DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-12 are pending. Claims 3, 6, 8, and 10-12 are withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
The phrase “means for contacting a top surface of the liquid alloy with the bottom surface of the chill, and maintaining the bottom surface of the chill in a substantial contact with the top surface of the liquid alloy, and vibrating the chill” has been interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). The claim limitation will be treated as the corresponding structure in the specification for performing the claimed function, and its equivalents. Note however, that the specification is not clear as to the corresponding structure that performs the function of “contacting” and “maintaining” (see rejections under 35 USC 112(b) below). The means to perform the function of “vibrating the chill” is the vibrator already required in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “means for contacting a top surface of the liquid alloy with the bottom surface of the chill, and maintaining the bottom surface of the chill in a substantial contact with the top surface of the liquid alloy, and vibrating the chill” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The specification does not disclose any corresponding structure that is a “means for contacting … and maintaining … the chill in a substantial contact with the top surface of the liquid.”
Note that "[a] bare statement that known techniques or methods can be used does not disclose structure" in the context of a means plus function limitation. Biomedino, LLC v. Waters Technology Corp., 490 F.3d 946, 952, 83 USPQ2d 1118, 1123 (Fed. Cir. 2007). MPEP 2181(II)(A).
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wannasin et al (US 2017/0080484) in view of Adachi (US 2004/0238150), Han et al (US 2005/0279479, previously cited), and Sakamoto et al (US 6,681,836, previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Wannasin et al teaches an apparatus (fig 1) for production of a slurry containing a fraction of non-dendritic solid crystals from its liquid alloy for subsequent forming into solid alloy components (note that the limitation is an intended use of the apparatus, MPEP 2114(II), see below), comprising:
a ladle (fig 1, paragraph [0006], melt container such as a crucible or ladle) for containing a quantity of liquid alloy and for pouring the alloy into another chamber of a forming apparatus or a mold cavity (functional limitation, MPEP 2114(I));
a chill (fig 1, paragraph [0006], heat extraction probe) having a bottom surface (fig 1, probe has a bottom surface) with a shape and size complementary to that of the liquid alloy (MPEP 2114(I), functional limitation as it depends on the shape and size of the liquid alloy, which itself is not a positively recited structure of the apparatus as the liquid alloy is a material worked upon during the apparatus’ intended use);
agitating (paragraph [0006], [0015], agitating, including rotation, stirring, vibration, or combinations thereof, paragraph [0007], small fraction of fine solid nuclei may be created) to produce non-dendritic solid crystals in the liquid alloy and for shaking of the liquid alloy or the slurry that sticks on the surfaces of the chill while it is separating from the slurry (functional limitation, MPEP 2114(I));
whereby the slurry containing a fraction of non-dendritic solid crystals is formed from the liquid alloy while the top surface of the liquid alloy remains quiescent (intended use of the apparatus to produce a slurry, see MPEP 2114(II) and below, note that the apparatus of the prior art is capable of forming a slurry as it includes a chill and vibrates).
Regarding the intended use limitations above, "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). MPEP 2114(II).
Wannasin et al teaches the heat extraction probe agitates by rotation, stirring, vibration, or combinations thereof, but is quiet to a plurality of vibrators coupled to the chill.
Adachi teaches a method of shaping a semisolid metal (abstract) including the use of a vibrating rod (420) for the purpose of creating crystal nuclei in the alloy in the holding vessel, and that the vibrating rod can be internally cooled (paragraph [0439]).
Han teaches vibrating a molten material at an ultrasonic frequency while cooling to a semi-solid state to form non-dendritic grains (abstract). Han teaches a ram 16 including an ultrasonic transducer 20 producing ultrasonic vibration that is transmitted to process material via an ultrasonic radiator 22 (fig 1, paragraph [0019-0020], paragraph [0031], acoustic radiator), thereby promoting nucleation and formation of predominantly non-dendritic, generally globular grains (paragraph [0020]), having a much smaller grain size than the prior art (paragraph [0005]) and is more beneficial for semi-solid forming processes (paragraph [0017]).
In view of the teachings of Adachi and Han, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wannsin’s heat extraction probe to include a vibrator in order to form a vibrating rod to perform the vibration of Wannasin et al, which provides the benefit of creating vibration to further promote nucleation and form non-dendritic globular grains of a much smaller size more beneficial for semi-solid forming processes (Han, paragraph [0005, 0017,0020], Adachi, paragraph [0439]).
