DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “rotateably,” change to the correct spelling “rotatably.”
Claim 4 recites “rotateably,” change to the correct spelling “rotatably.”
Claim 6 recites “configured to be retrofitted onto an existing of the pump jack.” The participles “of the” are incorrectly placed, the term “existing” should not precede “of the pump jack,” because “existing” is not an element which can be possessed by or belong to the “pump jack.” Delete “of the” to correct the limitation’s grammar.
Claim 8 recites “a shaft,” change to “the shaft” because it receives antecedent basis from claim 2.
Claim 10 recites “a belt system” twice. Change the second instance to “the belt system” because the second recitation receives antecedent basis from the first recitation.
Claim 12 recites “rotateably,” change to the correct spelling “rotatably.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant defines “Scope 2 emissions” in their Specification as “indirect greenhouse gas emissions associated with the purchase of electricity, steam, heat, or cooling (par 0092).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 3 recite “the belt guard assembly comprises a guard and a guard plate, providing protection and facilitating maintenance of the belt system.” Applicant does not disclose how the function of “facilitating maintenance” is accomplished by the guard and guard plate. Applicant’s specification recites the functional limitation (Applicant’s Spec, par 0017, 0155, 0157), however it does not provide sufficient guidance with respect to the claimed function. The rule is that the ability of one skilled in the art to make and use the invention does not satisfy written description if the details of how the function is performed is not disclosed (See MPEP 2161.01). In this case, since applicant has failed to explain how the inventor envisioned the function to be performed, the written description does not show that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention and claims 1 and 3 are rejected for lack of written description.
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 3 recite “the belt guard assembly comprises a guard and a guard plate, providing protection and facilitating maintenance of the belt system.” Applicant does not disclose how the function of “facilitating maintenance” is accomplished by the guard and guard plate. Applicant’s specification recites the functional limitation (Applicant’s Spec, par 0017, 0155, 0157), however the function is claimed without connection to the particular structure of the belt guard assembly which is related to said function, therefore the boundaries of the claim limitation can not be understood, as there are no actual limits imposed by the language “facilitating maintenance.” Therefore, claims 1 and 3 are rejected for indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slater (US 5,105,671) in view of Duceppe (US 4,012,021).
Claim 1, Slater discloses a pump jack (fig 1, 10) emissions reduction system (motor 62 is adjustable to maintain the belt 64 connection, c 3 ln 34; applicant discloses that emissions reduction system is the adjustable motor mount assembly, applicant’s par 0017), comprising:
said pump jack emissions reduction system comprises a mount (carriage 60, c 3 ln 31), a shaft (crank shaft 50, c 3 ln 19) having a shaft axis (axis through bearings 56, c 3 ln 29), two or more shaft fly wheels (fig 3, pulley sheave attaching belt 64 to shaft 50 and pulley sheave on shaft of motor 62; examiner notes that applicant’s disclosure identifies flywheels 110 and 114 function as the belt sheaves, par 0078, par 0074; reasonably applicant is disclosing the mechanical advantage associated with the ratio in pulley sheave size), a motor (62), and an adjustable motor mount bracket assembly (motor 62 is adjustable to maintain belt 64 connection, c 3 ln 29-38);
said mount is configured to attach to a pump jack (10);
said shaft is [rotatably] attached to a portion of said mount (mounted via bearings 56 in carriage 60, c 3 ln 29-31);
said adjustable motor mount bracket assembly is configured to receive and hold said motor (fig 4 depicts motor 62 mounted in 60, c 3 ln 29-37), and selectively adjust relative to said shaft (motor 62 is adjustable to maintain driving connection via belt 64, c 3 ln 29-37; reasonably this adjustability is relative movement of the motor because it is the conventional way to maintain the connection between belt 64 and belt-sheave on the motor);
…
said belt guard assembly comprises a guard (fig 1 shows that carriage 60 surrounds the motor and belt; thereby reasonably providing the guard function, c 3 ln 29-37) and a guard plate (vertical plates 58 of carriage 60), providing protection (the carriage 60 surrounding the motor and belt meets the protection function) and facilitating maintenance of the belt system (fig 1 depicts carriage 60 as open upwardly, which indicates the motor is accessible for maintenance from above, which meets the plain meaning of facilitating maintenance under a BRI ).
