DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 1/29/2026 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
The previous art rejections are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
New analysis follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,293,732 to Rancourt (of record). Supporting information is provided by “Fused quartz” (retrieved from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fused_quartz on 11/12/2025, previously made of record).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Rancourt teaches a structure for use with a solar panel (C4/L19-21), the structure comprising
An at least partially transparent coverslide 16 (Fig. 1) including an amorphous glass material (C2/L50-54; the first paragraph of “Fused quartz” confirms that fused silica, the material of the coverslide 16, is amorphous glass)
An anti-reflective coating 21 on a first side 18 of the coverslide 16 (C3/L13-20)
An ultraviolet reflective coating 19 on a second side 17 of the coverslide 16 that is opposite the first side 18 (C2/L54-61, C3/L24).
The separation distance of the anti-reflective coating 21 and the ultraviolet reflective coating 19 is as low as 150 micrometers (C2/L52-53). This distance is just outside the claimed “distance of less than 150 micrometers”. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would expect a structure in which the two coatings are separated by less than 150 micrometers to be very similar to a structure in which the two coatings are separated by 150 micrometers as taught in the prior art. [A] prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.”. MPEP §2144.05.I.
“Fused quartz” recites that the material of the coverslide 16, fused silica, has a thermal conductivity of 1.3 W/mK (bottom p. 2). The ordinary and customary meaning of a term may be evidenced by a variety of sources, including the words of the claims themselves, the specification, drawings, and prior art. However, the best source for determining the meaning of a claim term is the specification – the greatest clarity is obtained when the specification serves as a glossary for the claim terms. See, e.g., In re Abbott Diabetes Care Inc., 696 F.3d 1142, 1149-50, 104 USPQ2d 1337, 1342-43 (Fed. Cir. 2012). MPEP §2111.01.III. While the instant specification does not explicitly define the limits of “thermally conductive”, paragraph [0022] does recite “the material of the coverslide 302 can have a thermal conductivity greater than the 1 Watt (W)/ meter (m) Kelvin (K) of standard glass…”; therefore the claimed thermally conductive structure can include a fused silica coverslide. Since the anti-reflective coating and ultraviolet reflective coating are also formed at least in part of fused silica (C4/25-45), and/or are orders of magnitude thinner than the coverslide (C3/L13-20), a skilled artisan would interpret the structure to be a thermally conductive structure within the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Per claim 4, modified-Rancourt teaches the limitations of claim 1. The structure further includes an at least partially transparent adhesive 22 to couple the ultraviolet reflective coating 19 to a cell 11 (C2/L61-68).
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rancourt as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2023/0006079 to Voarino (of record).
Regarding claims 5-7, modified-Rancourt teaches the limitations of claim 1, but does not teach a bond adhesive coupling the thermally conductive structure to an insulator of a solar panel. Voarino teaches that it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to use a bond adhesive (4 of Fig. 1) to couple a structure including a similar coverslide (1) to an insulator (11) of a solar panel, so that the structure may be part of a module of electrically connected elements (¶0061-0064). Further, it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the bond adhesive as a grid pattern, as such a pattern allows for the separation and replacement of incorrectly functioning cells (¶0094-0099; elements 4a of Figs. 5C, 5E, 6, 7 represent spatially and chemically distinct portions of adhesive, ¶0101-0107).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rancourt as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 4,053,327 to Meulenberg (of record). Supporting information regarding physical properties is provided by “Sapphire” (retrieved from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sapphire on 11/12/2025, previously made of record).
Regarding claim 8, modified-Rancourt teaches the limitations of claim 1, and teaches that the coverslide includes fused silica (ibid.). While Rancourt does not teach that the coverslide includes sapphire, it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the coverslide of sapphire, as Meulenberg teaches such a material is a suitable alternative to fused silica (C12/L20-26). The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Sapphire is known by a person having ordinary skill in the art to be a crystalline material (see at least first page of “Sapphire”). Further, as the coverslide is formed of sapphire, it is expected that it necessarily has thermal conductivity properties. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2112.01.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rancourt as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2011/0232733 to Noemayr (of record).
Regarding claim 9, modified-Rancourt teaches the limitations of claim 1. Rancourt’s coverslide is as low as 150 micrometers thick (Ibid.). It would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to conventionally form the coverslide with a thickness of 100 micrometers (¶0009 of Noemayr). The use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products) in the same way is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.). A range can be disclosed in multiple prior art references instead of in a single prior art reference depending on the specific facts of the case. Iron Grip Barbell Co., Inc. v. USA Sports, Inc., 392 F.3d 1317, 1322, 73 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2004). MPEP §2144.05.I.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rancourt as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 4,909,856 to Ralph.
Regarding claim 21, modified-Rancourt teaches the limitations of claim 1. Rancourt does not specifically teach that the coverslide is at least partially composed of ceria. Ralph teaches that it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to dope the material of the coverslide with ceria in order to protect against high energy particles (C3/L58-64).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rancourt as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of US 4,909,856 to Ralph.
Regarding claim 23, modified-Rancourt teaches the limitations of claim 4. Rancourt does not specifically teach that the at least partially transparent adhesive is coupled to a metal grid extending from the cell. Ralph teaches that it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to form a metal grid (24 of Fig. 1) to extend from a cell (12) and couple to an adhesive (50) of a similar structure to function as a front electrode (C2/L48-C3/L10).
