DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 filed on 08/17/2026 are presently examined. Claims 1, 3, 6, 15, and 18 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 USC 101, the amendment to the independent claims reciting positive automatic control of the work machine components results in the withdrawal of the 101 rejection.
Regarding 35 USC 102, amendments to the independent claims result in the withdrawal of the 102 rejection and its replacement with a 35 USC 103 rejection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent have been considered but are moot because the amendment changed the scope of the invention, requiring an updated search and revised ground of rejection.
Regarding the independent claims, Examiner agrees that Hansen fails to explicitly disclose generating a group of one or more selectable configurations based on the current operation, wherein each of the one or more selectable configurations comprise a respective position and/or orientation for each of one or more work machine components, wherein the one or more work machine components comprise a work machine implement for working a ground surface during the current operation; and
responsive to second user input corresponding to selection of one of the one or more selectable configurations, automatically controlling each of the one or more work machine components to the respective position and/or orientation based on the selected one of the one or more selectable configurations, and further setting respective target values for one or more work machine operating parameters based on the selected one of the one or more selectable configurations.
However, Gentle teaches generating a group of one or more selectable configurations based on the current operation, wherein each of the one or more selectable configurations comprise a respective position and/or orientation for each of one or more work machine components, wherein the one or more work machine components comprise a work machine implement for working a ground surface during the current operation ([0083-0084] [0086] [FIG. 14] step 1402. “Predetermined blade and drawbar positions.” Operation selection presents spatial presets for the ground-working blade.); and
responsive to second user input corresponding to selection of one of the one or more selectable configurations, automatically controlling each of the one or more work machine components to the respective position and/or orientation based on the selected one of the one or more selectable configurations, and further setting respective target values for one or more work machine operating parameters based on the selected one of the one or more selectable configurations ([0084-0087] [FIG 14] steps 1404-1406. “selected ditching mode.” Selected position values serve as controller targets. The actuators move the components to those positions.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hansen’s work machine’s setup controls with Gentle’s teaching of operation-specific spatial-preset interface and selected-preset position control. One would be motivated, with reasonable expectation of success, to provide automatic control of the components of the work machine based on user input of selectable configurations in order to facilitate more accurate and quick control of the work machine during various operations ([0112] “help an operator accurately and quickly maneuver motor grader 10 and perform various operations.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-11, and 13-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen (US 20230094319 A1) in view of Gentle et al. (US 20200173141 A1) hereinafter referred to as Hansen and Gentle, respectively.
Regarding claims 1, 15, and 18, Hansen discloses A computer-implemented method for automated setup of a work machine for performance of an upcoming operation, the method comprising:
generating one or more user interface fields enabling user input via a display unit associated with the work machine (user interface display 600 provides user interface elements. [0142] “the performance categories can depend on the type of machine being utilized” [0141] “FIG. 7, user interface display 600 includes a performance category selection user input mechanism 602 that facilitates selection of a work quality metric (at block 536 in FIG. 6) by operator 110.”);
responsive to first user input corresponding to selection of a current operation ([0141] “a drop down box 604 that, which actuated, displays a list of possible performance categories” performance categories are the operation selection choices),
Hansen teaches generating a group of one or more selectable configurations based on the current operation ([0141] “user interface display 600 includes a performance category selection user input mechanism 602 that facilitates selection of a work quality metric … a list of possible performance categories from which the user can select the work quality metric of interest.” Quality metric of interest is the selectable configuration based on the performance category, i.e., operation.);
and responsive to second user input corresponding to selection of one of the one or more selectable configurations, automatically setting respective target values for one or more work machine operating parameters based on the selected one of the one or more selectable configurations ([0144] “a target metric value is selected or otherwise defined for the quality metric(s), selected at block 536.” [0142] “These target performance parameters can be defined in the worksite assignment plan” [0144] “The target metric value can be automatically selected”).
Hansen fails to explicitly disclose generating a group of one or more selectable configurations based on the current operation, wherein each of the one or more selectable configurations comprise a respective position and/or orientation for each of one or more work machine components, wherein the one or more work machine components comprise a work machine implement for working a ground surface during the current operation; and
responsive to second user input corresponding to selection of one of the one or more selectable configurations, automatically controlling each of the one or more work machine components to the respective position and/or orientation based on the selected one of the one or more selectable configurations, and further setting respective target values for one or more work machine operating parameters based on the selected one of the one or more selectable configurations.