Slater does not disclose:
said adjustable motor mount bracket assembly comprises a first motor mount bracket and a floating motor mount bracket said floating motor mount bracket is configured to attach to said mount through one or more mounting apertures in said mount;
said first motor mount bracket is configured to selectively slide in a longitudinal direction relative to said floating motor mount bracket through one or more alignment apertures;
said adjustable motor mount bracket assembly can further comprise a threaded adjustment assembly configured to adjust said first motor mount bracket in said longitudinal direction by rotating a nut and a threading to move said first motor mount bracket;
the adjustable motor mount bracket assembly is used to maintain an alignment between the shaft, the motor and a pumpjack drive assembly by maintaining an alignment between one or more mounting apertures, one or more alignment apertures and the threaded adjustment assembly;
accordingly, said pump jack emissions reduction system can put an even pressure on a belt between said motor and the two or more shaft fly wheels; and
Duceppe teaches a motor mount to adjust the longitudinal and transverse position of an electric motor (fig 1, 10) to maintain belt (12) tension and alignment (c 2 ln 4-10);
said adjustable motor mount bracket assembly comprises a first motor mount bracket (16) and a floating motor mount bracket (18) said floating motor mount bracket is configured to attach to said mount through one or more mounting apertures (slots 68/70 for bolt and nut 67, c 2 ln 40-44) in a mount (20, 22);
said first motor mount bracket is configured to selectively slide in a longitudinal direction relative to said floating motor mount bracket through one or more alignment apertures (slots 68/70 for bolt and nut 67, c 2 ln 40-44; both 16/18 are capable of longitudinal shifting, c 2 ln 28-29, 16/18 slide via engagement with threaded rods 72, c2 ln 56-65);
said adjustable motor mount bracket assembly can further comprise a threaded adjustment assembly configured to adjust said first motor mount bracket in said longitudinal direction by rotating a nut (76) and a threading (72) to move said first motor mount bracket (threaded rods 72 with nuts 76, c2 ln 56-65);
the adjustable motor mount bracket assembly is used to maintain an alignment between the shaft (the shaft driven by the belt 12), the motor (the motor 10 which drives belt 12) and a drive assembly (the frame under the motor, c 2 ln 34) by maintaining an alignment between one or more mounting apertures (68/70, either of slots can function as the claimed mounting or alignment apertures because the beams 16/18 are independently adjustable), one or more alignment apertures (68/70, id) and the threaded adjustment assembly (the assembly is adjusted to maintain alignment of motor so that belt can drive a pulley with desired tension and alignment, c 1 ln 11-18);
accordingly, said pump jack emissions reduction system can put an even pressure on a belt (12, c 1 ln 10-15) between said motor and the two or more shaft fly wheels (the drive and driven pulleys which provide tension for belt 12).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the motor (62) adjustment of belt (64) in carriage (60) of Slater (c 3 ln 29-37) by adding an adjusting motor mount (fig 2) taught by Duceppe by mounting Duceppe’s upper beams (16/18) and lower beams (20/22) to Slater’s carriage (60) as explained in Duceppe’s mounting of lower beams (20/22) to a rigid base (Duceppe, c 2 ln 34) and then mounting Slater’s motor (62) to Duceppe’s beams (16/18) via bolts (24) and slots (26/28) as explained in (Duceppe’s, c 2 ln 11-27) in order to ease the adjustment and alignment of the motor to maintain a desired belt tension (Duceppe, c 2 ln 4-10, 56-60; Slater, c 3 ln 29-37).
