Claim objection
Claim 8 is objected to as it recites “ code to join a multiway call between a plurality of mobile devices, wherein the joining includes exchanging a first secret used to communicate encrypted traffic of the multiway call between the plurality of mobile devices; code to receive an indication associated with a second mobile device of the plurality of mobile devices disconnecting from the multiway call; and in response to the indication: code to discontinue use of the first secret; and code to establish a second secret with ones of the plurality of mobile devices to continue the multiway call without the second mobile device being able to decrypt traffic of the continued multiway call”. As recited “code to join”, “code to receive”, “code to discontinue” and “code to establish”, these limitations may not be executed as these codes are not executed.
Claims 9-10 & 24-27 are objected for similar reasons as mentioned above.
Claim 9 is additionally objected as it recites “wherein the code further comprises: code to generate the second secret; code to encrypt the second secret using a public key of a third mobile device to exchange the second secret with the third mobile device; and code to, based on the second secret, derive a cryptographic key used to encrypt traffic of the multiway call directed to the third mobile device. As recited it is not clear how third device will decrypt the traffic encrypted with a derived cryptographic key as it not shared with the third device.
Claims 29 & 36 are objected for the similar reasons as mentioned above.
Claim 10 is objected as it recites “wherein the code further comprises: code to exchange the first and second secrets and receive the indication via a first server system; and code to relay encrypted traffic of the multiway call via a second server system”. As recited “the indication” is referring to is based on the disconnection of the second mobile device and after exchange of first secret but the instant claim recites that the indication is received after exchange of first and second secrets and hence there is an ambiguity that needs clarification or correction.
Claims 30 & 37 are objected for the similar reasons as mentioned above.
Claim 27 is objected as it recites “wherein the code further comprises: code to receive an indication that the second mobile device has rejoined the multiway call; and code to, in response to the indication, establish a third secret with the second mobile device and the ones of the plurality of mobile devices to continue the multiway call without the second mobile device being able to decrypt prior traffic of the multiway call”.
As recited, this is not clear what the limitation is refereeing to when it recites “prior traffic” as the second mobile device was in the group and receiving and decrypting traffic. Hence it is imperative to mention which traffic prior traffic the second device is unable to decrypt.
Claim 34 is objected for the similar reasons as mentioned above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9, 25-29, 32-36, & 39-40 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Petit-H (US 20160021253 A1) in view of Klug (US 20060123224 A1.)
Regarding claim 8, Petit-H teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable medium having code stored therein, the code executable by one or more processors to perform operations, and the code comprising: code to join a multiway call between a plurality of devices, wherein the joining includes exchanging a first secret used to communicate encrypted traffic of the multiway call between the plurality of mobile devices; [0103] In one or more embodiments, the first network device 302a can negotiate a shared security element with the second network device 302b and the third network device 302c, as illustrated in step 408. As described above, each network device 302 participating in the communication session can negotiate a shared security element, such as a cryptography key, between each other to prevent unauthorized access to the communication session. In one or more embodiments, the security element negotiation is accomplished by the first network device 302a generating a security key, and sending the security key to the second network device 302b and the third network device 302c. Devices that attempt to join the communication session will have to have the security key corresponding to the particular communication session, and upon failure to provide a correct security key, the device will be denied access to the communication session.
code to receive an indication associated with a second device of the plurality of devices disconnecting from the multiway call; [0105] In step 412, the third network device 302c disconnects from the communication session. For example, the third network device 302c hangs up to disconnect from the conference call. In some example embodiments, the third network device 302c ( a second device) can send an indication to the datacenter 304, the first network device 302a, and/or the second network device 302b when disconnecting from the communication session.
in response to the indication: code to discontinue use of the first secret; and code to establish a second secret with ones of the plurality of devices to continue the multiway call without the second device being able to decrypt traffic of the continued multiway call. [0107] In step 416, the first network device 302a and the second network device 302b can negotiate a new security element. In particular, when the first network device 302a and/or the second network device 302b detects that the third network device 302c disconnects from the communication session, the first network device 302a and the second network device 302b can negotiate a new security element. In this manner, either the third network device 302c or an electronic device spoofing to be the third device cannot later gain access to the communication session between the first network device 302a and the second network device 302b, shown as step 418.
