DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zweigle et al (11,879,997).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 15 Zweigle discloses,
Obtaining depth data of one or more features on the part as scanned by a plurality of depth imaging devices (note col. 11 lines 50-58, depth camera acquires depth information of an object to be scanned);
Establishing origin of a three-dimensional coordinate system in the depth data (note col. 12 lines 64- col. 13 lines 5, from data acquired from depth camera three-dimensional coordinate is determined); and
Determining a measured distance for at least one feature of the one or more features from the depth data (note col. 12 lines 65-66 distance determined from data acquired by depth camera) and based at least upon an inspection plan and the origin of the three-dimensional coordinate system (note col. 12 lines 60-63 and col. 13 lines 4-7, cites three-dimensional coordinate and three-dimensional map).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 16 Zweigle discloses
Wherein determining the measured distance for the at least one feature comprises determining a plurality of distances from a first surface of the at least one feature to a second surface and using the plurality of distances to determine the measured distance (note col. 13 lines 36-45, describes performing surface analysis of objects).
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 17 Zweigle discloses,
Wherein using the plurality of distances to determine the measured distance comprises fitting the plurality of distances to a distribution and using a mean of the distribution as the measured distance (note col. 13 lines 54- col. 14 lines 5, cites plane fit to an area and geometry distribution of distance).
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 18 Zweigle discloses
Outputting a result including the measured distance for at least one feature (note fig. 18 block 214 and col. 15 lines 45-50, resulted anomalies are displayed).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Zweigle discloses,
Wherein determining the plurality of distances from the first surface to the second surface comprises, in a cross section of the depth data at an area of interest for the at least one feature, fitting a reference plane to the depth data representing the first surface, and using the reference plan to determine the plurality of distances to depth data representing the second surface (note col. 13 lines 36-45, describes performing surface analysis of objects).
Regarding claims 6 and 19 Zweigle discloses,
Aligning a reference datum to a predefined surface of the part in the depth data (note col. 13 lines 60 – col. 14 lines 8, examiner interprets comparing surface information as aligning reference datum).
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20 Zweigle discloses,
Comparing the measured distance to a predetermined tolerance condition for the at least one feature, and if the measured distance does not meet the predetermined tolerance condition, flagging the measured distance as anomalous in the result (note col. 13 lines 53-60, cites distance and comparing).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zweigle in view of official notice
Regarding claim 8 Zweigle discloses depth data,
Zweigle does not clearly disclose removing noise in the depth data. The examiner asserts removing noise in depth data to be well‐known, or to be common knowledge in the art. Examiner takes official notice. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include removing noise in Zweigle depth data. The suggestion/motivation for doing so provides improvement in accuracy in three-dimensional analysis.
Related Prior art
Kitamura et al (9,207,069) Establishing an origin of a three-dimensional coordinate system in the depth data (note fig. 28 block 74, block cites 3D coordinate calculation unit).
Conclusion
G.D.
August 22, 2026
/GREGORY M DESIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2676