Although the combination is quiet to a plurality, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a plurality to further ensure the metal is sufficiently vibrated to generate the non-dendritic grains. Note that the courts have held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
The combination is quiet to the bottom surface of the chill having a shape and size complementary to that of the liquid alloy, and a means for contacting a top surface of the liquid alloy with the bottom surface of the chill, and maintaining the bottom surface of the chill in a substantial contact with the top surface of the liquid alloy, and vibrating the chill (note that the “means for” invokes 35 USC 112(f), although the specification is not clear as to the corresponding structure controllably contacting and maintaining, see 112(b) rejection above).
Sakamoto teaches a chill block immersed and rotated in the molten metal, so that the agitation while cooling makes it possible to obtain semisolidified metal which is formed into slurry uniformly and effectively as a whole (abstract). Sakamoto teaches that the chill block (fig 20, chill block 326) may be complementary to the alloy as shown in figure 20. Furthermore, Sakamoto teaches that the shape of the chill block 326 is not limited (figs 21-25, col 14 line 65 - col 15 line 10), including elliptical, composite elliptical, hexagonal, or chamfered. Sakamoto teaches the chill block being coupled to a moving section 332 as a vertically moving means for making reciprocating movement in the longitudinal directions (col 14 lines 10-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination such that the bottom surface of the chill has a shape and size complementary to that of the liquid alloy, as Sakamoto recognizes the chill blocks shape is not limited, and that a complementary shape would uniformly cool the melt. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination such that the vibrating rod is attached to a moving section that can reciprocate in the longitudinal direction, in order to move the vibrating rod into and out of the ladle (see figure 1 of Wannasin, Sakamoto fig 20). Note that combination is capable of performing the claimed function of contacting a top surface and maintaining the substantial contact, as the moving section enables the vibrating rod to move vertically).
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches wherein the said ladle is made of ceramic materials or steel protected with a layer of coating to prevent the steel from reacting to the liquid alloy (see Wannasin claim 14 where said container may be made of graphite, ceramics, metals, or composites).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches wherein the vibrator is an acoustic vibrator with a frequency in the range of 500 to 500,000 Hz and power of 100 watts to 60,000 watts (note the combination above, Han teaches a frequency of preferably 15 kHz to 25kHz and a preferable power intensity of 500 to 1000 W (Han, paragraph [0018], falling within the claimed range)).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 5, the combination teaches wherein the chill is made of a material having selected thermal conductivity and thermal capacity for effective cooling the liquid metal (see Wannasin claim 13, graphite, ceramics, metals, or composites, note that the probe is a heat extraction probe).
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches wherein the chill can be cooled internally or externally to enhance its cooling capability and to maintain its desired temperatures using a fluid including compressed air, water, cooling oil, ionic liquid, or liquid metallic alloy (functional limitation, see MPEP 2114(I), note the language “chill can be cooled internally or externally” does not require a cooling system, only that the chill is capable of being cooled internally or externally, the chill of the prior art is capable of being cooled externally, further note that Sakamoto et al discloses cooling medium may be supplied to the inside of a cooling member, col 3 lines 1-10).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wannasin as modified by Adachi, Han, and Sakamoto et al as as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Emmer et al (2013, Materials for sonotrode tools, previously cited).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches wherein the chill consists of a plurality of sonotrodes containing at least one sonotrode surrounded by a block of metal chill (note combination as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above), but is quiet to the sonotrodes being metallic.
Emmer et al discloses FerroTitanit cermets are known sonotrode materials currently in use, however, are expensive and difficult to machine (Introduction). Emmer et al discloses that cheaper materials such as aluminum alloy and titanium alloy have been considered, but due to the low wear resistance, are not usable (Introduction). Emmer considers utilizing steels for sonotrode applications (Introduction), and recognizes that the steels can be successfully used as sonotrode materials (conclusion).
As the combination above is quiet to the material used for the sonotrode, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combination such that the sonotrode is formed of steel, as taught in Emmer, as Emmer recognizes steel sonotrodes can be successfully used (conclusion) and have exceptional resistance to wear (conclusion), and being cheaper and easier to machine than the cermets used currently (introduction).