Claim 2, Slater disclose a pump jack emissions reduction system for improving the efficiency of a pump jack by adjusting a torque and power characteristic of a motor (adjusting slidable segment 40 allows energy to cooperate pump jack to be varied to any ratio desired, and reduce the output required from the electric motor, c 4 ln 19-35) when applied to a pumpjack drive assembly of said pump jack and thereby reduce scope 2 emissions associated with the operation of said pump jack (reduction of scope 2 emissions is a intended use in the preamble that doesn’t result in a structural difference in the body of the claim and will not be given patentable weight See MPEP 2111.02), wherein:
said pump jack emissions reduction system comprises a mount (carriage 60, c 3 ln 31), a shaft (crank shaft 50, c 3 ln 19) having a shaft axis (axis through bearings 56, c 3 ln 29), two or more shaft fly wheels (fig 3, pulley sheave attaching belt 64 to shaft 50 and pulley sheave on shaft of motor 62; examiner notes that applicant’s disclosure identifies flywheels 110 and 114 function as the belt sheaves, par 0078, par 0074; reasonably applicant is disclosing the mechanical advantage associated with the ratio in pulley sheave size), a motor (62), and an adjustable motor mount bracket assembly (motor 62 is adjustable to maintain belt 64 connection, c 3 ln 29-38);
said mount is configured to attach to a pump jack (10);
said shaft is [rotatably] attached to a portion of said mount (mounted via bearings 56 in carriage 60, c 3 ln 29-31);
said adjustable motor mount bracket assembly is configured to receive and hold said motor (fig 4 depicts motor 62 mounted in 60, c 3 ln 29-37), and selectively adjust relative to said shaft (motor 62 is adjustable to maintain driving connection via belt 64, c 3 ln 29-37; reasonably this adjustability is relative movement of the motor because it is the conventional way to maintain the connection between belt 64 and belt-sheave on the motor);
…
Slater does not disclose:
said adjustable motor mount bracket assembly comprises a first motor mount bracket and a floating motor mount bracket said floating motor mount bracket is configured to attach to said mount through one or more mounting apertures in said mount;
said first motor mount bracket is configured to selectively slide in a longitudinal direction relative to said floating motor mount bracket through one or more alignment apertures;
said adjustable motor mount bracket assembly can further comprise a threaded adjustment assembly configured to adjust said first motor mount bracket in said longitudinal direction by rotating a nut and a threading to move said first motor mount bracket;
the adjustable motor mount bracket assembly is used to maintain an alignment between the shaft, the motor and a pumpjack drive assembly by maintaining an alignment between one or more mounting apertures, one or more alignment apertures and the threaded adjustment assembly;
accordingly, said pump jack emissions reduction system can put an even pressure on a belt between said motor and the two or more shaft fly wheels.
Duceppe teaches a motor mount to adjust the longitudinal and transverse position of an electric motor (fig 1, 10) to maintain belt (12) tension and alignment (c 2 ln 4-10);
said adjustable motor mount bracket assembly comprises a first motor mount bracket (16) and a floating motor mount bracket (18) said floating motor mount bracket is configured to attach to said mount through one or more mounting apertures (slots 68/70 for bolt and nut 67, c 2 ln 40-44) in a mount (20, 22);
said first motor mount bracket is configured to selectively slide in a longitudinal direction relative to said floating motor mount bracket through one or more alignment apertures (slots 68/70 for bolt and nut 67, c 2 ln 40-44; both 16/18 are capable of longitudinal shifting, c 2 ln 28-29, 16/18 slide via engagement with threaded rods 72, c2 ln 56-65);
said adjustable motor mount bracket assembly can further comprise a threaded adjustment assembly configured to adjust said first motor mount bracket in said longitudinal direction by rotating a nut (76) and a threading (72) to move said first motor mount bracket (threaded rods 72 with nuts 76, c2 ln 56-65);
the adjustable motor mount bracket assembly is used to maintain an alignment between the shaft (the shaft driven by the belt 12), the motor (the motor 10 which drives belt 12) and a drive assembly (the frame under the motor, c 2 ln 34) by maintaining an alignment between one or more mounting apertures (68/70, either of slots can function as the claimed mounting or alignment apertures because the beams 16/18 are independently adjustable), one or more alignment apertures (68/70, id) and the threaded adjustment assembly (the assembly is adjusted to maintain alignment of motor so that belt can drive a pulley with desired tension and alignment, c 1 ln 11-18);
accordingly, said pump jack emissions reduction system can put an even pressure on a belt (12, c 1 ln 10-15) between said motor and the two or more shaft fly wheels (the drive and driven pulleys which provide tension for belt 12).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the motor (62) adjustment of belt (64) in carriage (60) of Slater (c 3 ln 29-37) by adding an adjusting motor mount (fig 2) taught by Duceppe by mounting Duceppe’s upper beams (16/18) and lower beams (20/22) to Slater’s carriage (60) as explained in Duceppe’s mounting of lower beams (20/22) to a rigid base (Duceppe, c 2 ln 34) and then mounting Slater’s motor (62) to Duceppe’s beams (16/18) via bolts (24) and slots (26/28) as explained in (Duceppe’s, c 2 ln 11-27) in order to ease the adjustment and alignment of the motor to maintain a desired belt tension (Duceppe, c 2 ln 4-10, 56-60; Slater, c 3 ln 29-37).
