DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to communications filed 07/16/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot due to new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kalaichelvan et al (US 2023/0291942 and hereafter referred to as “Kala”)
Regarding Claim 1, Kala discloses a method comprising:
requesting, by a user device and based on user-initiation of a trick play operation, at least one fragment of a content item associated with the trick play operation (Page 3-4, paragraph 0030, I-frames, chunks, Figure 2, 204, 206),
after requesting the at least one fragment and based on metadata associated with the at least one fragment, determining, by the user device, at least one I-frame associated with the at least one fragment (Page 3-4, paragraph 0030-0031, I-frames, chunks, Figure 2, 204, 206, Figure 1, 126, Figure 1B); and
causing output of the at least one I-frame to perform the trick play operation (Page 3-4, paragraph 000030-0031, I-frames, Figure 2, 212).
Regarding Claim 3, Kala discloses all the limitations of Claim 1. Kala discloses wherein requesting, by the user device and based on the user- initiation of the trick play operation, the at least one fragment of the content item associated with the trick play operation comprises requesting the at least one fragment based on a manifest file associated with the content item (Page 3-4, paragraph 0030-0031, I-frames, chunks, Figure 2, 204, 206, Figure 1, 126, Figure 1B).
Regarding Claim 4, Kala discloses all the limitations of Claim 1. Kala discloses wherein determining the at least one I-frame associated with the at least one fragment comprises monitoring the metadata associated with the at least one fragment to determine that the user device has received the at least one I-frame associated with the at least one fragment (Page 3-4, paragraph 0030-0031, I-frames, chunks, Figure 2, 204, 206, Figure 1, 126, Figure 1B – information of the file include frame, bitrate).
Regarding Claim 6, Kala discloses all the limitations of Claim 1. Kala discloses wherein requesting, by the user device and based on user initiation of the trick play operation, the at least one fragment of the content item associated with the trick play operation comprises initiating a download of the at least one fragment (Page 3-4, paragraph 0030-0031)
Regarding Claim 9, Kala discloses all the limitations of Claim 1. Kala discloses wherein the user device comprises one or more of a set-top box, a television, a display device, a computer, a smartphone, a laptop, a tablet, a multimedia playback device, or a portable electronic device (Figure 1, 120).
Regarding Claim 10, Kala discloses all the limitations of Claim 1. Kala discloses wherein the trick play operation comprises one or more of a rewind operation or a fast-forward operation (Page 3-4, paragraph 0030-0031).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kala.
Regarding Claim 2, Kala discloses all the limitations of Claim 1. Kala discloses wherein requesting, by the user device and based on the user- initiation of the trick play operation, the at least one fragment of the content item associated with the trick play operation (Page 3-4, paragraph 0030-0031, I-frames, chunks, Figure 2, 204, 206, Figure 1, 126, Figure 1B). Kala does not explicitly disclose the trick play operation comprises requesting the at least one fragment during output of the content item by the user device. Official notice is taken that it is notoriously well known in the art before the effective filing date to display a movie or television show and fast forward or rewind while watching the program in order to allow a user to rewind a scene they missed watching or fast forward through a boring scene.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kala in view of Vensiyani et al (US 2023/0291912 and hereafter referred to as “Vensiyani”).
Regarding Claim 5, Kala discloses all the limitations of Claim 1. Kala does not explicitly teach discarding. Vensiyani discloses further comprising: based on determining the at least one I-frame associated with the at least one fragment, discarding at least one P-frame or at least one B-frame associated with the at least one fragment (paragraph 0043, 0049). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kala to include the missing limitation as taught by Vensiyani in order to minimize memory requirements (Page 1, paragraph 0002) as disclosed by Vensiyani.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARZANA HOSSAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482
August 22, 2026