However, Gentle teaches generating a group of one or more selectable configurations based on the current operation, wherein each of the one or more selectable configurations comprise a respective position and/or orientation for each of one or more work machine components, wherein the one or more work machine components comprise a work machine implement for working a ground surface during the current operation ([0083-0084] [0086] [FIG. 14] step 1402. “Predetermined blade and drawbar positions.” Operation selection presents spatial presets for the ground-working blade.); and
responsive to second user input corresponding to selection of one of the one or more selectable configurations, automatically controlling each of the one or more work machine components to the respective position and/or orientation based on the selected one of the one or more selectable configurations, and further setting respective target values for one or more work machine operating parameters based on the selected one of the one or more selectable configurations ([0084-0087] [FIG 14] steps 1404-1406. “selected ditching mode.” Selected position values serve as controller targets. The actuators move the components to those positions.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hansen’s work machine’s setup controls with Gentle’s teaching of operation-specific spatial-preset interface and selected-preset position control. One would be motivated, with reasonable expectation of success, to provide automatic control of the components of the work machine based on user input of selectable configurations in order to facilitate more accurate and quick control of the work machine during various operations ([0112] “help an operator accurately and quickly maneuver motor grader 10 and perform various operations.”).
Regarding claims 2, 16, and 19, Hansen discloses The method of claim 1, comprising automatically controlling the one or more work machine operating parameters during the operation of the work machine based on the respective target values ([0155] “the target machine speed is determined based on setting change selection component 416 applying machine learning component 530 to determine a maximum increase in machine speed that will obtain a work quality metric that meets or exceeds the target metric value.”).
Regarding claim 3, Hansen discloses The method of claim 2, wherein at least one of the one or more work machine operating parameters are associated with a position and/or orientation of the work machine implement ([0025] “determining the target machine speed based on the lateral offset parameter.” [0048] “a lateral offset parameter representing a difference between a position of the mobile agricultural machine and a predefined path”).
Regarding claim 4, Hansen discloses The method of claim 2, wherein at least one of the one or more work machine operating parameters are associated with a specified path to be traversed by the work machine during at least a current portion of the current operation ([0025] “determining the target machine speed based on the lateral offset parameter.” [0048] “a lateral offset parameter representing a difference between a position of the mobile agricultural machine and a predefined path”).
Regarding claim 9, Hansen discloses The method of claim 1, comprising:
a learning stage wherein historical input data sets are generated over time with respect to associated operations, configurations, and operating parameters, and wherein one or more models and/or algorithms are developed and/or trained to correlate the historical input data sets with observed outcomes ([0132] “artificial intelligence (AI) can be utilized to identify machine capabilities, and to determine how to adjust machine settings to achieve work assignment criteria and the target work quality.” [0134] “machine learning model thus models the effect of changes in machine speed on various machine performance categories given prior data and/or in situ data collected in any of a number of ways. For instance, the in situ data can represent field data, machine data … The machine learning model is trained to adjust the machine operating parameters based on these various inputs.”);
wherein one of the one or more models and/or algorithms is retrieved in association with the selected current operation and/or the selected one of the one or more selectable configurations ([0143] “a machine learning model is obtained that corresponds to the selected performance category, selected at block 536. Multiple different machine learning models can be obtained if multiple performance categories are selected at block 536.”), and
the respective target values for the one or more work machine operating parameters in association with the current operation are automatically set based at least in part on reference to the retrieved one of the one or more models and/or algorithms ([0133] “machine learning model configured to determine an increase in machine speed 102 (e.g., to a maximum machine speed) that achieves the target work quality of machine 102.” [0155] “the target machine speed is determined based on setting change selection component 416 applying machine learning component 530 to determine a maximum increase in machine speed” the phrase “based at least in part” is broadly interpreted.).
Regarding claim 10, Hansen discloses The method of claim 9, comprising observing one or more outcomes of performance of the current operation, and providing feedback for further development and/or training of the one or more models and/or algorithms based on the observed one or more outcomes and at least the corresponding target values for the one or more work machine operating parameters ([0038] “determine the target machine speed using a machine learning system that is trained with training data corresponding to the performance characteristic and models an effect of machine speed changes to the performance characteristic.” [0134] “machine learning model thus models the effect of changes in machine speed on various machine performance categories given prior data and/or in situ data collected … The machine learning model is trained to adjust the machine operating parameters based on these various inputs.”).