Claim 3, Slater in view of Duceppe teaches the pump jack emissions reduction system of claim 2, wherein: said belt guard assembly comprises a guard (Slater, fig 1 shows that carriage 60 surrounds the motor and belt; thereby reasonably providing the guard function, c 3 ln 29-37) and a guard plate (vertical plates 58 of carriage 60), providing protection (the carriage 60 surrounding the motor and belt meets the protection function) and facilitating maintenance of the belt system (fig 1 depicts carriage 60 as open upwardly, which indicates the motor is accessible for maintenance from above, which meets the plain meaning of facilitating maintenance under a BRI ).
Claim 5, Slater in view of Duceppe teaches the pump jack emissions reduction system of claim 2, wherein: the motor and a motor fly wheel, wherein the motor is configured to drive the shaft and optimize energy consumption … pump jack (Slater, motor position can be optimized to reduce output required form the electric motor, c 4 ln 19-35).
Claim 6, Slater in view of Duceppe teaches the pump jack emissions reduction system of claim 2, wherein: said pump jack emissions reduction system is configured to be retrofitted onto an existing of the pump jack, thereby enhancing efficiency without the need for complete replacement of the pump jack (Duceppe teaches mounting the mount assembly lower beams 20/22 to a rigid base, c 2 ln 34; the capability of mounting Duceppe’s frame to Slater’s existing pump jack was shown as obvious in the independent claims 1 and 2; this interpretation is in accord with the retrofit capability disclosed by applicant, See applicant’s spec par 0073).
Claim 7, Slater in view of Duceppe teaches the pump jack emissions reduction system of claim 2, wherein: a belt guard assembly (Slater, carriage 60) designed to enclose and protect a reduction belt (belt 64 is used to transfer rotation energy from electric motor 62 to shaft 50 at an adjustable reduction ratio, i.e. 3-5 hp to 1 hp, c 4 ln 19-35) between said shaft and said motor (fig 1 shows that carriage 60 surrounds the motor and belt; thereby reasonably providing the guard function, c 3 ln 29-37).
Claims 4, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slater in view of Duceppe in view of Crafton (US 5,381,861).
Claim 4, Slater in view of Duceppe teaches the pump jack emissions reduction system of claim 2, wherein: the shaft [rotatably] secured by one or more mounted … bearings (Slater, bearings 56) and configured to rotate around the shaft axis (c 3 ln 29-31).
Slater is silent on the bearings being ball bearings.
Crafton teaches a pump assembly using ball bearings (ball bearings 65, c 4 ln 64-66) to rotatably hold a shaft (60).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to enable the shaft bearings (56) of Slater as ball bearings as taught by Crafton for the expected result of rotatably holding a shaft, and reducing wear of the bearing surface.
Claim 8, Slater in view of Duceppe teaches the pump jack emissions reduction system of claim 2, wherein: one or more mounted … bearings (Slater, bearings 56), arranged to facilitate rotational movement of [the] shaft (shaft 50, c 3 ln 19, 29-31).
Slater is silent on the bearings being ball bearings.
Crafton teaches a pump assembly using ball bearings (ball bearings 65, c 4 ln 64-66) to rotatably hold a shaft (60).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to enable the shaft bearings (56) of Slater as ball bearings as taught by Crafton for the expected result of rotatably holding a shaft, and reducing wear of the bearing surface.
Claim 9, Slater in view of Duceppe teaches the pump jack emissions reduction system of claim 2, wherein: said one or more mounted … bearings (Slater, bearings 56) include a first mounted ball bearing and a second mounted … bearing (fig 1, there are two bearing structures 56 on opposite vertical plates 58, c 3 ln 29-30), each housed within two or more … bearing housings (56 shows two housings).
Slater is silent on the bearings being ball bearings.
Crafton teaches a pump assembly using ball bearings (ball bearings 65, c 4 ln 64-66) to rotatably hold a shaft (60).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to enable the shaft bearings (56) of Slater as ball bearings as taught by Crafton for the expected result of rotatably holding a shaft, and reducing wear of the bearing surface.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slater in view of Crafton.
