Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re Claim 22, “A fixed blade assembly for a strand cutter, comprising: a strand channel; and an outer surface having an angular shape configured to non-rotabably engage a mounting recess inside of a nose piece assembly,” is indefinite. The preamble is directed to a blade assembly, yet, the body of the claim does not required a blade. It is unclear if a blade is required or not. The claim was interpreted as not requiring a blade. As best understood, the claims require an assembly a strand channel (hole) and an outer angular shape. The claims were examined as best understood. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 3,379,080 to Massa.
In re Claim 13, Massa teaches a rotating blade assembly for a strand cutter (see Figs. 1-4), comprising:
a rotating shear blade assembly (see Fig. 4, assembly that includes #124 and #74) that comprises a drive gear engagement having an angular shape (see teeth of #124 which engage with teeth of #122 which include angles in their shape) and a strand channel (see Figs. 1-4, channel in which the workpiece is inserted), wherein the drive gear engagement is configured to engage a drive assembly (see Figs. 1-4, #124 engages drives assembly #12- by way of #122).
In re Claim 14, Massa, teaches further comprising: a rotatable blade mount (see Fig. 4, #74)/#72) for the rotating shear blade assembly; and a shear blade (see Fig. 4, #78).
In re Claim 15, Massa teaches wherein the drive gear engagement is configured to allow transmission of torque from the drive assembly to the rotatable blade mount (the teeth of #124 allow transmission of torque from the motor/drive assembly to the blade mount/blade), and further wherein the rotatable blade mount comprises a blade receptacle that is configured to receive the shear blade (see Fig. 4, the receptacle in which blade #78 is located).
In re Claim 16, Massa teaches the shear blade includes a first drive face and a second drive face (see Massa, Fig. 4, #78 which includes two elongated longitudinal faces).
In re Claim 17, Massa teaches wherein the first drive face and second drive face are planar and parallel (see Massa, Fig. 4, #78, which includes two elongated longitudinal planar and parallel faces)
In re Claim 18, Massa teaches wherein the rotatable blade mount further includes a strand slot portion and wherein the shear blade cooperates with the strand slot portion to define a cutting strand slot (see Fig. 4, hole in the center of #72 in which the workpiece is located).
In re Claim 20, Massa teaches wherein the angular shape is a polygonal shape (the gears include shapes that have at least there sides and angles – each gear tooth has two sides which are angled relative to each other, and Masa has more than two teeth in Fig. 4).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,058,469 to Rodriguez.
In re Claim 22, Rodrigues teaches fixed blade assembly for a strand cutter (the examiner notes that a blade is not required by the claims – see discussion above), comprising: a strand channel (see Rodrigues, Fig. 3, #16 – channel which workpiece #14 is located); and a outer surface having an angular shape configured to non-rotabably engage a mounting recess inside of a nose piece assembly (see Rodrigues, Fig. 3, #26 which includes an angular router surface capable of mounting in an unclaimed nose piece).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 3,379,080 to Massa in view of US 20120036722 to Hittmann.
In re Claim 21, Massa does not teach a drive wherein the polygonal shape is a hexagon. However, Hittman teaches that it is known in the art of driving tools to provide a hexagon surface in the driving of tools (see Hittman, Figs. 3-6, #34 and Para. 0022). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the earliest effective filing date to utilize the hexagonal surface on the drive train of Massa. Doing so provides a defined torque can be applied to the drive pinion 19 with the aid of a hexagon tool; this torque counteracts the drive torque of the drive motor 9. In this way, a defined adjustment of the drive motor 9 at the time of manufacture and during servicing is possible (see Hittman, Para. 0022).
A fixed blade assembly for a strand cutter, comprising: a strand channel; and an outer surface having an angular shape configured to non-rotabably engage a mounting recess inside of a nose piece assembly.
Double Patenting
Claims 13-15, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,134,119. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
In re Claim 13, the ‘119 patent claims a rotating blade assembly for a strand cutter(see Col. 8, ll. 37-38), comprising:
a rotating shear blade assembly that comprises a drive gear engagement having an angular shape and a strand channel (see Claim 1 and Claim 8), wherein the drive gear engagement is configured to engage a drive assembly (see Claim 1).
In re Claim 14, the ‘119 patent claims a rotatable blade mount for the rotating shear blade assembly (see Claim 1); and a shear blade (see Claim 1).
In re Claim 15, the ‘119 patent claims wherein the drive gear engagement is configured to allow transmission of torque from the drive assembly to the rotatable blade mount(see Claim 1), and further wherein the rotatable blade mount comprises a blade receptacle that is configured to receive the shear blade (see Claim 1).
In re Claim 22, the ‘119 patent claims fixed blade assembly for a strand cutter (see Claim 1), , comprising: a strand channel(see Claim 11); and an outer surface having an angular shape configured to non-rotabably engage a mounting recess inside of a nose piece assembly (see Claim 1).
Claims 13-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12, and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,330,206. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
In re Claim 13, the “206 Patent claims a rotating blade assembly (see Col. 8, ll. 36-57) for a strand cutter, comprising: a rotating shear blade assembly that comprises a drive gear engagement having an angular shape and a strand channel (see Claim 1, a rotating blade assembly with a shear blade), wherein the drive gear engagement is configured to engage a drive assembly (see Claim 1).
In re Claim 14, the “206 Patent claims further comprising: a rotatable blade mount for the rotating shear blade assembly; and a shear blade (claim 1 claims a blade mount and a shear blade)
In re Claim 15, the “206 Patent claims wherein the drive gear engagement is configured to allow transmission of torque from the drive assembly to the rotatable blade mount (see Claim 1) and further wherein the rotatable blade mount comprises a blade receptacle that is configured to receive the shear blade (see Claim 1).
In re Claim 16, the “206 Patent claims wherein the shear blade includes a first drive face and a second drive face (see Claim 12).
In re Claim 17, the “206 Patent claims wherein the first drive face and second drive face are planar and parallel (see Claim 15).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-12 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest prior art is:
- US 3,379080 to Massa
- US 5,054,342 to Swiatowy
- US 3,279,059 to Keiter
- US 2009/0165306 to Nasiell
- US 2010/0236080 to Huang
- CN 207256594U
In re Claim 1, none of the cited prior art, alone or in combination, teaches a cutting assembly for a strand cutter with the claimed rotating blade assembly in combination with a fixed blade, in view of Applicant's disclosure. Dependent Claims 2-12 are allowed by virtue of their dependence to Claim 1.
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art is listed above.
In re Claim 19, none of the cited prior art, alone or in combination, teaches a cutting assembly for a strand cutter with the claimed rotating blade assembly in combination with a fixed blade, in view of Applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN G RILEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724