Regarding claim 11, Hansen discloses The method of claim 10, wherein the observed one or more outcomes comprise a determined speed of performance for the selected current operation, and/or a determined precision of the work machine in performing to target specifications for the selected current operation, and/or a determined efficiency in performance of the selected current operation ([0038] “determine the target machine speed using a machine learning system that is trained with training data corresponding to the performance characteristic and models an effect of machine speed changes to the performance characteristic.” [0134] “machine learning model thus models the effect of changes in machine speed on various machine performance categories given prior data and/or in situ data collected … The machine learning model is trained to adjust the machine operating parameters based on these various inputs.” [0155] “machine learning component 530 to determine a maximum increase in machine speed that will obtain a work quality metric that meets or exceeds the target metric value.”).
Regarding claim 13, Hansen discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more user interface fields comprise a first user interface field including a group of one or more selectable operations, wherein the first user input comprises selection of one of the one or more selectable operations via the first user interface field ([FIG. 7] shows one example of a user interface display. [0141] “a drop down box 604 that, which actuated, displays a list of possible performance categories from which the user can select the work quality metric of interest.”).
Regarding claim 14, Hansen discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more selectable configurations comprise at least one operating mode wherein the target values are automatically set for prioritizing a speed of performance for the operation, and/or at least one operating mode wherein the target values are automatically set for prioritizing a precision of the work machine in performing to target specifications for the operation, and/or at least one operating mode wherein the target values are automatically set for prioritizing an efficiency in performance of the operation ([0141] “a drop down box 604 that, which actuated, displays a list of possible performance categories from which the user can select the work quality metric of interest.” [0133] “a machine learning model configured to determine an increase in machine speed 102 (e.g., to a maximum machine speed) that achieves the target work quality of machine 102.” [0144] “The target metric value can be automatically selected at block 554.”).
Claims 5-7, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen in view of Gentle further in view of Wei et al. (US 20160069045 A1), hereinafter referred to as Wei.
Regarding claims 5, 17, and 20, Hansen discloses automatically generating feedback based on manual control of at least one of the one or more work machine operating parameters during or prior to the operation of the work machine based on the respective target values ([0134] “models the effect of changes in machine speed on various machine performance categories given prior data and/or in situ data collected … The machine learning model is trained to adjust the machine operating parameters based on these various inputs.” [0165] “FIG. 7, input mechanism 630 includes a check box that the user can toggle between automatic and manual speed adjustments.”). Hansen’s machine learning system would still train its model based on the optional manual control of the operating parameter of vehicle speed and its effect on the work output. Hansen does not explicitly, however, prompt the user for manual control to provide feedback to train its model.
Hansen fails to explicitly disclose automatically generating feedback prompting manual control of at least one of the one or more work machine operating parameters during or prior to the operation of the work machine based on the respective target values.
However, Wei teaches automatically generating feedback prompting manual control of at least one of the one or more work machine operating parameters during or prior to the operation of the work machine based on the respective target values ([abstract] “determining whether one or more predefined trigger conditions suggestive of the need for the ripping pass are met based on the machine parameters and the profile parameters, and generating a ripping pass request if one or more of the trigger conditions are satisfied.” [0028] “request operator input and control for a manual ripping pass at the flagged locations.” [0029] “the ripping pass needs detected by multiple machines 102 for a given worksite 100 may be collectively monitored for patterns or characteristics which the control system 112 or any learning algorithm preprogrammed therein may use to progressively improve detection accuracy and provide a more intuitive detection algorithm”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hansen with Wei’s teaching of a machine learning system that determines, based on various parameter values, when an operation is needed, and prompts operator manual control. One would be motivated, with reasonable expectation of success, to request manual control in a system equipped with machine learning algorithms in order to collect operation data to progressively improve accuracy and improve the algorithm ([0029] “the ripping pass needs detected by multiple machines 102 for a given worksite 100 may be collectively monitored for patterns or characteristics which the control system 112 or any learning algorithm preprogrammed therein may use to progressively improve detection accuracy and provide a more intuitive detection algorithm”).
Regarding claim 6, Hansen discloses The method of claim 5, wherein the at least one of the one or more work machine operating parameters are associated with a position and/or orientation of the work machine implement ([0025] “determining the target machine speed based on the lateral offset parameter.” [0048] “a lateral offset parameter representing a difference between a position of the mobile agricultural machine and a predefined path”).