Claim 10, Slater discloses a method of use for reducing Scope 2 emissions in a pump jack (motor 62 is adjustable to maintain the belt 64 connection, c 3 ln 34; applicant discloses that emissions reduction system is the adjustable motor mount assembly, applicant’s par 0017) comprising:
Installing a pump jack emissions reduction system onto an existing pump jack (installing carriage 60 into jack 10, c 3 ln 31)
adjusting one or more mounted … bearings (bearings 56) to optimize rotational efficiency (Slater, bearing 56 position as a component of carriage 60 can be optimized to reduce output required form the electric motor, c 4 ln 19-35);
enclosing a belt system (64) of the pump jack using a belt guard assembly (60, fig 1 shows that carriage 60 surrounds the motor and belt; thereby reasonably providing the guard function, c 3 ln 29-37); wherein,
said pump jack emissions reduction system comprises a mount (carriage 60), configured to attach to a pump jack (10); said one or more mounted … bearings (56), arranged to facilitate rotational movement of a shaft (50); said belt guard assembly (60), designed to enclose and protect [the] belt system (64) of the pump jack (the carriage 60 surrounding the motor and belt meets the protection function); and wherein the system is configured to reduce scope 2 emissions associated with the operation of the pump jack (motor 62 is adjustable to maintain the belt 64 connection, c 3 ln 34; applicant discloses that emissions reduction system is the adjustable motor mount assembly, applicant’s par 0017).
Slater is silent on the bearings being ball bearings.
Crafton teaches a pump assembly using ball bearings (ball bearings 65, c 4 ln 64-66) to rotatably hold a shaft (60).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to enable the shaft bearings (56) of Slater as ball bearings as taught by Crafton for the expected result of rotatably holding a shaft, and reducing wear of the bearing surface.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slater in view of Crafton in view of Duceppe.
Claim 11, Slater in view of Crafton teaches the method of use of claim 10. Slater does not disclose the installation of said pump jack emissions reduction system is compatible with a variety of pump jack models without the need for substantial modifications to the existing pump jack.
Duceppe teaches a motor mount to adjust the longitudinal and transverse position of an electric motor (fig 1, 10) to maintain belt (12) tension and alignment (c 2 ln 4-10);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the motor (62) adjustment of belt (64) in carriage (60) of Slater (c 3 ln 29-37) by adding an adjusting motor mount (fig 2) taught by Duceppe by mounting Duceppe’s upper beams (16/18) and lower beams (20/22) to Slater’s carriage (60) as explained in Duceppe’s mounting of lower beams (20/22) to a rigid base (Duceppe, c 2 ln 34) and then mounting Slater’s motor (62) to Duceppe’s beams (16/18) via bolts (24) and slots (26/28) as explained in (Duceppe’s, c 2 ln 11-27) in order to ease the adjustment and alignment of the motor to maintain a desired belt tension (Duceppe, c 2 ln 4-10, 56-60; Slater, c 3 ln 29-37).
The combination meets the claim limitation because the capability of mounting Duceppe’s motor frame to Slater’s existing pump jack is shown as obvious; wherein this interpretation is in accord with the retrofit capability to “a variety of pump jack models without the need for substantial modification to the existing pump jack” disclosed by applicant (See applicant’s spec par 0073). Since Duceppe’s motor frame manages belt tension, it meets the limitation because it can be used to align said motor and thereby improve efficiency (applicant discloses that emissions reduction system is the adjustable motor mount assembly, applicant’s par 0017).
