DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are presented for consideration.
Specification
Examiner requests Applicants to update status of related applications as mentioned in specification, paragraph 0001.
Double Patenting
3. Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,349,904, and claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No 12,225,071. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the parent applications anticipate the claims of current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malhotra et al. [ US Patent Application No 2016/0323358 ], in view of Tischer et al. [ US Patent Application No 2009/0262136 ].
As per claim 1, Malhotra discloses the invention as claimed including a method comprising:
initiating, by a server [ i.e. remote file system ], responsive to a request from a client device [ i.e. user device requests file ] [ Figure 1B1; and paragraph 0043 ], downloading a file to the client device [ i.e. file response ] [ 166, Figure 1B1; and paragraph 0044 ];
determining, by the server based on the initiated downloading of the file, a time associated with a full delivery of the file to the client device [ i.e. full file download view latency ] [ 154, Figure 1B1; and paragraph 0045, and 0046 ].
Malhotra does not specifically disclose
determining, by the server based on the time associated with the full delivery of the file to the client device, to instead provide a virtual version of the file via streaming to the client device.
Tischer discloses
determining, by the server based on the time associated with the full delivery of the file to the client device, to instead provide a virtual version of the file via streaming to the client device [ i.e. progressively lower-resolution versions of the full-fidelity media data, and sent to the user’s electronic device ] [ paragraphs 0039, 0054, and 0063 ].
It would have been obvious to a person skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Malhotra and Tisch because the teaching of Tisch would enable to adjust the level of detail, to graphic manipulation, to merging and overlay, to placing generated data into a scene, and to morphing [ Tisch, paragraph 0002 ].
6. As per claim 2, Malhotra in view of Tisch discloses the method of claim 1, furthermore, Malhotra discloses receiving, by the server, the request for the file from the client device [ Figure 1B1 ]; and Tisch discloses providing, by the server, the virtual version of the file via streaming to the client device [ i.e. sent to the user’s electronic device ] [ paragraph 0039 ].
7. As per claim 3, Malhotra discloses wherein the time associated with the full delivery of the file to the client device is determined subsequent to initiation of the download of the file to the client device [ i.e. commences to download a lazy sliding window quanta of blocks ] [ Figure 1B3; and paragraph 0059 ] and based on one or more of a size of a file and an available bandwidth [ i.e. network condition and size of the file ] [ paragraph 0060 ].
8. As per claim 4, Malhotra discloses providing, by the server, a portion of the file via download for a first time period [ i.e. beginning portion of the requested file ] [ paragraphs 0052, and 0053 ], wherein the first time period is less than the time associated with the full delivery of the file to the client device [ paragraphs 0045, and 0046 ].
9. As per claim 5, Tisch discloses determining, by the server, that providing the virtual version of the file via streaming to the client device provides access to the file in a second period of time, wherein the second period of time is less than a time associated with accessing the file via download [ i.e. lower-quality and/or lower resolution versions that are cheaper and/or faster to send to the user’s electronic device ] [ paragraphs 0035, and 0039 ].
10. As per claim 6, Malhotra in view of Tisch discloses the method of claim 5, furthermore, Malhotra discloses wherein: the time associated with accessing the file via download is the time associated with the full delivery of the file to the client device [ i.e. full file download ] [ Figure 1B1; and paragraphs 0005, and 0043 ]; and determining to instead provide the virtual version of the file via streaming to the client device based on the time associated with the full delivery of the file to the client device is based on the time associated with full delivery of the file via download to the client device being greater than the second period of time [ paragraphs 0054, and 0063 ].
11. As per claim 7, Malhotra discloses using, by the server, a channel between the client device and the server to provide the file to the client device in accordance with one of a plurality of modes of delivery [ i.e. immediate download operations and/or background download operations ] [ paragraphs 0027, 0051, 0054, and 0055 ].
12. As per claim 8, Malhotra in view of Tisch discloses the method of claim 7, furthermore, Malhotra discloses wherein the plurality of modes of delivery include: a first mode of delivery and a second mode of delivery [ i.e. immediate download operations and/or background download operations ] [ paragraphs 0027, 0051, 0054, and 0055 ], wherein the first mode of delivery includes downloading the file to the client device [ i.e. full file download ] [ Figure 1B1; and paragraphs 0005, and 0043 ], and Tisch discloses a second mode of delivery includes virtualization of the file and delivery to the client device via streaming [ i.e. progressively lower-resolution versions of the full-fidelity media data, and sent to the user’s electronic device ] [ paragraph 0039 ].
13. As per claim 9, Tisch discloses using, by the server, a virtual stream to provide the file to the client device [ i.e. stream each lower resolution ] [ paragraphs 0055, and 0063 ].
14. As per claims 10-18, they are rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claims 1-9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ahammad [ US Patent No 10,015,503 ] discloses one way to reduce the wait time experienced by an end-user of an image is to stream the image to the user device in partial download mode, as opposed to sending it in full download mode
Gilberton et al. [ US Patent Application No 2014/0330887 ] discloses the transmission of content whether it is in a streaming mode or in a full file download mode
/DUSTIN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445