DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new rejections below, which were necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida et al., US 2017/0085786 in view of Demeyer, US 2005/0152666.
1 and 10 and 11. Ishida teaches an electronic device for managing video shooting with a scenario including a plurality of sections, the electronic device comprising:
a controller, memory, and program [Fig. 2A, paras. 25-27] to:
a display that displays information [Figs. 1, 2, 3A, paras. 24, 25, 31, 33, 44, 48];
an input interface that inputs a user operation [input unit, Figs. 2A, 3A, 3B, paras. 33, 44]; and
a controller that controls the display in accordance with the user operation input from the input interface, wherein the controller causes the display to display a selection screen including the plurality of sections and the input interface to receive the user operation selecting a specific section from the plurality of sections [user can select a section from displayed selection screen, S303, Fig. 3A, paras. 43-45], and
in response to shooting of a video associated with the specific section, the controller causes the display to display a rating screen to acquire rating information from the input interface, the rating screen prompting the user to rate the video, and the rating information indicating a user rating of the video [user is prompted to rate the displayed video, either OK or NG (no good), Fig. 3B, paras. 47, 48].
Ishida is silent on storing associated ratings with the video. Demeyer teaches a system wherein the controller causes the acquired rating information to be recorded in memory in association with the rated video [ratings for particular segments are stored along with frames, Figs. 3, 4A, 4B, paras. 28-31, 35-37].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the references, storing ratings information to enable automatic (or at least convenient) editing, whereby the user does not have to recall each segment (and rating) a second time when further editing the content. Automatic editing can proceed based on user-designated ratings, producing a quality overall program.
2. Ishida teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the controller updates the selection screen in accordance with the acquired rating information, to identify whether the video shooting of the specific section is completed or not, the specific section being associated with the video of which the user rating is indicated by the rating information [selection screen is changed to display shown in S304 based on a rating of the specific section as NG in S307, Figs. 3A, 3B, paras. 45, 48, 49].
3. Ishida teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein when the rating information for every video associated with the specific section indicates a first rating, the controller identifies that the video shooting of the specific section is not completed, and when the rating information for at least one video associated with the specific section indicates a second rating different from the first rating, the controller identifies that the video shooting of the specific section is completed [for each section, a rating of OK results in the video being identified as completed, and a rating of NG results in the video being identified as not completed and the display returning to S304, Figs. 3A, 3B, paras. 48, 49].
4. Ishida teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the controller has a playback mode to play a shot video on the display, and the controller receives, by the input interface, the user operation changing a rating of a playable video in the playback mode, to update the selection screen in accordance with the changed rating [S307 shows a playback mode (see play control on video) and user can change the rating to either OK or NG which results in either S308 or screen shown in S304, Figs. 3A, 3B, paras. 48, 49].
6. Ishida teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, wherein the controller receives the user operation providing an additional section from the plurality of sections in the scenario by the input interface, and updates the selection screen to include the additional section [selection of any section (i.e. “additional” sections may be selected) updates the display shown in S304 to show the selected section, Fig. 3A, paras. 43-45].
7. Ishida teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, further comprising a memory that stores management information managing the video associated with each section of the plurality of sections in the scenario, wherein the controller causes the display to display the selection screen, based on the management information [all steps are implemented/managed based on programs and data stored in memory, Fig. 2A, paras. 25-31].
8. Ishida teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, further comprising a communication interface that communicates data with an imaging apparatus for shooting the video, wherein the controller manages the video shot by the imaging apparatus, based on the data communication via the communication interface [communication unit 116 and processor 111 implement the method based on communicated data, Fig. 2A, para. 32].
9. Ishida teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, further comprising an image sensor that captures a subject image to generate image data, wherein the controller manages the video including the image data generated by the image sensor [camera 30, Figs. 1, 2A, paras. 25, 30].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishida and Demeyer as cited above in view of Hayakawa, US 2018/0220014.
5. Ishida is silent on filtering the sections (e.g. templates) by location. Hayakawa teaches a system wherein the controller receives, by the input interface, the user operation selecting a shooting location for the video shooting, and updates the selection screen to narrow down the plurality of sections in accordance with the selected shooting location [e.g. sections/templates are selected (narrowed down) based on location, Figs. 5, 11, paras. 75, 92].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the references, giving the user a convenient manner to select multiple sections or shooting templates with one action (filtering by location).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY R NEWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2424