Petit-H teaches network device (s) but does not teach explicitly, however, Klug teaches Klug teaches mobile device(s), [0032] Secure call alerts can also be implemented for group calls which is an extension of private (or dispatch) call to 3 or more participants. Referring to FIG. 7, a process flow demonstrates how a secure call alert can be extended to perform a secure group call alert with three or more participants. Like a secure call alert for two parties, a secure group call can require that a common key be present on each MS (mobile stations/devices) or recipient that is a member of the group. Note that there are several ways to distribute a key securely to multiple recipient devices such as pre-placing a key on each recipient device either manually or with an external key loader or downloading keys over a secure link from a key server. It is also possible to exchange keys between multiple units using iterated Automatic Public Key exchange procedures where a master MS (mobile station/device) or recipient device contacts each target MS (mobile stations/devices) or recipient device in the group, performs an APK and sends a common key over an encrypted connection.]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Petit-H with the disclosure of Klug. The motivation or suggestion would have been to implement a system that will provide efficient techniques and faster establishment of a secret key between communicating devices for secured group communications. (abstract, para 0001-0006, Klug)
Regarding claims 28 & 35, these claims are interpreted to be same claim 1 and rejected for the same reasons as set forth for claim 8.
Regarding claims 9, 29 & 36, Petit-H discloses a first secret but he does not teach explicitly, however, Klug teaches code to generate the second secret; code to encrypt the second secret using a public key of a third mobile device to exchange the second secret with the third mobile device; and code to, based on the second secret, derive a cryptographic key used to encrypt traffic of the multiway call directed to the third mobile device. [0032] Secure call alerts can also be implemented for group calls which is an extension of private (or dispatch) call to 3 or more participants. Referring to FIG. 7, a process flow demonstrates how a secure call alert can be extended to perform a secure group call alert with three or more participants. Like a secure call alert for two parties, a secure group call can require that a common key be present on each MS or recipient that is a member of the group. Note that there are several ways to distribute a key securely to multiple recipient devices such as pre-placing a key on each recipient device either manually or with an external key loader or downloading keys over a secure link from a key server. It is also possible to exchange keys between multiple units using iterated Automatic Public Key exchange procedures where a master MS (mobile station/device) or recipient device contacts each target MS(mobile station/device) or recipient device in the group, performs an APK and sends a common key over an encrypted connection.]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Petit-H with the disclosure of Keith. The motivation or suggestion would have been to implement a system that will provide efficient techniques and faster establishment of a secret key between communicating devices for secured group communications. (abstract, para 0001-0006, Klug)
Regarding claims 25, 32 & 39, Petit-H teaches wherein the multiway call includes video captured by a camera of an electronic device and communicated via a wireless interface of the electronic device. [0061] The system 200 also allows for disaggregated media within multi-device communication session between the network devices 102. In particular, the system 200 can originate and terminate media on different network devices 102. For instance, a user can utilize a first network device to capture video and audio, as well as play audio, within a multi-device communication session. At the same time, the user can utilize a second device to present video from the multi-device communication session. For example, a user can use a smartphone to capture video/audio (it is obvious to a skilled person that smartphone includes atleast one camera) and present audio in a multi-device communication session, and a monitor to display video for the multi-device communication session. Thus, the audio presented via the smart phone and the video displayed on the monitor can be synchronized.]
Regarding claims 26, 33 & 40, Petit-H discloses wherein the code further comprises: code to receive the second secret from the ones of the plurality of devices. [[0029] Further, in one or more embodiments, ………other network devices. The network device can renegotiate a new shared security element with each network device (Examiner’s note: any number of devices including second, third, etc. devices) in the multi-device communication session each time a network device joins or leaves the multi-device communication session. In this manner, the network device can protect against unwanted parties attempting to access the multi-device communication session.]
