Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/29/2026.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 5 recites “an outside atmosphere” thus any outside atmosphere
Claim 7 only recites a batch material to cullet ratio according to the United States Patent Office MPEP 2115 a device is claimed by its structural elements and without more, the inclusion of material worked upon or produced by the device of the claim did not, without more, does not make the claim patentable.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an extendable panel that extends downwardly below a batch inlet of the feeder alcove to molten glass, and is configured to maintain contact with the molten glass to seal off a feeder alcove interior and to restrict and reduce batch material passing from the feeder alcove directly to an exhaust. in claim 8.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a cleaning device configured to clean batch inlet of the feeder alcove. in claim 14. The specification [0035] indicates the cleaning device can include a chopper disposed on the end of the batch feeder but does not require a chopper. Any device that allows for cleaning of the inlet is considered a structural equivalent herein.
Claim 8 requires an extendable panel that seals off the feeder alcove interior and is capable of restricting or reducing batch from passing directly into an exhaust. The molten glass is a material that may be within the device and varies throughout the use of the device as does an exhaust. For the purpose of the examination Claim 8 requires an extendable panel that seals the feeder alcove interior or any equivalent thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the molten glass" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8, 10, and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brown (US 2001766).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Brown discloses a batch feeding apparatus Fig 4, comprising:
a feeder alcove for providing batch material to a furnace, or melter, (page 1; lines 40-45)
the feeder alcove, or dog house, including at least one side wall and a cover (page 2; lines 7-10 and 55-75);
and a batch feeder (57) sealingly coupled to the cover member (52)
that feeds the batch material to the feeder alcove (Page 2; lines 52-60) and Fig 4.
Regarding claim 2, the feeder alcove comprises at least one fluid-cooled panel (52 or 54).
Regarding claim 3, comprises a plurality of panels, or respective section (at least Page 2; 55-70) Fig 2-4.
Regarding claim 4, the feeder alcove comprises at least one bubbler configured to provide compressed gas into the feeder alcove.
Regarding claim 5, the feeder alcove is sealed from an outside atmosphere either by the building facility where the exterior of the facility is “an atmosphere” or sealed from outside of the earth’s atmosphere given the broadest reasonable interpretation where “an outside atmosphere” can be any atmosphere.
Regarding claim 7, the batch material is not a part of the claimed feeder alcove structure and absolutely changes throughout manufacture. See MPEP 2115 material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claimed structure.
Regarding claim 8, Brown discloses an extendable panel (57) capable of extending below a batch inlet of the feeder alcove and to seal off a feeder alcove interior and to restrict and reduce batch material (Page 2; lines 71-75, Fig 4)
Regarding claim 10, the batch feeder is oriented at an oblique angle to the feeder alcove (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 13, Brown discloses combustion (page 1; line 49) thus heat will move to the feeder alcove from the melter
Regarding claim 14, Brown discloses the plate member (57) to scrape raw materials and clean the batch inlet (Page 2; lines 1-8)
Regarding claim 15 Brown discloses a hopper (55) storage device that provides batch material to the batch feeder.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9, 11-13, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huber (US 20170369352).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Huber discloses a batch feeding apparatus comprising;
A feeder alcove (corresponding to sidewall [0083] shown at least in Fig 2 of Huber included for convenience below). Said alcove capable for providing batch material to a melter (Fig 2)
The feeder alcove including:
The feeder alcove having at least one side wall (portion of 244A, 244B)
A cover (14, 214) and
an inlet for batch (a portion of 239B, or 22A) [0044], [0046] considered coupled to the cover and capable of feeding batch through the cover, Huber suggests augers or screw feeders for moving batch into inlets [0044] thus considered “sealingly coupled to the cover” given the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding claim 2. Huber discloses any portions of or the entire panels of sidewall structure, floor, and ceiling of the melter may be fluid -cooled [0066]
Regarding claim 3, as depicted in Fig 2, the overall feeder alcove is considered to comprise a plurality of panels making up the walls, cover and any other depicted structure of the feeder alcove as presently claimed see Fig. 2 and [0046]-[0047].
Regarding claim 5, the feeder alcove is sealed from an outside atmosphere either by the building facility where the exterior of the facility is “an atmosphere” or sealed from outside of the earth’s atmosphere given the broadest reasonable interpretation where “an outside atmosphere” can be any atmosphere.
Regarding claim 7, the batch material is not a part of the claimed feeder alcove structure and absolutely changes throughout manufacture. See MPEP 2115 material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claimed structure.
Regarding claims 11, 12 Huber discloses the feedstock inlet in the ceiling is fed by an auger or screw feeder which a skilled artisan knows required a feed tube for the screw or auger to push the feed through [0044]
Regarding claim 13, any of the burners disclosed by Huber are considered a heating device configured to provide heat to the feeder alcove as the burner heat enters the feed area given the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding claim 15, there is necessarily some storage device holding feedstock to hold the batch to be fed whether it be a known hopper, a bin, a warehouse any of these meet the present claim given the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding claim 16, Huber discloses the batch feeding apparatus of claim 1 upstream of a melter (Fig 1-2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US 2001766) as applied above and further in view of Guerrero (WO2014008045)
Regarding claim 4, Brown does not disclose bubblers in the feeder alcove. In an analogous art Gurrero discloses bubblers in glass melters to provide enhanced glass recirculation and localized recirculation, (Col 1; lines 15-55) it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add bubblers in the feeder alcove as motivated to recirculate the feed into the molten glass and ensure continuous melting.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown (US 2001766) as applied above and further in view of Howard (US 1999761)
Regarding claim 6, Brown does not indicate the feeder alcove at reduced pressure.
In an analogous art of batch feeding a glass furnace Howard discloses providing the glass making materials, or batch, under vacuum, or reduced pressure to remove any additional air or gases formed during melting to reduce the volume of material to be heated (Page 3, Col 2; lines 65-75)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the batch feeder of Brown under vacuum as motivated to reduce the volume of materials to be heated and make a more efficient melter.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber (US 20170369352) as applied above and further in view of Villeroy De Galhau (US 20150013386).
Regarding claims 9-10 and 14, Huber discloses the feeder inlets in the feeding alcove and indicates a known feeder screw or auger can be used with the inlets [0044] but fails to depict them in the figures. In an analogous art of feeding structures to feed batch into a glass melter Villeroy discloses a hopper or other supply holding device with an orifice to supply gas [0020] and a slide gate damper, or extendable panel to seal off the feeder and preventing a blockage or plug [0022] and allows for removal such that cleaning of the inlet may occur without stopping the melter.
It would be obvious to use the feeding screw/auger taught by Villeroy as motivated to allow for cleaning the inlet without stopping the melter. The angle at which the feeder is placed is merely an engineering choice a skilled artisan would determine based on placement of the hopper, relative to the melter or length of the screw feeder.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huber (US 20170369352) as applied above and further in view of Howard (US 1999761)
Regarding claim 6, Huber does not indicate the feeder alcove at reduced pressure.
In an analogous art of batch feeding a glass furnace Howard discloses providing the glass making materials, or batch, under vacuum, or reduced pressure to remove any additional air or gases formed during melting to reduce the volume of material to be heated (Page 3, Col 2; lines 65-75)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to place the batch feeder of Brown under vacuum as motivated to reduce the volume of materials to be heated and make a more efficient melter.
Conclusion
JODI COHEN FRANKLIN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JODI C FRANKLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741