Regarding claim 7, Hansen discloses The method of claim 5, wherein the at least one of the one or more work machine operating parameters are associated with a specified path to be traversed by the work machine during at least a current portion of the current operation ([0025] “determining the target machine speed based on the lateral offset parameter.” [0048] “a lateral offset parameter representing a difference between a position of the mobile agricultural machine and a predefined path”).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen in view of Gentle and Wei as applied to claim 5 above, further in view of Vandike et al. (US 20220110252 A1), hereinafter referred to as Vandike.
Regarding claim 8, Hansen discloses the haptic mechanisms provided within the operator interface ([0078] “Operator interface mechanism(s) 112 can include any of a wide variety of other audio, visual or haptic mechanisms.”).
However, Hansen fails to explicitly disclose the method of claim 5, wherein the generated feedback for prompting manual control comprises vibration or haptic feedback.
However, Vandike teaches the generated feedback for prompting manual control comprises vibration or haptic feedback ([0196] “signals indicative of an alert condition … may be received by controller input processing system 668 indicating that detected or predicted values satisfy threshold conditions … action signal generator 660 can, in response to receiving an alert condition, alert the operator 260 by … using haptic control signal generator 688 to generate haptic alerts” [0087] “operator 260 may provide an operator-initiated adjustment to the controllable subsystem reflecting that the operator 260 desires the controllable subsystem to operate in a different way than is being commanded by control system 214. Thus, operator-initiated alteration of a setting by the operator 260 can cause predictive model generator 210 to relearn a model”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hansen with Vandike’s teaching of an agricultural vehicle that haptically alerts the operator when conditions occur and the operator may initiate adjustments, which are then used to retrain the machine learning model used for controlling the agricultural vehicle. One would be motivated, with reasonable expectation of success, to haptically alert the operator and allow operator adjustment to retrain the model in order to improve the model ([0206] “Once the operation is complete, then any desired values that are displayed, or have been displayed on user interface display 720, can be saved. Those values can also be used in machine learning to improve different portions of predictive model generator 210”).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansen in view of Gentle as applied to claim 1 above in view of Vandike.
Regarding claim 12, Hansen discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the selected one of the one or more selectable configurations corresponds to a current portion of the selected operation ([0141] “a drop down box 604 that, which actuated, displays a list of possible performance categories” performance categories are the operation selection choices).
Hansen fails to explicitly disclose the method comprising determining or predicting completion of the current portion and generating a prompt for further user input corresponding to selection of a configuration for a subsequent portion of the selected operation.
However, Vandike teaches determining or predicting completion of the current portion ([0205] “Block 910 … outputs can be haptic messages. Until operator interface controller 231 determines that the current harvesting operation is completed, as indicated by block 914, processing reverts to block 698 where the geographic location of harvester 100 is updated and processing proceeds as described above to update user interface display 720.”) and generating a prompt for further user input corresponding to selection of a configuration for a subsequent portion of the selected operation ([0182] “show different portions of the field. A next work unit 730 is shown as an area of the field directly in front of the current position marker 708 of agricultural harvester 100.” [0183] “There are also a set of loss level display markers 732 shown in the upcoming areas 712, and there are a set of loss level display markers 732 shown in the next work unit 730.” [0189] “the selected values correspond to the characteristics or values being tracked or displayed, or both, on field display portion 728. The selected values can be selected by an operator of the agricultural harvester 100 … The selected values in value display column 750 are adjustable by an operator of agricultural harvester 100. In one example, the operator 260 can select the particular part of field display portion 728 for which the values in column 750 are to be displayed. Thus, the values in column 750 can correspond to values in display portions 712, 714 or 730.” 712 and 730 being upcoming area and next work unit, respectively.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hansen with Vandike’s teaching of an agricultural vehicle that haptically alerts the operator when the current operation is completed, updating the user display to show the upcoming work area along with its associated values where the operator may subsequently provide setting adjustments, which are then, once operation is completed, used to retrain the machine learning model used for controlling the agricultural vehicle. One would be motivated, with reasonable expectation of success, to do so in order to improve the model ([0206] “Once the operation is complete, then any desired values that are displayed, or have been displayed on user interface display 720, can be saved. Those values can also be used in machine learning to improve different portions of predictive model generator 210”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.R.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668