicles”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The previous 112b and 101 rejections are withdrawn based on the amendments. Regarding the 102/103 arguments on pages 11-15 the examiner respectfully disagrees. Foremost, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, this does not incorporate the speciation into the claims, thus how a value of a “a valley adjacent to the target peak”, what point or points in a valley, and what is determined to qualify as a valley is not limited by the claim and is interpreted under its BRI. The cited portions of Kim meet said BRI.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20180269694 A1, BATTERY CELL BALANCING METHOD AND SYSTEM.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.J.B/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/SHELBY A TURNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857