Petit-H teaches network device(s) but does not teach explicitly, however, Klug teaches mobile device(s), however, Klug teaches mobile devices, [0032] Secure call alerts can also be implemented for group calls which is an extension of private (or dispatch) call to 3 or more participants. Referring to FIG. 7, a process flow demonstrates how a secure call alert can be extended to perform a secure group call alert with three or more participants. Like a secure call alert for two parties, a secure group call can require that a common key be present on each MS (mobile stations/devices) or recipient that is a member of the group. Note that there are several ways to distribute a key securely to multiple recipient devices such as pre-placing a key on each recipient device either manually or with an external key loader or downloading keys over a secure link from a key server. It is also possible to exchange keys between multiple units using iterated Automatic Public Key exchange procedures where a master MS (mobile station/device) or recipient device contacts each target MS (mobile stations/devices) or recipient device in the group, performs an APK and sends a common key over an encrypted connection.]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Petit-H with the disclosure of Klug. The motivation or suggestion would have been to implement a system that will provide efficient techniques and faster establishment of a secret key between communicating devices for secured group communications. (abstract, para 0001-0006, Klug)
Regarding claims 27 & 34, Petit-H teaches code to receive an indication that the second mobile device has rejoined the multiway call; and code to, in response to the indication, establish a third secret with the second device and the ones of the plurality of mobile devices to continue the multiway call without the second device being able to decrypt prior traffic of the multiway call. [0161] Step 912 can include receiving a request from the second network device 302b to rejoin the conference call. In particular, step 912 can include receiving a request from the second network device 302b to rejoin the communication session where the request includes the shared security element. For example, upon reconnecting the network-based communication system, the second network device 302b can request to resume the conference call with the first network device 302a and other network devices 302. For example, the second network device 302b can send, as part of the request, the shared security element agreed upon by the first network device 302a, the second network device 302b, and other network devices 302 for the conference call to the first network device 302a.]
Petit-H teaches network device(s) but does not teach explicitly, however, Klug teaches mobile device(s), however, Klug teaches mobile devices, [0032] Secure call alerts can also be implemented for group calls which is an extension of private (or dispatch) call to 3 or more participants. Referring to FIG. 7, a process flow demonstrates how a secure call alert can be extended to perform a secure group call alert with three or more participants. Like a secure call alert for two parties, a secure group call can require that a common key be present on each MS (mobile stations/devices) or recipient that is a member of the group. Note that there are several ways to distribute a key securely to multiple recipient devices such as pre-placing a key on each recipient device either manually or with an external key loader or downloading keys over a secure link from a key server. It is also possible to exchange keys between multiple units using iterated Automatic Public Key exchange procedures where a master MS (mobile station/device) or recipient device contacts each target MS (mobile stations/devices) or recipient device in the group, performs an APK and sends a common key over an encrypted connection.]
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Petit-H with the disclosure of Klug. The motivation or suggestion would have been to implement a system that will provide efficient techniques and faster establishment of a secret key between communicating devices for secured group communications. (abstract, para 0001-0006, Klug)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 24, 30 -31 and 37-38 are objected but would become allowable if they are incorporated fully in the respective base claims, including any intervening claims, if any, and these claims (!0,24 30-31 & 37-38) are rewritten to overcome claim objection issued in this instant office action, without introducing any new matter and without broadening the scope of the claims. Reasons of allowance will be provided once the Applicant send out official response and Examiner find the response has placed the case in allowable condition.
Examiner’s Note: The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are followings:
1.Normile (EP 1875769 B1-original in English is attached), teaches an architecture for establishing a multi-participant conference. This architecture has one participant's computer in the conference act as a central content distributor for the conference. The central distributor receives data (e.g., video and/or audio streams) from the computer of each other participant, and distributes the received data to the computers of all participants.
2.Jiang (US20130293666 A1) discloses communication server and accompanying communication devices allow near instantaneous communication between users of the communication devices. A communication device may be configured with multiple channels, where each channel is assigned a corresponding communication device. As the communication devices are registered with the communication server, each communication device has knowledge of other registered communication devices. Thus, communication devices may communicate nearly instantaneously with each other. Furthermore, as the communication device is equipped with multiple channels, a single communication device may host a conference call with other communication devices. In addition, communication device may include multiple buttons to control the communication device, and indicator lights to indicate the status of calls with other communication devices.
3.Gao (CN 108270904 A-English translated copy with original is attached)) discloses a multi-party communication to realize safe communication method, device and multi-way terminal. the method comprises: establishing security service data channel to participate in a secure communication of each terminal, service data of each terminal to participate in a secure communication through the security service data channel for processing. The invention is capable of establishing a secure call and to encrypt the content of the safe communication so as to ensure the communication safety in the multiparty call.
4. Lester (US 20160197901 A1) describes a method, comprising: generating a shared symmetric key to begin a communication session among a group of users by a first user; distributing, by the first user, the generated shared symmetric key to each user in the group of users; communicating within the communication session among a group of users, where each user encrypts a message to the group of users to be distributed through the communication session using the generated shared symmetric key, and each user decrypts a message received from the communication session using the generated shared symmetric key
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SHER KHAN whose telephone number is (571)272-8574. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday-8:00am - 5:00pm (EST).If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Eleni Shiferaw can be reached on 571-272-3867. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SHER A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2497