Claim 12, Slater in view of Crafton teaches the method of use of claim 10, wherein
said pump jack emissions reduction system comprises the mount (carriage 60, c 3 ln 31), a shaft (crank shaft 50, c 3 ln 19) having a shaft axis (axis through bearings 56, c 3 ln 29), two or more shaft fly wheels (fig 3, pulley sheave attaching belt 64 to shaft 50 and pulley sheave on shaft of motor 62; examiner notes that applicant’s disclosure identifies flywheels 110 and 114 function as the belt sheaves, par 0078, par 0074; reasonably applicant is disclosing the mechanical advantage associated with the ratio in pulley sheave size), a motor (62), and an adjustable motor mount bracket assembly (motor 62 is adjustable to maintain belt 64 connection, c 3 ln 29-38);
said mount is configured to attach to the pump jack (10);
said shaft is [rotatably] attached to a portion of said mount (mounted via bearings 56 in carriage 60, c 3 ln 29-31);
said adjustable motor mount bracket assembly is configured to receive and hold said motor (fig 4 depicts motor 62 mounted in 60, c 3 ln 29-37), and selectively adjust relative to said shaft (motor 62 is adjustable to maintain driving connection via belt 64, c 3 ln 29-37; reasonably this adjustability is relative movement of the motor because it is the conventional way to maintain the connection between belt 64 and belt-sheave on the motor);
…
Slater does not disclose:
said adjustable motor mount bracket assembly comprises a first motor mount bracket and a floating motor mount bracket said floating motor mount bracket is configured to attach to said mount through one or more mounting apertures in said mount;
said first motor mount bracket is configured to selectively slide in a longitudinal direction relative to said floating motor mount bracket through one or more alignment apertures;
said adjustable motor mount bracket assembly can further comprise a threaded adjustment assembly configured to adjust said first motor mount bracket in said longitudinal direction by rotating a nut and a threading to move said first motor mount bracket;
the adjustable motor mount bracket assembly is used to maintain an alignment between the shaft, the motor and a pumpjack drive assembly by maintaining an alignment between one or more mounting apertures, one or more alignment apertures and the threaded adjustment assembly;
accordingly, said pump jack emissions reduction system can put an even pressure on a belt between said motor and the two or more shaft fly wheels; and
Duceppe teaches a motor mount to adjust the longitudinal and transverse position of an electric motor (fig 1, 10) to maintain belt (12) tension and alignment (c 2 ln 4-10);
said adjustable motor mount bracket assembly comprises a first motor mount bracket (16) and a floating motor mount bracket (18) said floating motor mount bracket is configured to attach to said mount through one or more mounting apertures (slots 68/70 for bolt and nut 67, c 2 ln 40-44) in a mount (20, 22);
said first motor mount bracket is configured to selectively slide in a longitudinal direction relative to said floating motor mount bracket through one or more alignment apertures (slots 68/70 for bolt and nut 67, c 2 ln 40-44; both 16/18 are capable of longitudinal shifting, c 2 ln 28-29, 16/18 slide via engagement with threaded rods 72, c2 ln 56-65);
said adjustable motor mount bracket assembly can further comprise a threaded adjustment assembly configured to adjust said first motor mount bracket in said longitudinal direction by rotating a nut (76) and a threading (72) to move said first motor mount bracket (threaded rods 72 with nuts 76, c2 ln 56-65);
the adjustable motor mount bracket assembly is used to maintain an alignment between the shaft (the shaft driven by the belt 12), the motor (the motor 10 which drives belt 12) and a drive assembly (the frame under the motor, c 2 ln 34) by maintaining an alignment between one or more mounting apertures (68/70, either of slots can function as the claimed mounting or alignment apertures because the beams 16/18 are independently adjustable), one or more alignment apertures (68/70, id) and the threaded adjustment assembly (the assembly is adjusted to maintain alignment of motor so that belt can drive a pulley with desired tension and alignment, c 1 ln 11-18);
accordingly, said pump jack emissions reduction system can put an even pressure on a belt (12, c 1 ln 10-15) between said motor and the two or more shaft fly wheels (the drive and driven pulleys which provide tension for belt 12).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the motor (62) adjustment of belt (64) in carriage (60) of Slater (c 3 ln 29-37) by adding an adjusting motor mount (fig 2) taught by Duceppe by mounting Duceppe’s upper beams (16/18) and lower beams (20/22) to Slater’s carriage (60) as explained in Duceppe’s mounting of lower beams (20/22) to a rigid base (Duceppe, c 2 ln 34) and then mounting Slater’s motor (62) to Duceppe’s beams (16/18) via bolts (24) and slots (26/28) as explained in (Duceppe’s, c 2 ln 11-27) in order to ease the adjustment and alignment of the motor to maintain a desired belt tension (Duceppe, c 2 ln 4-10, 56-60; Slater, c 3 ln 29-37).
Conclusion
/GEOFFREY S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746