Claim(s) 10, 12-14, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rancourt, and further in view of Voarino. Supporting information is provided by “Fused quartz”.
Regarding claims 10 and 12-14, Rancourt teaches a structure comprising
An at least partially transparent coverslide 16 (Fig. 1) including an amorphous glass material (C2/L50-54; the first paragraph of “Fused quartz” confirms that fused silica, the material of the coverslide 16, is amorphous glass)
An anti-reflective coating 21 on a first side 18 of the coverslide 16 (C3/L13-20)
An ultraviolet reflective coating 19 on a second side 17 of the coverslide 16 that is opposite the first side 18 (C2/L54-61, C3/L24)
An at least partially transparent adhesive 22 (C2/L61-68)
A cell 11 coupled to the at least partially transparent adhesive 22 (C2/L38-44).
The separation distance of the anti-reflective coating 21 and the ultraviolet reflective coating 19 is as low as 150 micrometers (C2/L52-53). This distance is just outside the claimed “distance of less than 150 micrometers”. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would expect a structure in which the two coatings are separated by less than 150 micrometers to be very similar to a structure in which the two coatings are separated by 150 micrometers as taught in the prior art. [A] prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.”. MPEP §2144.05.I.
The structure is not described as a coverglass interconnect cell (CIC). Voarino teaches to form such a structure as a CIC so that it may be incorporated into a protected photovoltaic module (¶0004, 0005, 0008, 0059-0062).
Regarding claims 12-14, modified-Rancourt teaches the limitations of claim 10. Voarino teaches that it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to use a bond adhesive (4 of Fig. 1) to couple a structure including a similar coverslide (1) to an insulator (11) of a solar panel, so that the structure may be part of a module of electrically connected elements (¶0061-0064). Further, it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the bond adhesive as a grid pattern, as such a pattern allows for the separation and replacement of incorrectly functioning cells (¶0094-0099; elements 4a of Figs. 5C, 5E, 6, 7 represent spatially and chemically distinct portions of adhesive, ¶0101-0107). The patterned layer of bond adhesive of modified-Rancourt defines gaps between the cell and the insulator of the solar panel.
Regarding claims 18-20, Rancourt teaches a method of producing a structure, the method comprising
Coupling an anti-reflective coating 21 to a first side 18 of an at least partially transparent coverslide 16 (Fig. 1, C3/L13-20), the coverslide including an amorphous glass material (C2/L50-54; the first paragraph of “Fused quartz” confirms that fused silica, the material of the coverslide 16, is amorphous glass)
Coupling an ultraviolet reflective coating 19 to a second side 17 of the coverslide 16 that is opposite the first side 18 (C2/L54-61, C3/L24)
Per claim 19, applying an at least partially transparent adhesive 22 (C2/L61-68) to the ultraviolet reflective coating 19 to couple a cell 11 to the ultraviolet reflective coating 19 (C2/L38-44).
The separation distance of the anti-reflective coating 21 and the ultraviolet reflective coating 19 is as low as 150 micrometers (C2/L52-53). This distance is just outside the claimed “distance of less than 150 micrometers”. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would expect a structure in which the two coatings are separated by less than 150 micrometers to be very similar to a structure in which the two coatings are separated by 150 micrometers as taught in the prior art. [A] prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.”. MPEP §2144.05.I.
The structure is not described as a coverglass interconnect cell (CIC). Voarino teaches to form such a structure as a CIC so that it may be incorporated into a protected photovoltaic module (¶0004, 0005, 0008, 0059-0062).
Regarding claim 20, modified-Rancourt teaches the limitations of claim 18. Voarino teaches that it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to use a bonding adhesive (4 of Fig. 1) to bond a CIC to an insulator (11) of a solar panel, so that the structure may be part of a module of electrically connected elements (¶0061-0064).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rancourt and Voarino as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Meulenberg. Supporting information regarding physical properties is provided by “Sapphire”.
Regarding claim 15, modified-Rancourt teaches the limitations of claim 10, and teaches that the coverslide includes fused silica (ibid.). While Rancourt does not teach that the coverslide includes sapphire, it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the coverslide of sapphire, as Meulenberg teaches such a material is a suitable alternative to fused silica (C12/L20-26). The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Sapphire is known by a person having ordinary skill in the art to be a crystalline material (see at least first page of “Sapphire”). Further, as the coverslide is formed of sapphire, it is expected that it necessarily has thermal conductivity properties. “Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2112.01.
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rancourt and Voarino as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Noemayr.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, modified-Rancourt teaches the limitations of claim 10. Rancourt does not detail the cell, but does teach that the cell of that invention is applied in space applications (C1/L11-12). Noemayr teaches that it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the cell to include a germanium subcell defining a p-n junction (3 of Fig. 3) because such cells are commonly used in space environments (¶0008-0012, 0040).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. US 2024/0300848 teaches the addition of ceria dioxide to a glass to reduce solarization (¶0005-0008). However, the prior art does not teach a coverslide that is ceria dioxide doped with silicon oxide.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Ryan S. Cannon
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/RYAN S CANNON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726