DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: please change the recitation of “the at least one ink” to “at least one ink” to correct a minor antecedent basis issue. Appropriate correction is required.
Election/Restrictions
While no restriction is required at this time, should the apparatus, ink set, and/or method claims become so divergent as to require different search strategies, Examiner reserves the right to require election of a single invention at a later point in prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1/2) as being anticipated by Suilen et al. (US 2021/0189166 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Suilen et al. disclose a method for applying an image onto a recording medium, the method comprising:
applying an aqueous pretreatment liquid (“thermo reversible gelling primer”: paragraph 40) onto the recording medium (paragraph 27), the aqueous pretreatment liquid comprises a Zn2+ salt (paragraph 45);
applying at least one aqueous ink composition (“water-based ink”) onto the recording medium (paragraph 28), the at least one aqueous ink comprising a colorant (“pigment particles”) and a water-dispersible polyester resin (“latex particles”: paragraph 47); and
drying the recording medium (paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 4:
Suilen et al. disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and also that the at least one ink comprises a water-dispersible pigment (paragraph 50).
Regarding claim 5:
Suilen et al. disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and also that the at least one ink further comprises a co-solvent (paragraphs 40-44).
Regarding claim 6:
Suilen et al. disclose all the limitations of claim 1, and also that the drying of the ink is performed by heating the recording medium provided with the ink (paragraph 73).
Regarding claim 7:
Suilen et al. disclose a printing apparatus comprising:
a pretreatment liquid application unit for applying a pretreatment liquid (“thermo reversible gelling primer”: paragraph 68);
an ink applicator for applying at least one ink (“water-based ink” paragraph 71);
a medium support for holding the recording medium (inherent to “providing the recording medium”: paragraph 30);
a drying unit for drying the recording medium (paragraph 73);
a control unit for controlling the printing apparatus to perform the method according to claim 1 (inherent to paragraphs 27-29).
Regarding claim 9:
Suilen et al. disclose an ink set comprising an aqueous pretreatment liquid (“thermo reversible gelling primer”: paragraph 40) and at least one aqueous ink composition (“water-based ink”) comprising a colorant (“pigment particles”) and a resin (“latex”: paragraph 47), wherein the aqueous pretreatment liquid comprises a Zn+2 salt (paragraph 45) and the resin is a water-dispersible polyester resin (paragraphs 50, 60).
Regarding claim 11:
Suilen et al. disclose a method for preparing an ink set, the method including the steps of:
preparing a pretreatment liquid by:
providing a Zn+2 salt (paragraph 45);
providing an aqueous medium (paragraph 91);
mixing the Zn+2 Salt and the aqueous medium (paragraph 91 & TABLE 1);
preparing an ink composition by:
providing a water-dispersible polyester resin (paragraph 47);
providing a colorant (paragraph 47);
providing an aqueous ink medium (paragraphs 40-41);
mixing the polyester resin, the colorant, and the aqueous ink medium (TABLE 2);
combining the pretreatment liquid and the ink composition into an ink set (paragraph 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suilen et al. (US 2021/0189166 A1) in view of Kobayashi (US 2025/0129259 A1).
Regarding claims 3-4:
Suilen et al disclose all the limitations of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose the particular Zn+2 salt or concentration thereof.
However, Suilen et al. do also disclose that the Zn2+ salt is present in a preferrable range of 0.5 to 10wt% (paragraph 119).
Further, Kobayashi discloses a pretreatment liquid including zinc acetate dihydrate as a Zn2+ salt (paragraph 117), wherein the Zn+2 salt is present in a concentration of 0.5 to 5wt% (paragraphs 117-119).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to form Suilen et al.’s pretreatment liquid, given the molar mass of the zinc salt, to include the zinc acetate salt at a concentration of 1 mmol/L to 1.95 mol/L. For example, at 0.5wt% the concentration of zinc acetate dihydrate is approximately 0.023 mol/L.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suilen et al. (US 2021/0189166 A1) in view of Van Rens et al. (US 2017/0066937 A1).
Regarding claim 8:
Suilen et al. disclose all the limitations of claim 7, and also that the ink applicator comprises an inkjet head (paragraph 71).
Suilen et al. do not expressly disclose that the ink applicator comprises at least one page-wide inkjet print head array.
However, Van Rens et al. disclose an ink applicator comprising at least one page-wide inkjet print head array so as to perform high-speed printing (paragraphs 195-197 & Fig. 1).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize at least one page-wide inkjet print head array, such as taught by Van Rens et al., as Suilen et al.’s ink applicator.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suilen et al. (US 2021/0189166 A1).
Regarding claim 10:
Suilen et al. disclose all the limitations of claim 9, and also that the ink set comprises a plurality of ink compositions (paragraph 48), each comprising a colorant and a water-dispersible polyester resin (paragraph 47).
Suilen et al. do not expressly disclose the use of four aqueous ink compositions.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that color printing often utilizes CMYK ink sets, so as to enable printing a wide variety of colors.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Suilen et al.’s ink set to include CMYK aqueous inks.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yang et al. (US 2024/0336799 A1) disclose an ink set comprising an aqueous pretreatment liquid having a Zn2+ salt fixing agent (“zinc acetate” paragraph 44) in a range of e.g. 5-65 wt% (paragraph 46), and an aqueous ink composition comprising a colorant a water-dispersible polyester resin (paragraphs 71, 91).
Communication with the USPTO
SHELBY L. FIDLER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2853
/SHELBY L FIDLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853