Response to Arguments
Amendments to the specification filed 1/1/26 are sufficient in overcoming the objections to the specification set forth in the previous Office Action. The corresponding objections to the specification have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the rejection of the claims under 35 USC §112(b), applicant argues that the written description already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts thereof and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function. Applicant states on the record that the corresponding structure, materials, or acts that link them to the function are “clearly illustrated in FIGS. 2-4 and described implicitly or inherently in paragraphs [0028] to [0034] describing these figures. With the illustrations of FIGS. 2-4 and the associated text description, one of ordinary skill in the art would easily recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function as placing a chill over the top of the molten metal is similar to many actions commonly used in the industry for handling of molten metal, including placing a metal scope for removing dross from the top of a molten metal or placing a graphite rotor on top of a molten aluminum before submerge the rotor into the molten metal for degassing.”
Applicant’s statement is insufficient in describing that the written description implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts, nor clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function.
Although applicant has stated on the record that structures would have been known from figures 2 to 4 and from reading paragraphs [0028] to [0034], note that figures 2 to 4 do not show any structure that is a means for contacting a top surface of the liquid alloy with the bottom surface of the chill, and means for maintaining the bottom surface of the chill in a substantial contact with the top surface of the liquid alloy. There is no suggestion in the specification, paragraphs [0028] to [0034], to any structure for performing the claimed function.
The courts have held that "[a] bare statement that known techniques or methods can be used does not disclose structure" in the context of a means plus function limitation. Biomedino, LLC v. Waters Technology Corp., 490 F.3d 946, 952, 83 USPQ2d 1118, 1123 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (Disclosure that an invention "may be controlled by known differential pressure, valving and control equipment" was not a disclosure of any structure corresponding to the claimed "control means for operating [a] valving " and the claim was held indefinite). MPEP 2181(II)(A).
Regarding the 103 rejections, Applicant argues that the claims have been amended to include a ladle, distinguishing from the prior art references.
The rejections above now look towards Wannasin who teaches the melt container may be a crucible or a ladle (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Applicant next argues that claim 1 has been amended such that the apparatus uses small-amplitude vibrators to process a molten alloy in a ladle.
It is noted that the arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claims, as “small-amplitude vibrators” are not claimed (note however that “small-amplitude” would raise issues under 35 USC 112(b)).
Applicant argues that the claims include a ladle, a vibration coupled chill, and a means for contacting the surface of the molten metal by the vibration coupled chill, which is different from the prior art. Applicant argues that Sakamoto’s apparatus requires additional features that are not required in applicant’s apparatus, such as a divided crucible, a lid/cover, and a number of additional elements, which are not required in applicant’s apparatus which is much simpler and has much less elements.
Note above where the rejection now looks to the combination of Wannasin as modified by Adachi, Han, and Sakamoto. Wannasin discloses a ladle, a heat extraction probe that can vibrate to agitate, and that the combination looks to Sakamoto for a moving device that can enable the heat extraction probe to be moved in and out of the ladle. The moving device meets the claimed “means for” limitation, as the moving device is capable of performing the claimed function, since it moves a chilling block in the vertical direction. Note that the claims are directed to an apparatus, and not a method. "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). MPEP 2114(II).
With regards to the additional elements, note above where the rejection is a modification of Wannasin, and does not refer to the additional elements. Furthermore, applicant’s claims do not preclude additional elements, as the phrase “comprising” in line 3 is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps, see MPEP 2111.03(I).
Applicant further argues that Han’s ultrasonic processor is not a ladle and that the ultrasonic processor of Han is unable to be placed under a ladle. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Note that the rejection is based on the combination of references as discussed in the rejection of claim 1, where Han is cited to show the structure of a vibrator that may be embedded. In the combination, as the heat extracting probe of Wannasin and Adachi are vibrating, the combination suggests to include a vibrator within the probe to perform the vibrating, to similarly promote nucleation and form non-dendritic globular grains of a much smaller size more beneficial for semi-solid forming processes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Turng (US 7,509,993, previously cited) teaches forming a metal matrix nanocomposite (abstract), wherein an ultrasonic probe or other vibrating member (108) contacts the molten metal (100) and only penetrates the surface slightly, where multiple vibrating members can be used if desired (col 4 lines 24-42).
/JACKY YUEN/
Examiner
Art Unit 1735
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735