DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species F, chemical formula 6, in the reply filed on May 28, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that species J is not patentably distinct from that the Species F. This is not found persuasive because species J requires that the formula comprises Ta while elected species F requires that the formula comprises Nb. Species F and species J are materially different from each other. Applicant’s arguments concerning claim 6 are persuasive and claim 6 will be examined.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 2-4 and 7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on May 28, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 6 discloses chemical formula 9 which is outside the range of chemical formula 6 of parent claim 5. For formula 9 n is equal to 1 in order for there to be four halogens X. However, parent claim 5 requires that at least one of the L constituents is a bidentate organic ligand bonded with N, O, P or S elements while formula 9 has only has one L constituent which is a cyclopentadienyl group and does not disclose a bidentate organic ligand bonded with N, O, P or an S element. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (U.S. Patent # 11,466,043).
In the case of claim 1, Lee teaches a method for depositing thins films by forming thin films comprising niobium (Abstract). The method of Lee comprised an ALD process wherein a metal precursor in the form of a niobium compound of general formula I was supplied into a chamber having a substrate placed in it which adsorbed the precursor/compound to form an adsorption layer of the precursor/compound (Abstract, Column 17 Lines 34-52 and Figure 4). Lee further teaches having pursed the inside of the chamber (Column 17 Line 66 through Column 18 Line 8 and Figure 4) followed by supplying a reactant/reactive gas to the inside of the chamber to react with the adsorption layer to form the thin film (Column 18 Lines 15-21 and Figure 4).
Lee teaches that the metal precursor/compound had a general formula I including one or more halogen groups and one or more organic ligand wherein the formula had a cyclopentadienyl group and R2 and R3 which were independently selected from halogens or organic ligands (Column 3 Lines 9-34).
As for claim 8, Lee teaches that the method was carrier out in the temperature range of 150 to 350 ℃ (Column 17 Lines 59-65 and Column 18 Lines 29-36), which was within the required range of 50 to 700 ℃.
As for claim 9, Lee teaches that the taught process formed a thin film which was a metal film or a metal oxide film (Column 19 Lines 22-35).
In the case of claims 10 and 11, Lee teaches that the method was used to form thin films used in volatile memory devices such as DRAM devices and non-volatile memory devices such as flash memory devices (Column 19 Lines 36-43 and Column 29 Lines 44-54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Barry et al (U.S. Patent # 8,795,771).
The teaching of Lee as it applies to claim 1 have been discussed previously and are incorporated herein.
In the case of claims 5 and 6, Lee teaches general formula I which reads on formula 6, 7 and 8 of the claims when n of the claims is either 3 or 4 and comprised a cyclopentadienyl group and a ligand R1 bonded to the niobium element by a nitrogen double bond. Lee further teaches that constituents R2 and R3 were independently selected from halogens, hydrogen or alkyl groups. (Column 1 Lines 30-64)
Though Lee teaches an organic ligand bonded with nitrogen in the form of R1, Lee does not teach that this ligand was a bidentate organic ligand.
Barry teaches an atomic layer deposition process for forming a thin film wherein the process used a metal precursor comprising a cyclopentadienyl group and a nitrogen bridged ligand (Abstract). Barry teaches that the metal of the precursor included niobium (Nb) (Column 2 Lines 20-27) and that the ligand bound to the nitrogen was a chelating ligand comprised of a bidentate ligand (Column 3 Lines 50-52).
Based on the teachings of Barry, at the time the present invention was effectively filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have had the R1 ligand of Lee be a bidentate ligand in order to provide chelating/stability properties to the precursor compound.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 6 and 8-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,421,605. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the patent and the present application claims substantially the same method of depositing thin films by supplying a metal precursor to a chamber comprising a substrate, purging the chamber and supplying a reactant to the chamber to form the thin film wherein the metal precursor was a metal precursor of niobium including one or more halogen groups and one or more organic ligands.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 5, 6 and 8 through 11 have been rejected. Claims 2 through 4 and 7 have been withdrawn. No claims were allowed.
/MICHAEL P WIECZOREK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712